yes, therapy helps!
The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology

The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology

June 24, 2021

It is quite common to think that psychologists and psychologists are dedicated to solving certain types of personal problems of "patients". Behavioral problems, such as alcohol addiction; of emotional type, like the pain that produces the death of a loved one, or related to pathologies also treated from psychiatry.

Definitely, psychology is, for a good part of the population, the practice of performing psychotherapy , when not directly something that has to do with divans, hypnosis and psychoanalysis in general.

The different specialties (branches) of psychology

However, if we stop to examine more closely what is and what psychology has been throughout history, we will realize that the fields and fields in which it can be applied are much broader than it seems suggest the iconic image of Sigmund Freud by providing psychotherapy services. In fact, psychology can have as many facets as activities performed by the human being .


That is what makes there is not a single psychology, but many branches of psychology that are oriented to different areas of application and different objectives. The psychology consisting in the realization of psychotherapy with patients is, then, only one of the many specialties that exist within the science of behavior.

So, if you want to know what are the different branches of psychology and their work, it will be good to read what comes next.

1. Psychology of organizations and work

The psychology of organizations and work (the latter also known as industrial psychology) has to do with research and intervention on workers, with the aim of finding strategies to make their level of performance optimal taking into account the needs of each of them and the organization as a whole. ANDs, therefore, the application of psychology to the world of work .


The people who dedicate themselves to organizational psychology usually work within the Human Resources departments of the companies, or they can offer their services from specialized agencies in the selection of personnel, the teaching of training courses, the creation of work dynamics more effective, etc.

As the activities that are carried out within an organization are very varied, this branch of psychology has, in turn, many aspects.

One of its facets, for example, is oriented towards what makes each of the workers, individually, perform well in their job , either intervening on the tools that each person has, studying their strengths and weaknesses, conducting ergonomics studies to check whether or not they work comfortably, etc. This facet of specialization is usually called work psychology, or industrial, since it has to do with the performance of each one of the workers and their immediate work environment.


The other facet of this specialty of psychology, on the other hand, is oriented to work dynamics and relationships between the people that make up the organization , and therefore has to do with the work environment, leadership studies, the resolution of conflicts of interest, the creation of effective communication flows, etc. This is organizational psychology.

The psychology of work and organizations is also the branch of psychology that usually has a greater job, and therefore is usually a very valuable professional option. Inside of her, the selection of personnel tends to be the one that creates more jobs .

2. Marketing and consumer psychology

The psychology of marketing is born from the psychology of organizations, in the sense that it is aimed at meeting the needs of the productive machinery of companies . In this case, these needs consist of giving out products or services that are offered, making the potential demand for these go to the company's offer.

In short, of all the branches of psychology this specialization focuses on research aimed at creating services and products that are attractive to the client . Therefore, it intervenes in the creation of the marketing plan, advertising and product design.

The marketing and consumer psychology specializes in making what the organizations offer as attractive as possible for the type of client to whom the product or service wants to be sold, and also establishes which communication strategies are most useful to reach this . It is a discipline that is very overlapping with what media and advertising agencies have traditionally been doing, and that is why this type of psychologist works together with professionals in those fields.

Among the most valuable assets of the psychology of marketing and the consumer is neuromarketing, which applies techniques of the neurosciences to see how potential customers or consumers respond to pieces of advertising, designs of packaging (product packaging), etc. Advertising psychologists can also play an important role in these design processes according to the way they interpret the reading of brain activation patterns, the monitoring of the movement of the gaze before an advertising poster, etc.

This is one of the most important psychology specialties in a context in which consumers are increasingly immune and skeptical of advertising.

3. Clinical and health psychology

This is one of the branches of psychology best known, if not the most, and consists of research and intervention focused on psychological problems more or less severe that affect the quality of life of people. If the psychological alterations have to do with mental disorders, the clinical psychologists will work together with other health professionals in the diagnosis, prognosis, intervention and control of the psychological alterations.

People who belong to this specialty of psychology offer a service called psychotherapy and whose form, approach and procedures can vary greatly, depending on the psychological orientation you have and the tools that are available. Due, not all health psychologists work in the same way or have the same training , although they may be included in the category of mental health professionals.

4. Sexology

The specialization of sexology within the field of psychology has to do withn the application of psychology to the resolution of sexuality problems . It is a branch of psychology derived from clinical psychology and health but which is oriented to the treatments on the sexual life of patients.

Although the psychology of the field of sexology is especially useful to treat sexual dysfunctions, it can also play a very important role in improving the sexual life of people without any disorder of this type.

5. Neuropsychology

The nervous system is the base of operations of everything that has to do with our behavior, our emotions and feelings and our ability to think and communicate, so it is normal that one of the branches of psychology is oriented towards the neurosciences.

Neuropsychology is a specialization somewhere between neurology and psychology, and its reason for being is the study of mental processes and the functioning of the brain when there is any alteration in this .

Neuropsychology is especially useful in the study of brain injuries, malformations, dysfunctions and diseases that affect the functioning of the nervous system. Thus, people who from all branches of psychology opt for this specialization can devote themselves to the study of the relationships between mental (and behavioral) processes and what happens in the brain, to draw conclusions to make a diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and control of symptoms.

6. Forensic psychology

This specialty is oriented to cover needs that appear within the judicial system. A forensic psychologist collects, analyzes and presents psychological evidence that will be taken into account in judicial proceedings . For example, you can evaluate an investigated person to examine the possibility of having mental disorders, or provide evidence to reinforce the hypothesis that a person has false memories.

Unlike what happens during psychotherapy, in which information related to the behavior of a specific person is also collected and analyzed, in the psychological forensic evaluation the interests of the psychologist or psychologist and those of the person examined do not coincide. In fact, among the tasks that the forensic psychologist has is to explore the possibility that the person being examined is lying to assert a version of the facts that benefits him.

In addition to all this, the branch of forensic psychology is related to the creation of psychological profiles of criminals to help in the tasks of search and capture.

7. Psychology of education and development

Almost all branches of psychology direct part of their attention to learning processes, but the specialization in educational psychology directs all their attention to them. The objective of this branch is apply techniques and strategies to make learning happen in the most satisfactory way possible , making a good fit between apprentices and teachers.

In addition, the psychology of education understands the concept "education" in its broadest sense. It does not only have to do with what young people do in school, but also applies to all areas where learning plays a leading role, whether in training courses for workers or within families and communities that must adapt to a new situation.

In fact, from the psychology of education, the need to conceive of education as a network work is given more and more importance , which is exercised far beyond schools and academies. That is why part of the efforts of educational psychologists are directed to put in contact different agents that, among themselves, have a role in the education of a group of people: teachers, social workers, relatives, etc.

The psychology of development is closely related to the psychology of education and is often perceived as the same thing. However, the first is more oriented to behavioral changes that have to do with the maturational development of people and their passage through the different stages of growth, from childhood to old age.

This is used from the educational psychology to establish criteria that allow knowing what the capacities and learning limits of people are, depending on which stage of development they are in. For example, the fact that a girl is five years old presupposes that she will not be able to learn contents that require the use of a formal logic moderately elaborated.

8. Sports psychology

The branch of sports psychology aims to implement strategies to make the psychological and physical performance of athletes lead them to improve their results, both in terms of their individual performance and in the one that involves their cooperation and coordination with other people on your team (if there are teams in the sport in question). The objective is to make the psychological dynamics, the strategies learned and the emotional state in which the athlete finds himself, leading him to find himself in an optimal situation to maximize his abilities.

Psychologists and psychologists who opt for this branch intervene in many of the processes that are addressed from clinical and educational psychology, such as following self-instructions, developing a good self-image and self-image, resolving conflicts, habits that have what to do with communication during sports sessions, etc.

9. Social psychology

This is one of the most interesting branches of psychology, since puts special emphasis on the dimension of the collective, relationships between people in a context . Thus, social psychology is oriented to investigate the way in which the presence of other people (whether real or imagined) affects the mental processes of the individual.

It is, therefore, a specialization that, although it belongs to psychology, approaches sociology more than the other branches. In addition, being one of the great areas of psychology, can have an important role in the other branches of this discipline: in the psychology of organizations, in education, etc.

10. Community psychology

Community psychology can be understood as a drift of social psychology oriented to research and intervention on problems that affect specific communities and localized groups of people.

Its objective is to generate both material changes in the context of these people and new dynamics of relationships between them that allow their quality of life and decision-making capacity to improve.

In addition, the research and intervention strategies of community psychologists promote the participation of community members throughout the process .

11. Couple and family psychology

This branch of psychology can be understood as a specialization within clinical psychology that also takes ingredients from social and community psychology and, in the case of couples therapy services, from sexology. It focuses on the resolution of conflicts within families, and the sessions offered tend to be in groups.

12. Basic and experimental psychology

Basic psychology is a branch of psychology totally focused on the investigation of the most general psychological processes that have to do with human behavior . It is oriented to the study of the psychological processes typical of mature and healthy human beings, to discover trends and patterns that characterize the entire human population.

This specialty of psychology is responsible, therefore, for the study of basic psychological processes such as memory, attention, reasoning or decision making, putting much more emphasis on the mechanisms on which these are based than on the way in which the context influences them.

Bibliographic references:

  • Triglia, Adrián; Regader, Bertrand; García-Allen, Jonathan. (2016). Psychologically speaking. Paidós. . ISBN 9788449332531.
  • Vidales, Ismael. (2004). General psychology. Mexico: Limusa. ISBN 9681863739.

Branches of Psychology (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie

Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie

Février 18, 2019

Il est assez courant de penser que les psychologues et les psychologues s'attachent à résoudre certains types de problèmes personnels des "patients". Problèmes de comportement, tels que la dépendance à l'alcool; de type émotionnel, comme la douleur qui provoque le décès d'un être cher, ou liée à des pathologies également traitées en psychiatrie.

Finalement, la psychologie est, pour une bonne partie de la population, la pratique de la psychothérapie , quand ce n’est pas directement quelque chose qui a à voir avec les divans, l’hypnose et la psychanalyse en général.

Les différentes spécialités (branches) de la psychologie

Cependant, si nous nous arrêtons pour examiner de plus près ce qu’est et ce que la psychologie a été au cours de l’histoire, nous nous rendrons compte que les domaines dans lesquels elle peut être appliquée sont beaucoup plus vastes qu’il ne le semble. suggérer l'image emblématique de Sigmund Freud en fournissant des services de psychothérapie. En fait la psychologie peut avoir autant de facettes que d'activités exercées par l'être humain .


C’est ce qui fait qu’il n’existe pas une psychologie unique, mais de nombreuses branches de la psychologie orientées vers différents domaines d’application et objectifs différents. La psychologie consistant à réaliser une psychothérapie avec des patients n’est donc que l’une des nombreuses spécialités de la science du comportement.

Donc, si vous voulez savoir quelles sont les différentes branches de la psychologie et leur travail, il sera bon de lire ce qui va suivre.

1. Psychologie des organisations et du travail

La psychologie des organisations et du travail (ce dernier également connu sous le nom de psychologie industrielle) concerne la recherche et les interventions sur les travailleurs, dans le but de trouver des stratégies pour optimiser leur niveau de performance en tenant compte des besoins de chacun d’entre eux et de l’organisation dans son ensemble. Es, donc, l’application de la psychologie au monde du travail .


Les personnes qui se consacrent à la psychologie organisationnelle travaillent habituellement au sein des services des ressources humaines des entreprises ou peuvent proposer leurs services auprès d'agences spécialisées dans la sélection du personnel, l'enseignement de cours de formation, la création de dynamiques de travail plus efficace, etc.

Comme les activités exercées au sein d’une organisation sont très variées, cette branche de la psychologie présente à son tour de nombreux aspects.

Une de ses facettes, par exemple, est orienté vers ce qui fait que chaque travailleur, individuellement, exécute bien son travail soit en intervenant sur les outils dont dispose chaque personne, en étudiant leurs forces et leurs faiblesses, en menant des études d’ergonomie pour vérifier s’ils travaillent ou non confortablement, etc. Cette facette de la spécialisation est généralement appelée psychologie du travail, ou industrielle, car elle a trait à la performance de chacun des travailleurs et à leur environnement de travail immédiat.


L’autre facette de cette spécialité de la psychologie, en revanche, est orienté vers la dynamique de travail et les relations entre les personnes qui composent l'organisation et concerne donc l’environnement de travail, les études sur le leadership, la résolution des conflits d’intérêts, la création de flux de communication efficaces, etc. Ceci est la psychologie organisationnelle.

La psychologie du travail et des organisations est également la branche de la psychologie qui a généralement un travail plus important et constitue donc une option professionnelle très précieuse. En elle, la sélection du personnel tend à être celle qui crée le plus d'emplois .

2. Marketing et psychologie du consommateur

La psychologie du marketing est née de la psychologie des organisations, dans le sens où il vise à répondre aux besoins des machines productives des entreprises . Dans ce cas, ces besoins consistent à donner les produits ou services offerts, ce qui permet de faire en sorte que la demande potentielle de ceux-ci profite à l'offre de la société.

En bref, de toutes les branches de la psychologie, cette spécialisation se concentre sur la recherche visant à créer des services et des produits attractifs pour le client . Par conséquent, il intervient dans la création du plan marketing, de la publicité et du design du produit.

Le marketing et la psychologie des consommateurs se spécialisent dans la création de ce que les organisations offrent le plus attrayant possible pour le type de client à qui le produit ou le service souhaite être vendu, ainsi que établit les stratégies de communication les plus utiles pour atteindre cet objectif . C’est une discipline qui recoupe très bien ce que les médias et les agences de publicité ont toujours pratiqué. C’est pourquoi ce type de psychologue collabore avec des professionnels de ces domaines.

Le neuromarketing est l’un des atouts les plus précieux de la psychologie du marketing et du consommateur. Il utilise des techniques du neuroscience pour voir comment les clients ou les consommateurs potentiels réagissent à des éléments de publicité, à emballage (emballage du produit), etc. Les psychologues publicitaires peuvent également jouer un rôle important dans ces processus de conception en fonction de la manière dont ils interprètent la lecture des schémas d'activation du cerveau, la surveillance du mouvement du regard devant une affiche publicitaire, etc.

C’est l’une des spécialités les plus importantes de la psychologie dans un contexte dans lequel les consommateurs sont de plus en plus immunisés et sceptiques face à la publicité.

3. Psychologie clinique et de la santé

C’est l’une des branches de la psychologie les mieux connues, sinon les plus connues, et se compose de recherche et d'intervention axée sur les problèmes psychologiques plus ou moins graves qui affectent la qualité de vie des personnes. Si les altérations psychologiques sont liées à des troubles mentaux, les psychologues cliniciens collaborent avec d'autres professionnels de la santé pour le diagnostic, le pronostic, l'intervention et le contrôle des altérations psychologiques.

Les personnes appartenant à cette spécialité de la psychologie offrent un service appelé psychothérapie et dont la forme, l’approche et les procédures peuvent varier considérablement en fonction de l’orientation psychologique que vous avez et des outils disponibles. Comme conséquence, tous les psychologues de la santé ne travaillent pas de la même manière ou n'ont pas la même formation , bien qu’ils puissent être inclus dans la catégorie des professionnels de la santé mentale.

4. Sexologie

La spécialisation de la sexologie dans le domaine de la psychologie est liée àn l'application de la psychologie à la résolution des problèmes de sexualité . C'est une branche de la psychologie dérivée de la psychologie clinique et de la santé mais qui est orientée vers les traitements sur la vie sexuelle des patients.

Bien que la psychologie du domaine de la sexologie soit particulièrement utile pour traiter les dysfonctionnements sexuels, elle peut également jouer un rôle très important dans l'amélioration de la vie sexuelle de personnes ne présentant aucun trouble de ce type.

5. Neuropsychologie

Le système nerveux est la base des opérations de tout ce qui concerne notre comportement, nos émotions et nos sentiments, ainsi que notre capacité de penser et de communiquer. Il est donc normal que l’une des branches de la psychologie soit orientée vers les neurosciences.

La neuropsychologie est une spécialisation entre la neurologie et la psychologie. sa raison d’être est l’étude des processus mentaux et du fonctionnement du cerveau lorsqu’il ya altération dans cette .

La neuropsychologie est particulièrement utile dans l'étude des lésions cérébrales, des malformations, des dysfonctionnements et des maladies qui affectent le fonctionnement du système nerveux. Ainsi, les personnes qui, dans toutes les branches de la psychologie, optent pour cette spécialisation peuvent se consacrer à l’étude des relations entre les processus mentaux (et comportementaux) et ce qui se passe dans le cerveau, afin de tirer des conclusions permettant de poser un diagnostic, pronostic, traitement et contrôle des symptômes.

6. Psychologie légale

Cette spécialité est orientée pour couvrir les besoins qui apparaissent au sein du système judiciaire. Un psychologue judiciaire recueille, analyse et présente des preuves psychologiques qui seront prises en compte dans les procédures judiciaires. . Par exemple, vous pouvez évaluer une personne faisant l'objet d'une enquête pour examiner la possibilité de troubles mentaux, ou fournir des preuves pour renforcer l'hypothèse qu'une personne a de faux souvenirs.

Contrairement à ce qui se passe pendant la psychothérapie, dans laquelle des informations relatives au comportement d'une personne spécifique sont également collectées et analysées, l'évaluation médico-légale psychologique fait concorder les intérêts du psychologue ou du psychologue et ceux de la personne examinée. En fait, le psychologue légiste a notamment pour tâche d’explorer la possibilité que la personne examinée mente pour affirmer une version des faits qui lui est bénéfique.

En plus de tout cela, la branche de la psychologie médico-légale est liée à la création de profils psychologiques des criminels afin de les aider dans les tâches de recherche et de capture.

7. Psychologie de l'éducation et du développement

Presque toutes les branches de la psychologie dirigent une partie de leur attention sur les processus d’apprentissage, mais la spécialisation en psychologie de l’éducation les dirige toute leur attention. L’objectif de cette branche est appliquer des techniques et des stratégies pour que l'apprentissage se déroule de la manière la plus satisfaisante possible , faisant un bon ajustement entre les apprentis et les enseignants.

De plus, la psychologie de l'éducation comprend le concept "éducation" dans son sens le plus large. Cela ne concerne pas seulement ce que les jeunes font à l'école, mais s'applique également à tous les domaines dans lesquels l'apprentissage joue un rôle moteur, que ce soit dans les cours de formation pour les travailleurs ou au sein des familles et des communautés qui doivent s'adapter à une nouvelle situation.

En fait de la psychologie de l'éducation, il devient de plus en plus nécessaire de concevoir l'éducation comme un travail en réseau , qui s’exerce bien au-delà des écoles et des académies. C’est pourquoi une partie des efforts des psychologues de l’éducation vise à mettre en contact différents agents qui jouent entre eux un rôle dans l’éducation d’un groupe de personnes: enseignants, assistants sociaux, parents, etc.

La psychologie du développement est étroitement liée à la psychologie de l'éducation et est souvent perçue comme la même chose. Cependant, le premier est davantage axé sur les changements de comportement liés au développement de la maturité des personnes et à leur passage à travers les différentes étapes de la croissance, de l’enfance au troisième âge.

Ceci est utilisé à partir de la psychologie pédagogique pour établir des critères permettant de connaître les capacités et les limites d’apprentissage des personnes, en fonction du stade de développement dans lequel elles se trouvent. Par exemple, le fait qu'une fille ait cinq ans présuppose qu'elle ne sera pas en mesure d'apprendre des contenus qui nécessitent l'utilisation d'une logique formelle moyennement élaborée.

8. Psychologie du sport

La branche de la psychologie du sport a pour objectif de mettre en œuvre des stratégies visant à amener la performance physique et psychologique des athlètes à améliorer leurs résultats, aussi bien en ce qui concerne leur performance individuelle que celle impliquant leur coopération et leur coordination avec d'autres personnes de votre équipe (s'il y a des équipes dans le sport en question). L'objectif est de rendre la dynamique psychologique, les stratégies apprises et l'état émotionnel dans lequel se trouve l'athlète, l'amenant à se trouver dans une situation optimale pour maximiser ses capacités.

Les psychologues et les psychologues qui optent pour cette branche interviennent dans de nombreux processus abordés depuis la psychologie clinique et pédagogique, tels que le suivi des instructions personnelles, le développement d’une bonne image de soi et d’une bonne image de soi, la résolution de conflits, les habitudes quoi faire avec la communication pendant les sessions sportives, etc.

9. psychologie sociale

C’est l’une des branches les plus intéressantes de la psychologie, depuis met un accent particulier sur la dimension du collectif, les relations entre les personnes dans un contexte . Ainsi, la psychologie sociale est orientée sur la manière dont la présence d’autres personnes (réelle ou imaginaire) affecte les processus mentaux de l’individu.

C’est donc une spécialisation qui, bien qu’appartenant à la psychologie, aborde la sociologie plus que les autres branches. En outre, étant l'un des grands domaines de la psychologie, peut jouer un rôle important dans les autres branches de cette discipline: psychologie des organisations, éducation, etc.

10. Psychologie communautaire

La psychologie communautaire peut être comprise comme une dérive de la psychologie sociale orientée vers la recherche et l'intervention sur des problèmes qui touchent des communautés spécifiques et des groupes de personnes localisés.

Son objectif est de générer à la fois des changements matériels dans le contexte de ces personnes et une nouvelle dynamique de relations qui permette l’amélioration de leur qualité de vie et de leur capacité décisionnelle.

En outre, les stratégies de recherche et d’intervention des psychologues communautaires promouvoir la participation des membres de la communauté tout au long du processus .

11. Psychologie du couple et de la famille

Cette branche de la psychologie peut être comprise comme une spécialisation au sein de la psychologie clinique, prenant également des ingrédients de la psychologie sociale et communautaire et, dans le cas des services de thérapie de couple, de la sexologie. Il se concentre sur la résolution des conflits au sein des familles et les sessions proposées ont tendance à être en groupe.

12. Psychologie fondamentale et expérimentale

La psychologie de base est une branche de la psychologie totalement axé sur la recherche des processus psychologiques les plus généraux liés au comportement humain . Il est orienté vers l’étude des processus psychologiques typiques des êtres humains matures et en bonne santé, afin de découvrir les tendances et les schémas qui caractérisent l’ensemble de la population humaine.

Cette spécialité de la psychologie est donc responsable de l’étude des processus psychologiques de base tels que la mémoire, l’attention, le raisonnement ou la prise de décision, en insistant beaucoup plus sur les mécanismes sur lesquels ils sont basés que sur la voie dans lequel le contexte les influence.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Adriano Triglia; Regader, Bertrand; García-Allen, Jonathan. (2016). Psychologiquement parlant. Paidós. . ISBN 9788449332531.
  • Vidales, Ismael. (2004). Psychologie générale Mexique: Limusa. ISBN 9681863739.

Webinaire : Les promesses de la psychologie énergétique - avec Jean-Michel GURRET (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes