yes, therapy helps!
The 15 most common nervous system diseases

The 15 most common nervous system diseases

July 14, 2024

When we talk about the nervous system, we usually think about the brain , and that is indeed one of the most important elements that constitute it.

However, the brain alone would be unable to interact and control the different organs and allow us to move and perform behaviors that facilitate our adaptation, or even survival, if there was not an entire system dedicated to it. We are talking about the whole nervous system.

Its correct functioning is vital for the human being. However, there are different disorders and diseases that can jeopardize its proper functioning and limit our capabilities to a great extent, and even cause death. Therefore, in this article we are going to talk about different types of diseases of the nervous system .


  • Related article: "The 12 most important brain diseases"

Diseases of the nervous system

There are a lot of disorders and diseases that affect the nervous system.

Although those diseases that affect the brain and the cerebellum can also be considered as such, in this article we will try to focus on those that cause an effect on the nervous system as a whole, both at the central and peripheral nervous system level .

1. Epilepsy

Epilepsy is a disorder caused by hyperactivation of certain neuronal groups which for some reason are hypersensitized , and before a minimum activation they react abnormally producing diverse symptoms like the typical convulsions (although these only happen in the case of the crises of great evil), loss of conscience, incoordination and lack of control of the muscles and viscera, slowness and weakness.


  • Related article: "Epilepsy: definition, causes, diagnosis and treatment"

2. Tumors

There are a lot of tumors that can affect the nervous system, whether they originate in it or if it is affected by the metastasis of a cancer in another part of the body. Within these tumors we can find astrocytomas, glioblastomas, gliomas, meningiomas or medulloblastomas, among others.

The damages are caused both by cell proliferation and by breaking synaptic connections or the compression of neurons against other structures.

3. Enclosure syndrome

This strange syndrome has its origin in lesions of the brainstem or in the nervous connections. The subject is conscious but can not communicate or move due to the lack of nervous connection between the brain and other parts of the body.


4. Multiple sclerosis

Desmilinizing disorders are a group of disorders in which axons of neurons progressively lose the substance called myelin, which is very important at the time of transfer bioelectrical impulses through the nervous system .

This causes the body to lose little by little the ability to send messages efficiently to the body, producing symptoms such as muscle tension, weakness, pain and perceptual alterations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Multiple sclerosis: types, symptoms and possible causes"

5. Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

In this disease there is a progressive deterioration of the motor cells of the nervous system, dying these little by little. Thus, with the passage of time the muscles stop receiving nerve impulses and end up atrophying. This prevents voluntary movement .

Also, as the disorder progresses it can eventually affect the heart and respiratory muscles and cause death.

6. Diabetic neuropathies and other metabolic disorders

The presence of metabolic disorders such as diabetes mellitus can cause severe damage to nerves and neurons throughout the body. The nerve fibers are damaged, in addition to blood vessels can not correctly direct the flow due to the incorrect metabolization of glucose.

In the case of diabetes , these problems are especially visible in the extremities, especially in the lower ones. It can also affect organs such as the eyes or even the heart.

7. Infections

Infectious diseases can greatly affect the set of neurons and structures that make up the nervous system. HIV and untreated syphilis can alter and damage neurons . Also the herpes simplex virus, cytomegalovirus and rabies. Encephalitis, meningitis, immunodeficiency that facilitates the action of other viruses and necrosis and neuronal death are frequent.

8. Dementias

This type of nervous system diseases, especially localized in the brain, are characterized by a progressive degradation and loss of neurons and their normal functioning that causes the loss of different cognitive and motor skills.

Alzheimer's, Parkinson's or Huntington's disease they are diseases that entail or can entail (not all people with Parkinson's develop dementia as such, for example) the progressive deterioration of nerve fibers.

  • Related article: "Types of dementia: forms of cognition loss"

9. Mononeuropathies

Injury to a peripheral nerve by various mechanisms, such as continued compression, the presence of infections or hemorrhages or sectioning.

10. Polyneuropathies

Inflammatory process of several nerves or nervous tracts that generate diversity of symptoms such as tingling or loss of control and sensitivity, muscle atrophy, weakness, diarrhea, erection disorder or cardiorespiratory disorders, among others.

11. Injuries and sectioning

While it is not about diseases per se, the presence of blows and injuries It can cause the nerves and neurons present in different parts of the body to be damaged and unable to perform their functions in a habitual manner.

You can lose the perception or control of muscle groups or even relevant organs. Depending on the type of injury can even cause a cardiac arrest and death.

12. Guillain-Barré syndrome and other autoimmune diseases

Some autoimmune diseases, such as Guillain-Barré syndrome, can cause that our immune system attack to the nerves of the nervous system, which damages them and makes it impossible or impossible to transmit nerve signals.

13. Autonomic dysreflexia

Disease caused by spinal cord injury and a hyperactivation of the autonomic nervous system, in addition to a spectacular and dangerous increase in blood pressure due to the difficulty of regulating blood pressure in the non-innervated areas, below the spinal cord injury.

14. Monoplegia, hemiplegia and tetraplegia

The sectioning or damage of nerve fibers of the nervous system can cause paralysis of specific body parts . This paralysis can occur at a specific point of the body (monoplegia), on one side of the body (hemiplegia) or even on the set of extremities (tetraplegia), making movement and even tactile perception of these areas impossible.

15. Neuralgia

Neuralgia is a group of diseases and disorders of the nervous system that they are characterized by the presence of pain derived from a malfunction , pinching or alteration of nerve pathways linked to the perception of pain.

Bibliographic references:

  • Adams, R.D. (1997). Principles of Neurology. 6th edition. McGraw-Hill.
  • Bannister, C, Tew, B. (1991). Current Concepts in Spina Bificla & Hydrocephalus. London: Mac Keith Press.

Neurologic disorders (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 15 maladies du système nerveux les plus courantes

Les 15 maladies du système nerveux les plus courantes

Avril 14, 2021

Lorsque nous parlons du système nerveux, nous pensons généralement au cerveau , et c’est effectivement l’un des éléments les plus importants qui le constituent.

Cependant, le cerveau seul serait incapable d'interagir et de contrôler les différents organes, ce qui nous permettrait de nous déplacer et d'adopter des comportements facilitant notre adaptation, voire notre survie, s'il n'y avait pas un système complet dédié à celui-ci. Nous parlons de tout le système nerveux.

Son bon fonctionnement est vital pour l'être humain. Cependant, différents troubles et maladies peuvent compromettre son bon fonctionnement et limiter nos capacités dans une large mesure, voire entraîner la mort. Par conséquent, dans cet article, nous allons parler de différents types de maladies du système nerveux .


  • Article connexe: "Les 12 maladies du cerveau les plus importantes"

Maladies du système nerveux

De nombreux troubles et maladies affectent le système nerveux.

Bien que les maladies qui affectent le cerveau et le cervelet puissent également être considérées comme telles, nous tenterons dans cet article de nous concentrer sur celles qui provoquent un effet sur le système nerveux dans son ensemble, à la fois au niveau du système nerveux central et périphérique .

1. l'épilepsie

L'épilepsie est un trouble provoqué par l'hyperactivation de certains groupes neuronaux qui pour une raison quelconque sont hypersensibilisés et avant une activation minimale, ils réagissent de manière anormale en produisant divers symptômes tels que les convulsions typiques (bien que celles-ci ne se produisent que dans le cas des crises de grand mal), perte de conscience, incoordination et manque de contrôle des muscles et des viscères, lenteur et faiblesse.


  • Article connexe: "Épilepsie: définition, causes, diagnostic et traitement"

2. Tumeurs

Un grand nombre de tumeurs peuvent affecter le système nerveux, qu'elles soient d'origine ou affectées par les métastases d'un cancer dans une autre partie du corps. Dans ces tumeurs on peut trouver astrocytomes, glioblastomes, gliomes, méningiomes ou médulloblastomes, entre autres.

Les dégâts sont causés à la fois par prolifération cellulaire et par rupture des connexions synaptiques ou la compression de neurones contre d'autres structures.

3. Syndrome de clôture

Ce syndrome étrange trouve son origine dans les lésions du tronc cérébral ou dans les connexions nerveuses. Le sujet est conscient mais ne peut ni communiquer ni bouger à cause du manque de connexion nerveuse entre le cerveau et les autres parties du corps.


4. sclérose en plaques

Les troubles desmilinisants sont un groupe de troubles dans lequel les axones des neurones perdent progressivement la substance appelée myéline, qui est très importante au moment de transférer des impulsions bioélectriques à travers le système nerveux .

Ainsi, le corps perd peu à peu la capacité d'envoyer efficacement des messages au corps, produisant des symptômes tels que tension musculaire, faiblesse, douleur et altérations de la perception.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La sclérose en plaques: types, symptômes et causes possibles"

5. Sclérose latérale amyotrophique

Dans cette maladie, il se produit une détérioration progressive des cellules motrices du système nerveux, qui meurent peu à peu. Ainsi, avec le temps, les muscles cessent de recevoir des impulsions nerveuses et finissent par s’atrophier. Cela empêche le mouvement volontaire .

En outre, à mesure que le trouble évolue, il peut éventuellement affecter le cœur et les muscles respiratoires et entraîner la mort.

6. Neuropathies diabétiques et autres troubles métaboliques

La présence de troubles métaboliques tels que le diabète sucré peut causer de graves dommages aux nerfs et aux neurones dans tout le corps. Les fibres nerveuses sont endommagées, de plus les vaisseaux sanguins ne peuvent pas diriger correctement le flux en raison du métabolisme incorrect du glucose.

Dans le cas du diabète , ces problèmes sont particulièrement visibles dans les extrémités, en particulier dans les inférieurs. Il peut également affecter des organes tels que les yeux ou même le cœur.

7. Infections

Les maladies infectieuses peuvent affecter considérablement l'ensemble des neurones et des structures qui composent le système nerveux. Le VIH et la syphilis non traitée peuvent altérer et endommager les neurones . Également le virus de l'herpès simplex, le cytomégalovirus et la rage. L'encéphalite, la méningite, l'immunodéficience facilitant l'action d'autres virus, la nécrose et la mort neuronale sont fréquents.

8. Démences

Ce type de maladies du système nerveux, notamment localisées dans le cerveau, se caractérise par une dégradation et une perte progressive des neurones et leur fonctionnement normal, entraînant la perte de différentes capacités cognitives et motrices.

Maladie d'Alzheimer, de Parkinson ou de Huntington ce sont des maladies qui entraînent ou peuvent entraîner (par exemple, toutes les personnes atteintes de la maladie de Parkinson ne développent pas la démence en tant que telle) la détérioration progressive des fibres nerveuses.

  • Article connexe: "Types de démence: formes de perte cognitive"

9. Mononeuropathies

Lésion traumatique d'un nerf périphérique par divers mécanismes, tels que compression continue, présence d'infections ou d'hémorragies ou sectionnement.

10. Polyneuropathies

Processus inflammatoire de plusieurs nerfs ou voies nerveuses qui génèrent une diversité de symptômes tels que des picotements ou une perte de contrôle et de sensibilité, une atrophie musculaire, une faiblesse, une diarrhée, un trouble de l’érection ou des troubles cardiorespiratoires, entre autres.

11. Blessures et sectionnement

Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas de maladies en soi, la présence de coups et blessures Cela peut endommager les nerfs et les neurones présents dans différentes parties du corps et les empêcher de remplir leurs fonctions de manière habituelle.

Vous pouvez perdre la perception ou le contrôle des groupes musculaires ou même des organes pertinents. Selon le type de blessure peut même causer un arrêt cardiaque et la mort.

12. Syndrome de Guillain-Barré et autres maladies auto-immunes

Certaines maladies auto-immunes, telles que le syndrome de Guillain-Barré, peuvent causer que notre système immunitaire attaque aux nerfs du système nerveux, ce qui les endommage et rend impossible ou impossible la transmission de signaux nerveux.

13. Dysreflexie autonome

Maladie causée par une lésion de la moelle épinière et une hyperactivation du système nerveux autonome, en plus d’une atteinte spectaculaire et dangereuse augmentation de la pression artérielle en raison de la difficulté de réguler la pression artérielle dans les zones non innervées, en dessous de la lésion de la moelle épinière.

14. Monoplégie, hémiplégie et tétraplégie

La section ou les dommages des fibres nerveuses du système nerveux peut causer la paralysie de certaines parties du corps . Cette paralysie peut survenir à un point spécifique du corps (monoplégie), sur un côté du corps (hémiplégie) ou même sur l'ensemble des extrémités (tétraplégie), rendant impossible le mouvement et même la perception tactile de ces zones.

15. névralgie

La névralgie est un groupe de maladies et de troubles du système nerveux qui ils sont caractérisés par la présence de douleur provenant d'un dysfonctionnement , pincement ou altération des voies nerveuses liée à la perception de la douleur.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Adams, R.D. (1997). Principes de neurologie. 6ème édition. McGraw-Hill.
  • Bannister, C, Tew, B. (1991). Concepts actuels dans Spina Bificla & Hydrcephalus. Londres: Mac Keith Press.

15 radioanatomie des paires craniennes (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes