yes, therapy helps!
The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)

The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)

May 10, 2021

Violence is not always easy to identify , since we have it very normalized and, under certain forms of expression, it can go unnoticed or taken as something "that is expected".

In this article r We will discuss the different types of violence and we will analyze the keys to know how to identify them wherever they occur. The goal is to make the task of recognizing patterns of behavior that are different forms of violence easier, which helps us act accordingly.

What is violence?

Summarizing, violence is the use of physical force or power against oneself or against others , so that this act causes physical damage, psychological damage or deprivation. This means that violence is the use of physical aggression to harm someone, but also the use of power, something more abstract, to cause damage or significantly limit the options that are posed to a person.


The key elements are the existence of a strategy and a series of actions that have the consequence that someone is injured, and that one of the main intentions behind this behavior is to cause harm or attempt against the physical or psychological integrity of someone. That is to say, that the intentions to harm someone are an essential factor so that we can talk about types of violence.

From the above it is clear that the concept of violence is something really very open . That's why we can talk, too, about the types of violence and how to identify them.

The different types of violence

There is no single criterion to classify the types of violence, but several. The most common tend to be based on two factors: the way in which violence is exercised and the subject or subjects that exercise it. These two factors are what structure the classification of types of violence.


Types of violence according to the type of agent

We'll see now the types of violence according to who inflicts the aggression , independently of everything else.

1. Self-inflicted violence

This is one of the most stigmatized types of violence that exist, since in them it is the person himself that harms himself , something that is very difficult to understand from the point of view of the rest of the people. In self-inflicted violence the person can make cuts in arms or legs, can be humiliated publicly, can hit the head against hard surfaces repeatedly, etc.

It is common that people who carry out this type of violence are going through highly stressful situations, have a personality disorder (many times, the Personality Disorder) or both. It is also possible that self-inflicted violence ends up in suicide or, rather, that it is one of the symptoms of a behavioral, cognitive and emotional dynamic that leads to suicide. The injuries that someone has inflicted before are not in themselves the cause of which he decides to take his own life.


The eternal debate is that there are many questionable things about the concept of self-inflicted violence, since putting the whole emphasis of violence on the individual may not be the most indicated if their behavior is the consequence of the violence that others exert against it. That is why, when we speak of self-inflicted violence, d we must bear in mind that behind it there may be other agents that we do not know and that are the cause of this type of violence.

2. Interpersonal violence

This is the kind of violence in which one individual assaults another . In this category we can find domestic violence, bullying, specific cases of robbery with violence, etc.

Although in interpersonal violence the cause is an individual (or a small group of them), it is possible that this type of aggression has part of its explanation in social phenomena. For example, drug use or poverty are factors closely linked to conflict.

3. Collective violence

Unlike what happens in the types of violence we have seen, in this the aggression is of a collective nature, of a group or community against another group . The motivations of collective violence are usually political, economic, or ideological-religious.

It is one of the most harmful types of violence, because its negative effects can be felt in many facets of life and, as it involves many people, it is easy to degenerate to lead to wounded and sometimes dead. For example, the same violence that causes some minorities to be viewed with contempt by a large part of the population often contributes to the appearance of physical aggression and even murder.

The situations that favor the emergence of collective violence are political, legal and social phenomena, such as the presence of religious fundamentalism, the systematic discrimination of minorities, the democratic deficits on the part of a state, the monopoly of certain valuable resources on the part of a relatively small group of people, or large social and economic inequalities.

Types of violence according to the nature of the act

It is also possible to distinguish between types of violence according to the way in which it is intended to harm or harm, that is, by observing the nature and content of the aggression. Within this category, there are the following classes:

4. Physical violence

This is perhaps the most typical and easy to imagine type of violence, since it is very visual and easy to identify. At, someone does something to harm another person's body , producing someone's pain and suffering. At times, it can lead to death.

Physical violence, in addition, usually leaves marks that qualified medical personnel can identify: scratches, wounds, bruises, etc.

5. Verbal violence

Verbal violence is one in which it is intended to harm the other person is a message or a speech . It may (or may not) contain insults or taboo words, since it is not essential to use that kind of resources to produce psychological distress.

In addition to producing anxiety, this type of violence can damage the self-esteem of people and their public image.

6. Sexual violence

In sexual violence there are behaviors and types of physical contact that denigrate someone through the appeal of their sexual dimension . When it is manifested through violations, it is accompanied by physical violence, although it should be noted that in these the sexual component is not a simple complement, but adopts a form of violence that consists of trying to harm the other psychologically. person.

7. Economic violence

It is a type of violence in which the ability of one or several people to use the money they earn is harmed . The theft and misuse of bank accounts fall into this category, as well as cheating to make investments that turn out to be a scam.

8. Negligence

Negligence is a type of violence that occurs by default , since in it aggression consists in not carrying out actions to which one is obliged to guarantee the minimum welfare of the rest. For example, a doctor who refuses to treat someone injured by a personal confrontation with this is negligent.

9. Religious violence

In this category comes the use of power to harm people by manipulating them with a series of beliefs and promises about a spiritual plane. It is very common to see how sects use this type of aggression to keep dominated those people who put money, time and effort into the maintenance of the institution.

10. Cultural violence

In this type of violence, the aggressions are part of the frame of reference of a culture and they are related to the signs of cultural identity of a specific culture. For example, the normalization of violations in armed conflicts or the ablation of female genitals are examples of cultural violence.

11. Cyberbullying

In cyberbullying Internet and social networks are often used to post information about a person or group of people with the desire to ridicule or humiliate. It is one of the types of violence whose scope is difficult to specify, because the number of people potentially capable of seeing this type of stigmatizing content is very high.

  • To know more about this kind of violence you can read: "Cyberbullying: analyzing the characteristics of virtual harassment"

A final reflection

Violence, in one way or another, has been part of our lives. Even thousands of years ago, before there were civilizations and writing, violent events took place between our ancestors who have left an archaeological record on aggression. Today the volume of violence that shakes our planet is still overwhelming and, to a greater or lesser extent, it even sneaks into the lives of those more privileged people with more resources to live away from poverty and marginality.

Precisely because the different kinds of violence have been manifested in one way or another depending on the historical moment and the place, each culture has used a way to interpret and react to it . Knowing how to recognize the different types of violence is one of the keys to fight against this phenomenon.

Bibliographic references:

  • Mayor S├ínchez, M. (2000). The crime of physical and mental abuse in the family. Tirant lo Blanch, Valencia.
  • Bern├írdez, A. ed. (2001). Gender violence and society: a question of power. Compilation of papers of the Summer University of El Escorial.
  • Burnley, J. (1993). Conflict. Ed. Morata, Madrid.

Aggression V. Altruism: Crash Course Psychology #40 (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)

Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)

Mai 22, 2022

La violence n'est pas toujours facile à identifier , puisque nous l’avons très normalisé et, sous certaines formes d’expression, cela peut passer inaperçu ou être considéré comme quelque chose "d’espéré".

Dans cet article r Nous discuterons des différents types de violence et nous analyserons les clés pour savoir comment les identifier où qu’elles se produisent. L’objectif est de faciliter la tâche de reconnaissance des modèles de comportement qui sont différentes formes de violence, ce qui nous aide à agir en conséquence.

Qu'est-ce que la violence?

En bref, la violence est l'utilisation de la force physique ou du pouvoir contre soi-même ou contre les autres , de sorte que cet acte cause des dommages physiques, des dommages psychologiques ou une privation. Cela signifie que la violence est le recours à l'agression physique pour nuire à quelqu'un, mais également l'utilisation du pouvoir, quelque chose de plus abstrait, pour causer des dommages ou limiter considérablement les options qui s'offrent à une personne.


Les éléments clés sont l’existence d’une stratégie et d’une série d’actions ayant pour conséquence de blesser une personne et dont l’une des intentions principales de ce comportement est de causer un préjudice ou de porter atteinte à l’intégrité physique ou psychologique d’une personne. C’est-à-dire que les intentions de nuire à quelqu'un sont un facteur essentiel pour pouvoir parler de types de violence.

De ce qui précède, il est clair que le concept de violence est quelque chose de très ouvert . C'est pourquoi nous pouvons aussi parler des types de violence et de la façon de les identifier.

Les différents types de violence

Il n'y a pas un seul critère pour classer les types de violence, mais plusieurs. Les plus courants ont tendance à être basés sur deux facteurs: la manière dont la violence est exercée et le ou les sujets qui l’exercent. Ce sont ces deux facteurs qui structurent la classification des types de violence.


Types de violence selon le type d'agent

Ensuite nous verrons les types de violence selon l'auteur de l'agression , indépendamment de tout le reste.

1. Violence auto-infligée

C’est l’un des types de violence les plus stigmatisés qui existe, car en eux c'est la personne elle-même qui se nuit , quelque chose qui est très difficile à comprendre du point de vue du reste de la population. Lors de violences auto-infligées, la personne peut se couper les bras ou les jambes, être humiliée publiquement, frapper sa tête contre des surfaces dures de manière répétée, etc.

Il est courant que les personnes qui commettent ce type de violence vivent des situations extrêmement stressantes, un trouble de la personnalité (souvent le trouble de la personnalité) ou les deux. Il est également possible que la violence auto-infligée finisse par se suicider ou plutôt les symptomes d’une dynamique comportementale, cognitive et émotionnelle menant au suicide. Les blessures que quelqu'un a infligées auparavant ne sont pas en elles-mêmes la cause dont il décide de se suicider.


Le débat éternel est que le concept de violence auto-infligée soulève de nombreux points douteux, car il est peut-être moins indiqué de mettre l'accent sur la violence, si son comportement est la conséquence de la violence que d'autres personnes exercent contre elle. C’est pourquoi, quand on parle de violence auto-infligée, d nous devons garder à l'esprit que derrière il peut y avoir d'autres agents que nous ne connaissons pas et qui sont la cause de ce type de violence.

2. Violence interpersonnelle

C’est le genre de violence dans laquelle un individu en attaque un autre . Dans cette catégorie, nous pouvons trouver la violence domestique, l'intimidation, des cas spécifiques de vol qualifié avec violence, etc.

Bien que la violence interpersonnelle soit la cause d'un individu (ou d'un petit groupe d'entre eux), il est possible que ce type d'agression ait une partie de son explication dans les phénomènes sociaux. Par exemple, la consommation de drogue ou la pauvreté sont des facteurs étroitement liés aux conflits.

3. Violence collective

Contrairement à ce qui se passe dans les types de violence que nous avons vus, dans cette l'agression est de nature collective, d'un groupe ou d'une communauté contre un autre groupe . Les motivations de la violence collective sont généralement politiques, économiques ou idéologiques-religieuses.

C’est l’une des formes de violence les plus préjudiciables, car ses effets négatifs se font sentir dans de nombreux aspects de la vie et, comme elle implique de nombreuses personnes, il est facile de dégénérer pour aboutir à des blessés et parfois à des morts. Par exemple, la même violence qui fait que certaines minorités sont méprisées par une grande partie de la population contribue souvent à l’apparence d’une agression physique et même d’un meurtre.

Les situations propices à l’émergence de violences collectives sont des phénomènes politiques, juridiques et sociaux, tels que la présence du fondamentalisme religieux, la discrimination systématique des minorités, les déficits démocratiques d’un État, le monopole de certaines ressources précieuses d’un particulier. relativement petit groupe de personnes ou d’importantes inégalités sociales et économiques.

Types de violence selon la nature de l'acte

Il est également possible de distinguer les types de violence en fonction de la manière dont elles sont censées faire du mal, c'est-à-dire en observant la nature et le contenu de l'agression. Dans cette catégorie, il existe les classes suivantes:

4. Violence physique

C’est peut-être le type de violence le plus typique et le plus facile à imaginer, car il est très visuel et facile à identifier. Dans le, quelqu'un fait quelque chose pour nuire au corps d'une autre personne , produisant la douleur et la souffrance de quelqu'un. Parfois, cela peut entraîner la mort.

De plus, la violence physique laisse généralement des traces que le personnel médical qualifié peut identifier: égratignures, plaies, ecchymoses, etc.

5. Violence verbale

La violence verbale est celle dans laquelle il est destiné à nuire à l'autre personne est un message ou un discours . Il peut contenir (ou non) des insultes ou des mots tabous, dans la mesure où il n’est pas indispensable d’utiliser ce type de ressources pour provoquer une détresse psychologique.

En plus de générer de l'anxiété, ce type de violence peut nuire à l'estime de soi des personnes et à leur image publique.

6. Violence sexuelle

Dans la violence sexuelle il y a des comportements et des types de contact physique qui dénigrent quelqu'un par l'appel de sa dimension sexuelle . Lorsqu'elle se manifeste par des violations, elle s'accompagne de violence physique, même s'il convient de noter que la composante sexuelle n'est pas un simple complément, mais qu'elle adopte une forme de violence qui consiste à tenter de nuire à l'autre psychologiquement. personne

7. Violence économique

C’est un type de violence dans lequel la capacité d'une ou de plusieurs personnes à utiliser l'argent qu'elles gagnent est lésée . Le vol et l'utilisation abusive de comptes bancaires entrent dans cette catégorie, de même que la fraude pour effectuer des investissements qui s'avèrent être une arnaque.

8. Négligence

La négligence est un type de violence qui se produit par défaut , puisque l'agression consiste à ne pas mener des actions auxquelles on est obligé de garantir le minimum de bien-être des autres. Par exemple, un médecin qui refuse de soigner une personne blessée par une confrontation personnelle avec cette situation est négligent.

9. Violence religieuse

Dans cette catégorie vient l'utilisation du pouvoir pour nuire aux gens en les manipulant avec une série de croyances et de promesses sur un plan spirituel. Il est très courant de voir comment les sectes utilisent ce type d'agression pour maintenir leur domination sur les personnes qui consacrent de l'argent, du temps et des efforts à l'entretien de l'institution.

10. Violence culturelle

Dans ce type de violence, les agressions font partie du cadre de référence d'une culture et ils sont liés aux signes d'identité culturelle d'une culture spécifique. Par exemple, la normalisation des violations dans les conflits armés ou l'ablation des organes génitaux féminins sont des exemples de violence culturelle.

11. Cyberintimidation

Dans la cyberintimidation Internet et les réseaux sociaux sont souvent utilisés pour publier des informations sur une personne. ou un groupe de personnes avec le désir de ridiculiser ou d'humilier. C’est l’un des types de violence dont la portée est difficile à préciser, car le nombre de personnes potentiellement capables de voir ce type de contenu stigmatisant est très élevé.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur ce type de violence, vous pouvez lire: "Cyberintimidation: analyser les caractéristiques du harcèlement virtuel"

Une dernière réflexion

La violence, d'une manière ou d'une autre, fait partie de nos vies. Il y a même des milliers d'années, avant qu'il y ait des civilisations et des écrits, de violents événements se sont produits entre nos ancêtres qui ont laissé un récit archéologique sur l'agression. Aujourd'hui, le volume de violence qui secoue notre planète est encore écrasant et, dans une mesure plus ou moins grande, il se glisse même dans la vie de ces personnes plus privilégiées disposant de plus de ressources pour vivre loin de la pauvreté et de la marginalité.

C'est précisément parce que les différentes formes de violence se sont manifestées d'une manière ou d'une autre en fonction du moment historique et du lieu, chaque culture a utilisé un moyen d'interpréter et de réagir . Savoir reconnaître les différents types de violence est l’une des clés de la lutte contre ce phénomène.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Maire Sánchez, M. (2000). Le crime d'abus physique et mental dans la famille. Tirant lo Blanch, Valencia.
  • Bernárdez, A. ed. (2001). Violence de genre et société: une question de pouvoir. Compilation d'articles de l'Université d'été d'El Escorial.
  • Burnley, J. (1993). Conflit Ed. Morata, Madrid.

Expérience sociale: Harcèlement de rue (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes