yes, therapy helps!
The 15 purest phobias that exist

The 15 purest phobias that exist

December 3, 2022

There are many rare phobias that some people suffer A phobia is an anxiety disorder characterized by an irrational fear of a stimulus (a situation, an object, a place, an insect, etc.).

The person who suffers a phobia does everything possible to avoid that stimulus that causes discomfort, and this avoidance behavior can interfere with the normal functioning of their daily lives. From fear of clowns to fear of number 13, there are many strange and unexplainable phobias.

Here we present a list with the 15 purest phobias .

Know the rarest phobias that exist

1. Hexakosioihexekontahexafobia: fear of number 666

Those who suffer from hexakosioihexekontahexafobia feel a Irrational fear towards the number 666 and avoid things related to this number, such as a building in which the number is clearly displayed, a license plate of a vehicle or a public transport with that numbering. The origin of this phobia is linked to Satan or the Antichrist, therefore it is more frequent to suffer people who have been raised in Christian families.


2. Xanthophobia: fear of yellow color

Among the rarest phobias, xanophobia is Irrational fear of yellow color . Anything that contains yellow produces great anxiety to people who suffer from this type of phobia. The sun, yellow paint or even the word 'yellow', generate symptoms of anxiety in the xanophobic.

3. Turofobia: fear of cheese

People suffering from turophobia they can not see or smell a simple piece of cheese . Whether it's mozarella, cheddar or roquefort, the cheese produces a sensation of intense discomfort. This is due to a traumatic experience suffered previously, usually in childhood. Without a doubt, it is one of the rarest phobias known.


4. Crematophobia or Chromophobia: fear of money

This is one of the rare phobias that attracts the most attention. Crematophobia or chromophobia is the irrational fear of money . For these people it is very difficult to go to the supermarket or buy a bus ticket. Some crematofóbicos are afraid of the corrupting power of money and others may have suffered a trauma caused by money. Do not confuse the fear felt by some people to touch bills or coins that have touched other people, because in this case would be afraid of germs (misophobia or germiphobia).

5. Somniphobia: fear of sleeping

This phobia causes a Irrational and excessive fear before the act of sleeping . People who suffer from it feel panic because they think that while they are sleeping, something terrible will happen to them, for example, that they will stop breathing and die. The cause may also be the fear of having nightmares due to having suffered them repeatedly before. Obviously, this phobia is linked with insomnia.


6. Coulrophobia: fear of clowns

The image of a clown causes panic, fear and anguish to the person suffering from coulrophobia. Although it is common that this phobia is perceived as something funny by people who do not have this fear, the subject who experiences the clown phobia or coulrophobia can get to trigger important anxiety attacks.

To read more about the coulrophobia you can visit our article:

  • Article to deepen: "Coulrophobia (fear of clowns): causes, symptoms and treatment"

7. Ombrophobia: fear of rain

Like most of the rarer phobias we have described, this phobia is very little known. People who suffer ombrofobia they feel an uncontrollable fear of getting wet with rainwater . These people can become extremely obsessive in order not to get wet, which leads them to idolize the objects that are used to protect themselves from water like umbrellas, raincoats or awnings.

8. Hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia: fear of long words

It refers to Irrational fear of the pronunciation of long and complicated words , so the person suffering from this phobia will avoid mentioning this type of terms. Many times, this phobia is accompanied by social shyness and fear of being ridiculed. Due to the complexity of the word used to describe this phobia, the words sesquipedalisophobia or largsophobia are currently used.

9. Omphatophobia: fear of the navels

This phobia refers to fear of seeing or touching your own belly button or that of others . These people have serious conflicts when bathing because they can not look at their navel or touch it. The physiological symptoms that occur range from irritability, nausea, dizziness, vomiting, feelings of anger along with anger, as well as a feeling of total impotence. Without a doubt, one of the rarest phobias.

10. Hilophobia: fear of trees

It refers to fear of shrubs, trees and forests . It usually develops in young children, as it is linked to the fear presented by the films about enchanted forests, in which witches or evil monsters can be found.

11. Triscaidecaphobia: fear of number 13

Triscaidecaphobia is the Irrational fear of number 13. Those who suffer from this anxiety disorder avoid any object or thing that contains the number 13. On the other hand, the phobia on Friday the 13th is called parascevedecatriaphobia.

12. Papaphobia: fear of the Pope

The papaphobia is the fear or fear of the Pope (to the Holy Father of the Vatican, head of the Catholic Church) or to everything related to him. Some experts think it is part of the phobia of the sacred or the saints. In any case, it is enough to stay away from the Holy See so as not to reach worrying levels of anxiety.

13. Uranophobia: fear of heaven

People suffering from uranofobia feel fear of heaven and life after death . It can develop into believers who think they will be judged at death. This is one of the rarest and most complex phobias to treat, since it is not possible to do a habituation therapy.

14. Pogonophobia: fear of beards

This phobia was discovered in 1851, and refers to Irrational fear that many people feel towards beards , especially towards the longest and most populated. Although the beards do not pose a danger to the health of people, the pogonophobes feel fear and nausea when they see someone with facial hair.

15. Tripophobia: fear of holes

Those who suffer from this phobia manifest Authentic panic, nausea and cold sweats when they see small holes and together or things that contain holes . For example, a honeycomb or the holes of a brick.

Bibliographic references:

  • André, C. (2006). Psychology of fear. Fears, anguish and phobias Barcelona. Editorial Kairós.
  • Bourne, E. J. (2005). The Anxiety & Phobia Workbook, 4th ed. New Harbinger Publications.

What's My Phobia? (Crystal) | Lineup | Cut (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 15 phobies les plus pures qui existent

Les 15 phobies les plus pures qui existent

Octobre 19, 2020

Il y a beaucoup phobies rares que certaines personnes souffrent Une phobie est un trouble d'anxiété caractérisé par une peur irrationnelle d'un stimulus (une situation, un objet, un lieu, un insecte, etc.).

La personne qui souffre de phobie fait tout son possible pour éviter ce stimulus qui provoque un inconfort, et ce comportement d'évitement peut nuire au fonctionnement normal de sa vie quotidienne. De la peur des clowns à la peur du numéro 13, il existe de nombreuses phobies étranges et inexplicables.

Nous présentons ici une liste avec le 15 phobies les plus pures .

Connaître les phobies les plus rares qui existent

1. Hexakosioihexekontahexafobia: peur du numéro 666

Ceux qui souffrent d’hexakosioihexekontahexafobia ressentent une Peur irrationnelle envers le nombre 666 et évitez les choses liées à ce numéro, comme un bâtiment dans lequel le numéro est clairement affiché, une plaque d'immatriculation d'un véhicule ou un transport en commun portant cette numérotation. L'origine de cette phobie étant liée à Satan ou à l'Antéchrist, il est donc plus fréquent de souffrir des personnes qui ont été élevées dans des familles chrétiennes.


2. Xanthophobia: peur de la couleur jaune

Parmi les phobies les plus rares, la xanophobie est Peur irrationnelle de la couleur jaune . Tout ce qui contient du jaune provoque une grande anxiété chez les personnes souffrant de ce type de phobie. Le soleil, la peinture jaune ou même le mot «jaune», génère des symptômes d'anxiété chez les xanophobes.

3. Turofobia: peur du fromage

Personnes souffrant de turophobie ils ne peuvent pas voir ou sentir un simple morceau de fromage . Qu'il s'agisse de mozarella, de cheddar ou de roquefort, le fromage procure une sensation d'inconfort intense. Cela est dû à une expérience traumatique déjà vécue, généralement dans l’enfance. Sans aucun doute, c'est l'une des phobies les plus rares connues.


4. Crématophobie ou chromophobie: peur de l'argent

C'est l'une des rares phobies qui attire le plus l'attention. La crématophobie ou chromophobie est la peur irrationnelle de l'argent . Pour ces personnes, il est très difficile d'aller au supermarché ou d'acheter un billet de bus. Certains crematofóbicos ont peur du pouvoir de corruption de l'argent et d'autres peuvent avoir subi un traumatisme causé par l'argent. Ne confondez pas la peur ressentie par certaines personnes de toucher des billets ou des pièces de monnaie qui ont touché d'autres personnes, car dans ce cas, vous auriez peur des germes (misophobie ou germiphobie).

5. Somniphobia: peur de dormir

Cette phobie provoque une Peur irrationnelle et excessive avant de dormir . Les personnes qui en souffrent ressentent la panique parce qu’elles pensent qu’en dormant, il leur arrivera quelque chose de terrible, par exemple, elles vont arrêter de respirer et mourir. La cause peut également être la crainte de faire des cauchemars pour les avoir souffert à plusieurs reprises auparavant. De toute évidence, cette phobie est liée à l'insomnie.


6. Coulrophobie: peur des clowns

L'image d'un clown provoque la panique, la peur et l'angoisse à la personne souffrant de coulrophobie. Bien qu'il soit courant que cette phobie soit perçue comme quelque chose de drôle par les personnes qui n'ont pas cette peur, le sujet qui fait l'expérience de la phobie ou de la coulrophobie de clown peut arriver à déclencher des crises d'anxiété importantes.

Pour en savoir plus sur la coulrophobie, vous pouvez consulter notre article:

  • Article à approfondir: "Coulrophobie (peur des clowns): causes, symptômes et traitement"

7. Ombrophobie: peur de la pluie

Comme la plupart des phobies plus rares que nous avons décrites, cette phobie est très peu connue. Les personnes qui souffrent d'ombrofobia ils ont une peur incontrôlable de se mouiller avec l'eau de pluie . Ces personnes peuvent devenir extrêmement obsédantes pour ne pas être mouillées, ce qui les conduit à idolâtrer les objets utilisés pour se protéger de l'eau, comme des parapluies, des imperméables ou des auvents.

8. Hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia: peur des mots longs

Il fait référence à Peur irrationnelle de la prononciation de mots longs et compliqués Ainsi, la personne souffrant de cette phobie évitera de mentionner ce type de termes. Plusieurs fois, cette phobie est accompagnée de timidité sociale et de peur d'être ridiculisé. En raison de la complexité du mot utilisé pour décrire cette phobie, les mots sesquipedalisophobia ou largsophobia sont couramment utilisés.

9. Omphatophobie: peur des nombrils

Cette phobie se réfère à peur de voir ou de toucher votre nombril ou celui des autres . Lors de la baignade, ces personnes ont de graves conflits parce qu’elles ne peuvent ni regarder leur nombril ni le toucher. Les symptômes physiologiques qui apparaissent vont de l'irritabilité, des nausées, des vertiges, des vomissements, des sentiments de colère à la colère, ainsi que d'un sentiment d'impuissance totale. Sans doute l'une des phobies les plus rares.

10. Hilophobie: peur des arbres

Il fait référence à la peur des arbustes, des arbres et des forêts . Il se développe généralement chez les jeunes enfants, car il est lié à la peur présentée par les films sur les forêts enchantées, dans lesquelles se trouvent des sorcières ou des monstres diaboliques.

11. Triscaidécaphobie: peur du numéro 13

La triscaidécaphobie est la Peur irrationnelle du numéro 13. Ceux qui souffrent de ce trouble anxieux évitent tout objet ou chose contenant le numéro 13. D'autre part, la phobie du vendredi 13 est appelée parascevedecatriaphobia.

12. Papaphobie: peur du pape

La papaphobie est la peur ou peur du pape (au Saint-Père du Vatican, chef de l'Église catholique) ou à tout ce qui le concerne. Certains experts pensent que cela fait partie de la phobie du sacré ou des saints. Dans tous les cas, il suffit de rester à l’écart du Saint-Siège pour ne pas atteindre un niveau d’anxiété préoccupant.

13. Uranophobie: peur du ciel

Les personnes souffrant d'uranofobie se sentent peur du ciel et de la vie après la mort . Cela peut devenir des croyants qui pensent qu'ils seront jugés à leur mort. C'est l'une des phobies les plus rares et les plus complexes à traiter, car il n'est pas possible de faire un traitement d'habituation.

14. Pogonophobie: peur de la barbe

Cette phobie a été découverte en 1851 et fait référence à Peur irrationnelle que beaucoup de gens ressentent envers la barbe , particulièrement vers les plus longs et les plus peuplés. Bien que la barbe ne pose pas de danger pour la santé des personnes, les pogonophobes ressentent la peur et des nausées en voyant une personne avec les poils du visage.

15. Tripophobie: peur des trous

Ceux qui souffrent de cette phobie manifeste Panique authentique, nausée et sueurs froides quand ils voient de petits trous et ensemble ou des choses qui contiennent des trous . Par exemple, un nid d'abeille ou les trous d'une brique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • André, C. (2006). Psychologie de la peur. Peurs, angoisse et phobies Barcelone Éditorial Kairós.
  • Bourne, E. J. (2005). Cahier d'exercices sur l'anxiété et la phobie, 4e éd. Nouvelles publications Harbinger.

RÉACTION AUX PIRES MUSICAL.LY ! (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes