yes, therapy helps!
The 14 types of couple: how is your relationship?

The 14 types of couple: how is your relationship?

January 10, 2023

Love is one of the great motivations of the human being, and in fact, having a partner is one of the great life goals that people have.

Being in love is great, and makes you get up every morning as if you were in a cloud. However, that initial period of falling in love then you have to work it. Being a couple is a constant negotiation where different personalities coexist in many occasions .

Keys to having a healthy relationship

This clash of personalities, interests and even objectives can turn couple relationships into a real ordeal. Possibly there is still a great attraction, however, the difficulties that can arise and especially the bad communication, can cause the relationship to become toxic. For this to not happen we must always:


  • Love from freedom and respect
  • Communicate effectively
  • Negotiate and propose intermediate solutions
  • Share time with the couple
  • Pamper the relationship
  • Change if necessary
  • Trust in the other
  • You can deepen these tips in our post: "The 7 keys to have a healthy relationship"

Love according to Sternberg's theory

There have been many love theorists, one of the best known is Robert Sternberg. In his triangular theory of love, the American psychologist says that there are three different components that manifest in any relationship: intimacy, passion and commitment:


  • The intimacy : Intimacy refers to affection, to the relationship with the couple, to that connection that we only feel with the person we love.
  • The passion : It is the intense feeling of being with that person intimately and expressing romantic desires. It is the excitement and the intense desire to spend moments alone with the other.
  • Commitment : The commitment is the decision to be with the other person and to maintain that love over time. It is what helps to overcome bad times.

Types of loving couple

In love not everything is white or black, but there are many ways to love. But how can we classify couples? Following Sternberg's theory, é he proposes different types of love and, therefore, differentiated types of couples .


In this article you can find the different types of couple. They are the following:

1. Infatuation

Infatuated couples are characterized because they only have one characteristic of the three that have been discussed in the previous section: passion. Despite being together, the members of the couple do not really know each other , which results in a low intimacy. Likewise, they do not feel commitment either. Infatuation can refer to the beginning of the relationship.

2. Empty relationships

Empty love is one that is characterized by commitment, but there is no passion or intimacy . Basically, it refers to marriages for convenience.

3. Romantic couples

Romantic love is characterized by intimacy and passion, however, there is no commitment . It would be the typical summer love or short relationships in which nothing is rationalized or agreements are established between the people involved. Everything is experienced spontaneously without trying to establish it as a clearly solid relationship.

4. Sociable couples

Sociable love refers to the love that two people feel when there is intimacy and commitment, but not passion . For example, when they have many years of relationship and no longer have intimate encounters, but rather are governed by routine and shared activities that can also be done in the social field beyond the domestic.

5. Fatuous relationships

In these couples intimacy never gets built . They are characterized by passion and commitment, but not intimacy. This makes it very common to keep many secrets for yourself, even if they are important and concern the other person involved in the relationship. Love is experienced as a one-sided experience.

6. Accomplished love

The relationships that present this type of love are those that can be happy. They are healthy relationships, which have the three components of Sternberg's theory : intimacy, passion and commitment.

Other kinds of couple

However, depending on the quality of the relationship, the time taken together and the values ​​of the couple, there are other types of partners:

7. The best friends

They say that the couple is a friend with erotic moments. Sometimes intimate moments are shared with that person who is your faithful friend. In this type of couple, maybe the members were friends already at school, they grew up together and shared great moments of friendship . One day, the way they saw each other changed, and then romantic love arose between them. However, it can happen that people meet at later ages and after being best friends end up as a couple.

8The bullies

According to a popular saying, Love is the most beloved. This may be true with this type of couples. They have arguments every two times and they are like the cat and the dog, but there they go, rowing against the current. If you are friends with any of them, you are probably fed up with comforting them. And, even if you do not understand it, either one of the two members has low self-esteem, or their moments of intimacy are really excellent.

9. Those of the hobby in common

Definitely, Sharing a hobby with your partner is one of the best ways to keep the relationship alive . Some couples go camping together, surf or climb. Others are fitness lovers, and others are partiers and lovers of the night. These couples share many moments together and enjoy each other.

10. Those of a lifetime

Some couples met really young and have spent their whole lives together . These couples, without a doubt, are the ideal couple in the eyes of the people, but not all relationships have this luck. Many break down on the road due to the wear and tear produced by the accumulation of crises and quarrels, or the loss of passion or intimacy.

11. Long-distance couples

Sometimes, it may happen that love arises but the person lives somewhere else . Many decide that this is not a way to live and one of the two moves to where the other is. However, for different reasons this is not always possible, and some couples have to spend a long time in the distance. Distance is not good for the relationship, so this type of couple does not usually last long.

12. The couple of interest

Although it is hard for us to accept it, some people are in pairs because of their interest . Whether for economic reasons, for getting papers or for not being alone. As sad as it may seem, they even get married. It is a way of understanding love in which this sensation has an instrumental purpose.

13. The madly in love

There are some couples who escape their love to the four winds, who are hanging all day their photos on social networks and spend 24 hours together. If they go out with friends, they are always on top of each other "smooching nonstop." These couples can not spend a single moment the one without the other because they are madly in love .

14. Those in the open relationship

Many couples are classic, however, there are exceptions. Some are liberal couples, so they have a different way of thinking than traditional couples. While many would think that sleeping with others is a betrayal and an infidelity, the liberal couples think that for the health of the couple, they should be introducing other actors in intimate relationships. Have you heard about polyamorous relationships?


18 Types of Kisses And What They Actually Mean (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 14 types de couple: comment est votre relation?

Les 14 types de couple: comment est votre relation?

Juillet 9, 2020

L'amour est l'une des grandes motivations de l'être humain et, en fait, avoir un partenaire est l'un des grands objectifs de la vie des gens.

Être amoureux est une bonne chose et vous fait vous lever tous les matins comme si vous étiez dans un nuage. Cependant, cette période initiale de tomber amoureux alors vous devez le travailler. Être un couple est une négociation constante où différentes personnalités coexistent dans de nombreuses occasions .

Clés pour avoir une relation saine

Ce choc des personnalités, des intérêts et même des objectifs peut transformer les relations de couple en une véritable épreuve. Peut-être y at-il toujours une grande attraction, cependant, les difficultés qui peuvent survenir et en particulier la mauvaise communication, peuvent rendre la relation toxique. Pour que cela ne se produise pas, nous devons toujours:


  • Amour de liberté et de respect
  • Communiquer efficacement
  • Négocier et proposer des solutions intermédiaires
  • Partager le temps avec le couple
  • Choyer la relation
  • Changer si nécessaire
  • Faire confiance à l'autre
  • Vous pouvez approfondir ces conseils dans notre article: "Les 7 clés pour une relation saine"

L'amour selon la théorie de Sternberg

Il y a eu beaucoup de théoriciens de l'amour, l'un des plus connus est Robert Sternberg. Dans sa théorie triangulaire de l'amour, le psychologue américain affirme qu'il existe trois composantes différentes qui se manifestent dans toute relation: l'intimité, la passion et l'engagement:


  • Intimité : L'intimité fait référence à l'affection, à la relation avec le couple, à ce lien que nous ne ressentons qu'avec la personne que nous aimons.
  • Passion : C’est le sentiment intense d’être intimement avec cette personne et d’exprimer ses désirs romantiques. C'est l'excitation et le désir intense de passer des moments seuls avec l'autre.
  • L'engagement : L'engagement est la décision d'être avec l'autre personne et de maintenir cet amour au fil du temps. C'est ce qui aide à surmonter les moments difficiles.

Types de couple amoureux

En amour, tout n'est pas blanc ou noir, mais il y a plusieurs façons d'aimer. Mais comment classer les couples? Suivant la théorie de Sternberg, é il propose différents types d'amour et donc des types différenciés de couples .


Dans cet article, vous pouvez trouver les différents types de couple. Ils sont les suivants:

1. engouement

Les couples infatués se caractérisent par le fait qu’ils n’ont qu’une caractéristique parmi les trois évoquées dans la section précédente: la passion. En dépit d'être ensemble, les membres du couple ne se connaissent pas vraiment , ce qui entraîne une faible intimité. De même, ils ne se sentent pas engagés non plus. L’engouement peut faire référence au début de la relation.

2. relations vides

L'amour vide est un amour caractérisé par l'engagement, mais il n'y a ni passion ni intimité. . Fondamentalement, il fait référence aux mariages pour plus de commodité.

3. couples romantiques

L’amour romantique est caractérisé par l’intimité et la passion, mais il n’ya pas d’engagement . Ce serait l’amour estival typique ou de courtes relations dans lesquelles rien n’est rationalisé ni où des accords sont établis entre les personnes concernées. Tout se vit spontanément sans chercher à établir une relation clairement solide.

4. Couples sociables

L'amour sociable désigne l'amour que deux personnes ressentent lorsqu'il y a intimité et engagement, mais pas la passion . Par exemple, quand ils ont de nombreuses années de relations et n’ont plus de rencontres intimes, mais sont plutôt régis par des activités courantes et partagées qui peuvent également être réalisées dans le domaine social au-delà du foyer.

5. relations fatigantes

Dans ces couples l'intimité ne se construit jamais . Ils sont caractérisés par la passion et l'engagement, mais pas par l'intimité. Il est donc très courant de garder de nombreux secrets pour vous, même s'ils sont importants et concernent l'autre personne impliquée dans la relation. L'amour est vécu comme une expérience à sens unique.

6. Amour accompli

Les relations qui présentent ce type d'amour sont celles qui peuvent être heureuses. Ce sont des relations saines, qui ont les trois composantes de la théorie de Sternberg : intimité, passion et engagement.

Autres types de couple

Cependant, en fonction de la qualité de la relation, du temps passé ensemble et des valeurs du couple, il existe d'autres types de partenaires:

7. Les meilleurs amis

Ils disent que le couple est un ami avec des moments érotiques. Parfois, des moments intimes sont partagés avec cette personne qui est votre fidèle ami. Dans ce type de couple, peut-être que les membres étaient déjà amis à l'école, ils ont grandi ensemble et partagé de grands moments d'amitié . Un jour, la façon dont ils se voyaient a changé et un amour romantique s'est alors créé entre eux. Cependant, il peut arriver que les gens se rencontrent à un âge plus avancé et, après avoir été leurs meilleurs amis, se retrouvent en couple.

8Les intimidateurs

Selon un dicton populaire, L'amour est le plus aimé. Cela peut être vrai avec ce type de couple. Ils ont des disputes toutes les deux fois et ils sont comme le chat et le chien, mais les voilà qui rament à contre-courant. Si vous êtes ami avec l'un d'entre eux, vous en avez probablement marre de le réconforter. Et, même si vous ne le comprenez pas, l'un des deux membres a une faible estime de soi ou leurs moments d'intimité sont vraiment excellents.

9. Ceux du hobby en commun

Sans doute, Partager un passe-temps avec votre partenaire est l'un des meilleurs moyens de maintenir la relation en vie . Certains couples vont camper ensemble, surfer ou grimper. D'autres sont des amateurs de fitness, d'autres des fêtards et des amoureux de la nuit. Ces couples partagent de nombreux moments ensemble et s'amusent.

10. Ceux de toute une vie

Certains couples se sont rencontrés très jeunes et ont passé toute leur vie ensemble . Ces couples sont sans aucun doute le couple idéal aux yeux des gens, mais toutes les relations n'ont pas cette chance. Beaucoup tombent en panne à cause de l'usure causée par l'accumulation de crises et de querelles, ou par la perte de passion ou d'intimité.

11. Couples de longue distance

Parfois, il peut arriver que l'amour naisse, mais la personne vit ailleurs . Beaucoup décident que ce n'est pas une façon de vivre et l'un des deux se déplace là où se trouve l'autre. Cependant, pour différentes raisons, cela n’est pas toujours possible et certains couples doivent passer beaucoup de temps au loin. La distance n’est pas bonne pour la relation, donc ce type de couple ne dure généralement pas longtemps.

12. Le couple d'intérêt

Même s’il est difficile pour nous de l’accepter, certaines personnes se mettent par deux à cause de leur intérêt . Que ce soit pour des raisons économiques, pour obtenir des papiers ou pour ne pas être seul. Aussi triste que cela puisse paraître, ils se marient même. C'est une manière de comprendre l'amour dans laquelle cette sensation a un but instrumental.

13. L'amour fou

Il y a des couples qui échappent leur amour aux quatre vents, qui accrochent toute la journée leurs photos sur les réseaux sociaux et passent 24 heures ensemble. S'ils sortent avec des amis, ils sont toujours les uns sur les autres et ne se font pas entendre. Ces couples ne peuvent pas passer un seul moment l'un sans l'autre parce qu'ils sont follement amoureux .

14. Ceux dans la relation ouverte

Beaucoup de couples sont classiques, cependant, il y a des exceptions. Certains sont des couples libéraux et ont donc une façon de penser différente de celle des couples traditionnels. Alors que beaucoup pensent que dormir avec les autres est une trahison et une infidélité, les couples libéraux pensent que pour la santé du couple, ils devraient introduire d'autres acteurs dans les relations intimes. Avez-vous entendu parler de relations polyamoureuses?


7 différents types câlins qui en disent long sur votre relation de couple (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes