yes, therapy helps!
The 15 most violent and dangerous countries in the world

The 15 most violent and dangerous countries in the world

July 26, 2022

The world can be a very hostile place. That is why, every year, the Institute of Economy and Peace prepares the Global Peace Index, which aims to determine the state of violence and the level of peace in the 194 countries of the world.

In this article you can find a list of the 15 most violent and dangerous countries on our planet , those in which living leads to greater risks due to wars or the high crime rate.

How the Global Peace Index works

It is not easy to determine which countries are the most violent and dangerous and the most peaceful in the world. In 2017, the number of countries in the world is 194. The process of measuring the tranquility and danger of a country is complex , and it is necessary to evaluate a series of indicators, among what is possible to find: the number of internal and external conflicts, peaceful or not relations with neighboring countries, political instability, the presence of terrorism, the number of homicides that occur for every 100,000 inhabitants, etc.


The ranking of quieter or more dangerous countries has been taking place since 2007 and, since then, Iceland has always been the safest and most peaceful country in the world. Last year, the top 5, in addition to Iceland, was completed by Denmark, Austria, New Zealand and Switzerland, the vast majority of European countries.

  • Related articles: "The 10 happiest countries in the world, according to the UN"

The 15 most violent and dangerous countries in the world

But, what are the countries that are at the other extreme? Which are the most hostile and violent countries? Below you can find a list of the 15 most dangerous countries in the world.

15. Zimbabwe

Violence is a serious problem in most African countries, and Zimbabwe is no exception. A large part of the conflicts in this territory are generated due to the deterioration of the economy from the country. Although most of the crimes in Zimbabwe are not as violent as those in other countries of this continent, violent people are often armed with firearms and commit violent acts.


14. Israel

Although Israel is one of the most developed countries in the world, it is located in a very troubled area in the Middle East. It is for that reason that armed conflicts are common , which makes it an unsafe country due to the clash between Israel and Palestine. The struggle between Israelis and Palestinians is common, which began in the mid-twentieth century and lasts until the present. Recently, conflicts have resumed in the Gaza Strip and terrorism is part of the day in the Holy Land.

13. Colombia

Colombia, like many Latin American countries, has evolved into a very unequal society: the 10% of the country's richest population earns four times more than the poorest 40%, according to the Human Development Index of the United Nations. (UN) In fact, Colombia is considered one of the most dangerous countries in Latin America However, other institutions affirm that Honduras is more dangerous than Colombia.


12. Nigeria

Nigeria at the social level has many problems and conflicts. Regarding the issue of human rights, it is still a little advanced country. Corruption in government it is the dominant tone of a country in which officials take advantage of their position to enrich themselves. Cases of rape are not uncommon, nor are cases of torture and other cruel acts of prisoners or detainees. Discrimination based on sex, ethnicity, religion are common.

11. Russia

A considerably high crime rate is probably the reason why Russia is one of the most dangerous countries in the world. This country is marked by drug trafficking, money laundering, human trafficking, extortion, fraud and even murder on request . Many criminal gangs are dedicated to corruption, the black market, terrorism and kidnapping. In 2011, Russia was ranked among the leading countries in homicides by the United Nations.

10. North Korea

Few countries have the figures of compliance with human rights such as North Korea. The population strictly controlled by the state and all aspects of the daily life of its population are subordinated to the planning of Kim Jong-un's regime. Amnesty International also reports severe restrictions on the freedom of its people, where arbitrary detention, torture and other ill-treatment resulting in death and executions predominate.

However, the lack of reliable data obtained about this country means that much of the news and information about North Korea is contaminated by propaganda from South Korea or the United States, a country with which it is still at war.

9. Pakistan

The post-independence history of Pakistan has been characterized by periods of military rule, political instability and conflicts with neighboring India. The country continues to face challenging problems, such as overpopulation, terrorism, poverty, illiteracy or corruption, and is among the countries with greater inequality among its inhabitants .

8. Democratic Republic of the Congo

This country is extremely rich in natural resources, but political instability, lack of infrastructure and a culture of corruption have historically limited the efforts of development, extraction and exploitation of these resources. Since Congo's first civil war in 1996, the country was devastated. The wars of this territory in recent years have caused the death of 5.4 million people since 1998, with more than 90% of deaths from malaria, diarrhea, pneumonia and malnutrition.

7. Central African Republic

After independence from France in 1960, the Central African Republic was governed by a series of dictators. The first multi-party democratic elections were held in 1993, when Ange-Félix Patassé was elected president.

The peace period did not last long, since in 2004 the war of the Central African Republic began. Despite a peace treaty in 2007 and another in 2011, in December 2012 clashes erupted between governmental, Muslim and Christian factions, which led to ethnic and religious cleansing and massive population displacement in 2013 and 2014.

6. Sudan

Sudan is a country that lives submerged in violence. For much of Sudan's history, the nation has been plagued by internal conflicts and has suffered many ethnic conflicts, including two civil wars and the war in the Darfur region . Sudan does not take into account human rights, as it has often led to ethnic cleansing and slavery continues to be part of the country. The Sudanese legal system is based on strict Islamic law.

5. Somalia

The Somali civil war is a conflict that continues in force and that began in 1991. It developed from the resistance to the regime of Siad Barre during the 80s , but over time, many armed rebel groups have joined the conflict, competing for power in the country. The war has caused hundreds of thousands of casualties so far.

4. Iraq

Iraq has been affected by a war that has lasted almost 9 years. It was officially completed in December 2011, but the country has been suffering from various conflicts to the present. Currently, the main problem in Iraq is the Islamic State that continues to expand and take over large areas of the north of the country, including the provincial capitals of Mosul or Tikrit.

3. South Sudan

Since July 2011, when South Sudan became an independent state, it has suffered internal conflicts. Ethnic violence began as part of the Sudanese conflicts that were fought between nomadic rival tribes , which has resulted in a large number of victims and has displaced hundreds of thousands of people.

2. Afghanistan

The war in Afghanistan began in 2001 and lasts until the present. It refers to the intervention of NATO and the allied forces in the current Afghan civil war . The war emerged after the September 11 attacks and its public objectives were to dismantle al Qaeda and deny it a secure base of operation in this country by withdrawing the Taliban from power. Tens of thousands of people have died in the war.

1. Syria

The main reason why Syria was classified as the most dangerous country in the world is the Syrian Civil War that is being talked about so much today. This armed conflict started in the early spring of 2011 with national protests against the government of President Bashar al-Assad, whose forces responded with violent repression.

The conflict changed gradually, from popular protests to an armed rebellion after months of military sieges. The armed opposition consists of several groups that were formed during the course of the conflict, including the Free Syrian Army or the Islamic Front. Estimates of deaths in the conflict vary widely, but range from 110,000 to almost 200,000.

  • Maybe you're interested: "8 countries to go to start a new life from scratch"

25 Most Dangerous Countries According To Global Peace Index (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 15 pays les plus violents et les plus dangereux du monde

Les 15 pays les plus violents et les plus dangereux du monde

Juin 22, 2022

Le monde peut être un endroit très hostile. C’est pourquoi, chaque année, l’Institut de l’économie et de la paix prépare l’index global de la paix, qui vise à déterminer l’état de la violence et le niveau de paix dans les 194 pays du monde.

Dans cet article, vous trouverez une liste de les 15 pays les plus violents et les plus dangereux de notre planète , ceux dans lesquels la vie entraîne de plus grands risques dus aux guerres ou au taux de criminalité élevé.

Comment fonctionne le Global Peace Index

Il n’est pas facile de déterminer quels pays sont les plus violents, les plus dangereux et les plus pacifiques du monde. En 2017, le nombre de pays dans le monde est de 194. Le processus de mesure de la tranquillité et du danger d'un pays est complexe , et il est nécessaire d’évaluer une série d’indicateurs parmi ce qui est possible à trouver: nombre de conflits internes et externes, relations pacifiques ou non avec les pays voisins, instabilité politique, présence du terrorisme, homicides pour 100 000 habitants, etc.


Le classement des pays les plus calmes ou les plus dangereux existe depuis 2007 et, depuis lors, l'Islande a toujours été le pays le plus sûr et le plus pacifique du monde. L'année dernière, le Danemark, l'Autriche, la Nouvelle-Zélande et la Suisse, la grande majorité des pays européens, ont complété le top 5, en plus de l'Islande.

  • Articles liés: "Les 10 pays les plus heureux du monde, selon l'ONU"

Les 15 pays les plus violents et les plus dangereux du monde

Mais, quels sont les pays qui sont à l'autre extrême? Quels sont les pays les plus hostiles et les plus violents? Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des 15 pays les plus dangereux au monde.

15. Zimbabwe

La violence est un problème grave dans la plupart des pays africains et le Zimbabwe ne fait pas exception. Une grande partie des conflits sur ce territoire sont générés par la détérioration de l'économie du pays. Bien que la plupart des crimes commis au Zimbabwe ne soient pas aussi violents que ceux commis dans d'autres pays de ce continent, les personnes violentes sont souvent armées d'armes à feu et commettent des actes violents.


14. Israël

Bien qu'Israël soit l'un des pays les plus développés du monde, il se situe dans une région très troublée du Moyen-Orient. C'est pour cette raison que les conflits armés sont fréquents , ce qui en fait un pays peu sûr à cause du conflit entre Israël et la Palestine. La lutte entre Israéliens et Palestiniens est commune. Elle a commencé au milieu du XXe siècle et se poursuit jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Récemment, les conflits ont repris dans la bande de Gaza et le terrorisme fait partie de la journée en Terre sainte.

13. Colombie

La Colombie, comme de nombreux pays d'Amérique latine, a évolué vers une société très inégale: les 10% de la population la plus riche du pays gagnent quatre fois plus que les 40% les plus pauvres, selon l'indice de développement humain des Nations Unies. (ONU) En fait La Colombie est considérée comme l'un des pays les plus dangereux d'Amérique latine Cependant, d'autres institutions affirment que le Honduras est plus dangereux que la Colombie.


12. Nigeria

Le Nigeria au niveau social a de nombreux problèmes et conflits. En ce qui concerne la question des droits de l'homme, le pays est encore peu avancé. Corruption au gouvernement c'est le ton dominant d'un pays dans lequel les fonctionnaires tirent parti de leur position pour s'enrichir. Les cas de viol ne sont pas rares, pas plus que les cas de torture et autres actes cruels commis par des prisonniers ou des détenus. Les discriminations fondées sur le sexe, l'appartenance ethnique et la religion sont courantes.

11. Russie

Un taux de criminalité considérable est probablement la raison pour laquelle la Russie est l’un des pays les plus dangereux du monde. Ce pays est marqué par le trafic de drogue, le blanchiment d’argent, traite d'êtres humains, extorsion, fraude et même meurtre sur demande . De nombreux gangs criminels se consacrent à la corruption, au marché noir, au terrorisme et aux enlèvements. En 2011, les Nations Unies ont classé la Russie parmi les pays en tête des homicides.

10. Corée du Nord

Peu de pays ont des chiffres sur le respect des droits de l'homme tels que la Corée du Nord. La population strictement contrôlée par l'Etat et tous les aspects de la vie quotidienne de sa population sont subordonnés à la planification du régime de Kim Jong-un. Amnesty International fait également état de restrictions sévères à la liberté de sa population, où prédominent les détentions arbitraires, la torture et les autres formes de mauvais traitements entraînant la mort et les exécutions.

Cependant, le manque de données fiables sur ce pays signifie qu'une grande partie des nouvelles et des informations sur la Corée du Nord sont contaminées par la propagande de la Corée du Sud ou des États-Unis, pays avec lequel elle est toujours en guerre.

9. Pakistan

L’histoire du Pakistan après l’indépendance a été marquée par des périodes de régime militaire, une instabilité politique et des conflits avec l’Inde voisine. Le pays continue de faire face à des problèmes difficiles, tels que la surpopulation, le terrorisme, la pauvreté, l’analphabétisme ou la corruption, et est parmi les pays avec une plus grande inégalité parmi ses habitants .

8. République démocratique du Congo

Ce pays est extrêmement riche en ressources naturelles, mais l’instabilité politique, le manque d’infrastructures et une culture de corruption ont historiquement limité les efforts de développement, d’extraction et d’exploitation de ces ressources. Depuis la première guerre civile du Congo en 1996, le pays était dévasté. Les guerres de ce territoire au cours des dernières années ont causé la mort de 5,4 millions de personnes depuis 1998, avec plus de 90% des décès dus au paludisme, à la diarrhée, à la pneumonie et à la malnutrition.

7. République centrafricaine

Après l'indépendance de la France en 1960, la République centrafricaine était gouvernée par une série de dictateurs. Les premières élections démocratiques multipartites ont eu lieu en 1993, au moment où Ange-Félix Patassé a été élu président.

La période de paix n'a pas duré longtemps puisqu'en 2004, la guerre de la République centrafricaine a commencé. Malgré un traité de paix en 2007 et un autre en 2011, des affrontements ont éclaté en décembre 2012 entre des factions gouvernementales, musulmanes et chrétiennes, conduit à un nettoyage ethnique et religieux et à un déplacement massif de population en 2013 et 2014.

6. Soudan

Le Soudan est un pays qui vit plongé dans la violence. Pendant la plus grande partie de l’histoire du Soudan, le pays a souffert de conflits internes et a souffert de nombreux conflits ethniques, y compris deux guerres civiles et la guerre dans la région du Darfour . Le Soudan ne prend pas en compte les droits de l'homme, car il a souvent conduit à un nettoyage ethnique et l'esclavage continue de faire partie du pays. Le système juridique soudanais est basé sur une loi islamique stricte.

5. Somalie

La guerre civile en Somalie est un conflit qui perdure et qui a débuté en 1991. Il s'est développé à partir de la résistance au régime de Siad Barre dans les années 80 , mais au fil du temps, de nombreux groupes rebelles armés ont rejoint le conflit et se disputent le pouvoir dans le pays. La guerre a fait des centaines de milliers de victimes jusqu'à présent.

4. Irak

L’Iraq est touché par une guerre qui dure depuis près de neuf ans. Il a été officiellement achevé en décembre 2011, mais le pays souffre de divers conflits jusqu'à présent. Actuellement, le principal problème en Irak est l'État islamique. qui continue de s'étendre et de s'emparer de vastes régions du nord du pays, y compris les capitales provinciales de Mossoul ou de Tikrit.

3. Soudan du Sud

Depuis juillet 2011, lorsque le Soudan du Sud est devenu un État indépendant, il a connu des conflits internes. Violence ethnique a commencé dans le cadre des conflits soudanais qui ont eu lieu entre tribus rivales nomades , qui a fait un grand nombre de victimes et déplacé des centaines de milliers de personnes.

2. Afghanistan

La guerre en Afghanistan a débuté en 2001 et dure jusqu'à présent. Il fait référence à l'intervention de l'OTAN et des forces alliées dans la guerre civile actuelle en Afghanistan. . La guerre a éclaté après les attentats du 11 septembre et ses objectifs publics étaient de démanteler Al-Qaïda et de lui refuser une base d'opérations sécurisée dans ce pays en retirant les Taliban du pouvoir. Des dizaines de milliers de personnes sont mortes pendant la guerre.

1. Syrie

La Syrie est la principale raison pour laquelle la Syrie a été classée parmi les pays les plus dangereux au monde, à cause de la guerre civile syrienne dont on parle beaucoup aujourd'hui. Ce conflit armé commencé au début du printemps 2011 avec des manifestations nationales contre le gouvernement du président Bachar al-Assad, dont les forces ont répondu par une répression violente.

Le conflit a progressivement changé, passant de manifestations populaires à une rébellion armée après des mois de siège militaire. L’opposition armée comprend plusieurs groupes qui se sont formés au cours du conflit, notamment l’Armée syrienne libre ou le Front islamique. Les estimations des décès dans le conflit varient beaucoup, mais vont de 110 000 à près de 200 000.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "8 pays à parcourir pour recommencer une nouvelle vie"

LES 10 PAYS LES PLUS DANGEREUX AU MONDE (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes