yes, therapy helps!
The 15 best poems by Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer (with explanation)

The 15 best poems by Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer (with explanation)

March 1, 2021

The poetry of Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer has been recognized as one of the most representative in Hispanic literature. It is characterized by brief rhymes of intimate tone, and the content by contradictions and themes that go from the dream, the reason and the woman, to the popular and the aristocracy.

In this article we will see several of the best poems by Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer , one of the most important Spanish poets.

  • Related article: "23 Pablo Neruda poems that will fascinate you"

15 poems by Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer

Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer was born in Seville in 1836 and died in the same city, at 34 years old, in 1870 due to tuberculosis. His posthumous work, located in romanticism, has become one of the most representative of Spanish literature. Likewise, the influence of this poet went beyond the limits of literature to be placed also in the painting, since he was an excellent draftsman, that was recovered by the later artistic critic.


His most recognized work is Rhymes and Legends which is a compilation of his poems and stories. Currently, the latter is considered one of the classic and compelling works in Hispanic literature. We will see below some of the most popular rhymes of Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer.

1. Rima I

I know a giant and strange hymn that announces in the night of the soul an aurora, and these pages are of this hymn cadences that the air dilates in the shadows. I would like to write it, of the man taming the rebellious, mean language, with words that were both sighs and laughter, colors and notes. But in vain it is to fight; that there is no figure capable of enclosing him, and just oh beautiful! if, having my hands in yours, I could, in my ear, sing it to you alone.


Several verses that reflect the limitations of language to express feelings.

2. Rima II

I have peered into the deep chasms of earth and sky, and I have seen the end either with my eyes or with my thoughts. But oh! from a heart I reached the abyss and I bowed for a moment, and my soul and my eyes were disturbed: So deep it was and so black!

A comparison between the world of knowledge and that of emotions .

3. Rima III

In the key of the badly sure arch whose stones the time reddened, work of rough chisel rested the Gothic blazon. Plume of its granite helmet, the ivy that hung around gave shade to the shield in which a hand had a heart. To contemplate him in the deserted square we both stopped. And, that, he told me, is the perfect emblem of my constant love. Oh, it's true what he told me then: true that the heart will carry it in the hand ... anywhere ... but not in the chest.


Verses about the inability to connect with reality.

4. Rima VII

From the living room in the dark corner, from its owner perhaps forgotten, silent and covered with dust, the harp was visible. How much note he slept on his strings, as the bird sleeps on the branches, waiting for the hand of snow that knows how to pluck them! Oh, I thought; How many times the genie thus sleeps in the depths of the soul, and a voice like Lazarus waits for him to say, "Get up and walk!"

A single object can inspire rhymes as inspired as these.

5. Rima IX

Kiss the aura softly moans the slight waves that play ripples; the sun kisses the cloud in the west and purple and gold nuances it; the flame around the burning trunk for kissing another flame slips; and even the willow, bowing to its weight, to the river that kisses it, returns a kiss.

Example of a scene description attributing human characters to different inanimate elements .

6. Rhyme X

The invisible atoms of the air around it throb and become inflamed; the sky dissolves in golden rays; the earth trembles in joy; I hear floating in waves of harmony rumor of kisses and beat of wings; my eyelids close ... What happens? - It's love that happens!

Several sensations related to the way in which Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer experiences love .

7. Rima XIV

Sometimes I meet her around the world and she passes by me and she smiles and I say, How can she laugh? Then another mask of pain appears on my lip, and then I think: "She laughs, as I laugh.

This is one of the poems of Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer that are based on the simplicity of a single anecdote.

8. Rima XVI

When they told me I felt the coldness of a steel blade in my guts, I leaned against the wall, and for a moment my conscience lost where I was from. The night fell in my spirit in anger and in pity the soul was flooded and then I understood why it cries! And then I understood why he is killed! The cloud of pain passed ... with regret I managed to babble brief words ... Who gave me the news? ... A faithful friend ... He did me a great favor ...I thanked.

On the arrival of a fateful news.

9. Rima XXI

What is poetry ?, you say as you stick in my pupil your blue pupil. What is poetry! And you ask me? You are poetry.

One of Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer's most famous and memorable poems.

10. Rima XXIII

For a look, a world, a smile, a sky, a kiss ... I do not know what I gave you for a kiss.

Passion is one of the recurring themes of this artist.

11. Rima XXX

There was a tear in his eyes and ... my lip a phrase of forgiveness; proud spoke and wiped a weeping, and the phrase on my lip expired. I go on one path, she on the other; but when thinking of our mutual love, I still say: Why did I keep silent that day? And she will say: Why did not I cry? It is a matter of words, and yet, neither you nor I, after the past, will agree on who the fault is. It's a pity that love a dictionary has no where to find when pride is simply pride and when it is dignity!

About a love breakup.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 problems of love breakups, and how to deal with them"

12. Rhyme XXXVIII

Sighs are air and go to the air. Tears are water and go to the sea. Tell me, woman, when love is forgotten, do you know where it goes?

About the veracity of past loves.

13. Rima L

What the savage who with a clumsy hand makes a trunk at his whim a god and then before his work kneels, that's what you and I did. We gave real forms to a ghost, from the ridiculous invention mind, and made the idol already, we sacrificed on our altar our love.

Another of the poems dedicated to heartbreak that this poet wrote throughout his life.

14. Rima LII

Giant waves that break you roaring on the deserted and remote beaches, wrapped between the sheet of foams, take me with you! Hurricane flurries that snatch from the high forest the withered leaves, dragged in the blind whirlwind, take me with you! Clouds of tempest that breaks the ray and in fire ornáis the detached borders, snatched in the dark fog, take me with you! Take me for mercy to where the vertigo with the reason I start the memory. For mercy! I'm afraid to stay with my pain alone!

About the vertigo that produces loneliness in certain circumstances.

15. Rima XVI

If when you wave the blue bells of your balcony, you think that sighing passes the murmuring wind, you know that hidden among the green leaves I sigh.

If, when confused at your back, vague rumors echo, you think that by your name you have called you a distant voice, you know that I am calling you from the shadows that surround you.

If your heart grows fearful in the high night, when you feel a searing breath on your lips, know that although invisible next to you I breathe.

About memories that may come to haunt us.


Gustavo Adolfo Bequer's poem (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 15 meilleurs poèmes de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer (avec explication)

Les 15 meilleurs poèmes de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer (avec explication)

Juin 23, 2022

La poésie de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer a été reconnue comme l'une des plus représentatives de la littérature hispanique. Il se caractérise par de brèves rimes de ton intime, et par des contradictions et des thèmes allant du rêve à la raison et à la femme, en passant par le populaire et l’aristocratie.

Dans cet article nous verrons plusieurs des meilleurs poèmes de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer , l'un des plus importants poètes espagnols.

  • Article connexe: "23 poèmes de Pablo Neruda qui vous fascineront"

15 poèmes de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer

Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer est né à Séville en 1836 et mourut dans la même ville, à l'âge de 34 ans, en 1870, à cause de la tuberculose. Son œuvre posthume, située dans le romantisme, est devenue l'une des plus représentatives de la littérature espagnole. De même l'influence de ce poète a dépassé les limites de la littérature à placer également dans la peinture, puisqu'il était un excellent dessinateur, qui a été récupéré par le critique artistique postérieur.


Son travail le plus reconnu est Comptines et Légendes qui est une compilation de ses poèmes et histoires. Actuellement, ce dernier est considéré comme l’un des ouvrages classiques et convaincants de la littérature hispanique. Nous verrons ci-dessous certaines des rimes les plus populaires de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer.

1. Rima I

Je connais un cantique gigantesque et étrange qui annonce une aurore dans la nuit de l'âme. Ces pages sont de ce cantique que l'air se dilate dans l'ombre. J'aimerais l'écrire, de l'homme apprivoisant le langage rebelle et méchant, avec des mots qui étaient à la fois des soupirs et des rires, des couleurs et des notes. Mais en vain c'est se battre; qu'il n'y a pas de personnage capable de le renfermer, et tout simplement magnifique! si, ayant les mains dans les tiennes, je pourrais, à mon oreille, te le chanter seul.


Plusieurs versets qui reflètent les limites du langage pour exprimer des sentiments.

2. Rima II

J'ai scruté les profonds abîmes de la terre et du ciel et j'ai vu la fin soit avec mes yeux, soit avec mes pensées. Mais oh! d'un cœur, j'ai atteint l'abîme et je me suis incliné un instant, et mon âme et mes yeux ont été dérangés: si profond et si noir!

Une comparaison entre le monde de la connaissance et celui des émotions .

3. Rima III

Dans la clef de l'arche mal assurée dont les pierres du temps rougissaient, un travail de burin rugueux reposait le blason gothique. Plume de son casque de granit, le lierre qui pendait ombrageait le bouclier dans lequel une main avait un cœur. Pour le contempler sur la place déserte, nous nous sommes arrêtés tous les deux. Et cela, il m'a dit, est le parfait emblème de mon amour constant. Oh, c'est vrai ce qu'il m'a dit alors: vrai que le cœur le portera dans la main… n'importe où… mais pas dans la poitrine.


Versets sur l'incapacité de se connecter avec la réalité.

4. Rima VII

Du salon dans le coin sombre, de son propriétaire peut-être oublié, silencieux et recouvert de poussière, la harpe était visible. Quelle note il a dormi sur ses ficelles, alors que l'oiseau dort sur les branches, attendant la main de neige qui sache les cueillir! Oh, j'ai pensé; Combien de fois le génie dort donc dans les profondeurs de l'âme et une voix comme celle de Lazare l'attend pour lui dire: "Lève-toi et marche!"

Un seul objet peut inspirer des comptines aussi inspirées que celles-ci.

5. Rima IX

Kiss the aura gémit doucement les légères vagues qui jouent des ondulations; le soleil embrasse le nuage à l'ouest et le violet et l'or le nuancent; la flamme autour du tronc brûlant pour embrasser une autre flamme glisse; et même le saule, accoudé à la rivière qui l'embrasse, rend un baiser.

Exemple de description de scène attribuer des caractères humains à différents éléments inanimés .

6. Rime X

Les atomes invisibles de l'air qui l'entoure palpitent et s'enflamment; le ciel se dissout en rayons dorés; la terre tremble de joie; J'entends flottant dans des vagues d'harmonie une rumeur de baisers et de battements d'ailes; mes paupières se ferment ... Qu'est-ce qui se passe? - C'est l'amour qui arrive!

Plusieurs sensations liées à la manière dont Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer vit l'amour .

7. Rima XIV

Parfois, je la rencontre dans le monde entier et elle passe à côté de moi. Elle sourit et je lui demande comment elle peut rire. Puis un autre masque de douleur apparaît sur ma lèvre, puis je pense: "Elle rit, comme je ris.

C’est l’un des poèmes de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer qui s’appuie sur la simplicité d’une seule anecdote.

8. Rima XVI

Quand ils m'ont dit que je sentais la froideur d'une lame d'acier dans mes tripes, je me suis appuyé contre le mur et, un instant, ma conscience a perdu d'où je venais. La nuit est tombée dans mon esprit de colère et de pitié, l’âme était inondée et j’ai alors compris pourquoi elle pleurait! Et puis j'ai compris pourquoi il est tué! Le nuage de douleur a passé ... avec regret, j'ai réussi à babiller de brèves paroles ... Qui m'a annoncé la nouvelle? ... Un ami fidèle ... Il m'a rendu un grand serviceJe l'ai remercié.

À l'arrivée d'une nouvelle fatidique.

9. Rima XXI

Qu'est-ce que la poésie?, Dites-vous en collant à mon élève votre élève bleu. Qu'est-ce que la poésie! Et vous me demandez? La poésie ... c'est toi.

Un des poèmes les plus célèbres et les plus mémorables de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer.

10. Rima XXIII

Pour un regard, un monde, un sourire, un ciel, un baiser ... Je ne sais pas ce que je t'ai donné pour un baiser.

La passion est l'un des thèmes récurrents de cet artiste.

11. Rima XXX

Il y avait une larme dans ses yeux et ... ma lèvre une phrase de pardon; fier parla et essuya ses larmes, et la phrase sur ma lèvre expira. Je vais sur un chemin, elle sur l'autre; mais quand je pense à notre amour mutuel, je dis encore: pourquoi ai-je gardé le silence ce jour-là? Et elle dira: Pourquoi n'ai-je pas pleuré? C'est une question de mots et pourtant, après le passé, ni vous ni moi ne conviendrons de la faute, il est dommage que l'amour d'un dictionnaire n'ait pas où trouver quand l'orgueil est simplement de l'orgueil et quand c'est de la dignité!

A propos d'une rupture amoureuse.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 problèmes de rupture amoureuse et comment les résoudre"

12. Rime XXXVIII

Les soupirs sont de l'air et vont dans l'air. Les larmes sont de l'eau et vont à la mer. Dis-moi, femme, quand l'amour est oublié, sais-tu où il va?

De la véracité des amours du passé.

13. Rima L

Ce que le sauvage qui avec une main maladroite fait une trompe à son caprice comme un dieu et ensuite avant que son travail ne s’agenouille, c’est ce que vous et moi avons fait. Nous avons donné de vraies formes à un fantôme, à partir de l'esprit d'invention ridicule, et avons déjà créé l'idole, nous avons sacrifié notre amour sur notre autel.

Un autre des poèmes consacrés aux chagrins d'amour que ce poète a écrits tout au long de sa vie.

14. Rima LII

Des vagues géantes qui vous brisent en rugissant sur les plages désertes et isolées, enveloppées entre les feuilles de mousse, m'emportent avec vous! Des flocons d'ouragan qui arrachent de la haute forêt les feuilles fanées, entraînés dans le tourbillon aveugle, m'emportent avec vous! Des nuages ​​de tempête qui brisent le rayon et au feu ornent les frontières détachées, saisis dans le brouillard sombre, emmène-moi avec toi! Prends-moi par pitié pour le vertige et la raison pour laquelle je commence la mémoire. Pour la miséricorde! J'ai peur de rester seule avec ma douleur!

Sur le vertige qui produit la solitude dans certaines circonstances.

15. Rima XVI

Si, quand vous agitez les cloches bleues de votre balcon, vous pensez que le fait de soupirer passe devant le murmure du vent, vous savez que caché parmi les feuilles vertes, je soupire.

Si, confus dans votre dos, de vagues rumeurs font écho, vous pensez que par votre nom, vous vous appelez d'une voix lointaine, vous savez que je vous appelle de l'ombre qui vous entoure.

Si votre cœur a peur en pleine nuit, lorsque vous sentez un souffle brûlant sur vos lèvres, sachez que même si je suis invisible à côté de vous, je respire.

De souvenirs qui peuvent venir nous hanter.


Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer (Rimas completas) (I - XCVIII) (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes