yes, therapy helps!
The 15 physical and chemical properties of water

The 15 physical and chemical properties of water

May 10, 2024

Water is undoubtedly one of the most important elements for us, to the point that every form of life known until now would not have been possible without its existence. It is part of each and every one of the cells of our body, and we must drink frequently in order to survive.

The importance of water is capital, but beyond that the truth is that this element has different properties of interest at a scientific level. That is why throughout this article we will see a brief exhibition of some of the main physical and chemical properties of water .

  • Related article: "The 9 differences between organic and inorganic compounds"

Physical and chemical properties of water

These are some of the properties of this element, some of them highly known by most people and others more technical and less taken into account.


1. It is colorless

Although when we see the sea or a river it can seem that the water can have a bluish-greenish or sometimes brownish color, this is due to the way in which it reflects the light and to which Easily absorbs short wavelengths (with which it is easier for our eyes to appear in bluish tones). However, we can not perceive any color in it (unless it is mixed with another substance), being transparent to our eyes.

2. It has no taste or smell

Water is a substance that, unlike others, does not have a specific taste or smell by itself. In case the water knows something, it is because it has been adulterated in some way (for example by adding flavorings) or because it has dragged particles of other elements (for example, fruit or other foods, minerals, lime, plastic or contaminants) when it reaches us.


3. It is found in nature in all three states

There are many substances that are complicated to find in nature beyond a particular state of matter. However in the case of water we can observe it easily in any of the states: the liquid water of the seas, rivers and rain, in gaseous form can be observed as water vapor and in solid form can be found as ice and snow.

4. It has a fixed transformation temperature

Although water can be mixed with other substances, the truth is that At a physical level we can contemplate how this element always evaporates or freezes at the same temperature , with a freezing point at 0ºC and boiling at 100ºC.

5. Compound and not element

Although since ancient times water has been thought of as one of the basic elements, the truth is that as indicated by its chemical formula, H2O, we are not dealing with an element in itself but with a compound in which each molecule is formed by two hydrogen atoms attached to an oxygen atom.


6. It is a solvent

Perhaps the word solvent is usually used at the popular level for other types of substances, but the truth is that at a chemical level, water does act as such. And is that many substances dissolve in contact with H2O , being the water capable of changing its structure and properties.

In fact, it is an almost universal solvent of polar substances (that is to say of those substances whose molecules have a positive pole at one end and another negative at the other), such as alcohol or salts. Outside chemical laboratory reactions, this property is essential to explain for example the functioning of living cells in our body.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 types of chemical bonds: this is how matter is composed"

7. It has a neutral electric charge

The atoms of a water molecule have a neutral electrical charge, although this does not mean that its components have no charge but that it is usually balanced. In general, each molecule consists of ten protons and electrons, in which the electrons are concentrated near oxygen. A) Yes, around oxygen the electric charge tends to be somewhat more negative , while near hydrogen is more positive.

8. Stable density

In the same way that the freezing and boiling points are usually fixed, water is also characterized by maintaining a very stable density regardless of its environmental situation. Pure water without any other component (ie, distilled) has a density of 1 kg / l.

However, normally when it is in a liquid state at a temperature of around 20ºC it has a density of 0.997-0.998 kg / l . In the case of ice, its density is usually 0.917 Kg / l.

9. Difficult to compress

Compressing a certain volume of water is highly complex (although not impossible), given that this substance has a high level of cohesion (meaning that its molecules have a high capacity to remain together due to the strong bond they make).

10. Adhere

The water gets wet. This phrase, although it may seem obvious and even ridiculous, is talking about another of the physical properties of the liquid element: The ability to adhere to other surfaces and materials .

11. Low electrical conductivity

We have probably heard of someone who has died electrocuted or suffered a domestic accident when the water comes in contact with an electrical element. As most of you know, these types of accidents are very real and dangerous.

However, it must be borne in mind that the person in charge is not really water, but the different salts and other components that you carry with it . In fact, distilled or pure water is not electrically conductive but insulating, since it does not have free electrons that can conduct it.

Now, it is important to note that we are talking about distilled water in which there is nothing more than water molecules: the water that we drink, with which we shower and bathe and the water we find in rivers and seas does conduct electricity since It contains a large amount of minerals and other components with conductive potential.

12. Ph relatively neutral

Another characteristic of water is that in general and on average it usually has a neutral or almost neutral pH, its pH oscillating between 6.5 and 8.5 (a totally neutral pH would be 7). This implies that usually water it can be slightly acidic or slightly basic , but unless their degree of acidity is manipulated or mixed with other substances, the pure water molecules are usually practically neutral.

13. Participates in multiple chemical reactions

Another aspect to take into account water is its high level of interaction with other elements, in such a way that it produces different chemical reactions and becomes part of different processes or substances.

For example, as we have seen, it is capable of dissolving polar substances, as well as reacting with basic and acid oxides to form compounds such as calcium hydroxide or sulfuric acid. As well can generate different reactions on different types of metals , and participates in processes such as oxidation or the creation of hydrates.

14. High surface tension

This property refers to the force necessary to overcome the force of attraction between water molecules at surface level .

Its high value (in the case of water has a value of 72.8 dynes / cm) makes it generally when we are facing a surface of calm water this store to remain stable, something that makes it difficult to break its shape if it is not applied a considerable force. That is why leaves or other objects tend to float above without generating excessive alteration in the shape of the surface.

15. Regulates the temperature

Another interesting and well-known property of water is its ability to regulate temperature. And is that water is able to retain heat, something that causes it to cool more slowly than other substances. Likewise, it also takes longer to warm up. An example we see it in the effect that the sea has on the temperature of the coast, usually more moderate than in the interior.

Bibliographic references:

  • Marín Galvín, R. (2010). Physical, chemical and biological characteristics of the waters. School of Industrial Organization. [On-line]. Available at: //www.eoi.es/es/savia/publicaciones/19900/caracteristicas-fisicas-quimicas-y-biologicas-de-las-aguas.
  • Marín Galvín, R .; Rodríguez Mellado, J.M. (1999). Water physicochemistry Editorial Díaz de Santos.
  • Félez Santafé, M. (2009). Current status of the status of biological purification. Explanation of the methods and evidence. Escola d'Enginyeria de Barcelona- E.T. Industrial, specialization in Industrial Chemistry. Polytechnic University of Catalonia [Online]. Available at: //hdl.handle.net/2099.1/6263.

10th Class Chemistry, ch 15, Properties of Water - Matric Class Chemistry (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 15 propriétés physiques et chimiques de l'eau

Les 15 propriétés physiques et chimiques de l'eau

Juin 25, 2019

L’eau est sans aucun doute l’un des éléments les plus importants pour nous, au point que toute forme de vie connue jusqu'à présent n'aurait pas été possible sans son existence. Il fait partie de chacune des cellules de notre corps et nous devons boire souvent pour survivre.

L’importance de l’eau est capitale, mais au-delà de tout cela, la vérité est que cet élément présente différentes propriétés d’intérêt sur le plan scientifique. C’est pourquoi, tout au long de cet article, nous verrons une brève exposition de quelques-unes des principales propriétés physiques et chimiques de l'eau .

  • Article connexe: "Les 9 différences entre les composés organiques et inorganiques"

Propriétés physiques et chimiques de l'eau

Ce sont quelques-unes des propriétés de cet élément, certaines très connues de la plupart des gens, d'autres plus techniques et moins prises en compte.


1. il est incolore

Bien que lorsque nous voyons la mer ou une rivière, il peut sembler que l'eau peut avoir une couleur bleuâtre-verdâtre ou parfois brunâtre, cela est dû à la manière dont elle reflète la lumière et à laquelle Absorbe facilement les courtes longueurs d'onde (avec lequel il est plus facile pour nos yeux d’apparaître dans des tons bleuâtres). Cependant, nous ne pouvons en percevoir aucune couleur (à moins qu’il ne soit mélangé avec une autre substance), ce qui est transparent pour nos yeux.

2. Il n'a ni goût ni odeur

L'eau est une substance qui, contrairement à d'autres, n'a pas de goût ou d'odeur spécifique. Si l'eau sait quelque chose, c'est parce qu'elle a été adultérée d'une manière ou d'une autre (par exemple en ajoutant des arômes) ou parce qu’il a entraîné des particules d’autres éléments (par exemple des fruits ou d’autres aliments, des minéraux, de la chaux, du plastique ou des contaminants) lorsqu’il nous parvient.


3. On le trouve dans la nature dans les trois états

Il existe de nombreuses substances difficiles à trouver dans la nature au-delà d'un état de la matière particulier. Cependant, dans le cas de l'eau, nous pouvons l'observer facilement dans tous les états: l'eau liquide des mers, des rivières et des pluies, sous forme gazeuse, peut être observée sous forme de vapeur d'eau et sous forme solide, sous forme de glace et de neige.

4. Il a une température de transformation fixe

Bien que l’eau puisse être mélangée à d’autres substances, la vérité est que Au niveau physique, nous pouvons voir comment cet élément s'évapore ou se fige toujours à la même température , avec un point de congélation à 0 ° C et une ébullition à 100 ° C.

5. Composé et non élément

Bien que, depuis l'Antiquité, l'eau ait été considérée comme l'un des éléments de base, la vérité est que, comme l'indique sa formule chimique, H2O, il ne s'agit pas d'un élément en soi, mais d'un composé dans lequel chaque molécule est formée par deux atomes d'hydrogène liés à un atome d'oxygène.


6. C'est un solvant

Peut-être que le mot solvant est généralement utilisé au niveau populaire pour d’autres types de substances, mais la vérité est qu’au niveau chimique, l’eau agit en tant que telle. Et est-ce beaucoup de substances se dissolvent au contact de H2O , étant l'eau capable de changer sa structure et ses propriétés.

En fait, il s’agit d’un solvant presque universel de substances polaires (c’est-à-dire de substances dont les molécules ont un pôle positif à une extrémité et une autre négative à l’autre), telles que l’alcool ou les sels. En dehors des réactions chimiques de laboratoire, cette propriété est essentielle pour expliquer, par exemple, le fonctionnement des cellules vivantes de notre corps.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 types de liaisons chimiques: voilà comment se compose la matière"

7. Il a une charge électrique neutre

Les atomes d’une molécule d’eau ont une charge électrique neutre, bien que cela ne signifie pas que ses composants n’ont aucune charge, mais qu’elle est généralement équilibrée. En général, chaque molécule est composée de dix protons et électrons, dans lesquels les électrons sont concentrés près de l'oxygène. Ainsi, autour de l'oxygène, la charge électrique a tendance à être un peu plus négative , tandis que près d’hydrogène est plus positif.

8. densité stable

De la même manière que les points de congélation et d'ébullition sont généralement fixes, l'eau se caractérise également par le maintien d'une densité très stable quelle que soit sa situation environnementale. L'eau pure sans aucun autre composant (c'est-à-dire distillé) a une densité de 1 kg / l.

Cependant, normalement quand il est à l'état liquide à une température d'environ 20ºC il a une densité de 0.997-0.998 kg / l . Dans le cas de la glace, sa densité est généralement de 0,917 kg / l.

9. difficile à compresser

Compresser un certain volume d'eau est très complexe (bien que pas impossible), étant donné que cette substance a un haut niveau de cohésion (ce qui signifie que ses molécules ont une grande capacité de rester ensemble en raison du lien fort qu'elles établissent).

10. adhérer

L'eau mouille. Cette phrase, bien qu'elle puisse paraître évidente et même ridicule, parle d'une autre des propriétés physiques de l'élément liquide: La capacité d'adhérer à d'autres surfaces et matériaux .

11. Faible conductivité électrique

Nous avons probablement entendu parler de quelqu'un qui est mort électrocuté ou a subi un accident domestique lorsque l'eau entre en contact avec un élément électrique. Comme la plupart d’entre vous le savent, ces types d’accidents sont très réels et dangereux.

Cependant, il faut garder à l’esprit que le responsable n’est pas vraiment de l’eau, mais les différents sels et autres composants que vous emportez . En fait, l'eau distillée ou pure n'est pas électriquement conductrice mais isolante, car elle ne possède pas d'électrons libres pouvant la conduire.

Maintenant, il est important de noter que nous parlons d’eau distillée dans laquelle il n’ya rien de plus que des molécules d’eau: l’eau que nous buvons, avec laquelle nous prenons une douche et un bain et l’eau que nous trouvons dans les rivières et les mers Il contient une grande quantité de minéraux et d’autres composants ayant un potentiel conducteur.

12. Ph relativement neutre

Une autre caractéristique de l'eau est qu'elle a généralement un pH neutre ou presque neutre, son pH oscillant entre 6,5 et 8,5 (un pH totalement neutre serait de 7). Cela implique que généralement de l'eau il peut être légèrement acide ou légèrement basique , mais à moins que leur degré d’acidité ne soit manipulé ou mélangé à d’autres substances, les molécules d’eau pure sont généralement pratiquement neutres.

13. Participe à plusieurs réactions chimiques

Un autre aspect à prendre en compte est le niveau élevé d’interaction de l’eau avec d’autres éléments, qui produit différentes réactions chimiques et entre dans le cadre de processus ou de substances différents.

Par exemple, comme nous l'avons vu, il est capable de dissoudre des substances polaires, ainsi que de réagir avec des oxydes basiques et acides pour former des composés tels que l'hydroxyde de calcium ou l'acide sulfurique. Aussi peut générer différentes réactions sur différents types de métaux et participe à des processus tels que l’oxydation ou la création d’hydrates.

14. Haute tension superficielle

Cette propriété fait référence à la force nécessaire pour vaincre la force d'attraction entre les molécules d'eau au niveau de la surface .

Sa valeur élevée (dans le cas de l’eau a une valeur de 72,8 dynes / cm) permet généralement de rester stable face à une surface d’eau calme, ce qui rend difficile la rupture de sa forme si elle n’est pas appliquée. une force considérable. C'est pourquoi les feuilles ou autres objets ont tendance à flotter au-dessus sans générer d'altération excessive de la forme de la surface.

15. régule la température

Une autre propriété intéressante et bien connue de l'eau est sa capacité à réguler la température. Et est-ce que l'eau est capable de retenir la chaleur, ce qui la fait refroidir plus lentement que d'autres substances. De même, l'échauffement prend plus de temps. Un exemple en est l'effet de la température de la mer sur la mer, généralement plus modérée qu'à l'intérieur.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Marín Galvín, R. (2010). Caractéristiques physiques, chimiques et biologiques des eaux. Ecole d'organisation industrielle. [En ligne] Disponible à l’adresse suivante: http://www.eoi.es/es/savia/publicaciones/19900/caracteristicas-fisicas-quimicas-y-biologicas-de-las-aguas.
  • Marín Galvín, R .; Rodríguez Mellado, J.M. (1999). Physicochimie de l'eau Éditorial Díaz de Santos.
  • Félez Santafé, M. (2009). Etat actuel de l'état du traitement biologique. Explication des méthodes et de leurs fondements. Escola d'Enginyeria de Barcelona - E.T. Industriel, spécialisation en chimie industrielle. Université polytechnique de Catalogne [en ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse: http://hdl.handle.net/2099.1/6263.

Les acides amines Proprietes Physico chimiques (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes