yes, therapy helps!
The 12 benefits of weight training

The 12 benefits of weight training

June 20, 2024

It has been scientifically proven that physical exercise provides numerous benefits for the health of people.

Whether due to cardio or weight training, our body will appreciate sports practically . However, this last form of training (with weights) is usually associated only with those people who seek to improve their body aesthetics, and in the eyes of some individuals, it is less effective in improving cardio.

Benefits of training with weights

But is it really like that? What are the benefits of weight training? In the following lines you can find the answers to these questions.

1. Reduce stress

Physical training in general helps reduce stress, and weight training also does it. In addition to being an ideal way to release tensions after a long day of work, weight training relaxes us after the intense session with dumbbells or free weights.


The Studies suggest that this form of training increases norepinephrine production (noradrenaline), a neurotransmitter that can moderate the brain's response to stress. It also reduces the levels of cortisol, a hormone that regulates and mobilizes energy in stressful situations, but which in excess or in unnecessary situations causes side effects.

2. You will live more

Physical exercise is health and strength training help to live more . Since this last form of exercise helps increase muscle mass, a study from the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) found that the more muscle mass, the less likely to die prematurely.


So. Weight training would help increase people's life expectancy.

3. Help to sleep better

Weight training helps sleep better, because it stimulates the release of serotonin, which increases the levels of melatonin in the body, a hormone that intervenes in the synchronization of the natural cycle of sleep and wakefulness.

A study conducted in 2012 showed that subjects who performed resistance training three days a week improved sleep quality compared to those who did not train.

4. Fat loss

AND It's not uncommon for many individuals to associate fat loss with aerobic training , thinking that running long distances the body burns much more fat. However, studies suggest that high-intensity weight training not only burns calories during training, but also afterwards, as it increases metabolism and, therefore, continue to burn calories for the next 24 hours after the training session .


5. You will burn more calories while you rest

Over time, the increase in muscle mass causes the basal metabolism to increase.

Basal metabolism is the calories that are burned when we do not perform physical activity , that is, it is the energy necessary to maintain the correct functioning of the organs, respiration, body temperature, etc. This causes that, even when we rest, our body is burning more calories.

6. More strength

If our desire is to increase strength, lifting weights is undoubtedly the training par excellence .

That does not mean that this is the only physical capacity that we can work with this method, because with the lifting of weights it is possible to work strength, resistance, speed ... Now, the improvement in the different physical qualities will depend on different variables, such as volume or intensity, etc.

7. Healthier bones

Greater muscle mass is not the only positive result of lifting weights, but the bones are also strengthened . According to research, weight training increases bone density and osteocalcin levels, an indicator of bone growth, by 19%.

8. Improves endurance and also cardiovascular capacity

Strength training has its benefits, as do aerobic training , and although the vast majority of people usually associate weight training only with strength training, combined exercise seems to be the best option to improve both physical qualities.

A methodology that employs both forms of training is mixed training. This approach strengthens the muscles, provides cardiovascular benefits, and according to an L.H. Willis, which took place in 2012, proved that the benefits of this form of training are greater than separately.

9. Reduces the risk of injury

Since weight training reduces the strength of bones, connective tissues and joints, also reduces the possibility of injuries and prevent them . Joints, tendons and strong ligaments are essential to prevent the pain of osteoporosis, and also to improve athletic performance.

10. It helps you to run more and to perform better in many sports

So, weight training helps athletes to perform more when combined with other types of training . For example, a 200 meter runner who works anaerobic resistance with sprints can also increase speed if he performs strength exercises with weights for the lower trunk.

11. Adherence to the diet

It is easier to follow a diet when we train . This is what a study from the University of Pittsburgh suggests, which included a sample of 169 overweight subjects. According to the results, those subjects who trained and followed a diet were able to control the daily intake of 1500 calories compared to those who did not train with weights. Also, the latter ate more sugar and fat-rich products.

12. It improves the health of the heart

Although weight training is not known as a cardiovascular exercise, it also improves heart health . Studies suggest that resistance routines with weights reduce blood pressure, in some cases as effectively as medications. The American Heart Association recommends that adults perform weight training at least twice a week.


12 Reasons To Start Lifting Weights (and The Health Benefits of Resistance Exercise) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 12 avantages de la musculation

Les 12 avantages de la musculation

Juillet 22, 2022

Il a été scientifiquement prouvé que l'exercice physique offre de nombreux avantages pour la santé des personnes.

Que ce soit par cardio ou de musculation, notre corps va apprécier le sport pratiquement . Cependant, cette dernière forme d’entraînement (avec des poids) n’est en général associée qu’aux personnes cherchant à améliorer l’esthétique de leur corps et, aux yeux de certains, elle est moins efficace pour améliorer le cardio.

Avantages de la formation avec des poids

Mais est-ce vraiment comme ça? Quels sont les avantages de la musculation? Vous trouverez ci-dessous les réponses à ces questions.

1. réduire le stress

L'entraînement physique en général aide à réduire le stress, tout comme la musculation. En plus d’être un moyen idéal de libérer les tensions après une longue journée de travail, la musculation nous détend après une séance intense avec des haltères ou des poids libres.


Quoi Des études suggèrent que cette forme d'entraînement augmente la production de norépinéphrine (noradrénaline), un neurotransmetteur qui peut modérer la réponse du cerveau au stress. Il réduit également les niveaux de cortisol, une hormone qui régule et mobilise l'énergie dans des situations stressantes, mais qui, en cas d'excès ou dans des situations inutiles, provoque des effets secondaires.

2. Vous vivrez plus

L'exercice physique, c'est la santé et l'entraînement en force aident à vivre plus . Étant donné que cette dernière forme d'exercice contribue à augmenter la masse musculaire, une étude de l'Université de Californie à Los Angeles (UCLA) a révélé que plus la masse musculaire est importante, moins il est probable qu'il meure prématurément.


Pourtant. La musculation contribuerait à augmenter l'espérance de vie des personnes.

3. Aide à mieux dormir

La musculation aide à mieux dormir, car elle stimule la libération de sérotonine, qui augmente les niveaux de mélatonine dans le corps, une hormone qui intervient dans la synchronisation du cycle naturel du sommeil et de la veille.

Une étude menée en 2012 a montré que les sujets qui effectuaient un entraînement contre la résistance trois jours par semaine amélioraient la qualité du sommeil par rapport à ceux qui ne s'entraînaient pas.

4. Perte de graisse

E Il n'est pas rare que de nombreuses personnes associent perte de graisse et entraînement aérobique , pensant que courir de longues distances, le corps brûle beaucoup plus de graisse. Cependant, des études suggèrent que la musculation à haute intensité brûle non seulement des calories pendant l'entraînement, mais également après, car elle augmente le métabolisme et, par conséquent, continue de brûler des calories pendant les 24 heures suivant l'entraînement. .


5. Vous brûlerez plus de calories pendant votre repos

Au fil du temps, l'augmentation de la masse musculaire entraîne une augmentation du métabolisme de base.

Le métabolisme de base correspond aux calories brûlées lorsque nous ne faisons pas d'activité physique. c’est-à-dire que c’est l’énergie nécessaire pour maintenir le bon fonctionnement des organes, la respiration, la température corporelle, etc. Cela provoque que, même lorsque nous nous reposons, notre corps brûle plus de calories.

6. Plus de force

Si notre désir est d'augmenter la force, soulever des poids est sans aucun doute l'entraînement par excellence .

Cela ne signifie pas que c’est la seule capacité physique avec laquelle nous pouvons travailler avec cette méthode, car avec la levée des poids, il est possible de travailler la force, la résistance, la vitesse ... Maintenant, l’amélioration des différentes qualités physiques dépend différentes variables, telles que le volume ou l'intensité, etc.

7. Des os plus sains

Une plus grande masse musculaire n'est pas le seul résultat positif de la levée de poids, mais les os sont également renforcés . Selon les recherches, la musculation augmente de 19% la densité osseuse et les niveaux d'ostéocalcine, un indicateur de la croissance osseuse.

8. améliore l'endurance et la capacité cardiovasculaire

La musculation a ses avantages, tout comme la formation aérobique et bien que la grande majorité des gens associe généralement la musculation à la musculation, la combinaison d'exercices semble être la meilleure option pour améliorer les deux qualités physiques.

Une méthodologie qui utilise les deux types de formation est une formation mixte. Cette approche renforce les muscles, procure des avantages cardiovasculaires et, selon un L.H. Willis, qui a eu lieu en 2012, a prouvé que les avantages de cette forme de formation sont plus importants que séparément.

9. Réduit le risque de blessure

Comme la musculation réduit la force des os, des tissus conjonctifs et des articulations, réduit également la possibilité de blessures et les prévient . Les articulations, les tendons et les ligaments forts sont essentiels pour prévenir la douleur causée par l'ostéoporose, ainsi que pour améliorer les performances sportives.

10. Cela vous aide à courir plus et à mieux performer dans de nombreux sports

Pourtant, L'entraînement avec poids aide les athlètes à être plus performants lorsqu'ils sont combinés à d'autres types d'entraînement . Par exemple, un coureur de 200 mètres qui travaille la résistance anaérobie avec des sprints peut également augmenter sa vitesse s’il effectue des exercices de musculation avec des poids pour le tronc inférieur.

11. Adhésion au régime

Il est plus facile de suivre un régime quand on s'entraîne . C’est ce qu’une étude de l’Université de Pittsburgh suggère, comprenant un échantillon de 169 sujets en surpoids. Selon les résultats, les sujets entraînés et ayant suivi un régime ont pu contrôler l'apport quotidien de 1500 calories par rapport à ceux qui ne s'entraînaient pas avec des poids. En outre, ces derniers mangeaient plus de sucre et de produits riches en graisse.

12. Il améliore la santé du coeur

Bien que la musculation ne soit pas considérée comme un exercice cardiovasculaire, elle améliore également la santé cardiaque. . Des études suggèrent que les routines de résistance avec des poids réduisent la tension artérielle, parfois aussi efficacement que les médicaments. L'American Heart Association recommande aux adultes de faire de la musculation au moins deux fois par semaine.


Comment la MUSCULATION va SAUVER votre vie ! (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes