yes, therapy helps!
The 11 types of conflicts (and how to solve them)

The 11 types of conflicts (and how to solve them)

January 12, 2023

Conflicts are common in interpersonal relationships , because each person has their idea and vision of the world. This can cause differences that go beyond simple discrepancies.

Poor communication can be the source of conflict, so this is a necessary element in the mediation and proper management of the conflict. In this article we review the 11 types of conflicts and how to solve them .

Causes of conflicts

Efficient communication is a necessary tool to understand others and the problems that can lead to conflicts, because it allows us to understand differences in cultural and ideological values ​​that may be at the root of the problem and, in addition, can prevent the conflict from leaving. of the hands.


The causes of conflicts may be different, since there are different types of conflicts . For example, there may be conflicts over economic interests between two companies, emotional conflicts in internal conflicts in a person, political conflicts between two countries, religious conflicts between two communities or conflicts of competence between two police forces.

Although conflict is seen as a bad thing, sometimes it can be an opportunity to improve things that do not go well or do not work.

Types of conflicts

As you see, the causes of conflicts can vary: values ​​and ideologies, resources, expectations within the relationships between people, clash of personalities, the protection of the territory, etc. These causes are usually more common in different types of conflicts. But, How are conflicts classified? What types of conflicts are there?


Conflicts may vary according to their content, their veracity or according to the participants. Below you can find the different types of conflicts and their characteristics.

1. Conflicts according to their veracity

According to their veracity, conflicts can be:

1.1. Real conflicts

The real conflicts are those that actually exist, and that are caused by various causes , whether structural or environmental (economic, legal, relational, etc.), among others.

  • For example : Pablo rents his house to Adrián with a monthly cost of 600 euros, because the latter has moved to the big city. Everything goes well until Adrian loses his job and, as a result, stops paying the rent. It creates an economic conflict that is real.

1.2. Imaginary conflicts

Imaginary conflicts derive from misunderstandings, interpretations or perceptions . In this type of conflict there is no will on the part of the parties.


  • For example : María thinks that Juan, her partner, no longer feels the same for her. Juan has run out of battery and has not been able to call him as he does every night. Actually, Juan is worried about not being able to call him, but he does not have the possibility to do it at that moment. There is no conflict, but Maria thinks that the reason why Juan does not call him is because he is with another woman.

1.3. Invented conflicts

Invented conflicts, as with imaginary conflicts, are not real . However, unlike these, there is an intention on the part of some of the parties that, generally, want to get some benefit. This makes that much of this phenomenon is actually manipulation or gaslighting.

  • For example : a person who simulates an accident so that the insurance will pay for the repair of a back blow that happened because he himself hit a lighting pole when he backed off.

2. Conflicts according to the participants

According to the actors involved in the conflict, this can be:

2.1. Intrapersonal conflict

This conflict occurs internally, in the mind of the individual . This means that it has its origin in private events: thoughts, values, principles, emotions ... These conflicts can have different degrees.

  • For example: from a daily conflict about what to eat today, to an existential crisis that causes great suffering to the person who suffers it. Intrapersonal conflicts can help us grow as people if we resolve them satisfactorily.
  • Related article: "Existential crisis: when we do not find meaning in our life"

2.2. Interpersonal conflict

Interpersonal conflicts are those that occur in the processes of interaction between people . They usually appear quickly, since it is only necessary for a single person to feel attacked in order to initiate one, which causes them to be born as a result of misunderstandings. They can be originated by practically any motive, from jealousy to conflict of interests in relation to the use of a type of resource.

  • For example : between two friends. The origin can be found in a clash of personalities, values, opinions or expectations.

2.3. Intragroup conflict

Intergroup conflicts occur between members of a group or team , for several reasons: due to interpersonal differences or because some of the participants of the group do not share the ideas of the organization, among others. This type of conflicts can destabilize the good progress of a team or group and affect their effectiveness and cohesion, since they create an extra concern or even block the group's ability to operate, which in turn can lead to more conflicts in a chain reaction.

2.4. Intergroup conflict

Intergroup conflict is a conflict between groups and can be very destructive, because, in extreme cases, The violence derived from this type of conflict is aimed at group reinforcement and can even be justified . It usually has its causes in ideologies, prejudices or territorial disputes.

On the other hand, unlike what happens in interpersonal conflicts, it is more difficult that they arise from misunderstandings, since the presence of other people makes the "contagion effect" necessary to be considered a intragroup conflict delays the appearance of this. In addition, a greater number of observers makes it less likely that misunderstandings may occur that remain over time.

  • For example : the conflict between two companies for economic reasons, a war between peoples for their religion or between "hooligans" for their football team.
  • If you want to know more about the negative impact of intergroup conflicts, you can read our article: "Hooligans: The Psychology of Football Thugs"

3. According to the content

Depending on the content, the conflict may be:

3.1. Relational conflicts

These conflicts occur between members of a family, friends or partner .

  • For example : because of the bad communication between the two members of a marriage, one ends up arguing about any everyday trifle.

3.2. Conflicts of interest

Conflicts of interest have to do with motivations and the needs of each person or group and with the resources present at that moment.

  • For example: when a worker wants more money for the workday and the company does not want to pay more.

3.3. Ethical and values ​​conflicts

They have to do with the culture and environment in which the person has grown . They are frequent and complex, because it is not easy for a person to change the principles that govern their behavior. In the case of ethical conflict, it usually occurs when a person has to make a decision that does not agree with their deepest values.

3.4. Conflicts of leadership and power

Leadership conflicts mainly affect organizations and can affect performance and the health of the workers. A characteristic phenomenon of conflicts has to do with the power struggle, since many authors speak of the relationship between conflict and power, being one of the most common causes.

3.5. Conflicts of personality

Personality is a set of stable traits and qualities that shape a person's way of being and makes us unique. The personality, being a little flexible phenomenon, can be the basis of many intergroup conflicts .

How to resolve conflicts

Conflicts, in many cases, can bring about positive changes . For this it is necessary that they be managed correctly. It is important to understand that making a correct diagnosis of the conflict will determine the success in solving the different problems. If we approach an intergroup or interindividual conflict as if it were an intraindividual conflict, the chances of success may be scarce.

For example, we may find ourselves working in a company in which the main problem is the bad practices of the human resources department, which is generating a role conflict in the workers. They do not know exactly what their functions are, and this conflict generates stress and discomfort in the employees. If we approach this situation as a worker's problem, we will be attacking the wrong goal.

Maybe we can reduce the symptoms momentarily, but the problem will still be there, in the bad organizational management. Therefore, before taking any action to mitigate the effects of the conflict, it is necessary to know what is the root or the basis of the problem.

However, There are some principles that we must apply if we want to resolve the conflict :

  • Do not pretend that the problem does not exist. Face it and try to solve it.
  • Be critical and analyze your failures.
  • Treat the other party with respect and education.
  • Explain your opinions and establish the points of union.
  • Be empathic with the other party and understand their position.
  • Avoid confrontation.
  • Improves communication: active listening, assertiveness ...

If you want to know how to improve your negotiation skills, this post may interest you: "How to be a great negotiator, in 10 psychological keys".

Bibliographic references:

  • Calcaterra, Rubén A. (2002). Strategic mediation Barcelona: Gedisa. ISBN 978-84-7432-901-8.
  • Dahrendorf, Ralf. (nineteen ninety six). Elements for a theory of social conflict.In: Society and freedom: towards a sociological analysis of current affairs. Madrid: Tecnos.
  • Entelman, Remo F. ​​(2002). Theory of conflicts: towards a new paradigm. Barcelona: Gedisa. ISBN 84-7432-944-2.
  • Vinyamata Camp, Eduard. (2003). Learn mediation Barcelona: Paidós Ibérica. ISBN 978-84-493-1364-6.

Conflict Resolution (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 11 types de conflits (et comment les résoudre)

Les 11 types de conflits (et comment les résoudre)

Novembre 17, 2019

Les conflits sont fréquents dans les relations interpersonnelles , parce que chaque personne a son idée et sa vision du monde. Cela peut entraîner des différences qui vont au-delà des simples divergences.

Une mauvaise communication peut être la source d'un conflit. Il s'agit donc d'un élément nécessaire à la médiation et à la bonne gestion du conflit. Dans cet article, nous passons en revue les 11 types de conflits et comment les résoudre. .

Causes des conflits

Une communication efficace est un outil nécessaire pour comprendre les autres et les problèmes qui peuvent conduire à des conflits, car elle nous permet de comprendre les différences de valeurs culturelles et idéologiques qui peuvent être à la base du problème et, en outre, peuvent empêcher le conflit de partir. des mains.


Les causes des conflits peuvent être différentes car il existe différents types de conflits . Par exemple, il peut y avoir des conflits d’intérêts économiques entre deux entreprises, des conflits émotionnels dans des conflits internes d’une personne, des conflits politiques entre deux pays, des conflits religieux entre deux communautés ou des conflits de compétences entre deux forces de police.

Bien que le conflit soit considéré comme une mauvaise chose, il peut parfois être une occasion d’améliorer des choses qui ne vont pas bien ou qui ne fonctionnent pas.

Types de conflits

Comme vous le voyez, les causes des conflits peuvent varier: valeurs et idéologies, ressources, attentes dans les relations entre les personnes, affrontements de personnalités, protection du territoire, etc. Ces causes sont généralement plus courantes dans différents types de conflits. Mais Comment les conflits sont-ils classés? Quels types de conflits existe-t-il?


Les conflits peuvent varier selon leur contenu, leur véracité ou selon les participants. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les différents types de conflits et leurs caractéristiques.

1. Conflits selon leur véracité

Selon leur véracité, les conflits peuvent être:

1.1. Conflits réels

Les vrais conflits sont ceux qui existent réellement et qui sont causés par diverses causes , qu’elles soient structurelles ou environnementales (économiques, juridiques, relationnelles, etc.), entre autres.

  • Par exemple : Pablo loue sa maison à Adrián pour un coût mensuel de 600 euros, car ce dernier est parti s'installer dans la grande ville. Tout va bien jusqu'à ce qu'Adrian perde son travail et cesse donc de payer le loyer. Cela crée un conflit économique réel.

1.2. Conflits imaginaires

Les conflits imaginaires découlent d'incompréhensions, d'interprétations ou de perceptions . Dans ce type de conflit, il n'y a aucune volonté des parties.


  • Par exemple : María pense que Juan, son partenaire, ne ressent plus la même chose pour elle. Juan est à court de batterie et n'a pas pu l'appeler comme il le fait toutes les nuits. En fait, Juan craint de ne pas pouvoir l'appeler, mais il n'a pas la possibilité de le faire à ce moment-là. Il n'y a pas de conflit, mais Maria pense que la raison pour laquelle Juan ne l'appelle pas, c'est parce qu'il est avec une autre femme.

1.3. Conflits inventés

Les conflits inventés, comme les conflits imaginaires, ne sont pas réels . Cependant, contrairement à ceux-ci, certaines des parties souhaitent avoir des avantages. Cela fait qu’une grande partie de ce phénomène est en réalité une manipulation ou une mise en lumière.

  • Par exemple : une personne qui simule un accident pour que l’assurance paye la réparation d’un coup porté au dos parce qu’elle a touché un mât lorsqu’il a reculé.

2. Conflits selon les participants

Selon les acteurs impliqués dans le conflit, cela peut être:

2.1. Conflit intrapersonnel

Ce conflit se produit à l'intérieur, dans l'esprit de l'individu . Cela signifie qu’il trouve son origine dans des événements privés: pensées, valeurs, principes, émotions… Ces conflits peuvent avoir différents degrés.

  • Par exemple: d’un conflit quotidien sur ce qu’il faut manger aujourd’hui, à une crise existentielle qui cause de grandes souffrances à la personne qui le subit. Les conflits intrapersonnels peuvent nous aider à grandir en tant que personnes si nous les résolvons de manière satisfaisante.
  • Article connexe: "Crise existentielle: quand on ne trouve pas de sens dans notre vie"

2.2. Conflit interpersonnel

Les conflits interpersonnels sont ceux qui surviennent dans les processus d’interaction entre des personnes. . Ils apparaissent généralement rapidement, car il suffit qu'une seule personne se sente attaquée pour en initier une, ce qui les fait naître à la suite de malentendus. Ils peuvent avoir pour origine n'importe quel motif, de la jalousie au conflit d’intérêts en relation avec l’utilisation d’un type de ressource.

  • Par exemple : entre deux amis. L'origine peut être trouvée dans un choc de personnalités, de valeurs, d'opinions ou d'attentes.

2.3. Conflit intragroupe

Des conflits intergroupes se produisent entre les membres d'un groupe ou d'une équipe , pour plusieurs raisons: en raison de différences interpersonnelles ou parce que certains des participants du groupe ne partagent pas les idées de l’organisation, entre autres. Ce type de conflit peut déstabiliser le bon déroulement d'une équipe ou d'un groupe et affecter leur efficacité et leur cohésion, dans la mesure où il crée une préoccupation supplémentaire, voire bloque la capacité du groupe à fonctionner, ce qui peut conduire à davantage de conflits. dans une réaction en chaîne.

2.4. Conflit intergroupe

Un conflit entre groupes est un conflit entre groupes et peut être très destructeur, car, dans des cas extrêmes, La violence découlant de ce type de conflit vise le renforcement des groupes et peut même être justifiée. . Il a généralement ses causes dans des idéologies, des préjugés ou des conflits territoriaux.

D'autre part, contrairement à ce qui se passe dans les conflits interpersonnels, il est plus difficile que ceux-ci résultent de malentendus, car la présence d'autres personnes rend "l'effet de contagion" nécessaire pour être considéré comme un conflit intragroupe retardant l'apparition de celui-ci En outre, un plus grand nombre d'observateurs réduit les risques de malentendus persistants.

  • Par exemple : le conflit entre deux sociétés pour des raisons économiques, une guerre entre peuples pour leur religion ou entre "hooligans" pour leur équipe de football.
  • Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur l'impact négatif des conflits entre groupes, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Hooligans: la psychologie des voyous du football"

3. Selon le contenu

Selon le contenu, le conflit peut être:

3.1. Conflits relationnels

Ces conflits se produisent entre membres d'une famille, amis ou partenaires .

  • Par exemple : à cause de la mauvaise communication entre les deux membres d'un mariage, on finit par se disputer à propos de n'importe quelle bagatelle de tous les jours.

3.2. Conflits d'intérêts

Les conflits d'intérêts ont à voir avec des motivations et les besoins de chaque personne ou groupe et avec les ressources présentes à ce moment.

  • Par exemple: quand un travailleur veut plus d’argent pour la journée de travail et que l’entreprise ne veut pas payer plus.

3.3. Conflits éthiques et de valeurs

Ils ont à voir avec la culture et l'environnement dans lequel la personne a grandi . Ils sont fréquents et complexes, car il n’est pas facile pour une personne de changer les principes qui régissent son comportement. En cas de conflit éthique, cela se produit généralement lorsqu'une personne doit prendre une décision qui ne correspond pas à ses valeurs les plus profondes.

3.4. Conflits de leadership et de pouvoir

Les conflits de leadership affectent principalement les organisations et peuvent affecter les performances et la santé des travailleurs. Un phénomène caractéristique des conflits a à voir avec la lutte pour le pouvoir, puisque de nombreux auteurs parlent de la relation entre conflit et pouvoir, l'une des causes les plus courantes.

3.5. Conflits de personnalité

La personnalité est un ensemble de traits et de qualités stables qui façonnent la façon d'être d'une personne et nous rendent uniques. La personnalité, étant un phénomène peu flexible, peut être la base de nombreux conflits entre groupes .

Comment résoudre les conflits

Les conflits, dans de nombreux cas, peuvent entraîner des changements positifs . Pour cela, il est nécessaire qu’ils soient gérés correctement. Il est important de comprendre qu’un diagnostic correct du conflit déterminera le succès de la résolution des différents problèmes. Si nous abordons un conflit intergroupe ou interindividuel comme s'il s'agissait d'un conflit intraindividuel, les chances de succès pourraient être rares.

Par exemple, nous pouvons nous retrouver à travailler dans une entreprise dans laquelle le principal problème est les mauvaises pratiques du service des ressources humaines, ce qui génère un conflit de rôles chez les travailleurs. Ils ne savent pas exactement quelles sont leurs fonctions et ce conflit génère un stress et une gêne chez les employés. Si nous abordons cette situation comme un problème de travailleur, nous nous attaquerons au mauvais objectif.

Peut-être pourrions-nous réduire momentanément les symptômes, mais le problème sera toujours là, dans la mauvaise gestion organisationnelle. Par conséquent, avant de prendre des mesures pour atténuer les effets du conflit, il est nécessaire de savoir quelle est la racine ou la base du problème.

Maintenant bien, Il y a certains principes que nous devons appliquer si nous voulons résoudre le conflit :

  • Ne prétendez pas que le problème n'existe pas. Faites-le face et essayez de le résoudre.
  • Soyez critique et analysez vos échecs.
  • Traitez l'autre partie avec respect et éducation.
  • Expliquez vos opinions et établissez les points d'union.
  • Soyez empathique avec l'autre partie et comprenez sa position.
  • Évitez la confrontation.
  • Améliore la communication: écoute active, affirmation de soi ...

Si vous souhaitez savoir comment améliorer vos compétences en matière de négociation, cet article peut vous intéresser: "Comment devenir un excellent négociateur, avec 10 clés psychologiques".

Références bibliographiques:

  • Calcaterra, Rubén A. (2002). Médiation stratégique Barcelone: ​​Gedisa. ISBN 978-84-7432-901-8.
  • Dahrendorf, Ralf. (1996). Éléments pour une théorie du conflit social.Dans: Société et liberté: vers une analyse sociologique de l'actualité. Madrid: Tecnos.
  • Entelman, Remo F. ​​(2002). Théorie des conflits: vers un nouveau paradigme. Barcelone: ​​Gedisa. ISBN 84-7432-944-2.
  • Vinyamata Camp, Eduard. (2003). Apprendre la médiation Barcelone: ​​Paidós Ibérica. ISBN 978-84-493-1364-6.

PNL: Comment gérer un conflit (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes