yes, therapy helps!
The 11 types of headache and their characteristics

The 11 types of headache and their characteristics

December 3, 2022

Headaches are one of the most frequent causes of medical visits , according to the World Health Organization (WHO). However, not all are equal. There are the pains caused by some disease, others that arise from stress, and those of a genetic type, better known as migraine.

In this article we will review the different types of headache and their characteristics .

Primary and secondary headache

Headaches cause great suffering to the person who suffers, but not all are equal and can be classified into two categories. It is possible to differentiate two major types of headache: primary and secondary headaches .


When talking about primary headaches we are referring to the fact that the headache is itself the disease. The same is not true for secondary headaches, in which the headache is a consequence of another disease, for example, the flu or a brain tumor.

Types of headache

But, going to the detail, what types of headache are there? what are their characteristics? Following the classification of the International Headache Society (ICHD-3), the types of headache are :

Primary headaches

There are several types of primary headaches; They are the following:

1. Tension headache

Tension headache is a very common type of headache, in which the person presents with an oppressive pain, that is, pressure on the head. Unlike what happens in other types of headache pain usually affects the two halves of the head .


Its causes can be varied: stress, fatigue, anxiety, excess coffee or tobacco. It can occur at any age, but it is more common in adolescents and adults.

2. Migraine

Migraine and tension headache account for 95% of primary headaches , so that if you have doubts about what happens to you, most likely this is the phenomenon that takes place in your body, unless the symptoms are far from what is here. It usually appears as recurrent attacks of headache on one side of the head, which can vary in its frequency, intensity and duration. In addition, they usually present together with nausea, vomiting and discomfort towards light and noise. Migraine is of genetic origin and is a chronic as well as an episodic condition.

  • There are different types of migraine. If you are interested, you can know them in this article: "The 7 types of migraine (characteristics and causes)"

3. Primary cuspal headache

This type of headache appears as a consequence of the cough, although it can also occur due to other valsalva maneuvers, that is, by exhaling air with the glottis closed or with the mouth and nose closed . Thus, it is the product of an action that is repeated over and over again, without us noticing, in the case of a bad habit, or in a timely manner because of a sudden alteration in our state.


For example, sneezing, laughing, bending over, crying, strength training with weights, etc. It usually appears suddenly right after the coughing and can affect part or both of the head. The pain can be oppressive or throbbing and the duration and intensity can vary depending on each case.

4. Primary headache due to physical exertion

This type of headache it has its cause in the prolonged physical effort . It seems that it is more frequent in men and neither the type of exercise nor the physical condition of the subject influence its appearance.

The person suffering from it usually presents with bilateral and throbbing pain that sometimes appears along with nausea and vomiting. It usually begins at the time of maximum physical effort and partially improves at the same time when physical activity ceases.

5. Headache associated with sexual activity

This type of headache It has its origin in intimate relationships . The symptoms appear bilaterally and the pain can vary in its form: oppressive, throbbing, throbbing. It can be accompanied by tachycardia, flushing, nausea, facial flushing and even dizziness. It usually lasts 30 to 60 minutes and can occur before orgasm, during orgasm or after orgasm.

6. Headache in primary thunder

Like the two previous ones, it can be initiated after a physical effort of high intensity or by having intimate relationships. However, is a type of explosive headache, which has a sudden onset and reaches its maximum intensity in the first minutes . Its intensity is moderate-severe and although it can occur anywhere in the head, it usually has an occipital location. Occasionally, it is presented together with sensitivity to light and sound and together with nausea and vomiting.

7. Cryostimulus headache

The cause of this type of headache is to come into contact with something cold , either inhaled, ingested or placed on the outside of the head. Therefore, it can appear, for example, after being exposed to a cold environment or when getting into water with a very low temperature.The pain is localized in the forehead, specifically in the middle area, it is of a pungent type and of short duration. It is usually common in patients suffering from migraine.

8. Headache due to external pressure

This headache appears due to the understanding of the head uninterrupted , specifically in the pericranial soft tissues. For example, for wearing a helmet, a hat or glasses.

Pain appears at the point where external compression occurs. It usually remits before the 60 minutes following the release of the compression that caused it.

9. Primary puncture headache

Primary puncture headache, as the name suggests, presents a sharp-pointed pain, usually intense and of specific location (frontal or temporal), although they can also change location. It appears spontaneously by doing some maneuvers, for example, movements of the head, changes in posture, etc.

10. Numular headache

This type of headache it is located only on the scalp and is chronic . Its duration can be variable, and the pain appears with a series of characteristics: in coin form, with a perfect contour, a round, fixed size and of 1-6 cm in diameter.

10 Hypical headache

Appears during sleep (night and naps) and interrupts it. It usually appears in people older than 50 years, although occasionally younger people may suffer from it. It lasts approximately between half an hour and 3 hours and the pain can be of many types.

11. Persistent daily headache de novo

This kind of headache also is known as chronic headache of recent onset and it is quite unusual. The symptoms may be similar to those of migraine or tension-type headache, although the symptoms often resemble the latter. It appears suddenly, and the symptoms manifest daily and uninterrupted.

Secondary headaches

As stated, these headaches they are secondary to another pathology . There is a lot of types:

  • Headache attributed to cranial or cervical trauma : They are the most common, and may appear after a trauma or whiplash. It occurs only with the headache or with other symptoms: dizziness, lack of concentration or motor slowing down.
  • Headache attributed to cranial and / or cervical vascular disorder : It usually appears next to vascular or cervical disorders, for example, a stroke.
  • Headache attributed to non-vascular intracranial disorder : The cause is other intracranial disorders that do not belong to the previous group
  • Headache attributed to the administration or suppression of a substance : Due to the use of medications or the withdrawal of these.
  • Headache attributed to infection : The cause is an infection, for example, the flu.
  • Headache attributed to homeostasis disorder : This type of headache is presented together with a disorder of homeostasis, for example: headache of great heights. Headache due to immersion or headache due to sleep apnea
  • Headache or facial pain attributed to a disorder of the skull , neck, eyes, ears, nose, paranasal sinuses, teeth, mouth or other facial or cranial structures.
  • Headache attributed to psychiatric disorder : Psychiatric disorders can be, for example, depression or anxiety.

What to do to cope with the headache?

Since there are many types of headaches, there is no universal solution to alleviate their symptoms and, specifically, the discomfort that occurs. On the other hand, there is no "cure" for these situations, since the headache is a manifestation of an underlying problem.

Once it has appeared, little can be done for the pain to go away automatically. What can be done is to intervene on the underlying problem and make the headache less likely to recur; for example, improving the diet, resting more, resting the sight, etc. In any case it is necessary to have medical supervision and diagnosis of what happens to attack its root.


Video: Types of Migraines | UPMC HealthBeat (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 11 types de maux de tête et leurs caractéristiques

Les 11 types de maux de tête et leurs caractéristiques

Septembre 23, 2022

Les maux de tête sont l’une des causes les plus fréquentes des visites médicales , selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). Cependant, tous ne sont pas égaux. Il y a les douleurs causées par certaines maladies, les autres qui résultent du stress et celles de type génétique, mieux connues sous le nom de migraine.

Dans cet article nous passerons en revue les différents types de maux de tête et leurs caractéristiques .

Mal de tête primaire et secondaire

Les maux de tête causent de grandes souffrances à la personne qui souffre, mais tous ne sont pas égaux et peuvent être classés en deux catégories. Il est possible de distinguer deux types principaux de céphalées: les céphalées primaires et secondaires. .


Quand on parle de maux de tête primaires, on parle du fait que le mal de tête est en soi la maladie. Il n'en va pas de même pour les maux de tête secondaires, dans lesquels le mal de tête est la conséquence d'une autre maladie, par exemple la grippe ou une tumeur au cerveau.

Types de maux de tête

Mais, pour aller au détail, quels types de maux de tête existe-t-il? Quelles sont ses caractéristiques? Après la classification de la International Headache Society (ICHD-3), les types de maux de tête sont :

Céphalées primaires

Il existe plusieurs types de maux de tête primaires; Ils sont les suivants:

1. Céphalée de tension

La céphalée de tension est un type très courant de céphalée, dans lequel la personne présente une douleur oppressante, c'est-à-dire une pression sur la tête. Contrairement à ce qui se passe dans d'autres types de douleurs de maux de tête affecte généralement les deux moitiés de la tête .


Ses causes peuvent être variées: stress, fatigue, anxiété, excès de café ou de tabac. Il peut survenir à tout âge, mais il est plus fréquent chez les adolescents et les adultes.

2. migraine

La migraine et les céphalées de tension représentent 95% des céphalées primaires Si bien que si vous avez des doutes sur ce qui vous arrive, c’est très probablement le phénomène qui se produit dans votre corps, à moins que les symptômes ne soient loin de ce qu’il est ici. Il apparaît généralement sous la forme d'attaques récurrentes de maux de tête d'un côté de la tête, dont la fréquence, l'intensité et la durée peuvent varier. En outre, ils se manifestent généralement par des nausées, des vomissements et une gêne due à la lumière et au bruit. La migraine est d'origine génétique et est une maladie chronique aussi bien qu'épisodique.

  • Il existe différents types de migraine. Si vous êtes intéressé, vous pouvez les connaître dans cet article: "Les 7 types de migraine (caractéristiques et causes)"

3. Céphalée primaire

Ce type de mal de tête apparaît comme une conséquence de la toux, bien qu’il puisse également être dû à d’autres manœuvres de valsalva, c’est-à-dire: en expirant de l'air avec la glotte fermée ou avec la bouche et le nez fermés . Ainsi, il est le produit d'une action qui se répète encore et encore, sans que nous le remarquions, dans le cas d'une mauvaise habitude, ou de manière opportune en raison d'une modification soudaine de notre état.


Par exemple, éternuer, rire, se pencher, pleurer, faire de la musculation avec des poids, etc. Il apparaît généralement soudainement juste après la toux et peut affecter une partie ou les deux de la tête. La douleur peut être oppressante ou lancinante et la durée et l'intensité peuvent varier selon les cas.

4. Céphalée primaire due à un effort physique

Ce type de mal de tête il a sa cause dans l'effort physique prolongé . Il semble qu'il soit plus fréquent chez l'homme et que ni le type d'exercice ni l'état physique du sujet n'influencent son apparence.

La personne qui en souffre présente généralement une douleur bilatérale et lancinante, parfois accompagnée de nausées et de vomissements. Il commence généralement au moment de l'effort physique maximal et s'améliore partiellement en même temps que l'activité physique cesse.

5. Maux de tête associés à une activité sexuelle

Ce type de mal de tête Il a son origine dans les relations intimes . Les symptômes apparaissent bilatéralement et la douleur peut varier dans sa forme: oppressante, lancinante, lancinante. Il peut être accompagné de tachycardie, bouffées vasomotrices, nausées, bouffées vasomotrices et même des vertiges. Il dure généralement entre 30 et 60 minutes et peut survenir avant l'orgasme, pendant ou après l'orgasme.

6. Maux de tête dans le tonnerre primaire

Comme les deux précédentes, il peut être initié après un effort physique de haute intensité ou en ayant des relations intimes. Maintenant bien, est un type de mal de tête explosif qui se manifeste soudainement et atteint son intensité maximale dans les premières minutes . Son intensité est modérée à sévère et bien qu’elle puisse se produire n'importe où dans la tête, elle a généralement une localisation occipitale. De temps en temps, il est présenté avec une sensibilité à la lumière et au son et avec des nausées et des vomissements.

7. Céphalée de Cryostimulus

La cause de ce type de mal de tête est d'entrer en contact avec quelque chose de froid , soit inhalé, ingéré ou placé à l’extérieur de la tête. Par conséquent, il peut apparaître, par exemple, après une exposition à un environnement froid ou lors de la pénétration dans une eau à très basse température.La douleur est localisée dans le front, en particulier dans la région médiane, elle est de type piquant et de courte durée. Il est généralement fréquent chez les patients souffrant de migraine.

8. Maux de tête dus à la pression externe

Ce mal de tête apparaît en raison de la compréhension de la tête sans interruption , en particulier dans les tissus mous péricraniens. Par exemple, pour porter un casque, un chapeau ou des lunettes.

La douleur apparaît au moment où la compression externe se produit. Il attend généralement dans les 60 minutes qui suivent la publication de la compression qui l'a provoqué.

9. céphalée primitive

Céphalée de ponction primaire, comme son nom l'indique, présente une douleur aiguë, généralement intense et localisée (frontal ou temporel), bien qu'ils puissent également changer de lieu. Il apparaît spontanément en effectuant des manœuvres, par exemple des mouvements de la tête, des changements de posture, etc.

10. Maux de tête numériques

Ce type de mal de tête il est situé uniquement sur le cuir chevelu et est chronique . Sa durée peut être variable et la douleur apparaît avec une série de caractéristiques: en forme de pièce, avec un contour parfait, une taille ronde et fixe et de 1 à 6 cm de diamètre.

10 maux de tête hypical

Apparaît pendant le sommeil (nuit et siestes) et l'interrompt. Il apparaît généralement chez les personnes de plus de 50 ans, bien que parfois les plus jeunes puissent en souffrir. Elle dure environ une demi-heure à 3 heures et la douleur peut être de plusieurs types.

11. Maux de tête quotidiens persistants de novo

Ce genre de mal de tête aussi est connu comme un mal de tête chronique d'apparition récente et c'est assez inhabituel. Les symptômes peuvent être similaires à ceux de la migraine ou du mal de tête de type tension, bien que les symptômes ressemblent souvent à ce dernier. Il apparaît soudainement et les symptômes se manifestent quotidiennement et de manière ininterrompue.

Céphalées secondaires

Comme indiqué, ces maux de tête ils sont secondaires à une autre pathologie . Il y a plusieurs types:

  • Maux de tête attribués à un traumatisme crânien ou cervical : Ils sont les plus fréquents et peuvent apparaître après un traumatisme ou un coup du lapin. Il ne survient qu'avec le mal de tête ou avec d'autres symptômes: vertiges, manque de concentration ou ralentissement de la motricité.
  • Maux de tête attribués à un trouble vasculaire crânien et / ou cervical : Il apparaît généralement à côté de troubles vasculaires ou cervicaux, par exemple un accident vasculaire cérébral.
  • Maux de tête attribués à un trouble intracrânien non vasculaire : La cause est d'autres désordres intracrâniens qui n'appartiennent pas au groupe précédent
  • Maux de tête attribués à l'administration ou à la suppression d'une substance : En raison de l'utilisation de médicaments ou du retrait de ceux-ci.
  • Maux de tête attribués à une infection : La cause est une infection, par exemple, la grippe.
  • Maux de tête attribués au trouble de l'homéostasie : Ce type de mal de tête est présenté avec un trouble de l'homéostasie, par exemple: mal de tête de grande taille. Maux de tête dus à l'immersion ou maux de tête dus à l'apnée du sommeil
  • Mal de tête ou douleur faciale attribuée à un trouble du crâne , cou, yeux, oreilles, nez, sinus paranasaux, dents, bouche ou autres structures faciales ou crâniennes.
  • Mal de tête attribué à un trouble psychiatrique : Les troubles psychiatriques peuvent être, par exemple, la dépression ou l’anxiété.

Que faire pour faire face au mal de tête?

Comme il existe de nombreux types de maux de tête, il n’existe pas de solution universelle pour soulager leurs symptômes et, en particulier, le malaise qui se produit. D'autre part, il n'y a pas de "remède" pour ces situations, car le mal de tête est la manifestation d'un problème sous-jacent.

Une fois qu'elle est apparue, il est très difficile de faire en sorte que la douleur disparaisse automatiquement. Ce qui peut être fait est d’intervenir sur le problème sous-jacent et d’éviter que la migraine ne se reproduise; par exemple, améliorer le régime alimentaire, se reposer davantage, reposer la vue, etc. Dans tous les cas, il est nécessaire d'avoir une surveillance médicale et un diagnostic de ce qui se passe pour attaquer sa racine.


Presse et Appuie Pendant 60 Secondes, et Découvre ce Qui se Passera Dans Ton Corps (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes