yes, therapy helps!
The 14 types of language disorders

The 14 types of language disorders

September 22, 2022

Language is one of the most important capacities of human beings, to the point that in ancient times it was considered one of the main factors that identified us as human beings.

Communicating, expressing what we think and feel, and the various uses that can be given to such communication, is something innate in part, but must be trained throughout our lives. But sometimes there may be different problems that cause either the acquisition is not correct or is lost for some reason. So, we can identify different types of language disorders . In this article we are going to see some of the main ones.

  • Related article: "The 28 types of communication and their characteristics"

Language disorders

It is understood by language disorders all that difficulty or absence in the comprehension, expression or repetition of the language in its different aspects that generate problems in the adaptation of the subject to the environment and / or significant discomfort. These problems may arise during the period in which the skill is acquired and enhanced, or as a loss of the skill already acquired.


Although we generally identify language with speech, and in fact this is an important part of the language, we must bear in mind that in the latter also involved paraverbal components such as tone, context appropriateness or fluency and nonverbal like gestures and mimicry.

Based on what has been said, we can see that there are many problems that can arise in any of these areas, there being different types of language disorders.

  • Related article: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

Main types of language disorders

Below we briefly review some of the most common and known language disorders. In this review we include both oral and written language disorders and both comprehension and production .


However, although they affect communication, language disorders are not properly considered those that are not confined to this area, such as selective mutism (which is a problem of anxiety and not language, which is perfectly preserved). Nor are disorders such as autism included in language disorders, although in this case they do have language difficulties (some of them included in the disorders that follow).

1. Language disorder

Formerly known as Specific Language Disorder or TEL, the language disorder is characterized by the presence of problems in the understanding and / or expression of language in subjects with typical intellectual abilities in subjects of the same age, with which said problems would not be consequence of an intellectual disability.

The grammatical structure and the lexicon are affected , being the discourse usually less verbose and more limited than usual.


2. Functional dyslalia or phonological disorder

The phonological disorder, formerly known as dyslalia, is an oral language problem in which articulation difficulties occur , making language somewhat incomprehensible and limiting social participation. It can not emit certain sounds correctly, and it usually makes substitutions, transformations and omissions of these. The phonological disorder can not be due to organic causes, which equates it with the old functional dyslalia.

3. Dysarthria

It is considered dysarthria to that difficulty in the articulation of the language produced by a brain disorder or located in the nerve fibers that regulate the articulation and production of language. It is considered a type of organic dyslalia.

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

4. Dysglossia

The dysglossia is an organic dyslalia produced by morphological alterations that prevent or hinder the normal use of language and correct pronunciation. An example is found in people with cleft lip or facial malformations. As well It is considered a type of organic dislalia .

5. Fluency disorder or dyspnea

The also known as stuttering is a relatively common problem in childhood, although in some cases it becomes chronic. The main problem is in the difficulties in the fluency with which speech occurs, accentuating especially in the presence of the public.

In his speech, the subject suffers different blocks that interrupt the habitual rhythm of speech , be one abrupt at the beginning of the word, several small spasms along a word or phrase or a mixture of both. They tend to generate great anxiety and sometimes avoidance.

6. Social communication disorder

Also called pragmatic communication disorder, it is based on the existence of difficulties when using language in a manner appropriate to the context.There are no problems in comprehension or emission, but to use the correct language at the right time.

It is common for the subject not to understand why in certain contexts to use one language or another is more or less appropriate, that there are difficulties in understanding metaphors and analogies , look for second meanings or find different ways of expressing the same idea, being the language usually literal. Also, not only happens with oral language, but also with the gestural.

This symptomatology is common in subjects with autism and Asperger's .

7. Aphasias and dysphasias

Aphasias are all those alterations in which there is loss or difficulty to produce, understand or repeat the language due to the existence of a brain injury, this ability being previously acquired and deficits occurring only later.

Its infant equivalent is the dysphasia, in which these problems are faced with a skill that has not yet been consolidated and which often can not develop completely due to brain injury . In the latter case it is sometimes difficult to differentiate from other problems, since there is no fixed baseline regarding language ability: the child has not yet learned or has not yet learned to communicate.

Within this group of disorders there are many variants, depending on the area injured and the effect it has on communication and language.

  • You may be interested: "The 6 types of aphasia (causes, symptoms and characteristics)"

8. Dyslexia and alexia

One of the most known language disorders, but in this case written language. Dyslexia is the difficulty for literacy in which the subject has problems to understand what you read or perform the action of reading . The lyrics are mixed and substitutions, omissions and translations are made, the reading slows down and in general there are difficulties to understand what was read.

Dyslexia can be superficial (in which there are problems when reading globally the words), phonological (in which the person has difficulty reading by associating the pagraphia with its equivalent in the form of a phoneme, which only reads from the form of the word) or deep (a mixture of the previous two, which appears together with semantic problems).

The alexia supposes the total incapacity for this ability due to a cerebral injury.

9. Hyperlexia

This problem is characterized by a great ability for quick reading, but usually with poor comprehension and retention of the material read.

10. Dysgraphia and agraphia

Dysgraphia is understood as the difficulty to produce written language, there are problems when coding and generating letters, words or phrases. There are problems in the ability to organize in the writing space, copy difficulties, motor problems at the level of using a pencil and other similar skills, problems to transfer thoughts and messages to written language , spell in writing, use different typographies and spelling among others. It would be the equivalent of dyslexia but at the production level.

As for agraphia, it refers to the inability for these skills derived from a brain injury, in adults.

11. Disortography

A problem in which the main deficit occurs when correctly writing the content of the message we want to produce. Sometimes also called dyslexic dysgraphia , writing errors occur that affect the correct layout of the spellings according to orthographic rules.

12. Glossolalia

Use of an invented language by the subject, being incomprehensible to listeners , in which new terms are generated at the same time that there is amatism.

13. Taquifemia

Speech disorder in which the subject speaks excessively fast, to the point that there is a flight of words and continuous errors derived from the great speed at which it is spoken.

14. Disorders of mimicry

Although usually not considered as language disorders the truth is that at the level of non-verbal language, mime can be a fundamental element of communication . Dysmimia supposes the lack of cohesion between what is expressed and what is thought or felt. Hypomimia is the presence of a number of reduced movements and the amimia of absence of expression through movement. On the contrary, hypermimias are exaggerated expressions of movements.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Belloch, Sandín and Ramos (2008). Manual of Psychopathology. Madrid. McGraw-Hill. (Vol 1 and 2) Revised edition.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 01. CEDE: Madrid.

Overview of possible causes and types of problems in speech development (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 14 types de troubles du langage

Les 14 types de troubles du langage

Février 23, 2024

La langue est l’une des capacités les plus importantes de l’être humain, au point qu’elle était considérée dans l’antiquité comme l’un des principaux facteurs qui nous ont identifiés en tant qu’êtres humains.

Communiquer, exprimer ce que nous pensons et ressentons, ainsi que les différents usages que nous pouvons utiliser, sont quelque chose d'inné, mais doivent être formés tout au long de notre vie. Mais parfois, il peut y avoir différents problèmes qui entraînent une acquisition incorrecte ou une perte pour une raison quelconque. Donc, on peut identifier différents types de troubles du langage . Dans cet article, nous allons voir quelques-uns des principaux.

  • Article connexe: "Les 28 types de communication et leurs caractéristiques"

Troubles du langage

Il est compris par les troubles du langage tout ce qui difficulté ou absence dans la compréhension, l'expression ou la répétition de la langue dans ses différents aspects qui génèrent des problèmes dans l’adaptation du sujet à l’environnement et / ou un inconfort important. Ces problèmes peuvent survenir pendant la période au cours de laquelle la compétence est acquise et améliorée, ou en tant que perte de la compétence déjà acquise.


Bien que nous identifions généralement le langage avec la parole et qu’il s’agisse en réalité d’une partie importante du langage, nous devons garder à l’esprit que dans ce dernier aussi composantes paravérbal impliquées telles que le ton, l'adéquation du contexte ou la fluidité et non verbale comme des gestes et mimiques.

Sur la base de ce qui a été dit, nous pouvons constater que de nombreux problèmes peuvent survenir dans l’un de ces domaines, différents types de troubles du langage.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Principaux types de troubles du langage

Ci-dessous, nous examinons brièvement certains des troubles du langage les plus courants et les plus connus. Dans cette revue, nous incluons troubles du langage oral et écrit et compréhension et production .


Cependant, bien qu'ils affectent la communication, les troubles du langage ne sont pas correctement considérés comme ceux qui ne se limitent pas à ce domaine, tels que le mutisme sélectif (qui est un problème d'anxiété et non de langage, qui est parfaitement préservé). Les troubles tels que l'autisme ne sont pas non plus inclus dans les troubles du langage, bien qu'ils aient dans ce cas des difficultés de langage (certains d'entre eux sont inclus dans les troubles qui suivent).

1. trouble du langage

Anciennement connu sous le nom de trouble spécifique du langage ou TEL, le trouble du langage est caractérisé par la présence de problèmes de compréhension et / ou d'expression du langage chez des sujets ayant des capacités intellectuelles typiques chez des sujets du même âge, avec lesquels ces problèmes ne seraient pas résolus. conséquence d'une déficience intellectuelle.

La structure grammaticale et le lexique sont affectés , étant le discours généralement moins bavard et plus limité que d'habitude.


2. Dyslalie fonctionnelle ou trouble phonologique

Le trouble phonologique, anciennement appelé dyslalie, est un problème de langue oral dans lequel surviennent des difficultés d'articulation , rendant le langage un peu incompréhensible et limitant la participation sociale. Il ne peut pas émettre correctement certains sons et en fait généralement des substitutions, des transformations et des omissions. Le désordre phonologique ne peut pas être dû à des causes organiques, ce qui équivaut à l'ancienne dyslalie fonctionnelle.

3. Dysarthrie

On considère la dysarthrie à cette difficulté dans l'articulation de la langue produite par un trouble cérébral ou située dans les fibres nerveuses qui régulent l'articulation et la production du langage. Il est considéré comme un type de dyslalie organique.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

4. Dysglossie

La dysglossie est une dyslalie organique produite par des altérations morphologiques qui empêchent ou entravent l'utilisation normale de la langue et une prononciation correcte. On trouve un exemple chez les personnes atteintes de malformations de la lèvre ou du visage. Aussi Il est considéré comme un type de dislalia organique .

5. trouble de la fluidité ou dyspnée

Le bégaiement, également connu sous le nom de bégaiement, est un problème relativement courant dans l’enfance, bien que, dans certains cas, il devienne chronique. Le problème principal réside dans les difficultés de la fluidité avec laquelle la parole se produit, accentuant en particulier dans la présence du public.

Dans son discours, le sujet souffre de différents blocs qui interrompent le rythme habituel de la parole , soyez un brusque au début du mot, plusieurs petits spasmes le long d’un mot ou d’une phrase ou un mélange des deux. Ils ont tendance à générer une grande anxiété et parfois à éviter.

6. Trouble de la communication sociale

Également appelé trouble pragmatique de la communication, il est basé sur l'existence de difficultés lors de l'utilisation du langage de manière appropriée au contexte.Il n’ya aucun problème de compréhension ou d’émission, mais il faut utiliser le bon langage au bon moment.

Il est fréquent que le sujet ne comprenne pas pourquoi, dans certains contextes, utiliser une langue ou une autre est plus ou moins approprié, difficultés à comprendre les métaphores et les analogies , cherchez une seconde signification ou trouvez différentes façons d’exprimer la même idée, le langage étant généralement littéral. En outre, non seulement arrive avec le langage oral, mais aussi avec le gestuel.

Cette symptomatologie est fréquent chez les sujets atteints d'autisme et d'Asperger .

7. Aphasies et dysphasies

Les aphasies sont toutes les altérations dans lesquelles il existe une perte ou une difficulté à produire, à comprendre ou à répéter le langage en raison de l'existence d'une lésion cérébrale, cette capacité étant acquise auparavant et les déficits apparaissant seulement plus tard.

Son équivalent chez l’enfant est la dysphasie, dans laquelle ces problèmes sont confrontés à une compétence qui n’a pas encore été consolidée et qui souvent ne peut pas développer complètement en raison d'une lésion cérébrale . Dans ce dernier cas, il est parfois difficile de faire la différence avec d’autres problèmes, car il n’existe pas de base fixe en ce qui concerne les compétences linguistiques: l’enfant n’a pas encore appris ou n’a pas encore appris à communiquer.

Au sein de ce groupe de troubles, il existe de nombreuses variantes, en fonction de la zone lésée et de ses effets sur la communication et la langue.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 6 types d’aphasie (causes, symptômes et caractéristiques)"

8. Dyslexie et alexie

L'un des troubles du langage les plus connus, mais dans ce cas le langage écrit. La dyslexie est la difficulté pour l’alphabétisation dans laquelle le sujet a des problèmes pour comprendre ce que vous lisez ou effectuer l'action de lire . Les paroles sont mélangées et des substitutions, des omissions et des traductions sont faites, la lecture ralentit et il est généralement difficile de comprendre ce qui a été lu.

La dyslexie peut être superficielle (ce qui pose des problèmes lors de la lecture globale des mots), phonologique (la personne a des difficultés à lire en associant la pagraphia à son équivalent sous la forme d'un phonème, qui ne lit que de la forme du mot) ou profond (un mélange des deux précédents, qui apparaît avec des problèmes sémantiques).

La alexia suppose l'incapacité totale de cette capacité à cause d'une lésion cérébrale.

9. Hyperlexie

Ce problème est caractérisé par une grande capacité de lecture rapide, mais généralement avec une compréhension faible et la rétention du matériel lu.

10. Dysgraphie et agraphie

La dysgraphie est comprise comme la difficulté à produire un langage écrit, il y a des problèmes pour coder et générer des lettres, des mots ou des phrases. Il existe des problèmes d'organisation, d'écriture, de motricité au crayon et autres compétences similaires, problèmes de transfert des pensées et des messages en langue écrite , orthographiez par écrit, utilisez différentes typographies et orthographes parmi d’autres. Ce serait l'équivalent de la dyslexie mais au niveau de la production.

L'agraphie, quant à elle, fait référence à l'incapacité de ces compétences découlant d'une lésion cérébrale chez l'adulte.

11. Disortographie

Un problème dans lequel le principal déficit survient lors de la rédaction correcte du contenu du message que nous voulons produire. Parfois aussi appelé dysgraphie dyslexique , des erreurs d’écriture se produisent qui affectent la mise en page correcte de l’orthographe conformément aux règles orthographiques.

12. Glossolalia

Utilisation d'un langage inventé par le sujet, être incompréhensible pour les auditeurs , dans lequel de nouveaux termes sont générés en même temps qu’il ya amatisme.

13. Taquifemia

Trouble de la parole dans lequel le sujet parle excessivement vite, au point qu'il y ait une vol de mots et erreurs continues dérivé de la grande vitesse à laquelle il est parlé.

14. Troubles de la mimique

Bien qu’il ne soit généralement pas considéré comme un trouble du langage, la vérité est qu’au niveau du langage non verbal, le mime peut être un élément fondamental de la communication . La dysmimie suppose le manque de cohésion entre ce qui est exprimé et ce qui est pensé ou ressenti. L'hypomimia est la présence d'un certain nombre de mouvements réduits et l'amimia de l'absence d'expression par le mouvement. Au contraire, les hypermimias sont des expressions exagérées de mouvements.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Belloch, Sandín et Ramos (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. Madrid McGraw-Hill. (Vol 1 et 2) Edition révisée.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathologie Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 01. CEDE: Madrid.

Alzheimer et les troubles du langage (Février 2024).


Articles Connexes