yes, therapy helps!
The 12 most influential psychologists of today

The 12 most influential psychologists of today

February 7, 2023

Psychology is a discipline in continuous renovation and its fields of study are practically impossible to access. Considering this, it is normal that every day they are being published new articles and research about the human psyche, our behavior patterns and the biological foundations on which they are anchored.

That is why today the names of professionals in psychology that appear most in the media and in scientific publications are very different from those that appeared twenty, thirty or forty years ago, and possibly they are not the same. classic authors (of which we echoed in the article "The 10 most important psychologists in history") of which is spoken in the faculties of psychology.


If you think that your knowledge about the main personalities in psychology is a bit rusty, this list with the most influential psychologists and psychologists It will be good for you to catch up.

12 referents of current psychology

1. Steven Pinker

One of the most current exponents of the evolutionary psychology . Pinker has talked about the way in which our genetics predispose us towards certain behaviors with a high adaptive value, and has also proposed the idea that language is a product of the evolution of our species carved by natural selection.

2. Paul Ekman

This psychologist is known for his study of the connections between emotional states and the facial expressions that trigger. In fact, his work has inspired a work of fiction starring Tim Roth , TV series Lie to Me.


3. Philip Zimbardo

Zimbardo is known to have directed the famous experiment at Stanford Prison. Since then Zimbardo has been president of the American Psychological Association and he has written and given lectures about the role of context in the moral conduct of human beings, for which he uses case studies such as the Stanford experiment and cases of torture Abu Ghraib .

4. Vilayanur S. Ramachandran

Ramachandran is known for his research on the phantom limb and for having invented the mirror box, a simple device that serves to alleviate the pain associated with this phenomenon.

5. Elizabeth Loftus

Elizabeth Loftus has led successful research on human memory , especially as regards the degree to which the criterion of witnesses in a trial can be relied upon. He has provided evidence on how the experiences that are lived alter memories that may seem perfectly reliable.


6. Daniel Kahneman

This researcher of Israeli origin is one of the few psychologists awarded with a Nobel Prize: specifically, that of Economic Sciences. He is specialized in behavioral economics and has found numerous evidences about how the decisions we make in our day to day are guided more by irrational thinking and heuristics than by perfectly logical and rational ways of thinking.

7. Gordon H. Bower

Bower has investigated the relationship between memory and emotions . He has provided evidence on how different emotional states influence the way we remember things, as explained in this article.

8. Albert Bandura

Bandura has been one of the great references of psychology for decades and is currently one of the living psychologists most referenced in books and journal articles. His Theory of Social Learning and Self-efficacy are two of his best-known theoretical constructs.

9. Dan Ariely

Dan Ariely has focused his work on decision-making, deception and self-deception strategies and the irrational styles of thought. He is also a successful author of books in which he explains his way of understanding human behavior and the morality that underlies it. By the way, we have previously recommended one of your books in this list of interesting readings related to psychology.

10. Walter Mischel

Mischel has been one of the main references in the field of personality theory. He has emphasized the need to study both the variables related to personality and the motivations born of interaction with the context to be able to predict with more or less reliability the behavior of individuals.

11. Barbara Fredrickson

Barbara Fredrickson specializes in research on positive psychology and how positive emotions influence behavior following certain patterns.

12. Richard Wiseman

Wiseman originally began by dedicating himself to the world of magic tricks and later went on to study psychology and obtain a PhD in this discipline.He is currently a successful writer with several best sellers behind his back, like Rarology or The Luck Factor. Also, as an ex-magician, part of his publications focus on the processes by which it is easy for mediums and seers to deceive people with ease. As a curiosity, he is the psychologist with the most followers on Twitter.


Famous Psychologists - 38 Greatest Psychologists of All Time (February 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 12 psychologues les plus influents d'aujourd'hui

Les 12 psychologues les plus influents d'aujourd'hui

Mai 20, 2022

La psychologie est une discipline en constante rénovation et ses domaines d’études sont pratiquement impossibles à accéder. Compte tenu de cela, il est normal que tous les jours, ils sont publiés nouveaux articles et recherches sur la psyché humaine, nos modes de comportement et les fondements biologiques sur lesquels ils sont ancrés.

C'est pourquoi, aujourd'hui, les noms des professionnels de la psychologie qui paraissent le plus souvent dans les médias et les publications scientifiques sont très différents de ceux parus il y a vingt, trente ou quarante ans et sont peut-être différents. auteurs classiques (dont nous avons parlé dans l'article "Les 10 psychologues les plus importants de l'histoire") dont on parle dans les facultés de psychologie.


Si vous pensez que vos connaissances sur les personnalités principales en psychologie sont un peu rouillées, cette liste avec le psychologues et psychologues les plus influents Ce sera bien pour vous de vous rattraper.

12 référents de psychologie actuelle

1. Steven Pinker

L’un des exposants les plus actuels du psychologie de l'évolution . Pinker a parlé de la façon dont notre génétique nous prédispose à certains comportements hautement adaptatifs, et a également suggéré que le langage soit un produit de l'évolution de notre espèce, façonnée par la sélection naturelle.

2. Paul Ekman

Ce psychologue est connu pour son étude des liens entre les états émotionnels et les expressions faciales qui le déclenchent. En fait, son travail a inspiré une œuvre de fiction mettant en vedette Tim Roth , la série télévisée Me mentir.


3. Philip Zimbardo

On sait que Zimbardo a dirigé la célèbre expérience de la prison de Stanford. Depuis lors, Zimbardo est président de la American Psychological Association et il a écrit et donné des conférences sur le rôle du contexte dans la conduite morale des êtres humains, pour lequel il utilise des études de cas telles que l'expérience de Stanford et des cas de torture. Abu Ghraib .

4. Vilayanur S. Ramachandran

Ramachandran est connu pour ses recherches sur le membre fantôme et pour avoir inventé le miroir box, un dispositif simple servant à soulager la douleur associée à ce phénomène.

5. Elizabeth Loftus

Elizabeth Loftus a dirigé avec succès des recherches sur mémoire humaine , en particulier en ce qui concerne la mesure dans laquelle le critère des témoins dans un procès peut être invoqué. Il a fourni des preuves sur la manière dont les expériences vécues modifient des souvenirs qui peuvent sembler parfaitement fiables.


6. Daniel Kahneman

Ce chercheur d'origine israélienne est l'un des rares psychologues à se voir attribuer un prix Nobel: plus précisément celui des sciences économiques. Il est spécialisé dans économie comportementale et a trouvé de nombreuses preuves sur la façon dont les décisions que nous prenons au quotidien sont davantage guidées par une pensée irrationnelle et une heuristique que par des façons de penser parfaitement logiques et rationnelles.

7. Gordon H. Bower

Bower a enquêté la relation entre la mémoire et les émotions . Il a fourni des preuves sur l'influence de différents états émotionnels sur la façon dont nous nous souvenons des choses, comme expliqué dans cet article.

8. Albert Bandura

Bandura est l'une des grandes références de la psychologie depuis des décennies et est actuellement l'un des psychologues vivants les plus référencés dans des livres et des articles de revues. Sa théorie de l'apprentissage social et de l'efficacité personnelle sont deux de ses constructions théoriques les plus connues.

9. Dan Ariely

Dan Ariely a concentré son travail sur la prise de décision, stratégies de déception et d'auto-déception et les styles de pensée irrationnels. Il est également un auteur à succès de livres dans lesquels il explique sa manière de comprendre le comportement humain et la moralité qui le sous-tend. En passant, nous avons déjà recommandé l’un de vos livres dans cette liste de lectures intéressantes sur la psychologie.

10. Walter Mischel

Mischel a été l’une des principales références dans le domaine de la théorie de la personnalité. Il a insisté sur la nécessité d'étudier à la fois les variables liées à la personnalité et les motivations nées de l'interaction avec le contexte pour pouvoir prédire avec plus ou moins de fiabilité le comportement des individus.

11. Barbara Fredrickson

Barbara Fredrickson se spécialise dans la recherche sur la psychologie positive et sur la manière dont les émotions positives influencent le comportement selon certains modèles.

12. Richard Wiseman

Wiseman a commencé par se consacrer au monde des tours de magie avant d'étudier la psychologie et d'obtenir un doctorat dans cette discipline.Il est actuellement un écrivain à succès avec plusieurs best-sellers dans le dos, comme Rarologie o Le facteur de chance. En tant qu'ex-magicien, une partie de ses publications porte également sur les processus permettant aux médiums et aux voyants de tromper facilement les gens. Par curiosité, il est le psychologue avec le plus d'abonnés sur Twitter.


10 Effets Psychologiques Qui Influent Sur Ton Comportement (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes