yes, therapy helps!
The 15 types of attitudes, and how they define us

The 15 types of attitudes, and how they define us

May 23, 2022

There are numerous factors that can alter the success or failure of an action. And it is that although we have the real possibility of achieving it, it is not the same to do something as to do it well: our willingness to do so affects the motivation and achievement, degree or even perception of the task or situation.

We are not talking about something that is either A or B, but rather there are a lot of types of attitudes , because this is what we are talking about, what they can have about it.

  • Related article: "The 16 types of feelings and their psychological function"

What are attitudes?

Before entering to evaluate different types of attitudes, it is necessary to take into account what we can consider attitude in itself.


In this sense, it receives the name of attitude to the effect of the set of beliefs and values ​​relatively stable over time in the disposition or tendency to act in a certain way or to undertake some type of action. Is about a determining aspect when carrying out an action and the type of emotion that generates this activity or way of interacting with a specific situation or stimulus.

An attitude can be more or less widespread, being able to refer to a large area or even a specific type of stimulus (is what happens for example with ethnic or racial prejudices).

The attitude towards the world arises from the interaction between biological and hereditary factors (as well as the aptitudes or personality traits, part of them are favored by the genetics of each subject) and environmental factors such as learning along the life of the subject.


Also, they can be actively modified through training or mere exposure to the topic that generates the attitude, for example associating the activity in question with positive or negative reinforcers based on experience.

Attitude functions

The presence of a certain attitude has four basic functions, as proposed by Katz in 1960.

In the first place they have a utilitarian or instrumental function, in the sense that they allow us to undertake and approach the fulfillment of the goals of those who have them.

Another of its functions is that of knowledge, since they allow both process how to even selectively perceive the available information in the environment.

The third of the basic functions of attitudes is the expression of values, allowing to show the beliefs behind the performance itself.


Finally and linked to the previous highlights the role of self-defense, linked to the preservation of self-esteem and self-confidence by allowing the self-affirmation and self-justification of the acts themselves.

The types of attitudes

It is possible to find a wide variety of types of attitudes , classified according to various criteria and without being mutually exclusive. Among them we can observe the following.

1. According to its affective valence

One of the possible ways of classifying emotions is through their affective valence, in the sense of how they allow us to assess the environment and the situation. We can find the following three types of attitudes.

1.1. Positive attitude

One of the most favorable types of attitude is the positive attitude, through which the situation or exposure to a stimulus is visualized in a way that favors positive and optimistic interpretation regardless of whether difficulties are faced, bringing the subject closer to stimulation or action already the pursuit of achieving goals in a healthy way , confident and generally disciplined. It is usually contagious.

1.2. Negative attitude

Type of attitude that generates a negative and pessimistic view of reality, generally maximizing the aversive experience and giving little value or directly not seeing the positive aspects of the situation. It usually generates an avoidance of acting or a complaining behavior beyond the rational , making it difficult to achieve goals. Like the positive one, it is usually contagious.

1.3. Neutral attitude

We can consider as a neutral attitude one in which the judgment and the thought is not colored by an emotionality neither positive nor negative. Is about one of the less frequent types of attitude and usually belongs to people who claim to be impartial in their judgments.

2. Classification according to your activity orientation

Another type of classification, not incompatible with the previous one, refers to the way in which the individual dispositions generate a concrete approach or orientation towards the idea of ​​carrying out a behavior or activity. In this sense and we can highlight the following.

2.1. Proactive attitude

A type of attitude in which the action is prioritized and the autonomous and active search for an improvement in the performance or performance of the activity or an autonomous search for the solution of problems that may arise.It is a kind of mentality that promotes creativity and the generation of added value , as well as the pursuit of the achievement of the present objectives and even looking for new challenges to achieve after that. It is highly valued in the labor market.

2.2. Reactive attitude

This type of attitude is also linked to the performance and implementation of behavior, but with a more passive mentality and dependent on the established. A reactive person will depend to a great extent on instructions and resources and will have more difficulties to face unforeseen problems, not being autonomous. Predisposes to conformism and non-action if there is nothing that forces her.

3. Classification according to the motivation to act

Other types of attitudes that can be considered arise not so much from how we are oriented towards the activity but what motivates us to do so. In this sense we can find the following types of attitudes.

3.1. Interested attitude

This type of attitude implies that what you are looking for in your action is achieving their own individual goals , not taking into account or valuing the needs of others very little.

The benefit itself is sought, either directly or indirectly and may be more or less obvious. You can also seek the benefit of others, but you must always report some kind of personal benefit (even if it is at the level of social consideration). Promotes another type of attitude that we will see later, the manipulative .

3.2. Selfless / altruistic attitude

The subject with this type of attitude carries out its acts with the purpose of generating a benefit for others or independently of that it may not generate profits or even that it may cause losses. It is unusual, because most actions generate secondary benefits to the subject itself even at the psychic level.

  • You may be interested: "Altruism: development of the prosocial self in children"

4. Depending on the relationship with others

In addition to the objectives themselves, attitudes can also be classified according to how they interact with others.

4.1. Collaborating / integrating attitude

A kind of attitude of great use, promotes interaction with others so that everyone can achieve their goals and achieve their goals both shared and individual.

4.2. Manipulative attitude

This type of attitude is the one that has someone who voluntarily and consciously uses others, reifying them in order to obtain their own objectives, favor their interests or direct the situation to a desired point for them.

4.3. Passive attitude

It is a type of attitude derived from a negative view of reality, in which it is presented an absence of initiative and activity , not seeking the approach to action but its avoidance. On a personal level they can subordinate their wishes to those of others, being dependent and not defending their rights.

4.4. Aggressive attitude

A way of acting and taking situations in such a way that they defend their own rights independently of those of others, coming to ignore them or underestimate them if they are contrary to those of the subject.

  • Related article: "The 4 main theories of aggression: how is aggression explained?"

4.5. Assertive attitude

A type of attitude in which the subject defend their own opinions and rights consistently, but respecting those of others and being flexible in such a way that the other is respected and space is given for negotiation.

4.6. Permissive attitude

This type of attitude is largely linked to the propensity to be extremely flexible, allowing and valuing deviations from the norm .

5. According to the type of elements that are used to assess the stimuli

Another type of attitude is linked to our way of processing reality or the type of aspects that are used to assess each situation.

5.1. Emotional / emotional attitude

The emotional or emotional attitude is what those who have tend to be based on the emotional and to value one's own and others' affections. They tend to be more generous, romantic and affective both in their interactions and when assessing situations (sometimes even contrary to rationality).

5.2. Rational attitude

They have people who rely on the use of logic and reason when assessing reality, often ignoring irrational or emotional aspects.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gerd Bohner 2002. Attitudes and Attitude Change: Social Psychology. Psychology Press.
  • Icek Ajzen. 2005. Attitudes, Personality, and Behavior. McGraw-Hill International.
  • Young, K; J.C. Flügel. "Psychology of attitudes". Paidós SA.

What Is Your Soul Element? Cool Personality Test (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 15 types d'attitudes et leur définition

Les 15 types d'attitudes et leur définition

Mai 24, 2022

De nombreux facteurs peuvent altérer le succès ou l’échec d’une action. Et c’est que, bien que nous ayons la possibilité réelle de le réaliser, il n’est pas la même chose que de bien le faire: notre volonté de le faire affecte la motivation et la réussite, le degré ou même la perception de la tâche ou de la situation.

Nous ne parlons pas de quelque chose qui est soit A ou B, mais plutôt il y a beaucoup de types d'attitudes , parce que c’est ce dont nous parlons, ce qu’ils peuvent en avoir.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 types de sentiments et leur fonction psychologique"

Quelles sont les attitudes?

Avant de pouvoir évaluer différents types d’attitudes, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte ce que l’on peut considérer comme une attitude.


En ce sens, il reçoit le nom d'attitude vis-à-vis de l'effet d'un ensemble de croyances et de valeurs relativement stable dans le temps dans la disposition ou la tendance à agir d'une certaine manière ou à entreprendre un type d'action quelconque. Il s'agit de un aspect déterminant lors de la réalisation d'une action et le type d'émotion qui génère cette activité ou cette façon d'interagir avec une situation ou un stimulus spécifique.

Une attitude peut être plus ou moins répandue, être capable de se référer à une grande surface ou même à un type spécifique de stimulus (est ce qui se passe par exemple avec des préjugés ethniques ou raciaux).

L’attitude envers le monde découle de l’interaction entre facteurs biologiques et héréditaires (ainsi que les aptitudes ou les traits de personnalité, dont une partie est favorisée par la génétique de chaque sujet) et de facteurs environnementaux tels que l’apprentissage simultané. la vie du sujet.


En outre, ils peuvent être modifiés activement par le biais d'une formation ou d'une simple exposition au sujet qui génère l'attitude, par exemple associer l'activité en question à des renforçateurs positifs ou négatifs basé sur l'expérience.

Fonctions d'attitude

La présence d’une certaine attitude a quatre fonctions de base, comme proposé par Katz en 1960.

En premier lieu, ils ont une fonction utilitaire ou instrumentale, dans le sens où ils nous permettent d’entreprendre et d’approcher la réalisation des objectifs de ceux qui les ont.

Une autre de ses fonctions est celle de la connaissance, puisqu'elles permettent à la fois traiter comment percevoir même de manière sélective les informations disponibles dans l'environnement.

La troisième des fonctions de base des attitudes est l'expression de valeurs, ce qui permet de montrer les croyances derrière la performance elle-même.


Enfin, en lien avec ce qui précède, le rôle de la légitime défense est lié à la préservation de l’estime de soi et de la confiance en soi en permettant l’affirmation de soi et la justification des actes eux-mêmes.

Les types d'attitudes

Il est possible de trouver une grande variété de types d’attitudes , classés selon divers critères et sans s’exclure mutuellement. Parmi eux, nous pouvons observer les suivants.

1. Selon sa valence affective

L'une des manières possibles de classer les émotions est de les valoriser affectivement, c'est-à-dire de nous permettre d'évaluer l'environnement et la situation. Nous pouvons trouver les trois types d’attitudes suivants.

1.1. Attitude positive

L'un des types d'attitude les plus favorables est l'attitude positive, à travers laquelle la situation ou l'exposition à un stimulus est visualisée de manière à favoriser une interprétation positive et optimiste, que des difficultés soient rencontrées, amenant le sujet plus près de la stimulation. ou action déjà la poursuite d'objectifs sains , confiant et généralement discipliné. C'est généralement contagieux.

1.2. Attitude négative

Type d'attitude qui génère une vision négative et pessimiste de la réalité, maximisant généralement l'expérience aversive et donnant peu de valeur ou ne voyant pas directement les aspects positifs de la situation. Généralement, cela évite d’agir ou de un comportement plaintif au-delà du rationnel , ce qui rend difficile la réalisation des objectifs. Comme le positif, il est généralement contagieux.

1.3. Attitude neutre

On peut considérer comme une attitude neutre une attitude dans laquelle le jugement et la pensée ne sont pas colorés par une émotivité ni positive ni négative. Il s'agit de l'un des types d'attitude moins fréquents et appartient généralement à des personnes qui prétendent être impartiales dans leurs jugements.

2. Classification en fonction de votre orientation d'activité

Un autre type de classification, non incompatible avec la précédente, fait référence à la manière dont les dispositions individuelles génèrent une approche ou une orientation concrète vers la réalisation d’un comportement ou d’une activité. En ce sens, nous pouvons souligner les points suivants.

2.1. Attitude proactive

Un type d’attitude dans lequel l’action est priorisée et la recherche autonome et active d’une amélioration de la performance ou de la performance de l’activité ou d’une recherche autonome de la solution des problèmes pouvant surgirC’est une sorte de mentalité qui favorise la créativité et la génération de valeur ajoutée , ainsi que la poursuite de la réalisation des objectifs actuels et même la recherche de nouveaux défis à relever par la suite. Il est très apprécié sur le marché du travail.

2.2. Attitude réactive

Ce type d’attitude est également lié à la performance et à la mise en œuvre du comportement, mais avec une mentalité plus passive et dépendante de l’établi. Une personne réactive dépendra dans une large mesure d'instructions et de ressources et aura plus de difficultés à faire face à des problèmes imprévus, sans être autonome. Prédispose au conformisme et à la non-action s'il n'y a rien qui la force.

3. Classification en fonction de la motivation à agir

D’autres types d’attitudes à prendre en compte découlent moins de la manière dont nous nous orientons vers l’activité que de ce qui nous motive à le faire. En ce sens, nous pouvons trouver les types d’attitudes suivants.

3.1. Attitude intéressée

Ce type d’attitude implique que ce que vous recherchez dans votre action est atteindre leurs propres objectifs individuels , ne tenant pas compte ou ne valorisant que très peu les besoins des autres.

Le bénéfice lui-même est recherché, directement ou indirectement, et peut être plus ou moins évident. Vous pouvez également rechercher le bénéfice des autres, mais vous devez toujours signaler un avantage personnel (même s'il est au niveau de la considération sociale). Favorise un autre type d'attitude que nous verrons plus tard, le manipulateur .

3.2. Attitude altruiste / altruiste

Le sujet qui adopte ce type d’attitude accomplit ses actes dans le but de générer un bénéfice pour les autres ou indépendamment du fait qu’il ne génère aucun profit ou même qu’il peut causer des pertes. C'est inhabituel, car la plupart des actions génèrent des avantages secondaires pour le sujet lui-même, même au niveau psychique.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Altruisme: développement du soi prosocial chez les enfants"

4. En fonction de la relation avec les autres

En plus des objectifs eux-mêmes, les attitudes peuvent également être classées en fonction de la manière dont elles interagissent avec les autres.

4.1. Attitude de collaboration / intégration

Une sorte d'attitude d'une grande utilité, favorise l'interaction avec les autres afin que chacun puisse atteindre ses objectifs et atteindre ses objectifs partagés et individuels.

4.2. Attitude manipulatrice

Ce type d’attitude est celui qui a une personne qui utilise volontairement et consciemment les autres, les réifiant afin d’obtenir leurs propres objectifs, de favoriser leurs intérêts ou de diriger la situation à un point souhaité pour eux.

4.3. Attitude passive

C’est un type d’attitude dérivé d’une vision négative de la réalité, dans laquelle elle se présente une absence d'initiative et d'activité , ne cherchant pas l’approche de l’action mais son évitement. Sur le plan personnel, ils peuvent subordonner leurs souhaits à ceux des autres, étant dépendants et ne défendant pas leurs droits.

4.4. Attitude agressive

Une façon d’agir et de prendre des situations de telle manière qu’ils défendent leurs propres droits indépendamment de ceux des autres, en venant à les ignorer ou à les sous-estimer s’ils sont contraires à ceux du sujet.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 principales théories de l'agression: comment expliquer l'agression?"

4.5 Attitude assertive

Un type d'attitude dans lequel le sujet défendre leurs propres opinions et droits de manière cohérente, mais en respectant celles des autres et être flexible de manière à ce que l’autre soit respecté et qu’un espace soit laissé à la négociation.

4.6. Attitude permissive

Ce type d’attitude est en grande partie lié à la propension à être extrêmement flexible, permettre et valoriser les écarts par rapport à la norme .

5. Selon le type d’éléments utilisés pour évaluer les stimuli

Un autre type d'attitude est lié à notre façon de traiter la réalité ou au type d'aspect utilisé pour évaluer chaque situation.

5.1. Attitude émotionnelle / émotionnelle

L'attitude émotionnelle ou émotionnelle est ce que ceux qui ont ont tendance à être basé sur l'émotionnel et valoriser ses propres affections et celles des autres. Ils ont tendance à être plus généreux, romantiques et affectifs dans leurs interactions et lors de l'évaluation de situations (parfois même contraires à la rationalité).

5.2. Attitude rationnelle

Certains ont recours à la logique et à la raison pour évaluer la réalité, ignorant souvent les aspects irrationnels ou émotionnels.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gerd Bohner 2002. Attitudes et changement d'attitude: psychologie sociale. Presse de psychologie.
  • Icek Ajzen. 2005. Attitudes, personnalité et comportement. McGraw-Hill International.
  • Young, K; J.C. Flügel. "Psychologie des attitudes". Paidós SA.

C'est pas sorcier -PLANETE SOUS TOUTES SES LATITUDES (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes