yes, therapy helps!
The 13 types of sexual assault (characteristics and effects)

The 13 types of sexual assault (characteristics and effects)

August 8, 2022

Being a victim of violence, aggression or sexual abuse is one of the hardest and most humiliating situations by which the human being can pass, and the person who suffers it takes a long time to overcome the traumatic event. Feeling that one's intimacy has been tortured and run over leaves serious psychological and relational consequences for the person who has been the object of this cruel and inhuman act.

There are different forms of sexual violence. In this article we review them.

What is sexual violence?

Sexual violence refers to sexual activity where there is no consent by one of the people involved . Although women are the most affected by this phenomenon, anyone can experience sexual violence, regardless of gender, age, race, religion, income level, ability, profession, ethnicity and sexual orientation.


The perpetrators of these evil acts may or may not have a relationship with the victim: a friend, an acquaintance, a co-worker, a neighbor, a caregiver or a family member are some examples. However, statistics show that, in many cases, victims of sexual violence knew the aggressors.

  • Recommended article: "The 11 types of violence and the different kinds of aggression"

Some facts about it

A study by Maston and Klaus, published in 2005, states that 73% of adult victims have some kind of relationship with their aggressors , 38% were people with whom they maintained friendship, 28% were their partner and 7% were their relatives. In the case of minors, the reality is even more worrisome, since 90% of the victims knew their aggressors, according to a study by Greenfeld in 1996.


Data from an investigation by Tjaden & Thoennes (2000) show that 1 out of every 33 men has experienced some rape or attempted rape. In the case of women, the data conclude that 1 in 6 have been raped or have suffered an attempted rape.

Types of sexual violence

There are many types of sexual violence, since this act includes activities that are not necessarily characterized by physical contact between the victim and the perpetrator. Now, sexual violence always includes some kind of differential power, coercion, threat and / or physical force.

But, What types of sexual violence are there? How can we classify these horrible behaviors? Below you can find a list of the different types of sexual violence:

  • Related article: "Psychological profile of the rapist: 12 features in common"

According to the severity

Depending on the severity, sexual violence can be classified in different ways.


1. Sexual harassment

This type of sexual violence occurs when the person who commits the act takes advantage of his position of superiority to ask for sexual favors. The victim is threatened and intimidated to perform these acts against his will . It tends to occur more frequently in the workplace, although it is also educational.

2. Sexual abuse

In this type of character is characterized by the abuser attempts against the sexual freedom of the victim through deception and coercion. As the main feature of this type of sexual violence, victims can not give their consent, since they do not have the intellectual capacity or the will to do so. As it may be the case of children or people with disabilities. Caresses, explicit verbal propositions, and penetration are part of sexual abuse.

3. Sexual aggression

In this case, the sexual freedom of the victim is affected because the aggressor uses violence. to and intimidation to eat the act. Rape is the most serious case of sexual assault. It happens when there is penetration of the member, but also when objects are introduced vaginally and anally.

According to the type of aggressor

Different types of sexual violence can occur depending on the aggressor

4. Sexual assault by an acquaintance

This type of sexual assault is characterized by whoever carries them out is an acquaintance . Be it a friend, or an appointment, or someone close to the victim. They tend to be very frequent, given that known people have information about the victim and are more likely to know how to commit the crime without having to endure the negative consequences of a criminal process.

5. Sexual assault by a stranger

Some people are sexually assaulted when they simply walk down the street, without prior contact with the aggressor. In this case, the victim does not know the aggressor . It is often the case that the attacker chooses a victim almost at random as part of an impulsive reaction.

6. Sexual assault by a relative

Although many people find it hard to believe, family members also sexually assault other family members . This is a type of aggression that, unlike the previous one, can last for a long time. The victim feels so embarrassed that it takes a while until it is pronounced.

7. Aggression by a sentimental partner

This type of sexual assault occurs when the perpetrator is the victim's current partner (married or not) or is the ex-partner. The feelings of revenge are habitual in this type of acts, and can explain the reason for the attack.

According to the type of victim

Depending on the victim, aggression can be classified in different ways.

8. Sexual abuse of minors

Through cheating or bribery the abuser takes control of the sexual freedom of the victim . It can occur within the family or outside of it.

  • More information: "Child abuse: physical and psychological consequences in abused children"

9. Sexual aggression against men

Although many people do not believe it, statistics show that 1 in 33 men have been victims or have suffered an attempted sexual assault . In addition, this is a reality of which relatively little is known; It is necessary to investigate more about the contexts in which these attacks occur, especially beyond the prison.

10. Sexual aggression against women

It is the most frequent form of sexual abuse . It occurs both in the West and in less developed countries. There are many women who have been victims or have suffered an attempted sexual assault.

Other types of sexual violence

There are other types of sexual assault. They are the following:

11. Sexual aggression facilitated by drugs

When the use of drugs has been used to induce sexual assault, this type of drug is mentioned. Alcohol remains one of the most commonly used substances. Although nowadays, other drugs such as the GHB or the Burundanga are used to annul the will of the victims.

12. Sexual exploitation

A form of sexual violence is sexual exploitation . It happens when a person is forced, threatened and coerced into having sex without their consent. The operator also makes an economic profit at his expense.

13. Incest

Incest is the sexual relationship that happens between family members who share the same blood or that proceed by their birth from a common trunk. For many experts it is also a form of sexual abuse, as there may be family pressures for the victim to have sex and marry another family member.

Bibliographic references:

  • Maston, C., & Klaus, P. (2005) Criminal Victimization in the United States, 2003 statistical tables: National Crime Victimization Survey (NCJ 207811).
  • Tjaden, P., and Thoeness, N. (2000). Prevalence, incidence and consequences of violence against women: findings from the National Violence Against Women Survey (NCJ183781).

6 Types of Childhood Abuse (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 13 types d’agression sexuelle (caractéristiques et effets)

Les 13 types d’agression sexuelle (caractéristiques et effets)

Juin 24, 2022

Être victime de violence, d'agression ou d'abus sexuel est l'une des situations les plus difficiles et les plus humiliantes par lequel l’être humain peut passer, et la personne qui en souffre met longtemps à surmonter le traumatisme. Le sentiment que son intimité a été torturée et débordée laisse de graves conséquences psychologiques et relationnelles pour la personne qui a été l'objet de cet acte cruel et inhumain.

Il existe différentes formes de violence sexuelle. Dans cet article, nous les passons en revue.

Qu'est-ce que la violence sexuelle?

La violence sexuelle fait référence aux activités sexuelles sans consentement de l'une des personnes impliquées. . Bien que les femmes soient les plus touchées par ce phénomène, n'importe qui peut être victime de violence sexuelle, quels que soient son sexe, son âge, sa race, sa religion, son niveau de revenu, ses capacités, sa profession, son ethnicité et son orientation sexuelle.


Les auteurs de ces actes pervers peuvent avoir ou non une relation avec la victime: un ami, une connaissance, un collègue de travail, un voisin, un fournisseur de soins ou un membre de la famille en sont des exemples. Toutefois, les statistiques montrent que, dans de nombreux cas, les victimes de violences sexuelles connaissaient les agresseurs.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 11 types de violence et les différentes formes d'agression"

Quelques faits à ce sujet

Une étude de Maston et Klaus, publiée en 2005, indique que 73% des adultes victimes ont une sorte de relation avec leurs agresseurs , 38% étaient des personnes avec qui ils entretenaient des liens d’amitié, 28% leur partenaire et 7% leurs proches. Dans le cas des mineurs, la réalité est encore plus inquiétante puisque 90% des victimes connaissaient leurs agresseurs, selon une étude réalisée par Greenfeld en 1996.


Les données d'une enquête menée par Tjaden et Thoennes (2000) montrent qu'un homme sur 33 a été victime d'un viol ou d'une tentative de viol. Dans le cas des femmes, les données concluent que 1 femme sur 6 a été violée ou a subi une tentative de viol.

Types de violence sexuelle

Il existe de nombreux types de violence sexuelle, dans la mesure où cet acte inclut des activités qui ne se caractérisent pas nécessairement par un contact physique entre la victime et l'auteur. Maintenant, la violence sexuelle comprend toujours une sorte de pouvoir différentiel, de contrainte, de menace et / ou de force physique.

Mais Quels types de violence sexuelle existe-t-il? Comment pouvons-nous classer ces comportements horribles? Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des différents types de violence sexuelle:

  • Article connexe: "Profil psychologique du violeur: 12 traits communs"

Selon la sévérité

Selon la gravité, la violence sexuelle peut être classée de différentes manières.


1. Harcèlement sexuel

Ce type de violence sexuelle se produit lorsque la personne qui commet l'acte profite de sa position de supériorité pour demander des faveurs sexuelles. La victime est menacée et intimidée pour accomplir ces actes contre son gré . Cela a tendance à se produire plus fréquemment sur le lieu de travail, bien que ce soit également éducatif.

2. Abus sexuel

Dans ce type de personnage est caractérisé par les tentatives de l'agresseur contre la liberté sexuelle de la victime par la tromperie et la contrainte. En tant que caractéristique principale de ce type de violence sexuelle, les victimes ne peuvent donner leur consentement car elles n’ont pas la capacité intellectuelle ni la volonté de le faire. Comme ce peut être le cas d'enfants ou de personnes handicapées. Les caresses, les propositions verbales explicites et la pénétration font partie des abus sexuels.

3. Agression sexuelle

Dans ce cas, la liberté sexuelle de la victime est affectée car l'agresseur a recours à la violence. un et l'intimidation de manger l'acte. Le viol est le cas le plus grave d'agression sexuelle. Cela se produit lorsqu'il y a pénétration du membre, mais également lorsque des objets sont introduits par voie vaginale et anale.

Selon le type d'agresseur

Différents types de violence sexuelle peuvent survenir en fonction de l'agresseur

4. Agression sexuelle par une connaissance

Ce type d’agression sexuelle est caractérisé par le fait que celui qui les exerce est une connaissance . Que ce soit un ami, un rendez-vous ou un proche de la victime. Ils ont tendance à être très fréquents, étant donné que des personnes connues disposent d'informations sur la victime et sont plus susceptibles de savoir comment commettre le crime sans avoir à subir les conséquences négatives d'un processus pénal.

5. Agression sexuelle par un étranger

Certaines personnes sont agressées sexuellement lorsqu'elles marchent dans la rue, sans contact préalable avec l'agresseur. Dans ce cas, la victime ne connaît pas l'agresseur . Il arrive souvent que l’attaquant choisisse une victime presque au hasard dans le cadre d’une réaction impulsive.

6. Agression sexuelle par un membre de la famille

Bien que beaucoup de gens aient du mal à y croire, les membres de la famille agressent aussi sexuellement d'autres membres de la famille. . C'est un type d'agression qui, contrairement au précédent, peut durer longtemps. La victime se sent tellement embarrassée qu'il faut un certain temps avant de la prononcer.

7. Agression d'un partenaire sentimental

Ce type d'agression sexuelle survient lorsque l'auteur est le partenaire actuel de la victime. (marié ou non) ou est l'ex-partenaire. Les sentiments de vengeance sont habituels dans ce type d’actes et peuvent expliquer la raison de l’attaque.

Selon le type de victime

Selon la victime, l'agression peut être classée de différentes manières.

8. Abus sexuel de mineurs

Par la tricherie ou la corruption, l'agresseur prend le contrôle de la liberté sexuelle de la victime . Cela peut se produire à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur de la famille.

  • Plus d'informations: "Violence envers les enfants: conséquences physiques et psychologiques chez les enfants maltraités"

9. Agression sexuelle contre les hommes

Bien que beaucoup de gens n'y croient pas, les statistiques montrent que 1 homme sur 33 a été victime ou a subi une tentative d'agression sexuelle . De plus, il s'agit d'une réalité dont on sait relativement peu de choses. Il est nécessaire d’enquêter davantage sur le contexte dans lequel ces attaques se produisent, en particulier au-delà de la prison.

10. Agression sexuelle contre les femmes

C'est la forme la plus fréquente d'abus sexuel . Il se produit à la fois dans l'Ouest et dans les pays moins développés. Il y a beaucoup de femmes qui ont été victimes ou ont subi une tentative d'agression sexuelle.

Autres types de violence sexuelle

Il existe d'autres types d'agression sexuelle. Ils sont les suivants:

11. Agression sexuelle facilitée par la drogue

Lorsque l’usage de drogues a été utilisé pour provoquer une agression sexuelle, ce type de drogue est mentionné. L'alcool reste l'une des substances les plus couramment utilisées. Bien que de nos jours, d'autres drogues telles que le GHB ou le Burundanga soient utilisées pour annuler la volonté des victimes.

12. exploitation sexuelle

L'exploitation sexuelle est une forme de violence sexuelle. . Cela se produit lorsqu'une personne est forcée, menacée et contrainte d'avoir des relations sexuelles sans son consentement. L’exploitant réalise également un profit économique à ses frais.

13. Inceste

L'inceste est la relation sexuelle entre des membres de la famille qui partagent le même sang. ou qui procèdent par leur naissance d'un tronc commun. Pour de nombreux experts, il s'agit également d'une forme d'abus sexuel, dans la mesure où la victime peut être contrainte à avoir des relations sexuelles et à épouser un autre membre de la famille.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Maston, C., & Klaus, P. (2005) La victimisation criminelle aux États-Unis, Tableaux statistiques de 2003: Enquête nationale sur la victimisation criminelle (NCJ 207811).
  • Tjaden, P. et Thoeness, N. (2000). Prévalence, incidence et conséquences de la violence à l'égard des femmes: résultats de l'enquête nationale sur la violence à l'égard des femmes (NCJ183781).

Blabla Asexualité et Christianisme (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes