yes, therapy helps!
The 12 types of insomnia (depending on their duration, severity and symptoms)

The 12 types of insomnia (depending on their duration, severity and symptoms)

October 5, 2022

The problems at bedtime always produce discomfort and lack of courage and energy, but that does not mean that the causes of these symptoms are the same. In fact, there are different types of insomnia that affect us in a certain way depending on how the nature of what this alteration generates.

In this article we will see what are the types of insomnia that exist , how are their effects and how they evolve.

  • Related article: "Avoid the effects of insomnia with these 5 basic keys"

The types of insomnia

There is no single criterion to classify what are the types of insomnia, but rather different parameters are used to classify them . This means that these alterations have different dimensions and that each of them does not describe the totality of the characteristics of insomnia suffered by a person. For example, insomnia of the intrinsic type may be long-term at times, but in others it is short-term.


That is why to understand exactly how sleep problems are experienced by someone, you can use all these classification criteria at the same time.

Having said that, let's see how to classify these sleep disorders depending on the criteria used.

According to the causes of insomnia

If we focus on the nature of what causes insomnia , this can be of two types.

1. Intrinsic

This category belongs to those cases in which the cause of the problem to sleep properly can be explained by a specific alteration in the functioning of the brain. For example, if a brain injury has occurred , there may be problems to reconcile or maintain sleep. The same goes for certain disorders, such as restless legs syndrome.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Combat insomnia: 10 solutions to sleep better"

2. Extrinsic

Insomnia of extrinsic type occurs when the problem can be explained by the dynamics of interaction with the environment . For example, job burnout and the breakdown of work schedules can cause insomnia, and the same happens in general with the lack of sleep hygiene or the consumption of stimulants.

According to its intendity

Sleeping problems can also be differentiated according to their severity. These are your types:

3. Mild type insomnia

When insomnia alone affects in a very superficial and transitory way the daily routine and the degree of health , it can be considered mild. For example, take a half hour more than normal to fall asleep for about three days.

4. Moderate

In moderate insomnia there are routines and habits that are already affected by this problem, and in the same way health is compromised by fatigue, the discomfort and concentration problems .


5. Severe

In this type of insomnia health is very affected, and the same happens with the ability to adapt to an appropriate schedule. To the symptoms of the previous type it is necessary to add the problems of memory, of vision (sometimes it costs to "focus" the gaze well for a while), the bad mood and a manifest lack of energy which prevents carrying out important tasks.

According to its duration

The types of insomnia can also be classified by their duration. In this sense we find these categories:

6. Chronic insomnia

When the problems to conciliate or to maintain the sleep last more than about 5 or 6 months, it is considered that there is chronic insomnia. This type of problem is complicated to correct, since has long been "embedded" in a person's routine and the circadian rhythm has changed a lot until it is in a difficult state to alter.

  • Related article: "The 7 main sleep disorders"

7. Acute insomnia, or transient

Some events or stress crises can cause a person to experience insomnia for a few days. It is considered that the problem is transitory If the symptoms are not maintained for more than 4 weeks .

8. Short-term insomnia

This category includes cases in which the duration of the problem exceeds the month but disappears before being considered chronic .

Due to the nature of its symptoms

Considering the qualitative differences between the symptoms of insomnia types, we can classify this problem into 3 categories:

9. Conciliation

In this type of insomnia the problems appear at the time of falling asleep, so there is a long time between the person lies down and begins to sleep. However, once you have really begun to rest, there are no frequent awakenings .

10. Maintenance

In this class of insomnia the problem is to maintain sleep, so the person will wake up many times throughout the night and therefore will not rest well, since it will not go through all the phases of the dream or will rarely to long of the days.

11. Early awakening

People who suffer from this insomnia wake up much sooner than they should (for example, 3 hours after going to bed) and can not go back to sleep, since from the beginning they feel too active to go back to bed .

12. Mixed

This category is a "catch-all" in which cases are included in which characteristics of two or more types of insomnia occur at the same time constantly.


5 Types of Depressive Disorders (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 12 types d'insomnie (en fonction de leur durée, de leur gravité et de leurs symptômes)

Les 12 types d'insomnie (en fonction de leur durée, de leur gravité et de leurs symptômes)

Avril 16, 2021

Les problèmes au coucher produisent toujours un inconfort et un manque de courage et d’énergie, mais cela ne signifie pas que les causes de ces symptômes sont les mêmes. En fait, il existe différents types d'insomnie qui nous affectent d'une certaine manière en fonction de la nature de ce que cette modification génère.

Dans cet article, nous verrons Quels sont les types d'insomnie qui existent , comment sont leurs effets et comment ils évoluent.

  • Article connexe: "Évitez les effets de l'insomnie avec ces 5 clés de base"

Les types d'insomnie

Il n’existe pas de critère unique permettant de classer les types d’insomnie, mais plutôt différents paramètres sont utilisés pour les classer . Cela signifie que ces altérations ont des dimensions différentes et que chacune d’elles ne décrit pas l’ensemble des caractéristiques de l’insomnie subie par une personne. Par exemple, l'insomnie de type intrinsèque peut parfois être à long terme, mais dans d'autres, elle est à court terme.


C'est pourquoi, pour comprendre exactement comment quelqu'un souffre des problèmes de sommeil, vous pouvez utiliser tous ces critères de classification en même temps.

Cela dit, voyons comment classer ces troubles du sommeil en fonction des critères utilisés.

Selon les causes de l'insomnie

Si nous nous concentrons sur la nature de ce qui cause l'insomnie , cela peut être de deux types.

1. intrinsèque

Cette catégorie appartient aux cas dans lesquels la cause du problème pour dormir correctement peut être expliquée par une altération spécifique du fonctionnement du cerveau. Par exemple, si une lésion cérébrale s'est produite , il peut y avoir des problèmes pour concilier ou maintenir le sommeil. Il en va de même pour certains troubles, tels que le syndrome des jambes sans repos.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Combattez l'insomnie: 10 solutions pour mieux dormir"

2. extrinsèque

L'insomnie de type extrinsèque survient lorsque le problème peut être expliqué par la dynamique de l'interaction avec l'environnement . Par exemple, l'épuisement professionnel et la rupture des horaires de travail peuvent causer de l'insomnie, et il en va généralement de même avec le manque d'hygiène du sommeil ou la consommation de stimulants.

Selon son intention

Les problèmes de sommeil peuvent également être différenciés en fonction de leur gravité. Ce sont vos types:

3. Insomnie légère

Quand l'insomnie seule affecte de manière très superficielle et transitoire la routine quotidienne et le degré de santé , cela peut être considéré comme doux. Par exemple, prenez une demi-heure de plus que la normale pour vous endormir pendant environ trois jours.

4. modéré

Dans l'insomnie modérée, certaines routines et habitudes sont déjà affectées par ce problème et, de la même manière, la fatigue nuit à la santé. les problèmes d'inconfort et de concentration .


5. sévère

Dans ce type d'insomnie, la santé est très affectée et il en va de même pour la capacité de s'adapter à un horaire approprié. Aux symptômes du type précédent, il faut ajouter les problèmes de mémoire, de vision (il est parfois coûteux de bien "focaliser" le regard pendant un moment), la mauvaise humeur et un manque manifeste d'énergie qui empêche la réalisation de tâches importantes.

Selon sa durée

Les types d'insomnie peuvent également être classés en fonction de leur durée. En ce sens nous trouvons ces catégories:

6. insomnie chronique

Lorsque les problèmes de conciliation ou de maintien du sommeil durent plus de 5 ou 6 mois, on considère qu'il existe une insomnie chronique. Ce type de problème est compliqué à corriger, car a longtemps été "intégré" dans la routine d'une personne et le rythme circadien a beaucoup changé jusqu'à ce qu'il soit dans un état difficile à modifier.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 principaux troubles du sommeil"

7. insomnie aiguë ou transitoire

Certains événements ou crises de stress peuvent provoquer une insomnie pendant quelques jours. On considère que le problème est transitoire Si les symptômes ne sont pas maintenus pendant plus de 4 semaines .

8. insomnie à court terme

Cette catégorie comprend les cas dans lesquels la durée du problème dépasse le mois mais disparaît avant d'être considéré comme chronique .

En raison de la nature de ses symptômes

Compte tenu des différences qualitatives entre les symptômes des types d’insomnie, nous pouvons classer ce problème en 3 catégories:

9. Conciliation

Dans ce type d'insomnie, les problèmes apparaissent au moment de s'endormir, il y a donc longtemps entre la personne qui se couche et commence à dormir. Cependant, une fois que vous avez vraiment commencé à vous reposer, il n'y a pas de réveils fréquents .

10. Maintenance

Dans cette classe d'insomnie, le problème est de maintenir le sommeil, de sorte que la personne se réveille plusieurs fois au cours de la nuit et ne se repose donc pas bien, car elle ne passera pas par toutes les phases du rêve au fil des jours.

11. réveil précoce

Les personnes qui souffrent de cette insomnie se réveillent beaucoup plus tôt qu'elles ne le devraient (par exemple, 3 heures après le coucher) et ne peuvent pas se rendormir depuis le début ils se sentent trop actifs pour se recoucher .

12. mixte

Cette catégorie est une "fourre-tout" dans laquelle sont inclus les cas dans lesquels des caractéristiques de deux types d'insomnie ou plus se produisent simultanément.


Marijuana Minors (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes