yes, therapy helps!
The 12 types of nutrition and their characteristics

The 12 types of nutrition and their characteristics

January 25, 2022

For humans, nutrition is the process by which the organism take advantage of nutrients from food so that your body and cells stay alive and have energy. However, not only do humans need to nourish themselves, but, for example, plants do too.

Evolutively there is no single way to extract from raw food the raw material of what needs to be built; It is a complex process that has been modified over several million years of evolution. These processes may be different and, therefore, can be classified in different ways in types of nutrition .

Nutrition is a vital process

The intake of food by humans is a vital need for the body. Good nutrition, that is, an adequate and well-balanced diet is necessary for good health and to avoid physical and mental deterioration.


This process brings the energy needed to keep us alive and it allows us to carry out all the other functions of living beings. Food also provides the raw materials for the growth and repair of our organism.

Difference between nutrition, diet and diet

There is some confusion with the term nutrition. As a science, it includes the study of foods and the processes involved using their nutrients: digestion, absorption and their assimilation in body cells . Nutrition, in fact, is an involuntary process, since it is too important to leave us at your command: the physiological functioning of the body takes care of it.


Thus, it would be wrong to talk about good nutrition or poor nutrition, because this would refer to food. Food is a series of voluntary and conscious actions that are directed to select, prepare and eat food . It is also often confused diet with food. Instead, diet is the eating habits of a person. Although this is associated with weight loss and control, the diet does not have to have any objective effect on body image.

  • Related article: "The 4 types of healthy diets to be in top shape"

Types of nutrition

But… What types of nutrition are there? In the following lines you can find a classification of the different types of nutrition

1. Autotrophic nutrition

Autotrophic nutrition refers to feeding oneself, synthesizing organic substances. In other words, it's nutrition carried out by those living beings who are capable of producing their own food .


The plants are a clear example, because they feed thanks to photosynthesis. The living beings that carry out the process of photosynthesis are called photolitoautotrophs. On the other hand, those that use chemical elements are chemolithotrophs. For example: bacteria.

2. Heterotrophic nutrition

This type of nutrition is used by living beings who need an already prepared source of food. For example: animals, fungi and most microorganisms. Heterotropic nutrition It can be divided into several types :

Parasitic nutrition, in which the living being inhabits on or within another organism which it harms and from which it obtains its nutrients by ingestion or by absorption; saprophyte nutrition, in which the living being absorbs the nutrients from the environment and decomposes them through enzymes to obtain the energy it needs; and the holozoic, which is typical of humans, and in which an organism ingests food in a solid form and then digests it to obtain the nutrients it needs.

Holozoic nutrition can be classified in three ways :

  • Herbivorous nutrition: The organism feeds on vegetables
  • Carnivorous nutrition: The organism feeds on meat.
  • Omnivorous nutrition: The organism feeds on vegetables and meat.

Types of nutrients

Nutrients are necessary for the growth and health of the organism. There are five types of nutrients that They are divided into two large groups: macronutrients and micronutrients . Macronutrients are needed in large quantities and include carbohydrates, proteins and fats. In contrast, micronutrients are needed in small amounts and include vitamins and minerals. Water and fiber are not nutrients but are necessary for the proper functioning of the body.

Below you can find the different types of nutrients.

1. Carbohydrates

Although carbohydrates have become the enemies of diet to lose weight, they are essential macronutrients for the organism, since they feed the brain and muscles. Carbohydrates they are the best source of energy and the foods that contain them can also be rich in fiber, which is necessary for the intestine to function properly.

There are two types: simple carbohydrates (banana, honey, etc.), which contain one or two sugars; and complex carbohydrates (for example, brown rice) that are made from three or more linked sugars. These macronutrients provide 4 calories per gram, although complexes take longer to digest than simple carbohydrates and are more satiating.

  • Related article: "The 16 most satiating and ideal foods to lose weight"

2. Proteins

Proteins are the nutrients structural to all cells . That is, they form what we could call the raw material of our body, the bricks with which it is built and reformed. On the other hand, they also help repair tissue and fight infections. When consumption exceeds the body's needs, protein can serve as a source of energy. They provide 4 calories per gram.

  • Related article: "The 20 types of proteins and their functions in the body"

3. Fats

Fats, like the two previous macronutrients, also provide energy to the body and participate in the processes that keep the body alive. But nevertheless, provide 9 calories per gram . Although they are currently demonized, fats are essential to stay in good health.

On the other hand, fats have other functions besides energy. For example, they fulfill a structural role, offer a means of transport for certain substances, and increase palatability.

There are several types of fat, you can know more in this article: "Types of fats (good and bad) and their functions".

4. Vitamins

The vitamins are micronutrients that the body needs to assimilate other nutrients. Its functions are: participate in the formation of chemicals in the nervous system, red blood cells, hormones and genetic material. Likewise, metabolic systems participate in the regulation and are necessary for the health and good functioning of the organism.

If you want to know the different types of proteins, in this article you can delve into this topic: "Types of vitamins: functions and benefits for your body."

5. Minerals

The minerals They give structure to bones, teeth and nails . Like vitamins, they help enzymes in many body processes. Now, unlike these, are inorganic substances that come from soil, rocks and water. Calcium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc or magnesium are some examples of minerals.

Types of food

As commented in the previous lines, the feeding is a series of voluntary actions that are directed to select what is swallowed. The types of food that exist are the following.

1. Veganism

Veganism is the behavior of an individual who decides do not eat food products of animal origin nor, in general, use any product that to be produced involves the death of animals. Therefore, a vegan does not eat meat and fish products, nor do they consume eggs, dairy products or honey.

In addition, in certain cases, products known to be condemning animals to death due to their production system are not consumed, even though they are of purely vegetable origin.

2. Vegetarianism

Vegetarians are people who basically eat vegetables because of their ideology. Apart from strict vegetarians, there are also lacto-ovo vegetarians , who eat eggs and dairy products in addition to vegetables, and lacto-vegetarians, who only incorporate dairy products in their diet as well as vegetables. The idea is not to consume animals directly, but some of the products derived from their way of life.

3. Emotional feeding

It is the food that It is associated with emotional and psychological problems . For example, when someone suffers anxiety, they consume more fat-rich foods, even automatically and without realizing it.

4. Sports nutrition

It is the food that pretends increase sports or physical performance . For example, the consumption of carbohydrates to perform better in a marathon. It is also associated with the improvement of physical appearance and bodybuilding.

5. Healthy eating

Healthy eating is the choice to consume products that are beneficial for well-being . For example, fruit or olive oil for its healthful properties.


Nutrients and Their Functions - You Are What You Eat: Crash Course #1 (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 12 types de nutrition et leurs caractéristiques

Les 12 types de nutrition et leurs caractéristiques

Janvier 23, 2023

Pour les humains, la nutrition est le processus par lequel l'organisme tirer parti des nutriments contenus dans les aliments afin que votre corps et vos cellules restent en vie et aient de l'énergie. Cependant, non seulement les humains ont besoin de se nourrir, mais aussi les plantes, par exemple.

Évolutivement, il n’existe pas de moyen unique d’extraire de la nourriture crue la matière première de ce qui doit être construit; C'est un processus complexe qui a été modifié au cours de plusieurs millions d'années d'évolution. Ces processus peuvent être différents et, par conséquent, peuvent être classés de différentes manières dans les types de nutrition .

La nutrition est un processus vital

L'apport de nourriture par l'homme est un besoin vital pour le corps. Une bonne alimentation, c’est-à-dire qu’une alimentation adéquate et bien équilibrée est nécessaire à la santé et à l’évitement de la détérioration physique et mentale.


Ce processus apporte l'énergie nécessaire pour nous maintenir en vie et cela nous permet de remplir toutes les autres fonctions des êtres vivants. La nourriture fournit également les matières premières pour la croissance et la réparation de notre organisme.

Différence entre nutrition, régime et régime

Il y a une certaine confusion avec le terme nutrition. En tant que science, cela inclut l’étude des aliments et des processus impliqués dans l’utilisation de leurs nutriments: digestion, absorption et assimilation dans les cellules du corps . La nutrition, en fait, est un processus involontaire, car il est trop important de nous laisser sous votre commandement: le fonctionnement physiologique du corps en prend soin.


Ainsi, il serait faux de parler de bonne nutrition ou de mauvaise nutrition, car cela ferait référence à la nourriture. La nourriture est une série d’actions volontaires et conscientes sont dirigés pour choisir, préparer et manger de la nourriture . C'est aussi souvent un régime alimentaire confondu avec de la nourriture. Au lieu de cela, le régime alimentaire est les habitudes alimentaires d'une personne. Bien que cela soit associé à une perte et à un contrôle du poids, le régime n’a aucun effet objectif sur l’image corporelle.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types de régimes sains doivent être au mieux de leur forme"

Types de nutrition

Mais ... Quels types de nutrition existe-t-il? Dans les lignes suivantes, vous trouverez une classification des différents types de nutrition.

1. Nutrition autotrophe

La nutrition autotrophe consiste à se nourrir et à synthétiser des substances organiques. En d'autres termes, c'est la nutrition réalisée par ces êtres vivants qui sont capables de produire leur propre nourriture .


Les plantes sont un exemple clair, car elles se nourrissent grâce à la photosynthèse. Les êtres vivants qui effectuent le processus de la photosynthèse sont appelés photolitoautotrophs. Par contre, ceux qui utilisent des éléments chimiques sont des chimiolithotrophes. Par exemple: bactéries.

2. Nutrition hétérotrophe

Ce type de nutrition est utilisé par les êtres vivants qui ont besoin d’une source de nourriture déjà préparée. Par exemple: animaux, champignons et la plupart des microorganismes. Nutrition hétérotrope Il peut être divisé en plusieurs types :

Nutrition parasitaire, dans laquelle l'être vivant habite sur ou dans un autre organisme qu'il nuit et en qui il tire ses éléments nutritifs par ingestion ou par absorption; la nutrition saprophyte, dans laquelle l'être vivant absorbe les nutriments de l'environnement et les décompose au moyen d'enzymes pour obtenir l'énergie dont il a besoin; et l’holozoïque, typique de l’homme, dans lequel un organisme ingère des aliments solides, puis les digère pour obtenir les nutriments dont il a besoin.

La nutrition holozoïque peut être classée de trois manières :

  • Nutrition herbivore: l'organisme se nourrit de légumes
  • Nutrition carnivore: l'organisme se nourrit de viande.
  • Nutrition omnivore: l'organisme se nourrit de légumes et de viande.

Types de nutriments

Les nutriments sont nécessaires à la croissance et à la santé de l'organisme. Il existe cinq types de nutriments qui Ils sont divisés en deux grands groupes: les macronutriments et les micronutriments . Les macronutriments sont nécessaires en grande quantité et comprennent les glucides, les protéines et les graisses. En revanche, les micronutriments sont nécessaires en petites quantités et comprennent des vitamines et des minéraux. L'eau et les fibres ne sont pas des nutriments mais sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du corps.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous les différents types de nutriments.

1. Glucides

Bien que les glucides soient devenus les ennemis du régime alimentaire pour perdre du poids, ils sont des macronutriments essentiels pour l’organisme, car ils nourrissent le cerveau et les muscles. Glucides ils sont la meilleure source d'énergie et les aliments qui les contiennent peuvent aussi être riches en fibres, nécessaires au bon fonctionnement de l'intestin.

Il en existe deux types: les glucides simples (banane, miel, etc.), qui contiennent un ou deux sucres; et les glucides complexes (par exemple, le riz brun) fabriqués à partir de trois sucres liés ou plus. Ces macronutriments apportent 4 calories par gramme, bien que les complexes prennent plus de temps à digérer que les glucides simples et soient plus rassurants.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 aliments les plus rassurants et idéaux pour perdre du poids"

2. Protéines

Les protéines sont les nutriments structurel à toutes les cellules . C'est-à-dire qu'ils forment ce que nous pourrions appeler la matière première de notre corps, les briques avec lesquelles il est construit et reformé. D'autre part, ils aident également à réparer les tissus et à lutter contre les infections.Si la consommation dépasse les besoins de l'organisme, les protéines peuvent servir de source d'énergie. Ils fournissent 4 calories par gramme.

  • Article connexe: "Les 20 types de protéines et leurs fonctions dans l'organisme"

3. les graisses

Les graisses, comme les deux macronutriments précédents, fournissent également de l'énergie au corps et participent aux processus qui maintiennent le corps en vie. Cependant, fournir 9 calories par gramme . Bien qu’ils soient actuellement diabolisés, les graisses sont essentielles pour rester en bonne santé.

D'autre part, les graisses ont d'autres fonctions que l'énergie. Par exemple, ils remplissent un rôle structurel, offrent un moyen de transport pour certaines substances et augmentent l’appétence.

Il existe plusieurs types de graisses, vous pouvez en savoir plus dans cet article: "Types de graisses (bonnes et mauvaises) et leurs fonctions".

4. vitamines

Les vitamines sont micronutriments que le corps a besoin d'assimiler autres nutriments. Ses fonctions sont les suivantes: participer à la formation de produits chimiques dans le système nerveux, les globules rouges, les hormones et le matériel génétique. De même, les systèmes métaboliques participent à la régulation et sont nécessaires à la santé et au bon fonctionnement de l'organisme.

Si vous souhaitez connaître les différents types de protéines, abordez dans cet article les sujets suivants: "Types de vitamines: fonctions et avantages pour votre corps".

5. Minéraux

Les minéraux Ils structurent les os, les dents et les ongles . Comme les vitamines, ils aident les enzymes dans de nombreux processus corporels. Maintenant, contrairement à ceux-ci, sont des substances inorganiques provenant du sol, des roches et de l'eau. Le calcium, le phosphore, le potassium, le zinc ou le magnésium sont quelques exemples de minéraux.

Types de nourriture

Comme indiqué dans les lignes précédentes, l'alimentation consiste en une série d'actions volontaires visant à sélectionner ce qui est avalé. Les types de nourriture qui existent sont les suivants.

1. véganisme

Le véganisme est le comportement d'un individu qui décide ne pas manger de produits alimentaires d'origine animale ni, en général, utiliser un produit qui doit être produit implique la mort d'animaux. Par conséquent, un végétalien ne mange pas de viande ni de poisson, ni d'œufs, de produits laitiers ou de miel.

En outre, dans certains cas, des produits réputés condamnant des animaux à la mort en raison de leur système de production ne sont pas consommés, même s'ils sont d'origine purement végétale.

2. végétarisme

Les végétariens sont des gens qui mangent essentiellement des légumes à cause de leur idéologie. En dehors des végétariens stricts, il y a aussi des végétariens lacto-ovo , qui mangent des œufs et des produits laitiers en plus des légumes, et des lacto-végétariens, qui incorporent uniquement des produits laitiers dans leur alimentation ainsi que des légumes. L'idée n'est pas de consommer directement des animaux, mais certains des produits dérivés de leur mode de vie.

3. alimentation émotionnelle

C'est la nourriture qui Il est associé à des problèmes émotionnels et psychologiques . Par exemple, quand une personne souffre d'anxiété, elle consomme plus d'aliments riches en graisse, même automatiquement et sans s'en rendre compte.

4. Nutrition sportive

C'est la nourriture qui prétend augmenter les performances sportives ou physiques . Par exemple, la consommation de glucides améliore les performances lors d'un marathon. Il est également associé à l'amélioration de l'apparence physique et du bodybuilding.

5. Une alimentation saine

Une alimentation saine est le choix de consommer des produits qui sont bénéfiques pour le bien-être . Par exemple, l'huile de fruit ou l'huile d'olive pour ses propriétés bénéfiques.


Les hommes ne peuvent pas résister à ces 11 caractéristiques physiques des femmes (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes