yes, therapy helps!
The 14 main social skills to succeed in life

The 14 main social skills to succeed in life

May 9, 2021

Human beings are social beings and, therefore, we must acquire a series of social skills that allow us to live in harmony with those around us , since we need others to survive and to enjoy an emotionally healthy life.

Not having certain social skills determines how we behave when we are with other people and our way of acting can, in some cases, be misinterpreted by others, which can result in a conflict that could have been avoided.

The 14 basic social skills

Social skills are a set of behaviors that we emit when we interact with other individuals and that help us to relate to others in an effective and mutually satisfactory way. Luckily, they can be acquired and developed with practice. However, it can be difficult to master some of them, because you have to be patient and take time to develop them properly


In today's article, we have prepared a list with the 14 main social skills to be successful in your relationships and in your life . Let us begin!

1. Active listening

There is a big difference between listening and hearing . Knowing how to listen is very important in communication with other people and, although we do not always realize it, sometimes we spend more time than we think and what we say instead of actively listening to the other.

Listening actively is not only paying attention to the words that come out of the other speaker's mouth, but also is to be fully aware of emotions and the nonverbal language that the other person tries to communicate.


Active listening is really important when communicating effectively with other people.

Therefore, it is interesting that you take a look at our article: "Active listening: the key to communicate with others"

2. Assertiveness

Assertiveness is a very important social skill for many reasons. The assertive person expresses his opinion appropriately and defends his point of view , always respecting the opinion of others. Thus, assertiveness is key to communicate efficiently with other individuals, but also for our own emotional well-being.

But what differentiates assertive people from those who are not? You can find this answer in our post: "Assertive people: 10 characteristics they have in common"

3. Emotional validation

Emotional validation is the understanding and expression of acceptance of the emotional experience of the other person , and improves interpersonal relationships since the other interlocutor feels understood and recognized. When someone feels that they are being understood emotionally, their confidence in the other person increases and they are able to open up, that is, to verbalize what they think and feel. It is imperative to create a good relationship with other individuals


Recommended article: "Emotional validation: 6 basic tips to improve it"

4. Empathy

Empathy is the ability to put yourself in the place of the other and know what you feel or even what you may be thinking . Therefore, it is necessary to be able to have interpersonal relationships with other individuals and to know how to behave towards others. Empathy is also key to adapt to social situations.

Maybe you're interested: "Learning to manage empathy and adaptation: two wonderful qualities of the human being"

5. Negotiation capacity

When we share the day to day with people it is necessary to have a good negotiating capacity . Whether with colleagues or with your partner, knowing how to negotiate is a necessary competition because you can avoid many conflicts. In addition, conflict can arise from any relationship, and learning to manage and negotiate is a healthy and essential way to make relationships work.

6. Respect

People are more willing to relate to us if we show respect towards their beliefs, values ​​and ideas. In addition to respecting your way of thinking, respect can be expressed with a visual contact that indicates sincerity , so that people feel taken into consideration. The lack of respect is one of the attitudes we most hate and that, in some cases, it is hard to leave behind.

7. Credibility

Showing yourself as a credible person is necessary to gain trust with others and, in addition, to persuade an audience. As with respect, credibility makes people show themselves as they are and are more receptive. You always have to be consistent with what is said and done.

8. Compassion

Nobody is perfect and, therefore, we can all make mistakes . Sometimes we are very hard on others, even though they have not done something in bad faith.Being compassionate is key to dealing with other individuals, and acceptance and forgiveness help improve our well-being.

It may interest you: "Forgiveness: should I or should I not forgive the one who hurt me?"

9. Positive thinking

Living life in a negative way will influence how we see the world and, therefore, how we relate to others. Having a positive mindset and dealing with situations with optimism is one of the best ways to live . And, in addition, it attracts other people.

Article to deepen the positive thinking: "25 positive phrases to live day to day with optimism"

10. Emotional regulation

Emotional regulation is a key concept when we coexist with other individuals and it is a necessary competence for life. Being aware and regulating our own emotions is necessary and at the same time helps us to better develop our possibility of favoring one's own well-being and that of others.

11. Openness of mind

A mind free of prejudices and stereotypes is a strength that helps you relate to different people and adapt better to the environment. Mental rigidity and intolerance are undoubtedly a limitation for interpersonal relationships.

12. Patience

Being patient is one of the great virtues that we can possess, especially when we refer to the social environment. If we do not master this ability, anything can bother us and become a big problem. Patience helps to be relaxed and to avoid being more tense than necessary . Before exploding in an attack of anger, better take a few seconds to reconsider. A good way to improve this ability is through Mindfulness.

13. Courtesy

When we are polite and polite to others, they will rarely be ungrateful to us . Behave with respect and in an educated way with others and you'll see how things go much better. Be kind and friendly, it is always a plus.

14. Know how to express yourself

Knowing how to express oneself is key when we relate to others . Regarding the verbal language, it is necessary to be clear and to convey to others the message we want. This seems easy, but it does not always happen that way. Using concrete examples, having a good ability to improvise, vocalize correctly or consider times are useful strategies.

Featured article: "The 10 basic communication skills"

Extra ball

In addition, reading and writing are important to communicate . Reading enables intellectual development and helps to better understand reality. And to master the writing is essential at present, because the new technologies of the information and the communication (TIC) have burst with force in our lives.


10 Essential People Skills You Need to Succeed (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 14 compétences sociales essentielles pour réussir dans la vie

Les 14 compétences sociales essentielles pour réussir dans la vie

Janvier 17, 2022

Les êtres humains sont des êtres sociaux et, par conséquent, nous devons acquérir une série d'habiletés sociales qui nous permettent de vivre en harmonie avec ceux qui nous entourent , car nous avons besoin des autres pour survivre et mener une vie saine sur le plan émotionnel.

Le fait de ne pas avoir certaines compétences sociales détermine notre comportement lorsque nous sommes avec d'autres personnes et que notre façon d'agir peut, dans certains cas, être mal interprétée par d'autres, ce qui peut entraîner un conflit qui aurait pu être évité.

Les 14 compétences sociales de base

Les compétences sociales sont un ensemble de comportements que nous émettons lorsque nous interagissons avec d'autres individus. et qui nous aident à établir des relations avec les autres de manière efficace et mutuellement satisfaisante. Heureusement, ils peuvent être acquis et développés avec la pratique. Cependant, il peut être difficile de maîtriser certains d’entre eux, car il faut être patient et prendre le temps de les développer correctement


Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous avons préparé une liste des 14 compétences sociales essentielles pour réussir dans vos relations et dans votre vie . Commençons!

1. écoute active

Il y a une grande différence entre écouter et entendre . Savoir écouter est très important dans la communication avec les autres et, bien que nous ne le réalisions pas toujours, nous passons parfois plus de temps que nous le pensons et ce que nous disons au lieu d’écouter activement les autres.

Ecouter activement, c’est non seulement faire attention aux mots qui sortent de la bouche de l’autre interlocuteur, mais aussi est d'être pleinement conscient des émotions et le langage non verbal que l'autre personne essaie de communiquer.


L'écoute active est vraiment importante pour communiquer efficacement avec d'autres personnes.

Par conséquent, il est intéressant de consulter notre article: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres"

2. Assertivité

L'affirmation de soi est une compétence sociale très importante pour plusieurs raisons. La personne affirmée exprime son opinion de manière appropriée et défend son point de vue , en respectant toujours l'opinion des autres. Ainsi, l’affirmation de soi est la clé pour communiquer efficacement avec d’autres personnes, mais aussi pour notre bien-être émotionnel.

Mais qu'est-ce qui différencie les personnes affirmées de celles qui ne le sont pas? Vous pouvez trouver cette réponse dans notre post: "Personnes affirmées: 10 caractéristiques qu’elles ont en commun"

3. Validation émotionnelle

La validation émotionnelle est la compréhension et l'expression de l'acceptation de l'expérience émotionnelle de l'autre personne. et améliore les relations interpersonnelles puisque l’autre interlocuteur se sent compris et reconnu. Lorsqu'une personne a le sentiment d'être comprise sur le plan émotionnel, sa confiance en l'autre personne augmente et elle est capable de s'ouvrir, c'est-à-dire de verbaliser ce qu'elle pense et ressent. Il est impératif de créer de bonnes relations avec d’autres personnes.


Article recommandé: "Validation émotionnelle: 6 conseils de base pour l'améliorer"

4. empathie

L'empathie est la capacité de se mettre à la place de l'autre et de savoir ce que l'on ressent ou même ce que l'on peut penser . Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de pouvoir entretenir des relations interpersonnelles avec d'autres personnes et de savoir comment se comporter envers les autres. L'empathie est également essentielle pour s'adapter aux situations sociales.

Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Apprendre à gérer l'empathie et l'adaptation: deux qualités merveilleuses de l'être humain"

5. Capacité de négociation

Quand on partage le quotidien avec les gens il faut avoir une bonne capacité de négociation . Que ce soit avec des collègues ou avec votre partenaire, savoir comment négocier est une compétition nécessaire car vous pouvez éviter de nombreux conflits. En outre, toute relation peut donner lieu à des conflits, et apprendre à gérer et à négocier est un moyen sain et essentiel de faire en sorte que les relations fonctionnent.

6. le respect

Les gens sont plus disposés à avoir des relations avec nous si nous montrons du respect pour leurs croyances, leurs valeurs et leurs idées. En plus de respecter votre façon de penser, le respect peut être exprimé avec un contact visuel qui indique la sincérité , afin que les gens se sentent pris en considération. Le manque de respect est l’une des attitudes que nous détestons le plus et qu’il est parfois difficile de laisser de côté.

7. Crédibilité

Se montrer comme une personne crédible est nécessaire pour gagner la confiance des autres et, en outre, persuader un public. Comme pour le respect, la crédibilité amène les gens à se montrer tels qu’ils sont et à être plus réceptifs. Vous devez toujours être cohérent avec ce qui est dit et fait.

8. Compassion

Personne n'est parfait et nous pouvons donc tous faire des erreurs . Parfois, nous sommes très durs avec les autres, même s'ils n'ont pas agi de mauvaise foi.Faire preuve de compassion est la clé pour traiter avec d'autres personnes, et l'acceptation et le pardon aident à améliorer notre bien-être.

Cela peut vous intéresser: "Pardonner: devrais-je ou ne devrais-je pas pardonner à celui qui m'a fait mal?"

9. Pensée positive

Vivre négativement dans la vie aura une influence sur notre vision du monde et, par conséquent, sur nos relations avec les autres. Avoir une mentalité positive et gérer les situations avec optimisme est l’un des meilleurs moyens de vivre . Et, en plus, cela attire d'autres personnes.

Article pour approfondir la pensée positive: "25 phrases positives pour vivre au jour le jour avec optimisme"

10. Régulation émotionnelle

La régulation émotionnelle est un concept clé lorsque nous coexistons avec d'autres individus et une compétence nécessaire à la vie. Etre conscient et réguler ses propres émotions est nécessaire et nous aide en même temps à mieux développer notre possibilité de favoriser notre propre bien-être et celui des autres.

11. Ouverture d'esprit

Un esprit libre de préjugés et de stéréotypes est une force cela vous aide à communiquer avec différentes personnes et à mieux vous adapter à l'environnement. La rigidité mentale et l'intolérance sont sans aucun doute une limite pour les relations interpersonnelles.

12. patience

Être patient est l'une des grandes vertus que nous pouvons posséder, en particulier lorsque nous nous référons à l'environnement social. Si nous ne maîtrisons pas cette capacité, tout peut nous déranger et devenir un gros problème. La patience aide à être détendu et à éviter d'être plus tendu que nécessaire . Avant d’exploser dans une crise de colère, prenez quelques secondes pour revenir sur votre décision. La pleine conscience est un bon moyen d'améliorer cette capacité.

13. Courtoisie

Quand nous sommes polis et polis envers les autres, ils nous seront rarement ingrats . Comportez-vous avec respect et d'une manière informée avec les autres et vous verrez que les choses vont beaucoup mieux. Soyez gentil et amical, c'est toujours un plus.

14. Savoir s'exprimer

Savoir comment s'exprimer est la clé lorsque nous sommes en relation avec les autres . En ce qui concerne le langage verbal, il est nécessaire d’être clair et de transmettre aux autres le message que nous voulons. Cela semble facile, mais cela ne se passe pas toujours ainsi. Utiliser des exemples concrets, avoir une bonne capacité d’improvisation, de vocaliser correctement ou de considérer le temps sont des stratégies utiles.

Article vedette: "Les 10 compétences de base en communication"

Balle supplémentaire

De plus, lire et écrire sont importants pour communiquer . Lire permet le développement intellectuel et aide à mieux comprendre la réalité. Et maîtriser l'écriture est essentiel à l'heure actuelle, car les nouvelles technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) ont éclaté avec force dans nos vies.


Améliorer son intelligence émotionnelle, pourquoi pas à l'école? | Moïra Mikolajczak | TEDxUCLouvain (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes