yes, therapy helps!
The 12 invisible effects of psychic abuse

The 12 invisible effects of psychic abuse

July 18, 2022

Psychological abuse is often the most difficult type of abuse to recognize because their scars are not visible to the naked eye. Unlike physical and sexual abuse, it does not leave marks, wounds or other physical evidence.

On the other hand, psychological abuse can occur in different areas of life: couple, family, school (bullying), work (mobbing) ... Regardless of where this phenomenon manifests, the long-term effects can be long-lasting, invisible, devastating and can even accompany the affected person for the rest of their lives, especially if the abuse occurs at an early age or is not treated by a professional. of mental health.


  • Related article: "The 9 types of abuse and their characteristics"

Invisible effects of psychic abuse

But... What are the invisible consequences of psychic abuse? What negative effects does psychological abuse have on the victim? In the following lines you can find the answers to these questions.

1. Low self-esteem

The low self-esteem of the victim can be in many cases the trigger of this type of abuse, especially in relationships, where a great emotional dependence can be manifested when people value themselves in a negative way. But low self-esteem is also a consequence that the abused person can suffer.


According to an investigation that was published in the Journal of Emotional Abuse in 2005, the result of this situation, self-confidence and self-worth of people who are victims of psychological abuse becomes negative.

Psychological abusers frequently focus on the weakness of the victim, constantly attacking her without mercy. Be it your physical appearance, your weight, your intelligence ... The abuser constantly repeats the message that the victim is worthless .

  • Related article: "10 keys to increase your self-esteem in 30 days"

2. Anxiety and stress

Another of the investigations of Journal of Emotional Abuse concludes that people suffering from psychic abuse present high levels of anxiety and post-traumatic stress . Much of the manifestation of this symptomatology is rooted in the victim's denial of reality.


Many people who suffer this form of abuse are not even aware that the damage they suffer is not their fault or part of the natural development of their day to day, it is more stealthy and more difficult to detect than physical abuse. In fact, it can even be difficult to consider filing a complaint.

3. Sleep problems

Another consequence of psychological abuse is the instability of sleep , which is often associated with anxiety and stress, and may even manifest with nightmares. The same study concludes that the denial and helplessness of victims of psychic abuse can cause sleep disorders.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Nightmares and night terrors: differences and similarities"

4. Loneliness

The victims of psychic abuse tend to suffer a great tendency to loneliness and isolation. For example, in the case of couple relationships, the abuser can try to cut off the communication that the victim has with his family , and in cases of bullying or mobbing, the victim usually suffers damage to his reputation, because the abuser makes sure that this is the case. The isolation and loneliness, further aggravates the situation and makes it difficult to put an end to the problem.

5. Feeling guilty

It is possible that the victim, finding herself alone and having low self-esteem, ends up blaming herself for what is happening, and it is not at all strange that the harasser also conducts behaviors that have as their objective that the abused person self -sults . For example, in cases of psychological abuse in the couple, a phenomenon called emotional blackmail often occurs, in which the victim is easily manipulated.

6. Depression

Without a doubt, it is very frequent that people who are victims of psychological abuse end up suffering from a depressive state . And it's nothing strange considering that their self-esteem is seriously damaged, that they are in a lonely situation and that they are constantly suffering from a traumatic situation.

7. Suicidal ideation

Depression and the situation of abuse can often lead to suicidal ideas . In recent times, for example, a voice of alarm has sounded because of the cases of bullying that occurred in some schools.

8. Substance abuse

Substance abuse can also appear in people who are victims of psychic abuse, as it is a way to avoid facing reality and is another form of denial . It is also frequent that this phenomenon manifests itself in adulthood when individuals have been victims of psychological harassment of children.

9. Excessive aggression

On other occasions, the rage and anger felt by some people who have suffered this type of abuse they can cause the appearance of excessive aggressiveness. Especially in children victims of abuse, this aggressiveness can accompany them for the rest of their lives.

10. Difficulty with other interpersonal relationships

A study published in the Journal of Emotional Abuse affirms that people who are victims of psychic abuse have serious difficulties to have healthy interpersonal relationships . The reason for this is that their trust in others is diminished, and many are unable to have close emotional ties with other individuals.

  • Related article: "The 30 signs of psychological abuse in a relationship"

11. Emotional Mutism

The suffering suffered by victims of psychic abuse is such that they have serious difficulties expressing their emotions . Sometimes because of shame and sometimes because the suffering of the psychological siege to which they have been subjected has resulted in losing confidence in other people. The impossibility of expressing feelings is known as emotional mutism or alexithymia.

12. Psychosomatic disorders

Emotional mutism and stress can often cause a series of psychological and organic disorders. One of them is the psychosomatic disorder, which is characterized by a physical symptomatology that is believed to be caused or aggravated by mental factors . The negative states of mind that we do not express can inhibit or activate organic systems that maintained over time can give rise to this type of disorder.


Psychic Attack -Teal Swan- (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 12 effets invisibles de l'abus psychique

Les 12 effets invisibles de l'abus psychique

Septembre 23, 2022

L'abus psychologique est souvent le type d'abus le plus difficile à reconnaître parce que leurs cicatrices ne sont pas visibles à l'œil nu. Contrairement aux abus physiques et sexuels, il ne laisse pas de traces, blessures ou autres preuves physiques.

D'autre part, des abus psychologiques peuvent survenir dans différents domaines de la vie: couple, famille, école (brimades), travail (mobbing) ... Quels que soient les lieux où ce phénomène se manifeste, les effets à long terme peuvent être durables, invisibles, dévastateurs et peuvent même accompagner la personne touchée pendant le reste de sa vie, en particulier si la maltraitance se produit à un âge précoce ou si elle n'est pas traitée par un professionnel. de la santé mentale.


  • Article connexe: "Les 9 types d'abus et leurs caractéristiques"

Effets invisibles de l'abus psychique

Mais ... Quelles sont les conséquences invisibles d'un abus psychique? Quels sont les effets négatifs de la violence psychologique sur la victime? Vous trouverez ci-dessous les réponses à ces questions.

1. Faible estime de soi

La faible estime de soi de la victime peut souvent être à l'origine de ce type de maltraitance, en particulier dans les relations de couple, où une grande dépendance émotionnelle peut se manifester lorsque les personnes se valorisent négativement. Mais la faible estime de soi est également une conséquence que la personne maltraitée peut souffrir.


Selon une enquête publiée dans le journal Journal d'abus émotionnel en 2005, le résultat de cette situation, confiance en soi et estime de soi des personnes victimes de violence psychologique devient négatif.

Les agresseurs psychologiques se concentrent souvent sur la faiblesse de la victime, l'attaquant sans pitié. Que ce soit votre apparence physique, votre poids, votre intelligence ... L'agresseur répète constamment le message que la victime ne vaut rien .

  • Article connexe: "10 clés pour augmenter votre estime de soi en 30 jours"

2. Anxiété et stress

Une autre des enquêtes de Journal d'abus émotionnel conclut que les personnes souffrant d'abus psychique présenter des niveaux élevés d'anxiété et de stress post-traumatique . Une grande partie de la manifestation de cette symptomatologie est enracinée dans le déni de réalité de la victime.


Beaucoup de personnes qui subissent cette forme de violence ne savent même pas que les dommages qu'elles subissent ne sont ni de la faute de leur part ni du développement naturel de leur quotidien, elles sont plus furtives et plus difficiles à détecter que les violences physiques. En fait, il peut même être difficile d’envisager le dépôt d’une plainte.

3. problèmes de sommeil

Une autre conséquence de la violence psychologique est l'instabilité du sommeil , qui est souvent associé à l’anxiété et au stress et peut même se traduire par des cauchemars. La même étude conclut que le déni et l'impuissance des victimes d'abus psychique peuvent provoquer des troubles du sommeil.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Cauchemars et terreurs nocturnes: différences et similitudes"

4. solitude

Les victimes d'abus psychiques ont tendance à souffrir d'une grande tendance à la solitude et à l'isolement. Par exemple, dans le cas de relations de couple, l’agresseur peut essayer de couper la communication que la victime a avec sa famille et dans les cas d’intimidation ou de mobbing, la victime subit généralement un préjudice à sa réputation, car l’agresseur veille à ce que tel soit le cas. L’isolement et la solitude aggravent encore la situation et rendent difficile la résolution du problème.

5. Se sentir coupable

Il est possible que la victime, se retrouvant seule et ayant une faible estime de soi, finisse par se reprocher ce qui se passe, et il n’est pas du tout étrange que le harceleur adopte également des comportements qui ont pour objectif que la personne maltraitée . Par exemple, dans les cas de violence psychologique dans le couple, il se produit souvent un phénomène appelé chantage émotionnel, dans lequel la victime est facilement manipulée.

6. dépression

Sans aucun doute, il est très fréquent que les personnes victimes de violence psychologique finissent par souffrir d'un état dépressif . Et ce n’est pas étonnant si on considère que leur estime de soi est sérieusement endommagée, qu’ils sont dans une situation de solitude et qu’ils souffrent constamment d’une situation traumatisante.

7. idéation suicidaire

Dépression et situation d'abus peut souvent conduire à des idées suicidaires . Récemment, par exemple, une voix d’alarme s’est déclenchée à cause des cas d’intimidation qui se sont produits dans certaines écoles.

8. Toxicomanie

La toxicomanie peut également apparaître chez les personnes victimes de violence psychique, comme il est un moyen d'éviter de faire face à la réalité et est une autre forme de déni . Il est également fréquent que ce phénomène se manifeste à l'âge adulte lorsque des individus ont été victimes de harcèlement psychologique d'enfants.

9. Agression excessive

En d'autres occasions, la rage et la colère ressenties par certaines personnes qui ont subi ce type de violence ils peuvent causer l’apparence d’une agressivité excessive. Surtout chez les enfants victimes de maltraitance, cette agressivité peut les accompagner toute leur vie.

10. Difficulté avec d'autres relations interpersonnelles

Une étude publiée dans le Journal d'abus émotionnel affirme que les personnes victimes d'abus psychique ont sérieuses difficultés à entretenir des relations interpersonnelles saines . La raison en est que leur confiance dans les autres est diminuée et que beaucoup sont incapables d'avoir des liens affectifs étroits avec d'autres individus.

  • Article connexe: "Les 30 signes de violence psychologique dans une relation"

11. Mutisme émotionnel

Les souffrances subies par les victimes d'abus psychiques sont telles que ils ont de sérieuses difficultés à exprimer leurs émotions . Parfois à cause de la honte et parfois à cause de la souffrance du siège psychologique auquel ils ont été soumis, ils ont perdu confiance en d’autres personnes. L’impossibilité d’exprimer des sentiments est appelée mutisme émotionnel ou alexithymie.

12. Troubles psychosomatiques

Le mutisme émotionnel et le stress peuvent souvent causer une série de troubles psychologiques et organiques. L’un d’eux est le trouble psychosomatique, caractérisé par: une symptomatologie physique que l'on croit causée ou aggravée par des facteurs mentaux . Les états d'esprit négatifs que nous n'exprimons pas peuvent inhiber ou activer les systèmes organiques maintenus au fil du temps pouvant donner lieu à ce type de trouble.


Conférence : L'emprise, la comprendre pour s'en libérer (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes