yes, therapy helps!
The 15 rare movies you should see today

The 15 rare movies you should see today

May 6, 2021

Throughout history, the manifestation of art has been a very important constant in the evolution of cultures and societies.

Through the different arts the human being is able to express emotions, thoughts, beliefs and points of view in a creative way that from a rational point of view would cost to make understand.

One of the most recent artistic forms that allow such a thing is the cinema. Called also the seventh art, through it allows the expression through both the vision and the hearing of the conscious and the unconscious, to reflect on the proposed ideas and expand horizons, sometimes in a bizarre way. That is why we are doing today the collection of some rare, little known or strange films.


  • Related article: "10 films about Psychology and mental disorders"

Extravagant and rare movies

Rare movies are an escape from the conventions on how to make movies that help us think outside of our mental frameworks that we are accustomed to using.

Either because of its contents or its formal aspects, the original and strange films can be a real cultural shock between our way of understanding things and that of the creators of the work. Below you can see a selection of these movies

1. The wild planet (Laloux, R.)

It is a peculiar film directed by René Laloux, which presents many allegories and messages sometimes somewhat uncomfortable . In this science fiction film we are presented to the Draag as a dominant race of beings on the planet Ygam, physically and with technology far superior to the race that serves them as slaves or pets, the human beings called Oms in the film.


In this film humanity is reflected as an inferior race persecuted and under threat, being frequent the persecution of the wild humans. However, one of the pet Om, Terr, manages to escape from his masters along with hearing aid that transmits and contains the knowledge of the Draag.

This film shows a certain criticism towards the position of superiority of the human being with respect to other species . It reflects intolerance, discrimination and abuse of power. It also refers to the fear of the unknown and the struggle between science / knowledge and superstition (the hearing aid with the knowledge of the Draag causes rejection of some Oms), as well as the search for coexistence and peace between the different races. / species / peoples.

2. The witch (Eggers, R.)

This relatively recent film (released in 2015) tells us about a Christian marriage with five children at the time around the year 1630. The family is excommunicated and finally ends up living in a forest that the tradition indicates is controlled by evil . Over time a series of strange phenomena begin to happen, including among them the disappearance of one of the children, what seems to be a possession in another or the infertility of the earth giving bad harvests. Over time, the tension in the family causes the teenage daughter to be held responsible, accusing her of witchcraft.


The film reflects the fear of the unknown and the effect of terror, anxiety and anguish in people on elements such as affection, reason and loyalty. It also shows the way in which fear of the supernatural and magical thinking can distort even the affective bonds of the family.

3. The naked lunch (Cronenberg, D.)

Regarding "The naked lunch", this movie can also be considered as strange or strange . It shows the insect exterminator William Lee, who suffers from a series of hallucinations allegedly due to the effect of exposure to the insecticide, which in his company they think is addicted. Before this he asks for help from his doctor, who prescribes a blocker called "black meat". Later he involuntarily kills his wife, after which Lee flees to the Interzone, where such strange things happen as his typewriter comes to life.

As you can see in the film, it is a vision of the effects of the consumption of hallucinogenic drugs and the addiction to these . Also, reference is made to the resistance to accept homosexuality itself, visible in numerous moments of the film.

4. Marquis (Xhonneux, H.)

In this film the history of the famous Marquis de Sade is explained , in France before the French Revolution. The story is based on the writings and the life of the Marquis, starting during his imprisonment in the Bastille, where each cell is occupied by different characters of the works of the controversial author.Apart from the argument, this film is also rare for its scenery (using elements such as teleñecos), symbology (during much of the film the marquis holds conversations with his reproductive apparatus) and costumes. For example, in this production all the actors wear masks of animals that reflect their position or personality, finding a high level of symbolism.

It is one of the rare films that, through its aesthetics, reflects the struggle of reason against instinct, sexuality and its repression and exacerbation, betrayal and hypocrisy . It is also one of the films that most attempt to dignify the figure of the Marquis de Sade, reflecting sensitivity, desire for freedom and defense of the right to one's life in the character.

5. Dogville (von Trier, L.)

This rare film production developed in the United States during the Great Depression . In it the protagonist, Grace, takes refuge in the town that gives name to the film of the persecution of the Mafia. Grace tries to help her neighbors in order to earn their trust, which ends up getting. However, over time the villagers will demand more and more as compensation for offering refuge, abusing the honesty of the woman.

The film reflects the greed and abuse of the needy, the use of others and the actions of people in situations of despair and betrayal.

6. Eraserhead (Lynch, D.)

Another of the rare films presented in this article is Eraserhead . This black and white film revolves around the character Henry Spencer, who has a son with his ex-partner. The child in question is born with deformities, taking care of the couple first and then being in charge of the protagonist.

The film refers to the flight into the interior, the need to escape from problems, the difficulty of living a quiet life in the face of the difficulties present in the environment. Exalts the monstrous side of humanity, the need for freedom and acceptance of the negative facets of life and of the self, guilt and the instincts of death and suicide.

7. Canine (Lanthimos, Y.)

This work tells us about a marriage with three children who have never left home , being the one with the members of the family the only influence in their lives, with the exception of a security employee. The children have never seen the outside, being the farm where they live surrounded by a fence. His life is under the dominion of his father, his education being limited and having serious defects of understanding of reality.

The name of the film comes from the promise of the parents that children can go outside when they lose a fang. No one else has contact with them, with the exception of a security employee of the father, Cristina, who will be taken so that the son can have sex. But nevertheless, the contact with the security employee implies an opening to the real world , which implies a series of repercussions for the beliefs of young people.

The work shows the effect of a rigid education, tyranny and deprivation of stimuli, recalling in many aspects some cases of wild children.

8. Waking Life (Linklater, R.)

This film is about a man in a constant state of lucid dream, after being hit by a car . After this event, the character establishes an internal dialogue reflecting on the meaning of life, talking to different individuals in their dreams while trying to wake up even when they wonder if they will actually be dead.

It reflects the world of dreams, the unconscious and the exploration of thought and diverse philosophical currents.

9. Upstream Color (Carruth, S.)

This film tells the story of two young people, Kriss and Jeff , that fall in love due to the effects of a worm with the property of linking beings. This worm in question is placed and later extracted by other characters, being the character called the "composer" who creates a bond between people by manipulating the worms and then implant in pigs in their possession in order to visualize the lives of its original carriers.

The film establishes a critique of the sociopolitical control of the individual, the indoctrination and the intellectual block. It is possible to make a parallel with the self-censorship of the superego proposed by psychoanalysis.

10. You, me and everyone else (July, M.)

The film takes us to see how two characters fall in love, showing us the doubts , frustrations and passions, while one of them focuses on the life events that happen to their children, having to face situations of danger such as grooming.

The film, although not as extravagant as others of the previous ones, it is a valid reflection of the unsatisfied hidden desires , frustration, the dangers of relationships through networks such as grooming, caring for children and experimentation in the sentimental field (in the case of the eldest son).

11. Holy Motors (Carax, L.)

A strange film that is, in itself, a constant reference to the cinema itself. In it, the protagonist is playing different characters in real life, acting as they would in a fictional world.

12. Paprika, detective of dreams (Kon, S.)

One of the great references of the Japanese animation taken to the cinema is, also, one of the rarest movies in all the senses. In this the oneiric atmosphere and the visual quality work they mix to offer a unique experience based on the incredible imagination of its director, Satoshi Kon.

13. The taste of tea (Ishii, K.)

A mixture of traditionalist stories from Japan and most surreal situations . Experimental cinema that never abandons its tender and optimistic spirit.

14. Swiss Army Man (Kwan, D. and Scheinert, D.)

Daniel Radcliffe in his strangest role to date : a corpse that, little by little, comes back to life while teaching a man to live again. As it does? Using "special functions" of your body, as if it were a Swiss army knife.

15. Der Bunker (Chryssos, N.)

A student decides to go live with a strange family to be the guardian of their child. The problem is not only that the child behaves in a very strange way; is that that family lives in a bunker.

There are many other examples of bizarre cinema!

The present list reflects some of the rare, little understood or strange films that exist, but we know that there are many more. Origin, Shutter Island, Black Swan ... If you know of some strange or little known movie, we cordially invite you to share it with us .


15 Martial Arts Movies You Must Watch In Your Lifetime (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 15 films rares que vous devriez voir aujourd'hui

Les 15 films rares que vous devriez voir aujourd'hui

Novembre 14, 2022

Au cours de l'histoire, la manifestation de l'art a été une constante très importante dans l'évolution des cultures et des sociétés.

Grâce aux différents arts, l'être humain est capable d'exprimer ses émotions, ses pensées, ses croyances et ses points de vue. d'une manière créative qu'il serait coûteux de faire comprendre d'un point de vue rationnel.

Une des formes artistiques les plus récentes qui permettent une telle chose est le cinéma. Appelé aussi le septième art, il permet à travers la vision et l’ouïe du conscient et de l’inconscient de réfléchir sur les idées proposées et d’élargir les horizons, parfois de manière étrange. C'est pourquoi nous faisons aujourd'hui la collection de films rares, peu connus ou étranges.


  • Article connexe: "10 films sur la psychologie et les troubles mentaux"

Films extravagants et rares

Les films rares sont une évasion des conventions sur la façon de faire des films qui nous aident à penser en dehors de nos cadres mentaux que nous sommes habitués à utiliser.

Soit en raison de son contenu ou de ses aspects formels, les films originaux et étranges peuvent être un véritable choc culturel entre notre manière de comprendre les choses et celle des créateurs de l’œuvre. Ci-dessous vous pouvez voir une sélection de ces films

1. La planète sauvage (Laloux, R.)

C'est un film singulier réalisé par René Laloux, qui présente de nombreuses allégories et messages parfois un peu gênants. . Dans ce film de science-fiction, nous sommes présentés au Draag en tant que race dominante d'êtres sur la planète Ygam, physiquement et avec une technologie bien supérieure à la race qui les sert d'esclaves ou d'animaux de compagnie, les êtres humains appelés Oms dans le film.


Dans ce film, l’humanité est présentée comme une race inférieure persécutée et menacée, persécutant fréquemment les humains sauvages. Cependant, l'un des animaux de compagnie Om, Terr, parvient à s'échapper de son maître avec un appareil auditif qui transmet et contient la connaissance du Draag.

Ce film montre une certaine critique vis-à-vis de la supériorité de l'être humain sur d'autres espèces . Cela reflète l'intolérance, la discrimination et l'abus de pouvoir. Il fait également référence à la peur de l'inconnu et à la lutte entre science / connaissance et superstition (l'aide auditive avec la connaissance du Draag provoque le rejet de certains Oms), ainsi qu'à la recherche de la coexistence et de la paix entre les différentes races. / espèces / peuples.

2. La sorcière (Eggers, R.)

Ce film relativement récent (sorti en 2015) nous parle d'un mariage chrétien avec cinq enfants vers 1630. La famille est excommuniée et finit par vivre dans une forêt que la tradition dit contrôlée par le mal . Au fil du temps, une série de phénomènes étranges commencent à se produire, notamment la disparition d’un des enfants, ce qui semble être une possession dans un autre ou l’infertilité de la terre qui donne de mauvaises récoltes. Au fil du temps, la tension dans la famille fait que la fille adolescente est tenue pour responsable, l'accusant de sorcellerie.


Le film reflète la peur de l'inconnu et les effets de la terreur, de l'anxiété et de l'angoisse sur des éléments tels que l'affection, la raison et la loyauté. Il montre également à quel point la peur de la pensée surnaturelle et magique peut altérer les liens affectifs de la famille.

3. Le déjeuner nu (Cronenberg, D.)

En ce qui concerne "Le déjeuner nu", ce film peut aussi être considéré comme étrange ou étrange . Il montre William William, l'exterminateur d'insectes, qui souffre d'une série d'hallucinations qui seraient dues à une exposition à l'insecticide, qui, selon lui, est une dépendance. Avant cela, il demande l'aide de son médecin, qui lui prescrit un bloqueur appelé "viande noire". Plus tard, il tue sa femme involontairement, après quoi Lee se réfugie dans l'Interzone, où de telles choses étranges se produisent lorsque sa machine à écrire s'anime.

Comme vous pouvez le voir dans le film, c'est une vision des effets de la consommation de drogues hallucinogènes et de la dépendance à ces substances. . Il est également fait référence à la résistance à accepter l'homosexualité elle-même, visible à de nombreux moments du film.

4. Marquis (Xhonneux, H.)

Ce film raconte l'histoire du célèbre marquis de Sade , en France avant la Révolution française. Le récit est basé sur les écrits et la vie du marquis, à partir de son emprisonnement à la Bastille, où chaque cellule est occupée par différents personnages des œuvres de l'auteur controversé.Outre l'argumentation, ce film est également rare pour ses paysages (utilisant des éléments tels que des téléñecos), sa symbologie (pendant une grande partie du film, le marquis discute avec son appareil reproducteur) et ses costumes. Par exemple, dans cette production, tous les acteurs portent des masques d’animaux qui reflètent leur position ou leur personnalité, retrouvant un haut niveau de symbolisme.

C’est l’un des rares films qui, par son esthétique, reflète la lutte de la raison contre l'instinct, la sexualité et son refoulement et exacerbation, trahison et hypocrisie . C’est également l’un des films qui essaient le plus de rendre dignement la figure du marquis de Sade, reflétant sensibilité, désir de liberté et défense du droit à la vie dans le personnage.

5. Dogville (von Trier, L.)

Cette production cinématographique rare s'est développée aux États-Unis pendant la Grande Dépression. . La protagoniste Grace se réfugie dans la ville qui donne son nom au film sur la persécution de la mafia. Grace tente d'aider ses voisins pour gagner leur confiance, ce qui finit par se faire. Cependant, avec le temps, les villageois exigeront de plus en plus pour offrir un refuge, en abusant de l'honnêteté de la femme.

Le film reflète l'avidité et l'abus des nécessiteux, l'utilisation d'autrui et les actions de personnes en situation de désespoir et de trahison.

6. Eraserhead (Lynch, D.)

Un autre des rares films présentés dans cet article est Eraserhead . Ce film en noir et blanc tourne autour du personnage de Henry Spencer, qui a un fils avec son ex-partenaire. L'enfant en question naît avec des difformités, s'occupe d'abord du couple puis prend en charge le protagoniste.

Le film évoque la fuite vers l’intérieur, la nécessité d’échapper aux problèmes, la difficulté de mener une vie tranquille face aux difficultés de l’environnement. Exalte le côté monstrueux de l'humanité, le besoin de liberté et l'acceptation des facettes négatives de la vie et du moi, la culpabilité et les instincts de mort et de suicide.

7. Canine (Lanthimos, Y.)

Ce travail nous parle d'un mariage avec trois enfants qui n'ont jamais quitté la maison , étant l'unique personne dans la vie des membres de la famille, à l'exception d'un employé de sécurité. Les enfants n’ont jamais vu l’extérieur, c’est la ferme où ils vivent entourés d’une clôture. Sa vie est sous la domination de son père, son éducation étant limitée et présentant de graves défauts de compréhension de la réalité.

Le nom du film vient de la promesse des parents que les enfants puissent sortir lorsqu'ils perdent un croc. Personne d'autre n'a de contact avec eux, à l'exception d'une employée de sécurité du père, Cristina, qui sera emmenée pour que le fils puisse avoir des relations sexuelles. Cependant, le contact avec l'agent de sécurité implique une ouverture sur le monde réel , ce qui implique une série de répercussions sur les croyances des jeunes.

Le travail montre les effets d'une éducation rigide, de la tyrannie et de la privation de stimulus, rappelant à de nombreux égards des cas d'enfants sauvages.

8. Réveiller la vie (Linklater, R.)

Ce film raconte l'histoire d'un homme en rêve lucide, après avoir été renversé par une voiture. . Après cet événement, le personnage établit un dialogue interne qui réfléchit sur le sens de la vie et parle avec différents individus de leurs rêves tout en essayant de se réveiller, même s’ils se demandent s’ils seront réellement morts.

Il reflète le monde des rêves, l’inconscient et l’exploration de la pensée et de divers courants philosophiques.

9. Couleur en amont (Carruth, S.)

Ce film raconte l'histoire de deux jeunes, Kriss et Jeff , qui tombent amoureux à cause des effets d’un ver avec la propriété de lier des êtres. Ce ver en question est placé et plus tard extrait par d'autres personnages, il s'agit du personnage appelé "compositeur" qui crée un lien entre des personnes en manipulant les vers puis en les implantant dans des cochons en leur possession afin de visualiser les vies. de ses transporteurs d'origine.

Le film établit une critique du contrôle sociopolitique de l'individu, de l'endoctrinement et du blocage intellectuel. Il est possible de faire un parallèle avec l'autocensure du surmoi proposée par la psychanalyse.

10. Toi, moi et tout le monde (July, M.)

Le film nous emmène voir comment deux personnages tombent amoureux, nous montrant les doutes frustrations et passions, tandis que l’un d’eux se concentre sur les événements de la vie qui arrivent à leurs enfants, devant faire face à des situations de danger telles que le toilettage.

Le film, bien que pas aussi extravagant que d’autres des précédents, c'est un reflet valable des désirs cachés non satisfaits , frustration, dangers des relations à travers des réseaux tels que le toilettage, l’éducation des enfants et l’expérimentation dans le domaine sentimental (dans le cas du fils aîné).

11. Holy Motors (Carax, L.)

Un film étrange qui est, en soi, une référence constante au cinéma lui-même. Dans ce film, le protagoniste joue différents personnages dans la vie réelle, agissant comme ils le feraient dans un monde fictif.

12. Paprika, détective des rêves (Kon, S.)

L'une des grandes références de l'animation japonaise prise au cinéma est également l'un des films les plus rares dans tous les sens. Dans celle-ci l'ambiance onirique et le travail de qualité visuelle ils se mélangent pour offrir une expérience unique basée sur l'incroyable imagination de son directeur, Satoshi Kon.

13. Le goût du thé (Ishii, K.)

Un mélange d’histoires traditionalistes du Japon et de situations les plus surréalistes . Cinéma expérimental qui n'abandonne jamais son esprit tendre et optimiste.

14. Armée suisse (Kwan, D. et Scheinert, D.)

Daniel Radcliffe dans son rôle le plus étrange à ce jour : un cadavre qui, peu à peu, revient à la vie en apprenant à un homme à revivre. Comment il fait? Utiliser des "fonctions spéciales" de votre corps, comme s'il s'agissait d'un couteau suisse.

15. Der Bunker (Chryssos, N.)

Un étudiant décide d'aller vivre avec une famille étrangère pour être le gardien de leur enfant. Le problème n'est pas seulement que l'enfant se comporte de manière très étrange; est-ce que cette famille vit dans un bunker.

Il y a beaucoup d'autres exemples de cinéma bizarre!

La liste actuelle reflète certains des films rares, peu compris ou étranges qui existent, mais nous savons qu’il en existe beaucoup plus. Origine, Shutter Island, Cygne Noir ... Si vous connaissez un film étrange ou peu connu, nous vous invitons cordialement à le partager avec nous. .


LES 10 VOITURES LES PLUS CHERES ET LES PLUS RARES DE TOUS LES TEMPS | Lama Faché (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes