yes, therapy helps!
The 13 types of pain: classification and characteristics

The 13 types of pain: classification and characteristics

December 5, 2021

Whether acute or chronic, in the head, back or tooth, pain can seriously interfere with a person's life and can be highly disabling . The pain appears after a trauma or it may be the symptom of an injury or illness that we did not know about.

Whatever the cause, pain can emerge in different places and with different intensity. In this article we review the different types of pain .

One of the first causes of medical visit

Pain is a very unpleasant sensory and emotional experience that we have all experienced at some time . It is one of the most frequent reasons for a medical visit and represents a serious problem for a large part of the population. In Spain it is estimated that 6 million adult individuals suffer pain, that is, 17.25% of the adult population.


And is that the pain affects the lives of individuals causing serious emotional and psychological problems, and is even, in many cases, grounds for sick leave. The suffering associated with pain completely invades all the emotional and cognitive processes that are taking place in our mind and turn our attention to intense suffering. When the pain accompanies us, our life changes completely.

  • Recommended article: "The 8 worst pains that human beings suffer"

The operation of pain

Years ago, the idea that the perception of pain depended only on physical damage, in which the receptors of the affected area sent signals to the brain and simply felt pain, was obsolete. The insufficiency of this theory to explain pains like that of the phantom limb (when a person loses a limb of the body but still feels pain in that area even though it is no longer there), caused the world of science to mobilize to find answers to the question of why people feel pain


One of the most significant findings is that of Ronald Melzack, which gave rise to the neuromatrix theory . This theory explains that the diffusion of pain and the transmission of pain by the organism is due to a complex system involving various areas of the central and peripheral nervous system, autonomic nervous system and endocrine system, directly influenced by various psychological, emotional factors , genetic and social. This idea is later than the one formulated in 1965 by Melzack himself and Patrick Wall, called the Theory of the Control Gate.

According to the Theory of the Control Gate, pain is composed of three dimensions:

  • Sensory or Discriminative : are the properties of the physical pain.
  • Motivational or Affective : relative to the emotional phenomena of it.
  • Cognitive or Evaluative : in reference to the interpretation of pain based on attentional aspects, previous experiences, the sociocultural context, among others.

In other words, the perception of pain is not direct, but there is a modulation of the message at the level of the spinal cord . In order to feel the pain, it is necessary for the brain to receive the message. This implies that in order to experience pain, the arrival of this information is necessary, but before arriving at its destination, there is a gateway that, depending on whether it opens or closes, the pain is felt or not. The control gate depends on physical, emotional and cognitive factors.


The types of pain that exist

Pain can be classified in different ways. Below you can find a list of different types of pain.

Depending on the duration

Depending on its duration, pain can be classified in different ways.

1. Acute

This type of pain acts as a warning of real or imminent pain, it is short-lived and it contains a scarce psychological component, since it does not give time to think about it and the implications of that injury that causes it. An example is the pain that arises after a bruise or a musculoskeletal fracture.

2. Chronic pain

Chronic pain is lasts more than six months . The prevalence of this type of pain in European populations of approximately 20%. It is accompanied by the psychological component, since in addition to being an unpleasant experience in and of itself, it is a constant reminder that there are certain parts of the body that are failing or that do not work as they should. It is, for example, the pain suffered by cancer patients.

If you want to know more about chronic pain, you can read our article: "Chronic pain: what it is and how it is treated from Psychology"

Depending on the source of the pain

According to the source, the pain can be ...

3. Physical pain

Physical pain is a painful sensation that really exists in some part of the body . It can be the result of a light blow or a trauma of gravity (for example, a break), poor posture or illness. Some examples are: back pain or toothache.

4. Emotional pain

Emotional pain is a subjective experience in which the person has a wound that nobody sees . The causes may be different: a breakup of a couple, a change of city, the dismissal of a job ... Regardless of the cause, it has its origin in not knowing how to manage the change of life and by not having the necessary resources to face the new situation.

  • If you are interested in going deeper into this topic, you can do so by visiting our article: "The 10 keys to dealing with emotional pain"

5. Psychological pain

Psychological pain may seem the same as emotional pain, but it is not exactly like that. Psychological pain is what is known as somatization of pain , which has its origin in an emotional state (stress, anxiety, sadness, etc.) and is reflected at a physical level or in the form of illness.

Depending on the pathogenesis

According to the pathogenesis, pain can be classified into the following.

6. Neuropathic

Neuropathic pain is a throbbing pain , burning and usually characterized by the sensation of increased pain produced just after the injury. Its cause is a direct stimulus in the CNS or a lesion in the nerve pathways. Some examples are: post-chemotherapy peripheral neuropathy or spinal cord compression.

7. Nociceptive

It is the most common. It occurs by the stimulation of an intact nervous system that functions normally . It is a type of pain beneficial for the organism since it is a protective action to avoid major damage and proceed to repair the tissue and its regeneration. There are two types: somatic and visceral.

8. Psychogenic

Unlike the previous two, its cause is not the nociceptive stimulation or the neuronal alteration, but its cause is psychological . Some psychic variables that influence this pain are certain beliefs, fears, memories or emotions. It is a real pain and, therefore, requires psychiatric treatment of the cause.

Depending on the location

Depending on the location, the pain is classified as ...

9. Somatic

Occurs by the abnormal excitation of somatic nociceptors in the skin, muscles, joints, ligaments or bones . Treatment should include administration of nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs).

10. Visceral

It is produced by the abnormal excitation of visceral nociceptors, and can affect areas far from the place where it originated . Colic, pain of liver metastases and pancreatic cancer are examples of this type of pain. For its treatment, opioids are used.

Depending on the intensity

According to its intensity, the pain can be ...

11. Mild

It is less intense pain . The person with this type of pain can perform daily activities. The pain can become so low that under certain circumstances it is not perceived and "disappears" completely simply because of the distractions or the correct management of the attentional focus.

For example, in many cases the inflammation of the gums produces a slight pain (without that it removes that it can get to become a serious problem if it goes to more).

12. Moderate

A pain with a certain intensity that interferes with daily activities , although it does not totally incapacitate the person and in general this can continue to have an autonomous life to a greater or lesser extent. It requires treatment with minor opioids.

13. Severe

The most intense pain . It not only interferes with daily activities, but also with rest. Its treatment requires major opioids and incapacitates the person who makes it dependent on third parties, whether friends, family members or caregivers.

Other kinds of pain

In addition to the previous ones, depending on the affected area there are different types of pain: back pain, headaches and migraines, toothache, etc. It is worth mentioning a very painful disease called fibromyalgia, characterized by a chronic muscle pain of unknown origin, accompanied by a feeling of fatigue and other symptoms.

Likewise, a pain that has aroused much interest in the scientific field is ghost pain , produced by the ghost member, a term introduced by Silas Weir Mitchell in 1872, and suffered by some people who have lost an arm, a leg or an organ and who continue to experience the sensations of amputated limbs.

  • You can learn more about this curious phenomenon in our article: "The phantom limb and the mirror box therapy"

How Many Different Types Of Pain Are There? (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 13 types de douleur: classification et caractéristiques

Les 13 types de douleur: classification et caractéristiques

Juin 5, 2020

Que ce soit aigu ou chronique, dans la tête, le dos ou les dents, la douleur peut gravement perturber la vie d'une personne et peut être très invalidante . La douleur apparaît après un traumatisme ou peut-être le symptôme d'une blessure ou d'une maladie dont nous n'avions pas connaissance.

Quelle que soit la cause, la douleur peut apparaître à différents endroits et avec une intensité différente. Dans cet article, nous passons en revue les différents types de douleur .

Une des premières causes de visite médicale

La douleur est une expérience sensorielle et émotionnelle très désagréable que nous avons tous vécue à un moment donné. . C'est l'une des raisons les plus fréquentes d'une visite médicale et représente un problème grave pour une grande partie de la population. En Espagne, on estime que 6 millions d'adultes souffrent de douleur, soit 17,25% de la population adulte.


Et est-ce que la douleur affecte la vie d'individus causant de graves problèmes émotionnels et psychologiques et est même, dans de nombreux cas, un motif de congé de maladie La souffrance associée à la douleur envahit complètement tous les processus émotionnels et cognitifs qui se déroulent dans notre esprit et attire notre attention sur une souffrance intense. Lorsque la douleur nous accompagne, notre vie change complètement.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 8 pires douleurs que subissent les êtres humains"

L'opération de la douleur

Il y a des années, l'idée selon laquelle la perception de la douleur ne dépendait que de dommages physiques, dans lesquels les récepteurs de la zone touchée envoyaient des signaux au cerveau et ressentaient simplement une douleur, était obsolète. L’insuffisance de cette théorie pour expliquer des douleurs comme celle du membre fantôme (quand une personne perd un membre du corps mais ressent encore de la douleur dans ce domaine même s’il n’y est plus), a amené le monde de la science à se mobiliser pour trouver des réponses la question de savoir pourquoi les gens ressentent de la douleur


L’une des découvertes les plus importantes est celle de Ronald Melzack, à l’origine de la théorie des neuromatrices . Cette théorie explique que la diffusion de la douleur et la transmission de la douleur par l'organisme sont dues à un système complexe impliquant divers domaines du système nerveux central et périphérique, du système nerveux autonome et du système endocrinien, directement influencés par divers facteurs psychologiques et émotionnels. , génétique et sociale. Cette idée est postérieure à celle formulée en 1965 par Melzack lui-même et Patrick Wall, appelée la théorie de la porte de contrôle.

Selon la théorie de la porte de contrôle, la douleur est composée de trois dimensions:

  • Sensoriel ou discriminant : sont les propriétés de la douleur physique.
  • Motivationnel ou affectif : relative aux phénomènes émotionnels de celui-ci.
  • Cognitif ou évaluatif : en référence à l'interprétation de la douleur en fonction des aspects de l'attention, des expériences antérieures, du contexte socioculturel, entre autres.

En d'autres termes, la perception de la douleur n'est pas directe, mais il y a une modulation du message au niveau de la moelle épinière . Pour ressentir la douleur, il est nécessaire que le cerveau reçoive le message. Cela implique que pour éprouver de la douleur, il est nécessaire que ces informations nous parviennent, mais avant d'arriver à destination, il existe une passerelle qui, selon qu'elle s'ouvre ou se ferme, la douleur est ressentie ou non. La porte de contrôle dépend de facteurs physiques, émotionnels et cognitifs.


Les types de douleur qui existent

La douleur peut être classée de différentes manières. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de différents types de douleur.

En fonction de la durée

Selon sa durée, la douleur peut être classée de différentes manières.

1. aigu

Ce type de douleur agit comme un avertissement de douleur réelle ou imminente, il est de courte durée et il contient une composante psychologique rare, car il ne donne pas le temps de réfléchir et les implications de la blessure qui l’entraîne. Un exemple est la douleur qui survient après une ecchymose ou une fracture musculo-squelettique.

2. douleur chronique

La douleur chronique dure plus de six mois . La prévalence de ce type de douleur dans les populations européennes est d’environ 20%. Elle est accompagnée de la composante psychologique, car en plus d’être une expérience désagréable en soi, elle rappelle constamment que certaines parties du corps sont défaillantes ou ne fonctionnent pas comme elles le devraient. C'est, par exemple, la douleur ressentie par les patients cancéreux.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur la douleur chronique, vous pouvez lire notre article: "La douleur chronique: de quoi s'agit-il et comment est-elle traitée par la psychologie"

En fonction de la source de la douleur

Selon la source, la douleur peut être ...

3. douleur physique

La douleur physique est une sensation douloureuse qui existe vraiment dans certaines parties du corps. . Cela peut être le résultat d'un coup léger ou d'un traumatisme lié à la gravité (par exemple une pause), d'une mauvaise posture ou d'une maladie. Quelques exemples sont: le mal de dos ou mal aux dents.

4. douleur émotionnelle

La douleur émotionnelle est une expérience subjective dans laquelle la personne a une blessure que personne ne voit . Les causes peuvent être différentes: rupture d’un couple, changement de ville, licenciement… Quelle que soit la cause, elle a pour origine le fait de ne pas savoir gérer le changement de vie et de ne pas avoir les ressources nécessaires pour faire face la nouvelle situation.

  • Si vous souhaitez approfondir ce sujet, vous pouvez le faire en visitant notre article: "Les 10 clés pour faire face à la douleur émotionnelle"

5. Douleur psychologique

La douleur psychologique peut sembler identique à la douleur émotionnelle, mais ce n'est pas exactement comme ça. La douleur psychologique est ce qu'on appelle la somatisation de la douleur , qui trouve son origine dans un état émotionnel (stress, anxiété, tristesse, etc.) et se reflète au niveau physique ou sous la forme d’une maladie.

En fonction de la pathogenèse

Selon la pathogenèse, la douleur peut être classée comme suit.

6. neuropathique

La douleur neuropathique est une douleur lancinante , brûlante et habituellement caractérisée par la sensation de douleur accrue produite juste après la blessure. Sa cause est un stimulus direct du système nerveux central ou une lésion des voies nerveuses. Quelques exemples sont: neuropathie périphérique post-chimiothérapie ou compression de la moelle épinière.

7. Nociceptif

C'est le plus commun. Il se produit par la stimulation d'un système nerveux intact qui fonctionne normalement . C'est un type de douleur bénéfique pour l'organisme puisqu'il s'agit d'une action protectrice visant à éviter des dommages importants et à procéder à la réparation du tissu et à sa régénération. Il en existe deux types: somatique et viscérale.

8. psychogène

Contrairement aux deux précédents, sa cause n'est pas la stimulation nociceptive ou l'altération neuronale, mais sa cause est psychologique . Certaines variables psychiques qui influencent cette douleur sont certaines croyances, peurs, souvenirs ou émotions. C'est une douleur réelle et, par conséquent, nécessite un traitement psychiatrique de la cause.

Selon l'endroit

Selon l'endroit, la douleur est classée comme ...

9. somatique

Se produit par l'excitation anormale de nocicepteurs somatiques dans la peau, les muscles, les articulations, les ligaments ou les os . Le traitement doit inclure l'administration d'anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS).

10. viscérale

Il est produit par l'excitation anormale de nocicepteurs viscéraux et peut toucher des régions éloignées de l'endroit où il est originaire. . Les coliques, les douleurs liées aux métastases hépatiques et le cancer du pancréas sont des exemples de ce type de douleur. Des opioïdes sont utilisés pour son traitement.

En fonction de l'intensité

Selon son intensité, la douleur peut être ...

11. doux

C'est une douleur moins intense . La personne souffrant de ce type de douleur peut effectuer des activités quotidiennes. La douleur peut devenir si faible que dans certaines circonstances, elle n'est pas perçue et "disparaît" complètement du simple fait des distractions ou de la gestion correcte de la focalisation de l'attention.

Par exemple, dans de nombreux cas, l’inflammation des gencives provoque une légère douleur (sans que cela supprime le risque qu’elle devienne un problème grave s’il y en a plus).

12. modéré

Une douleur avec une certaine intensité qui interfère avec les activités quotidiennes , bien que cela n’empêche pas totalement la personne et qu’il puisse en général continuer à mener une vie plus ou moins autonome. Il nécessite un traitement avec des opioïdes mineurs.

13. sévère

La douleur la plus intense . Cela interfère non seulement avec les activités quotidiennes, mais aussi avec le repos. Son traitement nécessite des opioïdes majeurs et entrave la personne qui le rend dépendant de tiers, qu'il s'agisse d'amis, de membres de la famille ou de soignants.

Autres types de douleur

En plus des cas précédents, il existe différents types de douleurs: douleurs au dos, maux de tête et migraines, maux de dents, etc. Il convient de mentionner une maladie très douloureuse appelée fibromyalgie, caractérisée par une douleur musculaire chronique d'origine inconnue, accompagnée d'une sensation de fatigue et d'autres symptômes.

De même une douleur qui a suscité beaucoup d'intérêt dans le domaine scientifique est la douleur fantôme , produit par le membre fantôme, terme introduit par Silas Weir Mitchell en 1872 et qui a été subi par certaines personnes qui ont perdu un bras, une jambe ou un organe et qui continuent à ressentir les sensations de membres amputés.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ce phénomène curieux dans notre article: "Le membre fantôme et la thérapie par la boîte à miroirs"

Les articulations (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes