yes, therapy helps!
The 13 types of prisons (and their psychic effects)

The 13 types of prisons (and their psychic effects)

April 28, 2024

Prisons or prisons are institutions authorized by the government to imprison and isolate society to those individuals who have disobeyed the law. Prisoners are locked up and deprived of their liberty for months, years and, in some cases, their entire lives.

Although all prisons have the same objective, they can be classified in different ways.

The penitentiary system varies from one country to another

The penitentiary system is different depending on the country, and in some cases it can be complex. The army has its own judicial system and minors do not have the same treatment as adults. Although the concept of "prison" is very abstract, its characteristics depend to a large extent on the legal, political and social context of each region, and there may be great differences between the way in which countries determine the functioning of these institutions.


In the United States, for example, there are many jurisdictions (federal or state) and different consequences for prisoners than in Spain, as is the case of the death penalty. On the other hand, in Spain, the penitentiary centers differ according to the different types of prisoners' life regimes. The objective with which the state legitimizes its use is the search for order and security for the vast majority of inhabitants.

How incarceration affects prisoners

Prisoners are deprived of their freedom. The situation they live in and the behavioral deprivation to which they are subjected make their stay in prison provoke different physical and psychological consequences at various levels:


  • Biological : the deprivation of liberty can cause an increase in the instinct of attack by not being able to flee. It also causes problems of sexual or sensory deprivation problems (vision, hearing, ...). On the other hand, at certain ages a state of clear isolation can cause serious alterations in development, although this does not happen in the prisons of democratic states.
  • Psychological : The psychological effects are a reality for inmates with problems of self-esteem, drug use, anxiety, learned helplessness, dependence, etc. In addition, if they are used for many days in a row, the isolation cells suppose a deficit of sensory stimulation that in other contexts has been seen to be extremely harmful and that can generate the breeding ground for puffing up psychiatric disorders . Some of these findings were made decades ago by monkey experimentation by Harry Harlow.
  • Social : family problems, social and labor isolations, social learning problems, skills to relate to others and stigmatization. Especially this last element is crucial when learning new habits when leaving prison; A strongly stigmatized person will hardly find work and will be marginalized at an informal level.

As the investigations show, this type of detrimental effects for the inmates are associated to the time of condemnation . That is, the longer in prison, the worse consequences.


Types of prisons

However, What types of prisons are there? What are the different kinds of prisons? Below you can see the different types of prisons there are:

According to the penitentiary regime

The penitentiary system is the process by which the prisoner passes in compliance with his sentence. There are three degrees: first degree or closed regime, second degree or ordinary regime, third degree or open regime .

1. First degree prison

The modules or prisons of first degree are for those subjects more dangerous and maladjusted . They are regulated in art. 90.1 LOGP (General Penitentiary Organic Law) and there are two classes:

  • Closed-regime centers or modules: for inmates with maladjustment to common regimes.
  • Special departments: for those who provoke altercations. For example: insulation modules.

2. Second degree prison

In the ordinary regime, there are convicts of the second degree , ungraded inmates and detainees and prisoners. In these types of prisons there are mandatory activities (hygiene and personal hygiene, cleaning and order of the cell). The day starts at 7:30 and at 00:00 the lights go out.

3. Third degree prison

The open regime is for convicted persons, classified in the third degree, who can continue their treatment in semi-freedom . This is necessary so that the individual can achieve a normal coexistence but with the necessary rigid controls.

This type of regime can be carried out in three different penitentiary structures:

  • The Centers of Social Insertion : independent centers for third-degree inmates.
  • The Open Sections : departments that are part of a multipurpose prison, especially destined
  • Dependent Units : residences that are within a community and are managed by public or private institutions.

US Penitentiary Centers

In the United States there are different types of prisons

Local jails

This type of jails are for a short-term stay . They are local and multitudinous. They tend to be for those people who have just entered the criminal justice system.

Federal and state prisons

In the United States it is possible to find federal prisons, whose jurisdiction It is the responsibility of the Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP), and the state ones, for more serious crimes and crimes .

1. Federal criminal institutions

They are prisons for those criminals who have committed serious crimes (embezzlement, fraud ...) but who they are not classified as dangerous . They are prisons of minimum security.

2. Federal prisons for medium security

They are medium security institutions, which usually contain security perimeters and armed guards . They are the infrastructures that are most used to imprison prisoners.

3. High security prisons

Destined to violent criminals . The offenders are dangerous people, so they need more control than the prisoners of the previous prisons. They are designed to establish several layers of security and insulation between the exterior and the most protected areas of these architectural complexes, so that the central parts are practically hermetic.

4. State prisons

State prisons are for those convicts who have carried out very serious crimes and state crimes . There are different types: for women, for men, for maximum security, etc. The security of these complexes is exceptional, dedicating a great investment to her given the seriousness of the crimes of those who remain there.

5. Death Row

The corridor of death is the denomination received by cells destined for those prisoners who have committed very serious crimes and who, in addition, they are serving the death penalty and are awaiting execution .

Other types of prisons

There are other types of prisons, for example, for minors, or psychiatric ones.

1. The dungeon

The dungeon is a cell that It is located in the same police station or barracks . It is used to imprison briefly the subjects who have been arrested, especially for a later trial. A detained person You can spend here up to 72 hours .

2. Juvenile Correctional

People who have been arrested and do not reach the age of majority they must serve a sentence in special centers, not in adult prisons.

3. Psychiatric prison

The psychiatric prison It is usually a hospital penitentiary center where subjects who are serving a sentence suffer from mental illness.

4. Military prison

They are the centers where it is sent to the soldiers, officers and non-commissioned officers of the army to comply with the sentence for breaching the military criminal code. This differentiation is an evidence of the special importance that the State gives to the security bodies that ensure the maintenance of power.


Psychological Effects of Torture - Colgate University PCON Podcast 19 (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 13 types de prisons (et leurs effets psychiques)

Les 13 types de prisons (et leurs effets psychiques)

Juillet 24, 2022

Les prisons sont des institutions autorisées par le gouvernement à emprisonner et à isoler la société aux personnes qui ont désobéi à la loi. Les prisonniers sont enfermés et privés de liberté pendant des mois, des années et, dans certains cas, toute leur vie.

Bien que toutes les prisons aient le même objectif, elles peuvent être classées de différentes manières.

Le système pénitentiaire varie d'un pays à l'autre

Le système pénitentiaire est différent selon les pays et, dans certains cas, il peut être complexe. L'armée a son propre système judiciaire et les mineurs ne sont pas traités de la même manière que les adultes. Bien que le concept de "prison" soit très abstrait, ses caractéristiques dépendent en grande partie du contexte juridique, politique et social de chaque région et il peut exister de grandes différences dans la manière dont les pays déterminent le fonctionnement de ces institutions.


Aux États-Unis, par exemple, il existe de nombreuses juridictions (fédéral ou étatique) et des conséquences différentes pour les prisonniers qu'en Espagne, comme dans le cas de la peine de mort. En revanche, en Espagne, les centres pénitentiaires diffèrent selon les types de régimes de vie des détenus. L’objectif avec lequel l’Etat légitimise son utilisation est la recherche d’ordre et de sécurité pour la grande majorité des habitants.

Comment l'incarcération affecte les prisonniers

Les prisonniers sont privés de liberté. La situation dans laquelle ils vivent et la privation comportementale à laquelle ils sont soumis font que leur séjour en prison provoque différentes conséquences physiques et psychologiques à différents niveaux:


  • Biologique : la privation de liberté peut provoquer une augmentation de l'instinct d'attaque en ne pouvant pas fuir. Il provoque également des problèmes de privation sexuelle ou sensorielle (vision, audition, ...). En revanche, à certains âges, un isolement manifeste peut entraîner de graves modifications du développement, bien que cela ne se produise pas dans les prisons d’États démocratiques.
  • Psychologique : Les effets psychologiques sont une réalité pour les détenus ayant des problèmes d’estime de soi, de toxicomanie, d’anxiété, d’impuissance acquise, de dépendance, etc. De plus, s’ils sont utilisés plusieurs jours de suite, les cellules d’isolation supposent un déficit de stimulation sensorielle qui, dans d’autres contextes, s’est avéré extrêmement nocif et peut générer le terreau pour gonfler les troubles psychiatriques . Certaines de ces découvertes ont été faites il y a des décennies par l'expérimentation sur le singe de Harry Harlow.
  • Social : problèmes familiaux, isolement social et du travail, problèmes d’apprentissage social, aptitudes à la relation avec les autres et stigmatisation. Ce dernier élément est particulièrement important pour apprendre de nouvelles habitudes à la sortie de prison. Une personne fortement stigmatisée trouvera difficilement du travail et sera marginalisée à un niveau informel.

Comme le montrent les enquêtes, ce type d'effets néfastes pour les détenus est associé au moment de la condamnation . Autrement dit, plus longtemps en prison, les conséquences sont pires.


Types de prisons

Maintenant bien, Quels types de prisons existe-t-il? Quels sont les différents types de prisons? Vous pouvez voir ci-dessous les différents types de prisons:

Selon le régime pénitentiaire

Le système pénitentiaire est le processus par lequel le détenu passe conformément à sa peine. Il y a trois degrés: premier degré ou régime fermé, deuxième degré ou régime ordinaire, troisième degré ou régime ouvert .

1. Prison de premier degré

Les modules ou prisons de premier degré sont pour les sujets plus dangereux et inadaptés . Ils sont réglementés dans l'art. 90.1 LOGP (loi organique du pénitencier général) et il existe deux classes:

  • Centres ou modules à régime fermé: pour les détenus mal adaptés aux régimes communs.
  • Départements spéciaux: pour ceux qui provoquent des altercations. Par exemple: modules d'isolation.

2. Prison du deuxième degré

En régime ordinaire, il y a des condamnés du second degré , les détenus non classés et les détenus et les prisonniers. Dans ces types de prisons, des activités sont obligatoires (hygiène et hygiène personnelle, nettoyage et ordre de la cellule). La journée commence à 19h30 et à 00h00, les lumières s'éteignent.

3. Prison du troisième degré

Le régime ouvert concerne les personnes condamnées, classées au troisième degré, qui peuvent continuer leur traitement en semi-liberté . Cela est nécessaire pour que la personne puisse réaliser une coexistence normale mais avec les contrôles rigides nécessaires.

Ce type de régime peut être appliqué dans trois structures pénitentiaires différentes:

  • Les centres d'insertion sociale : centres indépendants pour les détenus du troisième degré.
  • Les sections ouvertes : départements faisant partie d'une prison polyvalente, spécialement destinés à
  • Unités dépendantes : résidences appartenant à une communauté et gérées par des institutions publiques ou privées.

Centres pénitentiaires américains

Aux États-Unis, il existe différents types de prisons

Prisons locales

Ce type de prison sont pour un séjour de courte durée . Ils sont locaux et innombrables. Ils ont tendance à être pour les personnes qui viennent d'entrer dans le système de justice pénale.

Prisons fédérales et étatiques

Aux États-Unis, il est possible de trouver des prisons fédérales, dont la juridiction C'est la responsabilité du Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP), et les state, pour des crimes plus graves et des crimes .

1. Institutions pénales fédérales

Ce sont des prisons pour les criminels qui ont commis des crimes graves (détournement de fonds, fraude ...) mais qui ils ne sont pas classés comme dangereux . Ce sont des prisons à sécurité minimale.

2. Prisons fédérales à sécurité moyenne

Ce sont des institutions à sécurité moyenne, qui contiennent généralement des périmètres de sécurité et des gardes armés . Ce sont les infrastructures les plus utilisées pour emprisonner les prisonniers.

3. Prisons de haute sécurité

Destiné aux criminels violents . Les délinquants sont des personnes dangereuses, ils ont donc besoin de plus de contrôle que les prisonniers des prisons précédentes. Ils sont conçus pour établir plusieurs couches de sécurité et d'isolation entre l'extérieur et les zones les plus protégées de ces complexes architecturaux, de sorte que les parties centrales soient pratiquement hermétiques.

4. Prisons d'Etat

Prisons d'État sont pour les condamnés qui ont commis des crimes très graves et des crimes d'État . Il en existe différents types: pour les femmes, pour les hommes, pour une sécurité maximale, etc. La sécurité de ces complexes est exceptionnelle, lui consacrant un grand investissement compte tenu de la gravité des crimes de ceux qui y restent.

5. couloir de la mort

Le couloir de la mort est la dénomination reçue par les cellules destinées aux prisonniers qui ont commis des crimes très graves et qui, en outre, ils purgent la peine de mort et attendent leur exécution .

Autres types de prisons

Il existe d'autres types de prisons, par exemple pour les mineurs, ou psychiatriques.

1. Le donjon

Le donjon est une cellule qui Il est situé dans le même commissariat ou caserne . Il est utilisé pour emprisonner brièvement les sujets qui ont été arrêtés, en particulier pour un procès ultérieur. Une personne détenue Vous pouvez passer ici jusqu'à 72 heures .

2. Correctionnel pour mineurs

Personnes arrêtées et n'ayant pas atteint l'âge de la majorité ils doivent purger leur peine dans des centres spéciaux et non dans des prisons pour adultes.

3. Prison psychiatrique

La prison psychiatrique C'est généralement un centre pénitentiaire d'hôpital où les sujets qui purgent une peine souffrent de maladie mentale.

4. prison militaire

Ils sont les centres où il est envoyé aux soldats, officiers et sous-officiers de l'armée se conformer à la peine pour infraction au code pénal militaire. Cette différenciation est une preuve de l’importance particulière que l’État accorde aux organismes de sécurité qui assurent le maintien du pouvoir.


40 IMAGES QUI VONT RÉVÉLER VOS PHOBIES ET VOS PLAISIRS | Lama Faché (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes