yes, therapy helps!
The 16 most common mental disorders

The 16 most common mental disorders

January 22, 2022

Mental disorders are diagnosed regularly in our day, and everyone knows to a lesser or greater extent what depression, anxiety disorder, bulimia means , etc. However, some are more frequent than others, which makes those that are more widespread deserve an extra degree of attention.

Psychopathologies affect a large number of people. In fact, experts say that one in three people suffer or suffer some type of mental disorder during his life.

Mental disorders that affect more people

But, what are the most common disorders? What are those disorders that affect a greater number of people?


Next I present you A brief explanation of the most frequent mental disorders.

1. Anxiety Disorders

Anxiety is a normal reaction of people in situations of stress and uncertainty. Now, a anxiety disorder it is diagnosed when several anxious symptoms cause anguish or some degree of functional deterioration in the life of the individual who suffers it. A person with an anxiety disorder may find it difficult to function in different areas of their life: social and family relationships, work, school, etc. There are different types of anxiety disorders:

1.1. Panic attack

A panic attack is the sudden and intense appearance of fear or terror, often associated with feelings of imminent death. Symptoms include shortness of breath, palpitations, chest pain and discomfort.


1.2. Phobic disorders

Many people admit that they are afraid of snakes or spiders, but they can tolerate that fear. Individuals who suffer from a phobia, on the other hand, are not able to tolerate that fear. They experience an irrational fear when faced with the phobic stimulus, whether it is an object, an animal or a situation, and this usually ends in avoidance behavior.

There are different phobic stimuli that unleash this irrational fear: flying with an airplane, driving a vehicle, elevators, clowns, dentists, blood, storms, etc. Some of the most common are:

1.2.1. Social phobia

Social phobia is a very common anxiety disorder, and should not be confused with shyness. It is a strong irrational fear towards situations of social interaction, because the person suffering from this disorder feels extreme anxiety when being judged by others, being the center of attention, by the idea of ​​being criticized or humiliated by other individuals and, even, by talk on the phone with other people. Therefore, he is unable to make presentations in public, eat in restaurants or in front of someone, go to social events, meet new people ...


1.2.2. Agoraphobia

Agoraphobia, usually, is defined as an irrational fear of open spaces, such as large avenues, parks or natural environments. But this definition is not entirely true. The phobic stimulus is not parks or large avenues, but the situation of having an anxiety attack in these places, where it can be difficult or shameful to escape, or where it is not possible to receive help.

1.3. Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

Posttraumatic Stress Disorder manifests when the person has been exposed to a traumatic situation that has caused the individual a stressful psychological experience , which can be disabling. Symptoms include: nightmares, feelings of anger, irritability or emotional fatigue, detachment from others, etc., when the person relives the traumatic event.

Frequently, the person will try to avoid situations or activities that bring back memories of the event that caused the trauma.

1.4. Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD)

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD) is a condition in which the individual experiences intrusive thoughts, ideas or images . It is an anxiety disorder, and therefore is characterized by being associated with feelings of fear, anguish and continued stress in such a way that it is a problem for the day to day and negatively affects the quality of life of the person.

The thoughts that cause discomfort (obsessions), cause the person to perform certain rituals or actions (compulsions) to reduce anxiety and feel better.

Obsessions include: fear of becoming contaminated, feelings of doubt (for example, Will I have turned off the gas?), thoughts of hurting someone, thoughts that go against the religious beliefs of the person, among others. Compulsions include: checking, counting, washing, repeatedly organizing things, and so on.

1.5. Generalized anxiety disorder

Worrying from time to time is normal behavior, but when worrying and feeling anxiety continuously affects and interferes with the normality of an individual's life it is possible that that person suffers the Generalized Anxiety Disorder.

Therefore, the disorder is characterized by chronic worry and anxiety. It's as if there's always something to worry about: problems in school, work, or a relationship, having an accident when leaving home, and so on. Some of the symptoms are: nausea, fatigue, muscle tension, concentration problems, sleep problems, and more.

2. Mood Disorders

There are different types of mood disorders or affective disorders and, as the name suggests, its main underlying characteristic would be an alteration of the mood of the individual . The most common are the following:

2.1. Bipolar disorder

Bipolar disorder can affect how a person feels, thinks and acts. It is characterized by Exaggerated changes in mood, from mania to major depression . Therefore, it goes beyond simple mood swings, that is, emotional instability: in fact, it affects many areas of life, and besides being one of the most common disorders, it is frequent to occur along with obesity . Cycles of bipolar disorder last for days, weeks or months, and seriously harm the work and social relationships of the person who suffers.

Bipolar disorder can rarely be treated without medication, as it is necessary to stabilize the patient's mood. During episodes of mania, the person can even quit his job, increase his debts, and feel full of energy despite sleeping only two hours a day. During depressive episodes, the same person may not even get out of bed. There are different types of bipolar disorder, and, in addition, there is a mild version of this disorder, called cyclothymia.

2.2. Depressive disorder

Many people feel depressed at some point in their lives. Feelings of discouragement, frustration and even despair are normal in the face of disappointment and may last several days before disappearing gradually. Now, for some people, These feelings can last for months and years, causing serious problems in your day to day .

The depression It is a serious and debilitating psychopathology, and it affects how an individual feels, thinks and acts. It can cause both physical and psychological symptoms. For example: problems of intake, sleep problems, discomfort, fatigue, etc.

To know more about the types of depression you can visit our article:

  • "Are there several types of depression?"

3. Eating Disorders

There are different types of eating disorders. The most common are those that follow:

3.1. Nervous Anorexia

Anorexia is characterized by an obsession to control the amount of food consumed . One of its most characteristic symptoms is the distortion of the body image. People suffering from anorexia restrict the intake of food by dieting, fasting and even excessive physical exercise. They almost do not eat, and the little they eat causes an intense feeling of discomfort.

3.2. Nervous Bulimia

Bulimia is a disorder of eating behavior that is characterized by abnormal feeding patterns, with episodes of massive food intake followed by maneuvers that seek to eliminate those calories (induce vomiting, consume laxatives, etc.). After these episodes, the usual thing is that the subject feels sad, in a bad mood and has feelings of self-pity.

Bulimia nervosa, in addition to being one of the most common disorders, is associated with alterations in the brain. Among them is the degradation of the white matter (which is where the thick sets of neuronal axons pass) in the corona radiata, which is related, among other things, to the processing of the flavors.

3.3. Binge eating disorder

Binge eating disorder is a serious disorder in which the individual who suffers it frequently consumes large amounts of food and he feels he has lost control during the binge. After overeating, severe anxiety or worry about weight usually appears.

4. Psychotic disorders

The psychotic disorders they are serious psychopathologies in which people lose touch with reality . Two of the main symptoms are delusions and hallucinations. Delusions are false beliefs, such as the idea that someone is following. Hallucinations are false perceptions, such as listening, seeing or feeling something that does not exist.

Unlike delusions, which are erroneous beliefs of reality about an existing fact or object, that is, a distortion of an external stimulus, hallucinations are totally invented by the mind and are not the product of the distortion of any object present , something is perceived without taking external stimuli into account. For example, hear voices coming from a socket. The most common psychotic disorders are:

4.1. Delirious disorder

The delusional disorder or paranoia is a psychotic disorder characterized by one or several delusional ideas. That is, these people are totally convinced of things that are not true. For example, someone chases them to hurt them.

4.2. Schizophrenia

Schizophrenia is another psychotic disorder, but in this case, the person suffers hallucinations and disturbing thoughts that isolates him from social activity . Schizophrenia is a very serious pathology, and although there is no cure, there are effective treatments so that patients with this disorder can enjoy their lives.

5. Personality disorders

A personality disorder it's a rigid and permanent pattern in the behavior of a person that generates discomfort or difficulties in their relationships and their environment . Personality disorders start in adolescence or early adulthood. The most frequent are:

5.1. Personality Limit Disorder (BPD)

Borderline personality disorder or borderline it is characterized because the people who suffer it they have a weak and changing personality, and they doubt everything . The moments of calm can become, instantly and without warning, moments of anger, anxiety or despair. These individuals live their emotions to the fullest, and love relationships are intense, as they usually idolize the other person to the extreme.

Some of its symptoms are: intense anger and inability to control it, frantic efforts to avoid abandonment, real or imaginary, alternating between extremes of idealization and devaluation in interpersonal relationships, markedly unstable self-image, and chronic feelings of emptiness.

5.2. Antisocial disorder (TASP)

The individual who suffers from this disorder (badly known with labels such as psychopathy or sociopathy) is characterized by tendency not to relate in society, avoiding any interaction . The different symptoms and behaviors that characterize the TASP include: robbery, aggressiveness, tendency to loneliness, violence, lies ... In addition, people affected by the TASP tend to be shy, depressed and have social anxiety. This last point is due to their fear of being rejected. Despite this, psychological therapy is very effective in managing the disadvantages of antisocial disorder.

Bibliographic references:

  • Metter, L. (2013). White matter integrity is reduced in bulimia nervosa. The international journal of eating disorders, 46 (3), pp. 264-273.
  • Veale, D. (2014). Obsessive-compulsive disorder.British Medical Journal, 348, 348: g2183.
  • Weeks, J. (2013). Gaze avoidance in social anxiety disorder. Depression and anxiety, 30 (8), pp. 749 -756.
  • Zhao, Z. (2016). The potential association between obesity and bipolar disorder: A meta-analysis. Journal of affective disorders, 202, pp. 120 -123.

    Psychological Disorders: Crash Course Psychology #28 (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants

Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants

Juin 25, 2019

Les troubles mentaux sont diagnostiqués régulièrement de nos jours et tout le monde sait, à un degré moindre ou plus grand, ce que signifie dépression, trouble d'anxiété, boulimie etc. Cependant, certains sont plus fréquents que d'autres, ce qui oblige ceux qui sont plus répandus à mériter une plus grande attention.

Les psychopathologies touchent un grand nombre de personnes. En fait, selon les experts, une personne sur trois souffrirait ou souffrirait d'un trouble mental au cours de sa vie.

Troubles mentaux qui touchent plus de gens

Mais quels sont les troubles les plus courants? Quels sont ces troubles qui touchent un plus grand nombre de personnes?


Ensuite je vous présente Une brève explication des troubles mentaux les plus fréquents.

1. Troubles anxieux

L'anxiété est une réaction normale des personnes en situation de stress et d'incertitude. Maintenant, un trouble d'anxiété il est diagnostiqué lorsque plusieurs symptômes anxieux provoquent de l'angoisse ou un certain degré de détérioration fonctionnelle dans la vie de l'individu qui le subit. Une personne atteinte de trouble anxieux peut avoir des difficultés à fonctionner dans différents domaines de sa vie: relations sociales et familiales, travail, études, etc. Il existe différents types de troubles anxieux:

1.1. Attaque de panique

Une attaque de panique est l'apparition soudaine et intense de peur ou de terreur, souvent associée à des sentiments de mort imminente. Les symptômes incluent essoufflement, palpitations, douleur à la poitrine et inconfort.


1.2. Troubles phobiques

Beaucoup de gens admettent qu'ils ont peur des serpents ou des araignées, mais ils peuvent tolérer cette peur. Les personnes souffrant de phobie, en revanche, ne sont pas capables de tolérer cette peur. Ils éprouvent une peur irrationnelle devant le stimulus phobique, qu’il s’agisse d’un objet, d’un animal ou d’une situation, et cela aboutit généralement à un comportement d’évitement.

Différents stimulants phobiques libèrent cette peur irrationnelle: voler avec un avion, conduire un véhicule, des ascenseurs, des clowns, des dentistes, du sang, des tempêtes, etc. Certains des plus communs sont:

1.2.1. Phobie sociale

La phobie sociale est un trouble anxieux très courant et ne doit pas être confondue avec la timidité. C’est une grande peur irrationnelle vis-à-vis des situations d’interaction sociale, car la personne atteinte de ce trouble ressent une extrême anxiété lorsqu’elle est jugée par les autres, au centre de l’attention, par l’idée d’être critiquée ou humiliée par d’autres personnes et même par parler au téléphone avec d'autres personnes. Par conséquent, il est incapable de faire des présentations en public, de manger dans des restaurants ou devant quelqu'un, d'assister à des événements sociaux, de rencontrer de nouvelles personnes ...


1.2.2. Agoraphobie

L'agoraphobie est généralement définie comme une peur irrationnelle des espaces ouverts, tels que les grandes avenues, les parcs ou les environnements naturels. Mais cette définition n'est pas tout à fait vraie. Le stimulus phobique ne concerne pas les parcs ou les grandes avenues, mais la situation d’une crise d’anxiété dans ces endroits où il peut être difficile ou honteux de s’échapper ou où il est impossible de recevoir de l’aide.

1.3. Trouble de stress post-traumatique (SSPT)

Le syndrome de stress post-traumatique se manifeste lorsque la personne a été exposée à une situation traumatique qui lui a causé une expérience psychologique stressante , ce qui peut être invalidant. Les symptômes incluent: cauchemars, sentiments de colère, irritabilité ou fatigue émotionnelle, détachement des autres, etc., lorsque la personne revit l'événement traumatique.

Fréquemment, la personne essaiera d’éviter des situations ou des activités qui ramèneront des souvenirs de l’événement qui a provoqué le traumatisme.

1.4. Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC)

Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC) est une affection dans laquelle la personne éprouve des pensées, des idées ou des images intrusives . Il s’agit d’un trouble anxieux, qui se caractérise par le fait qu’il est associé à des sentiments de peur, d’angoisse et de stress continu, de sorte qu’il pose problème au jour le jour et affecte négativement la qualité de vie de la personne.

Les pensées qui causent un inconfort (obsessions) amènent la personne à effectuer certains rituels ou actions (compulsions) pour réduire l'anxiété et se sentir mieux.

Les obsessions incluent: la peur de devenir contaminée, des sentiments de doute (par exemple, Aurai-je coupé le gaz?), des pensées de blesser quelqu'un, des pensées qui vont à l’encontre des croyances religieuses de la personne, entre autres. Les compulsions comprennent: vérifier, compter, laver, organiser à plusieurs reprises des choses, etc.

1.5 Trouble d'anxiété généralisé

S'inquiéter de temps en temps est un comportement normal, mais lorsque vous vous inquiétez et ressentez de l'anxiété, cela affecte et interfère continuellement avec la normalité de la vie d'un individu il est possible que cette personne soit atteinte du trouble d'anxiété généralisé.

Par conséquent, le trouble est caractérisé par une inquiétude et une anxiété chroniques. C'est comme s'il y avait toujours quelque chose à craindre: des problèmes à l'école, au travail ou dans une relation, un accident à la sortie de la maison, etc. Certains des symptômes sont les suivants: nausée, fatigue, tension musculaire, problèmes de concentration, problèmes de sommeil, etc.

2. Troubles de l'humeur

Il existe différents types de troubles de l'humeur o troubles affectifs et, comme son nom l'indique, sa principale caractéristique sous-jacente serait une altération de l'humeur de l'individu . Les plus courants sont les suivants:

2.1. Trouble bipolaire

Le trouble bipolaire peut affecter la façon dont une personne se sent, pense et agit. Caractérisé par Changements d'humeur exagérés, de la manie à la dépression majeure . Par conséquent, cela va au-delà des simples sautes d’humeur, c’est-à-dire de l’instabilité émotionnelle: en fait, il affecte de nombreux domaines de la vie. . Les cycles du trouble bipolaire durent plusieurs jours, semaines ou mois et nuisent gravement au travail et aux relations sociales de la personne qui en souffre.

Le trouble bipolaire peut rarement être traité sans médicament, car il est nécessaire de stabiliser l'humeur du patient. Lors d'épisodes de manie, la personne peut même quitter son emploi, augmenter ses dettes et se sentir pleine d'énergie même si elle ne dort que deux heures par jour. Lors d'épisodes dépressifs, la même personne peut ne même pas sortir du lit. Il existe différents types de troubles bipolaires et, en outre, il existe une version bénigne de ce trouble, appelée cyclothymie.

2.2. Trouble dépressif

Beaucoup de gens se sentent déprimés à un moment de leur vie. Les sentiments de découragement, de frustration et même de désespoir sont normaux face à la déception et peuvent durer plusieurs jours avant de disparaître progressivement. Maintenant, pour certaines personnes, Ces sentiments peuvent durer des mois et des années et causer de graves problèmes au quotidien. .

Le dépression C'est une psychopathologie grave et débilitante, qui affecte la façon dont une personne se sent, pense et agit. Cela peut causer des symptômes physiques et psychologiques. Par exemple: problèmes d'ingestion, problèmes de sommeil, inconfort, fatigue, etc.

Pour en savoir plus sur les types de dépression, visitez notre article:

  • "Y at-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

3. Troubles de l'alimentation

Il existe différents types de troubles de l'alimentation. Les plus communs sont ceux qui suivent:

3.1. Anorexie nerveuse

L'anorexie est caractérisée par une obsession de contrôler la quantité de nourriture consommée . L'un des symptômes les plus caractéristiques est la distorsion de l'image corporelle. Les personnes souffrant d'anorexie limitent leur consommation d'aliments en suivant un régime, en jeûnant ou même en faisant de l'exercice physique de manière excessive. Ils ne mangent presque pas et le peu qu'ils mangent provoque une intense sensation d'inconfort.

3.2. Boulimie nerveuse

La boulimie est un trouble du comportement alimentaire caractérisé par des habitudes alimentaires anormales, avec des épisodes d'ingestion massive d'aliments suivis de manœuvres visant à éliminer ces calories (faire vomir, consommer des laxatifs, etc.). Après ces épisodes, la chose habituelle est que le sujet se sente triste, de mauvaise humeur et s'apitoie sur lui-même.

La boulimie nerveuse, en plus d'être l'un des troubles les plus courants, est associée à des altérations du cerveau. Parmi celles-ci, il y a la dégradation de la substance blanche (c'est là que passent les épaisses axones neuronales) dans la corona radiata, qui est liée, entre autres, au traitement des arômes.

3.3. Trouble de la frénésie alimentaire

La frénésie alimentaire est un trouble grave dans lequel la personne qui en souffre consomme fréquemment de grandes quantités de nourriture et il sent qu'il a perdu le contrôle pendant la frénésie. Après avoir trop mangé, une anxiété grave ou une inquiétude concernant le poids apparaît généralement.

4. Troubles psychotiques

Le troubles psychotiques ce sont des psychopathologies graves dans lesquelles les gens perdent le contact avec la réalité . Les délires et les hallucinations sont les deux principaux symptômes. Les idées délirantes sont de fausses croyances, telles que l'idée que quelqu'un suit. Les hallucinations sont de fausses perceptions, telles qu'écouter, voir ou ressentir quelque chose qui n'existe pas.

Contrairement aux illusions, qui sont des croyances erronées sur la réalité d'un fait ou d'un objet existant, c'est-à-dire une distorsion d'un stimulus externe, les hallucinations sont totalement inventées par l'esprit et ne sont pas le produit de la distorsion d'un objet présent , quelque chose est perçu sans prendre en compte les stimuli externes. Par exemple, entendez les voix provenant d'une prise. Les troubles psychotiques les plus courants sont:

4.1. Trouble délirant

Le trouble délirant o paranoïa est un trouble psychotique caractérisé par une ou plusieurs idées délirantes. C'est-à-dire que ces personnes sont totalement convaincues de choses qui ne sont pas vraies. Par exemple, quelqu'un les poursuit pour leur faire du mal.

4.2. La schizophrénie

La schizophrénie est un autre trouble psychotique, mais dans ce cas, la personne souffre d'hallucinations et de pensées dérangeantes qui l'isolent de l'activité sociale . La schizophrénie est une pathologie très grave et, bien qu’il n’y ait pas de traitement curatif, il existe des traitements efficaces pour que les patients atteints de ce trouble puissent jouir de la vie.

5. Troubles de la personnalité

Un trouble de la personnalité c'est un modèle rigide et permanent le comportement d'une personne qui génère un inconfort ou des difficultés dans ses relations et son environnement . Les troubles de la personnalité commencent à l'adolescence ou au début de l'âge adulte. Les plus fréquents sont:

5.1. Trouble de limite de personnalité (DBP)

Trouble de la personnalité limite ou limite il est caractérisé parce que les gens qui le souffrent ils ont une personnalité faible et changeante, et ils doutent de tout . Les moments de calme peuvent devenir, instantanément et sans préavis, des moments de colère, d'anxiété ou de désespoir. Ces personnes vivent leurs émotions au maximum et les relations amoureuses sont intenses, car elles idolâtrent généralement l'autre personne à l'extrême.

Certains de ses symptômes sont les suivants: colère intense et incapacité à la maîtriser, efforts frénétiques pour éviter l’abandon, réels ou imaginaires, alternance d'extrêmes d'idéalisation et de dévaluation dans les relations interpersonnelles, image de soi nettement instable et sentiments chroniques de vide.

5.2. Trouble antisocial (TASP)

L'individu qui souffre de ce trouble (mal connu avec des étiquettes telles que psychopathie ou sociopathie) se caractérise par tendance à ne pas avoir de relations sociales, en évitant toute interaction . Les différents symptômes et comportements qui caractérisent le TASP incluent: vol qualifié, agressivité, tendance à la solitude, violence, mensonges… De plus, les personnes touchées par le TASP ont tendance à être timides, déprimées et angoissées par la société. Ce dernier point est dû à leur peur d'être rejeté. Malgré cela, la thérapie psychologique est très efficace pour gérer les inconvénients du désordre antisocial.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Metter, L. (2013). L'intégrité de la substance blanche est réduite dans la boulimie nerveuse. Le journal international des troubles de l'alimentation, 46 (3), pp. 264-273.
  • Veale, D. (2014). Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.British Medical Journal, 348, 348: g2183.
  • Weeks, J. (2013). Eviter le regard dans le trouble d'anxiété sociale. Dépression et anxiété, 30 (8), pp. 749 -756.
  • Zhao, Z. (2016). L'association potentielle entre l'obésité et le trouble bipolaire: une méta-analyse. Journal of affective troubles, 202, pp. 120 -123.

    Troubles Obsessionnels-compulsifs: souffrance réelle ou fictive? (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes