yes, therapy helps!
The 13 best books about Yoga

The 13 best books about Yoga

November 27, 2021

Yoga is an ancient practice very popular nowadays for its health benefits: it improves flexibility, helps reduce stress, improves concentration, improves coordination ... In other words, it guarantees a state of harmony.

  • Related article: 10 benefits of yoga for athletes (according to science)

Best books on yoga

Thanks to the fact that yoga improves our well-being in many ways, many books have been published with the intention of getting the theoretical and practical knowledge of this millenary method to readers.

But how to decide between so many texts? In this article you will finda selection of the best books about yoga . They are the following.


  • Related article: "The 31 best books of Psychology that you can not miss"

1. Light on Yoga: Yoga Dipika (B. K. S. Iyengar)

Among the many types of yoga highlights Iyengar yoga, which emphasizes alignment, even in sitting postures ; The alignment of the head, spine, hips and feet are present for the correct flow of energy.

It owes its name to its founder, and is one of the most popular types of yoga today. This text is a book full of illustrations that aims to make the practice easier for readers, and provides useful instructions to know exactly what to do in each moment. You can read more about this work by clicking here.


  • Related article "The 24 types of yoga that will improve your mental balance"

2. Anatomy of yoga (Leslie Kaminoff and Amy Matthews)

Few yoga manuals are as complete as this work, which in its new edition has been updated and is much more complete. It contains a large number of illustrations and the information is very well organized.

It is a great book, not only useful for those who are starting but also for those who have been practicing it for years. The authors have created a very complete consultation work. In the new edition, more than 300,000 copies have been sold around the globe.

  • Are you interested? Here you have more information

3. Keys to yoga (Danilo Hernández)

Keys to Yoga is a very complete manual, both theoretical and practical, in which the information is detailed and expressed in a clear and pleasant way. The author of the book he is a great practitioner who has been trained in India . It is useful both for the advanced practitioner and for those who want to introduce themselves in this millenary practice.


  • To know more about this book or to acquire it, you can click here.

4. The heart of Yoga: Developing a personal practice (TKV Desikachar)

This book helps readers find their own essence and connect with themselves through yoga. It is a current classic, written by Desikachar considered the father of Viniyoga, a type of yoga that focuses on individual needs. A personalized way to benefit from this habit ancestral .

  • If you want to know more about this book, click here.

5. Yoga sequences. How to create magnificent Yoga classes (Mark Stephens)

A great resource for yoga teachers, which helps them create beneficial and enjoyable classes. In its pages it is possible to find 77 models of sequences of asanas that can be used taking into account the levels of the students. It is composed of more than 1000 photos, which facilitate the teaching of this millenary practice.

  • If you are interested and want more information about the book, here you will find it.

6. The tree of Yoga (B. S. K. Iyengar)

Another work by BKS Iyengar that enters this list. This book is an easy text to assimilate, with a simple reading and a concise language. It is a book that delves into this practice and that delves into the philosophy of this spiritual experience. Some questions are answered, such as, for example, how to include yoga in everyday life . It is a good reference manual, ideal for those who are not experts and for those who are.

  • In this link you will find more information.

7. The wisdom of Yoga (Stephen Cope)

As the name of this work indicates, practicing yoga is an extraordinary experience. That is why the car decided to create a guide so that anyone can benefit from the tradition and practice of yoga. Stephen Cope is one of the most recognized yoga experts in the West.

  • On this page you can read more about the book.

8. Yoga An adventure for children (Helen Purperhart)

Yoga is not only beneficial for adults, it is also beneficial for children. That's why the author of this book decided to create a work, with scientific backing , that facilitated the work of the teachers so that they could teach this healthy practice to the little ones.This book provides a creative vision of yoga, which includes play, dance, music and drawing.

  • To read more information, click here.

9. The Yoga Bible: Essential Guide to Yoga Postures (Christina Brown and Nora Steinbrun)

Although it refers to the bible, this book has nothing to do with religion. It focuses on reviewing the philosophy behind yoga, and provides the keys to understand as easy as practical the different asanas , as well as the other elements that make up this very old method.

  • For more information, you can access this page.

10. The key muscles in Hatha Yoga (Ray Long)

A great text, but indicated for yoga teachers. It deals with the anatomy and the functioning of the muscles during the practice of yoga. Hatha yoga is a type of yoga, the most practiced in the world, and also the most physical.

  • If you are interested, click here.

11. The tradition of yoga (Georg Feuerstein)

It is rather a theoretical book that helps to understand yoga since its inception, since yoga is not only a physical practice, but also mental and with a great tradition. Is intended for individuals who want to know more about this healthy method and understand where it comes from and what its purpose is.

  • Do you want to get the book? Click here.

12. Yoga: The Spirit and the practice of moving to stillness (Erich Schiffmann)

As an oriental practice, yoga is ideal for achieving inner peace, living in the present and being aware of what surrounds us and of ourselves. The author of the text is Erich Schiffmann, a renowned teacher, of the first to combine Hatha Yoga and meditation. Therefore, this book not only deals with the subject of yoga, but also with mindfulness.

13. Yoga, pregnancy and birth (Janet Balaskas)

Yoga can be a very useful tool for pregnant women , because it can help them to face both pregnancy, birth and the first stages after childbirth.

"Yoga, pregnancy and birth" is a very useful work, in which it is possible to find from the most appropriate exercises, soft and safe to the most advanced to help the pregnant woman to be in contact with herself. In the pages of this book it is possible to find tips to be aware of one's own breathing, of the body, of the mind in this great vital moment.

  • To read more about it, click here.

My Favourite Books | Yoga with Celest Pereira (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 13 meilleurs livres sur le yoga

Les 13 meilleurs livres sur le yoga

Avril 15, 2021

Le yoga est une pratique ancienne très populaire de nos jours pour ses bienfaits sur la santé: il améliore la flexibilité, aide à réduire le stress, améliore la concentration, améliore la coordination ... En d'autres termes, il garantit un état d'harmonie.

  • Article connexe: 10 avantages du yoga pour les athlètes (selon la science)

Meilleurs livres sur le yoga

Grâce au fait que le yoga améliore notre bien-être à bien des égards, de nombreux livres ont été publiés dans le but de transmettre aux lecteurs les connaissances théoriques et pratiques sur cette méthode millénaire.

Mais comment choisir entre autant de textes? Dans cet article, vous trouverezune sélection des meilleurs livres sur le yoga . Ils sont les suivants.


  • Article connexe: "Les 31 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

1. Lumière sur le yoga: Yoga Dipika (B.K.S. Iyengar)

Parmi les nombreux types de yoga met en évidence le yoga Iyengar, qui met l'accent sur l'alignement, même en position assise ; L'alignement de la tête, de la colonne vertébrale, des hanches et des pieds est présent pour assurer un flux d'énergie correct.

Il doit son nom à son fondateur et est l'un des types de yoga les plus populaires de nos jours. Ce texte est un livre plein d’illustrations qui vise à faciliter la pratique pour les lecteurs et fournit des instructions utiles pour savoir exactement quoi faire à chaque moment. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce travail en cliquant ici.


  • Article connexe "Les 24 types de yoga qui amélioreront votre équilibre mental"

2. Anatomie du yoga (Leslie Kaminoff et Amy Matthews)

Peu de manuels de yoga sont aussi complets que ce travail, qui dans sa nouvelle édition a été mis à jour et est beaucoup plus complet. Il contient un grand nombre d'illustrations et l'information est très bien organisée.

C'est un excellent livre, utile non seulement pour ceux qui débutent, mais aussi pour ceux qui le pratiquent depuis des années. Les auteurs ont créé un travail de consultation très complet. Dans la nouvelle édition, plus de 300 000 exemplaires ont été vendus dans le monde entier.

  • Ça t'intéresse? Ici vous avez plus d'informations

3. Clés du yoga (Danilo Hernández)

Keys to Yoga est un manuel très complet, à la fois théorique et pratique, dans lequel les informations sont détaillées et exprimées de manière claire et agréable. L'auteur du livre c'est un grand pratiquant qui a été formé en Inde . C'est utile à la fois pour le praticien avancé et pour ceux qui veulent se présenter dans cette pratique millénaire.


  • Pour en savoir plus sur ce livre ou pour l'acquérir, vous pouvez cliquer ici.

4. Le coeur du yoga: développer une pratique personnelle (TKV Desikachar)

Ce livre aide les lecteurs à trouver leur propre essence et à se connecter avec eux-mêmes grâce au yoga. C'est un classique actuel, écrit par Desikachar, considéré comme le père de Viniyoga, un type de yoga qui se concentre sur les besoins individuels. Une façon personnalisée de profiter de cette habitude ancestrale .

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce livre, cliquez ici.

5. séquences de yoga. Comment créer de magnifiques cours de yoga (Mark Stephens)

Une excellente ressource pour les professeurs de yoga, qui les aide à créer des cours bénéfiques et agréables. Dans ses pages, il est possible de trouver 77 modèles de séquences d’asanas pouvant être utilisés en tenant compte du niveau des élèves. Il est composé de plus de 1000 photos, ce qui facilite l’enseignement de cette pratique millénaire.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé et souhaitez plus d'informations sur le livre, vous le trouverez ici.

6. L'arbre de yoga (B.S.K. Iyengar)

Un autre travail de BKS Iyengar qui entre dans cette liste. Ce livre est un texte facile à assimiler, avec une lecture simple et un langage concis. C'est un livre qui plonge dans cette pratique et qui plonge dans la philosophie de cette expérience spirituelle. On répond à certaines questions, telles que, par exemple, comment inclure le yoga dans la vie quotidienne . C'est un bon manuel de référence, idéal pour ceux qui ne sont pas des experts et pour ceux qui le sont.

  • Dans ce lien, vous trouverez plus d'informations.

7. La sagesse du yoga (Stephen Cope)

Comme son nom l'indique, la pratique du yoga est une expérience extraordinaire. C'est pourquoi la voiture a décidé de créer un guide afin que chacun puisse bénéficier de la tradition et de la pratique du yoga. Stephen Cope est l'un des experts du yoga les plus reconnus en Occident.

  • Sur cette page, vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le livre.

8. yoga Une aventure pour les enfants (Helen Purperhart)

Le yoga est non seulement bénéfique pour les adultes, il est également bénéfique pour les enfants. C'est pourquoi l'auteur de ce livre a décidé de créer une œuvre avec un soutien scientifique , cela a facilité le travail des enseignants afin qu’ils puissent enseigner cette pratique saine aux plus petits.Ce livre fournit une vision créative du yoga, qui comprend le jeu, la danse, la musique et le dessin.

  • Pour lire plus d'informations, cliquez ici.

9. La Bible du yoga: guide essentiel des postures de yoga (Christina Brown et Nora Steinbrun)

Bien qu'il se réfère à la Bible, ce livre n'a rien à voir avec la religion. Il se concentre sur la philosophie du yoga et fournit les clés pour: comprendre aussi facile que pratique les différents asanas , ainsi que les autres éléments qui composent cette très ancienne méthode.

  • Pour plus d'informations, vous pouvez accéder à cette page.

10. Les principaux muscles du Hatha Yoga (Ray Long)

Un excellent texte, mais indiqué pour les professeurs de yoga. Il traite de l'anatomie et du fonctionnement des muscles pendant la pratique du yoga. Le Hatha yoga est un type de yoga, le plus pratiqué dans le monde et aussi le plus physique.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, cliquez ici.

11. La tradition du yoga (Georg Feuerstein)

C’est plutôt un livre théorique qui aide à comprendre le yoga depuis sa création, car le yoga n’est pas seulement une pratique physique, mais aussi mentale et avec une grande tradition. C'est destiné aux personnes qui veulent en savoir plus sur cette méthode saine et comprendre d'où il vient et quel est son but.

  • Voulez-vous obtenir le livre? Cliquez ici.

12. Yoga: L'Esprit et la pratique de l'immobilité (Erich Schiffmann)

En tant que pratique orientale, le yoga est idéal pour atteindre la paix intérieure, vivre dans le présent et prendre conscience de ce qui nous entoure et de nous-mêmes. L'auteur du texte est Erich Schiffmann, un enseignant renommé, l'un des premiers à avoir combiné le Hatha Yoga et la méditation. Par conséquent, ce livre traite non seulement du sujet du yoga, mais aussi de la pleine conscience.

13. Yoga, grossesse et naissance (Janet Balaskas)

Le yoga peut être un outil très utile pour les femmes enceintes , car cela peut les aider à faire face à la fois à la grossesse, à la naissance et aux premières étapes après l’accouchement.

"Yoga, grossesse et naissance" est un travail très utile, dans lequel il est possible de trouver des exercices les plus appropriés, doux et sans danger, aux plus avancés pour aider la femme enceinte à être en contact avec elle-même. Dans les pages de ce livre, il est possible de trouver des astuces pour prendre conscience de sa propre respiration, de son corps, de son esprit en ce grand moment vital.

  • Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Qu'est-ce que le Yoga Iyengar ? (287/365) (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes