yes, therapy helps!
The 13 benefits of Psychology (and why it's a good idea to go to the psychologist)

The 13 benefits of Psychology (and why it's a good idea to go to the psychologist)

June 8, 2022

The study and application of psychology is very useful in different areas, and the work of psychologists is beneficial in different areas. Do not forget that in this discipline there are many specializations and, although many people associate the figure of this professional to the clinical or psychopathology, we can also find psychologists working in companies, in the marketing world, in sports clubs and even in the schools.

And it is that the study and application of psychology is beneficial both to improve the welfare and mental health of people and to promote interpersonal relationships, improve sports or organizational performance, help groups work better and much more. .


The psychologist is a professional who, from a scientific perspective, studies how people and groups think, feel and behave, and possesses the knowledge, techniques and tools to diagnose and intervene in different problems that can arise mentally, behaviorally, relationally ...

  • Related article: "Psychologists: what they do and how they help people"

Psychology is not just dealing with psychopathologies

Erroneously, there is a popular belief (albeit to a lesser extent) that the psychologist is dedicated exclusively to deal with patients with psychological disorders.

The reality is that psychology professionals carry out different functions, and although one of them is to diagnose and treat the psychological problems of some people, this professional is present in different environments, which do not necessarily have to do with a hospital or a hospital. Psychology clinic.


For example, psychologists can work in companies carrying out personnel selection processes or by participating in the training of workers, they can act in schools so that children with special educational difficulties can improve their academic performance and have the same opportunities and rights as any child of their age.

You can also work directly with an athlete (for example, a tennis player) to get more out of your workouts or the competitions in which you participate, and learn to better manage your emotions to perform at a high level during a championship. The benefits of psychology are multiple , and psychologists, with their effort and dedication, contribute to this being so.

What are the branches of psychology?

As you can see, psychologists participate in different fields of application , because psychology can have as many facets as activities performed by the human being. Some of the most important branches of psychology are:


1. Organizational Psychology and Human Resources

The psychologists can participate in companies performing different functions, including selection of personnel, training or reduction of work stress.

The psychology of marketing and consumer may also belong to the area of ​​psychology of organizations, and is responsible for carrying out research aimed at creating services and attractive products for the client. It is also responsible for establishing communication strategies that are more useful, and makes efforts to provide knowledge about neuromarketing, among many other functions.

2. Social and community psychology

One of the branches of psychology that generates more interest at present is the social and community psychology, which puts the focus of attention on the collective and the relationships between people in a context . It takes into account group processes and how social and relational dynamics affect individuals.

3. Clinical and health psychology

It consists of research and intervention focused on psychological problems and the well-being of people .

Although clinical psychology deals directly with psychological problems, whether or not they are very serious, professionals in health psychology usually focus their work on improving the well-being and quality of life of some individuals who do not necessarily suffer from mental disorders. For example, patients with cancer, in the case of specialization in Psycho-oncology.

4. Educational and developmental psychology

These professionals may or may not work in schools, but their work usually focuses on the processes of learning and education. For example, working with individuals who suffer ADHD or improving the relationship between family and school.

The psychology of development is often linked to the psychology of education. However, although some of the functions in both areas may overlap, the psychology of development focuses on psychological and behavioral changes that occur in different stages of life, from childhood to old age.

5. Sexology

This field aims at the application of psychology to the resolution of problems related to sexuality (erectile dysfunction, paraphilias, lack of sexual desire, etc.), as well as contributing to improve the sexual performance of individuals.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Study Sexology: 8 reasons that can convince you"

Benefits of psychology

Therefore, psychology has many fields of application, and all of them are very useful for people in different aspects. Necessary stop linking the science of behavior to psychopathology , because psychology positively affects many areas of our life and in different contexts.

In summary, the benefits of psychology are:

  1. To get better communication skills and relational of people.
  2. Help improve emotional intelligence and conflict resolution and help to better manage other related aspects (for example, stress).
  3. Improve the relationships of couple and family and, of course, their well-being.
  4. Maximize the potential of people and his own personal development thanks to self-knowledge, planning and the improvement of one's own motivation.
  5. Improve the quality of life of people with diseases (for example, diabetes or cancer).
  6. Diagnose and intervene in the overcoming of different mental disorders.
  7. Improve the knowledge of the structure and functioning of our brain, and help to understand and improve cognitive functions such as memory.
  8. To get better Teaching and learning processes , and work together with the faculty to motivate all students.
  9. Create a better group climate, for example, in schools or organizations.
  10. Improve the processes of evaluation and incorporation of changes. These changes can be of all kinds, for example, when dealing with drug addicts.
  11. Improve the processes of personnel selection, teamwork, production of a company and employee welfare.
  12. Psychological interventions can reduce the need for pharmacological treatment .
  13. Positive manipulation of psychological variables related to sport. For example, self-confidence, level of activation, aggressiveness, perseverance or team cohesion.

Emotion, Stress and Health: Crash Course Psychology #26 (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 13 avantages de la psychologie (et pourquoi c'est une bonne idée d'aller chez le psychologue)

Les 13 avantages de la psychologie (et pourquoi c'est une bonne idée d'aller chez le psychologue)

Janvier 21, 2023

L'étude et l'application de la psychologie sont très utiles dans différents domaines, et le travail des psychologues est bénéfique dans différents domaines. N'oubliez pas que dans cette discipline, il existe de nombreuses spécialisations et, bien que beaucoup associent la figure de ce professionnel à la clinique ou à la psychopathologie, nous pouvons également trouver des psychologues travaillant dans des entreprises, dans le monde du marketing, dans des clubs sportifs et même les écoles.

Et c’est que l’étude et l’application de la psychologie sont bénéfiques à la fois pour améliorer le bien-être et la santé mentale des personnes et pour promouvoir les relations interpersonnelles, améliorer les performances sportives ou organisationnelles, aider les groupes à mieux travailler et bien plus encore. .


Le psychologue est un professionnel qui, d’un point de vue scientifique, étudie comment les gens et les groupes pensent, se sentent et se comportent et possède les connaissances, les techniques et les outils pour diagnostiquer et intervenir dans différents problèmes cela peut survenir mentalement, comportementalement, relationnellement ...

  • Article connexe: "Psychologues: ce qu'ils font et comment ils aident les gens"

La psychologie ne concerne pas que les psychopathologies

À tort, il existe une croyance populaire (quoique dans une moindre mesure) que le psychologue se consacre exclusivement traiter avec les patients avec des troubles psychologiques.

La réalité est que les professionnels de la psychologie exercent différentes fonctions et que, bien que l’une d’elles soit de diagnostiquer et de traiter les problèmes psychologiques de certaines personnes, ce professionnel est présent dans des environnements différents, qu’il ne s’agisse pas nécessairement d’un hôpital ou d’un hôpital. Clinique de psychologie.


Par exemple, les psychologues peuvent travailler dans des entreprises effectuer des processus de sélection du personnel ou en participant à la formation des travailleurs, ils peuvent agir dans les écoles pour que les enfants ayant des difficultés particulières d’éducation puissent améliorer leurs résultats scolaires et jouissent des mêmes chances et des mêmes droits que n’importe quel enfant de leur âge.

Vous pouvez également travailler directement avec un athlète (par exemple un joueur de tennis) pour tirer le meilleur parti de vos entraînements ou des compétitions auxquelles vous participez, et apprendre à mieux gérer vos émotions pour être performant à un niveau élevé pendant un championnat. Les avantages de la psychologie sont multiples , et les psychologues, avec leurs efforts et leur dévouement, contribuent à ce qu'il en soit ainsi.

Quelles sont les branches de la psychologie?

Comme vous pouvez le voir, les psychologues participer à différents domaines d'application , car la psychologie peut avoir autant de facettes que les activités de l’être humain. Certaines des branches les plus importantes de la psychologie sont:


1. Psychologie organisationnelle et ressources humaines

Les psychologues peut participer à des entreprises remplissant différentes fonctions, y compris la sélection du personnel, la formation ou la réduction du stress au travail.

La psychologie du marketing et du consommateur peut également appartenir au domaine de la psychologie des organisations et est chargée de mener des recherches visant à créer des services et des produits attractifs pour le client. Il est également chargé d'établir des stratégies de communication plus utiles et s'efforce de fournir des connaissances sur le neuromarketing, entre autres fonctions.

2. Psychologie sociale et communautaire

L’un des domaines de la psychologie qui suscite le plus d’intérêt à l’heure actuelle est la psychologie sociale et communautaire, qui met l’accent sur l’attention portée au collectif et à la société. les relations entre les gens dans un contexte . Il prend en compte les processus de groupe et comment les dynamiques sociales et relationnelles affectent les individus.

3. Psychologie clinique et de la santé

Il consiste en recherche et intervention axé sur les problèmes psychologiques et le bien-être des personnes .

Bien que la psychologie clinique traite directement de problèmes psychologiques, qu’ils soient ou non très graves, les professionnels de la psychologie de la santé s’emploient généralement à améliorer le bien-être et la qualité de vie de certaines personnes ne souffrant pas nécessairement de troubles mentaux. Par exemple, les patients atteints de cancer, dans le cas d'une spécialisation en psycho-oncologie.

4. Psychologie de l'éducation et du développement

Ces professionnels peuvent travailler ou non dans les écoles, mais leur travail est généralement axé sur les processus d’apprentissage et d’éducation. Par exemple, travailler avec des personnes souffrant de TDAH ou améliorer les relations entre la famille et l’école.

La psychologie du développement est souvent liée à la psychologie de l'éducation. Cependant, même si certaines des fonctions dans les deux domaines peuvent se chevaucher, la psychologie du développement se concentre sur les changements psychologiques et comportementaux qui se produisent à différentes étapes de la vie, de l’enfance à la vieillesse.

5. Sexologie

Ce domaine vise l’application de la psychologie à la résolution de problèmes liés à la sexualité (dysfonction érectile, paraphilies, manque de désir sexuel, etc.), tout en contribuant à améliorer la performance sexuelle des individus.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Étudiez la sexologie: 8 raisons qui peuvent vous convaincre"

Avantages de la psychologie

Par conséquent, la psychologie a de nombreux domaines d’application, qui sont tous très utiles aux personnes sous différents aspects. Il faut cesser de lier la science du comportement à la psychopathologie , parce que la psychologie affecte positivement de nombreux domaines de notre vie et dans différents contextes.

En résumé, les avantages de la psychologie sont les suivants:

  1. Améliorer compétences de communication et relationnel des gens.
  2. Contribuez à améliorer l'intelligence émotionnelle et la résolution des conflits et à mieux gérer d'autres aspects connexes (par exemple, le stress).
  3. Améliorer les relations de couple et de famille et, bien sûr, leur bien-être.
  4. Maximiser le potentiel des personnes et son développement personnel grâce à la connaissance de soi, à la planification et à l'amélioration de sa propre motivation.
  5. Améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de maladies (par exemple, diabète ou cancer).
  6. Diagnostiquer et intervenir dans le dépassement de différents troubles mentaux.
  7. Améliorer la connaissance de la structure et du fonctionnement de notre cerveau et aider à comprendre et à améliorer les fonctions cognitives telles que la mémoire.
  8. Améliorer les processus d'enseignement et d'apprentissage et collaborez avec le corps professoral pour motiver tous les étudiants.
  9. Créez un meilleur climat de groupe, par exemple dans les écoles ou les organisations.
  10. Améliorer les processus d'évaluation et d'incorporation des changements. Ces changements peuvent être de toutes sortes, par exemple lorsqu'il s'agit de toxicomanes.
  11. Améliorer les processus de sélection du personnel, de travail en équipe, de production d'une entreprise et de bien-être des employés.
  12. Les interventions psychologiques peuvent réduire le besoin de traitement pharmacologique .
  13. Manipulation positive de variables psychologiques liées au sport. Par exemple, confiance en soi, niveau d'activation, agressivité, persévérance ou cohésion d'équipe.

13 Astuces Psychologiques de la Vie Courante (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes