yes, therapy helps!
The 14 types of letters (typographies) and their uses

The 14 types of letters (typographies) and their uses

May 10, 2024

Probably most of us have had to write on some occasion some type of work, evaluable activity, report, letter or document on a computer at some time. And most likely we have also had to choose from a large number of sources the most suitable typeface depending on the situation or even the aesthetic preference goal: Arial, Times New Roman, Calibri, Cambria ...

And it is that throughout history and since the invention of writing and the first letters generated to represent our ideas have arisen a lot of types of letters or fonts , even within the same language. There are so many options that have been made several attempts of classification, of which in this article we will see two concrete examples.


  • Related article: "The 13 types of text and their characteristics"

Types of letters: elements to keep in mind

When making a classification on the types of letters, it is important to bear in mind that there are many factors in which their authors can be fixed: the line, the thinness of the lines, the presence or absence of auctions, the way (more rounded or more square), the direction of its axis, the maintenance or variability in the thickness.

Likewise, we must also bear in mind that writing, like oral language, is also evolving and changing over time, generating new types of graphics and uses for it. In general, in addition, it must be considered that the different types of letters may be more or less adequate in different contexts, although this would make more reference to their use than to the type of writing itself.


Next we will see two of the most usual classifications, although there are a great many ways to catalog them . We will focus on the Latin alphabet.

1. Classification of Thibaudeau

It is considered that the pioneer in trying to make a classification of the types or typographies was with a unified criterion was Francis Thibaudeau, which classified the typefaces into two groups clearly depending on whether or not it presents serifs or auctions . Later, it would include a third group as a tailor for those that could not be considered within the previous two.

1.1. Serifadas

We understand as serifadas all the fonts and fonts that have small ornamental finials, usually at their ends. It is a typeface that usually offers a more elegant appearance than in the absence of serif (or auction), giving a more professional appearance. One of the most used examples of this typeface is the Times New Roman .


Likewise, it is possible to subdivide the serifadas into three groups: ancient Romans (little difference between thick and thin strokes, concave and triangular serifs), modern Romans (discernible differences between thick and thin strokes but more stylized than the previous ones) and Egyptian (with an appearance of machine, with lines of the same thickness and rectangular serifs).

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 23 best famous quotes by Edgar Allan Poe"

1.2. Without serif

This group is characterized for not having serif, being its characters rounded and without any type of ornamentation in its ends. Is about a simple and easy-to-read typeface , with a cleaner and more informal appearance than those with serif. Also called dry stick. One of the best-known examples of this typeface is the one that appears in the Arial font.

1.3. Other

This group mainly includes handwritten and decorative letters, which either do not have an always stable and maintained pattern or Their main function is not so much to express at a written level but rather at an image level .

2. Classification of Vox-ATypI

One of the best known classifications is the one proposed by Maximilien Vox, typographer, historian, journalist and graphic illustrator. This man advocated the elaboration of a classification in different types of letters, creating Vox's typographical classification in France during the year 1954. It was based on the classification made by Thibaudeau .

In fact, this system of classification is one of the most widely used in all areas and accepted as a standard by the International Association of Typography. Over time it has been receiving reviews, the last one being carried out by the aforementioned association: the Vox-ATypI. In this last revision, the types of letters are classified in the following groups.

2.1. Human

They receive the name human, humanistic or Venetian to a typeface similar to that of manuscripts in the fifteenth century, in Renaissance Venice . They have small auctions, with little difference and contrast between strokes (there is no great difference between a broad line and fine line) and with a wide separation between letters.Some sources that use these types of letters are the Centaur and the Jenson.

2.2. Garages

The garaldas, also called aldinas, are a type of typography characterized by a more marked contrast between thin and thick strokes, although their proportions without more fine and stylized. They have his name Claude Garamond and Aldo Manucio, typographers of the XVI century. Another name given to this type of letters is that of Antiguas. Examples are the Garaldus and Palatino sources .

2.3. Real

Originally born in the Royal Printing House, the fonts known as real or transitional are characterized by being practically totally vertical (the former the part axis of the letters is more obliquus) and have a difference between thick and thin strokes more marked than in the previous ones. It combines characteristics of both classical and modern typefaces , although it is identified with the first group. The well-known Times New Roman is part of this group, as well as many others such as the Baskerville or the Century Schoolbook.

2.4. Didonas

The didonas owes its name to the French typographer Didot, although later his style was perfected by Bodoni. They appeared around the eighteenth century to differentiate from the typographies of the old regimes, at the time of the French Revolution. In this typeface the difference between strokes is very marked and there is little separation between each letter. Century and Madison are examples of this type of letters, also called Modern Romans.

2.5. Mechanical

Also called Egyptian, are typical of the Industrial Revolution and slightly emulate the technological aspect of the time. They have a lack of difference between thin and thick lines (all the lines are practically as thick) and rectangular serifs the same size as the rest of the letter, something that projects a certain image of strength . Rockwell, Memphis or Clarendon are examples.

2.6. Linear

The group of the linear ones includes in a great set the types of letters without serifs or auctions. They are cleaner and more informal, and were introduced for commercial and advertising use. Within them we can find four large groups:

  • Grotesque : Similar to the mechanics but without finials, they have a somewhat square appearance and with some contrast between strokes. An example would be the Franklin Gothic.

  • Neogrotesque : Like the previous ones but with less contrast and more stylization. One of the best known is Helvetica.

  • Geometric : These letters attract attention due to their monolineal or clearly geometric appearance. There is little difference between the different letters of the alphabet, having very similar forms. The Bauhaus letter is one of them, as well as the Futura.

  • Humanists : Partial recovery of Renaissance styles and with some similarity to the classic human and garaldas (although they are different from these, in addition to not having auctions). An example: the Gill Sans font.

2.7. Incise

This style tends to imitate the letters used in the engravings in different materials, being especially important capital letters (not existing in some types, in fact, the lower case). They seem carved, with a great similar amplitude in all their letters or with small and compact sarifas. An example of this is the letter Trajan or Perpetua.

2.8. Scripts

Imitation of the letter that arises when using writing instruments such as pen or brush when writing. They are usually in italics and there may even be no separation between letters being these together. One source of this type is the Hyperion.

2.9. Manuals

Similar to the previous ones, but made with more separation and in an apparently more calligraphic way. More advertising and used to highlight and make more visual the written . The type of font Klang or Cartoon are some of the types that are included in this group.

2.10. Fractured

Group that gathers the letters of the Gothic type, they are very ornamental and usually have pointed shapes. Fraktur is an example. In the original Vox classification are included in the previous, but the International Typography Association decided to separate them.

2.11. Foreign

This last group would include all types of spelling not corresponding with the Latin alphabet . Thus alphabets such as Greek, Arabic, Chinese or Hebrew would enter this classification.


Typography tutorial: Anatomy: Parts and shapes of type | lynda.com (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 14 types de lettres (typographies) et leurs utilisations

Les 14 types de lettres (typographies) et leurs utilisations

Février 28, 2021

La plupart d'entre nous ont probablement dû écrire à une occasion quelconque un travail, une activité évaluable, un rapport, une lettre ou un document sur un ordinateur à un moment donné. Et très probablement, nous avons également dû choisir parmi un grand nombre de sources la police de caractères la mieux adaptée en fonction de la situation ou même de l'objectif de préférence esthétique: Arial, Times New Roman, Calibri, Cambria ...

Et c'est que tout au long de l'histoire et depuis l'invention de l'écriture et les premières lettres générées pour représenter nos idées beaucoup de types de lettres ou de polices , même dans la même langue. Il y a tellement d'options qui ont été faites à plusieurs reprises, dont nous allons voir dans cet article deux exemples concrets.


  • Article connexe: "Les 13 types de texte et leurs caractéristiques"

Types de lettres: éléments à garder à l'esprit

Lors de la classification des types de lettres, il est important de garder à l’esprit que de nombreux facteurs permettent de déterminer leurs auteurs: la ligne, la finesse des lignes, la présence ou non d'enchères, le chemin (plus arrondi ou plus carré), la direction de son axe, le maintien ou la variabilité dans l'épaisseur.

De même, nous devons également garder à l'esprit que l'écriture, tout comme le langage oral, évolue et change avec le temps, générant de nouveaux types de graphiques et de nouveaux usages. De manière générale, en outre, il faut considérer que les différents types de lettres peuvent être plus ou moins adéquats dans différents contextes, même si cela ferait davantage référence à leur utilisation qu'au type d'écriture lui-même.


Ensuite, nous verrons deux des classifications les plus usuelles, bien que il y a beaucoup de façons de les cataloguer . Nous allons nous concentrer sur l'alphabet latin.

1. Classification de Thibaudeau

On considère que le pionnier en essayant de classer les types ou les typographies était avec un critère unifié était Francis Thibaudeau, qui classait clairement les polices de caractères en deux groupes. selon qu'il présente ou non des empattements ou des enchères . Plus tard, il inclurait un troisième groupe en tant que tailleur pour ceux qui ne pouvaient pas être considérés dans les deux précédents.

1.1. Serifadas

Nous entendons par serifadas toutes les polices et les polices qui ont de petits fleurons ornementaux, généralement à leurs extrémités. C'est une police de caractères qui offre généralement une apparence plus élégante qu'en l'absence de serif (ou aux enchères), donnant une apparence plus professionnelle. Le Times New Roman est l’un des exemples les plus utilisés de cette fonte. .


De même, il est possible de subdiviser les serifadas en trois groupes: les Romains anciens (peu de différences entre les traits épais et minces, les empattements concaves et triangulaires), les Romains modernes (différences perceptibles entre les traits épais et fins mais plus stylisés que les précédents) et les Egyptiens de machine, avec des lignes de même épaisseur et des empattements rectangulaires).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 23 meilleures citations célèbres d'Edgar Allan Poe"

1.2. Sans serif

Ce groupe est caractérisé pour ne pas avoir de serif, étant ses caractères arrondis et sans aucun type d'ornementation à ses extrémités. Il s'agit de une police de caractères simple et facile à lire , avec une apparence plus propre et plus informelle que ceux avec serif. Aussi appelé bâton sec. L'un des exemples les plus connus de cette police est celui qui apparaît dans la police Arial.

1.3. Autre

Ce groupe comprend principalement les lettres manuscrites et décoratives, qui n’ont pas toujours de motif stable et maintenu ou Leur fonction principale n’est pas tant d’exprimer au niveau écrit mais au niveau image .

2. Classification de Vox-ATypI

L'une des classifications les plus connues est celle proposée par Maximilien Vox, typographe, historien, journaliste et illustrateur graphique. Cet homme a préconisé l'élaboration d'une classification en différents types de lettres, créant ainsi la classification typographique de Vox en France au cours de l'année 1954. Il était basé sur la classification faite par Thibaudeau .

En fait, ce système de classification est l’un des plus utilisés dans tous les domaines et est accepté comme norme par l’Association internationale de typographie. Au fil du temps, il a fait l’objet d’examens, dont le dernier a été réalisé par l’association susmentionnée: le Vox-ATypI. Dans cette dernière révision, les types de lettres sont classés dans les groupes suivants.

2.1. Humain

Ils reçoivent le nom humain, humaniste ou vénitien à une police de caractères semblable à celui des manuscrits du XVe siècle, à Venise de la Renaissance . Ils ont de petites enchères, avec peu de différence et de contraste entre les traits (il n'y a pas de grande différence entre une ligne large et une ligne fine) et avec une grande séparation entre les lettres.Certaines sources utilisant ces types de lettres sont le Centaure et le Jenson.

2.2. Garages

Les garaldas, également appelées aldinas, sont un type de typographie caractérisé par un contraste plus marqué entre les traits fins et épais, bien que leurs proportions ne soient pas plus fines et stylisées. Ils s'appellent Claude Garamond et Aldo Manucio, typographes du XVIe siècle. Un autre nom donné à ce type de lettres est celui d’Antiguas. Les exemples sont les sources Garaldus et Palatino .

2.3. Réel

Nées à l’origine dans l’imprimerie royale, les polices dites réelles ou de transition se caractérisent par une quasi-verticalité (l’ancien axe des lettres est plus oblique) et une différence entre les traits épais et fins plus marqué que dans les précédents. Il combine les caractéristiques des polices classiques et modernes , bien qu’il soit identifié au premier groupe. Le célèbre Times New Roman fait partie de ce groupe, ainsi que de nombreux autres tels que le Baskerville ou le Century Schoolbook.

2.4. Didonas

La didonas doit son nom au typographe français Didot, bien que son style ait été perfectionné par la suite par Bodoni. Ils apparurent vers le XVIIIe siècle pour se différencier des typographies des anciens régimes, à l’époque de la Révolution française. Dans cette fonte la différence entre les coups est très marquée et il y a peu de séparation entre chaque lettre. Century et Madison sont des exemples de ce type de lettres, également appelées romains modernes.

2.5. Mécanique

Également appelés égyptiens, ils sont typiques de la révolution industrielle et imitent légèrement l’aspect technologique de l’époque. Ils ont un manque de différence entre les lignes fines et épaisses (toutes les lignes sont pratiquement aussi épaisses) et les empattements rectangulaires de la même taille que le reste de la lettre, quelque chose qui projette une certaine image de force . Rockwell, Memphis ou Clarendon en sont des exemples.

2.6 Linéaire

Le groupe des linéaires inclut dans un grand ensemble les types de lettres sans empattements ni enchères. Ils sont plus propres et plus informels et ont été introduits pour un usage commercial et publicitaire. En eux, nous pouvons trouver quatre grands groupes:

  • Grotesque : Semblables à la mécanique mais sans embouts, ils ont une apparence un peu carrée et présentent un certain contraste entre les traits. Un exemple serait le Franklin Gothic.

  • Neogrotesque : Comme les précédents mais avec moins de contraste et plus de stylisation. Helvetica est l’un des plus connus.

  • Géométrique : Ces lettres attirent l’attention en raison de leur aspect monoliné ou clairement géométrique. Il y a peu de différence entre les différentes lettres de l'alphabet, ayant des formes très similaires. La lettre Bauhaus en fait partie, de même que la Futura.

  • Humanistes : Récupération partielle des styles de la Renaissance et avec quelques similitudes avec les classiques homme et garaldas (bien qu’elles soient différentes de celles-ci, en plus de ne pas avoir de vente aux enchères). Un exemple: la police Gill Sans.

2.7 Inciser

Ce style a tendance à imiter les lettres utilisées dans les gravures dans différents matériaux, en particulier des lettres majuscules (n'existant pas dans certains types, en fait, les minuscules). Ils semblent sculptés, avec une grande amplitude similaire dans toutes leurs lettres ou avec des sarifas petits et compacts. La lettre Trajan ou Perpetua en est un exemple.

2.8. Les scripts

Imitation de la lettre lors de l'utilisation d'instruments d'écriture tels qu'un stylo ou un pinceau pour écrire. Ils sont généralement en italique et il peut même ne pas y avoir de séparation entre les lettres étant ces dernières. Une source de ce type est l’Hyperion.

2.9 Les manuels

Semblable aux précédents, mais avec plus de séparation et apparemment plus calligraphique. Plus de publicité et utilisé pour mettre en valeur et rendre plus visuel l'écrit . Le type de police Klang ou Cartoon fait partie des types inclus dans ce groupe.

2.10. Fracturé

Groupe qui regroupe les lettres de type gothique, elles sont très ornementales et ont généralement des formes pointues. Fraktur est un exemple. Dans la classification initiale de Vox sont inclus dans la précédente, mais l'Association internationale de typographie a décidé de les séparer.

2.11. Étrangère

Ce dernier groupe comprendrait tous les types d’orthographe ne correspondant pas à l'alphabet latin . Ainsi, des alphabets tels que le grec, l'arabe, le chinois ou l'hébreu entreraient dans cette classification.


10 ASTUCES INSTAGRAM QUE VOUS DEVEZ CONNAÎTRE ! ???? (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes