yes, therapy helps!
The 16 most common psychological consultation reasons

The 16 most common psychological consultation reasons

January 10, 2023

As reflected by the World Health Organization in 2016, one in four people suffer or will suffer throughout his life some kind of mental disorder .

And it is that the human psyche is continually subjected to great tensions, environments and problematic situations that facilitate the appearance of states of great suffering or great difficulties or even inability to deal with the source of their discomfort. That is why the figure of the psychologist is will continue to be increasingly necessary worldwide, as a figure of support with which to achieve the necessary improvement or treatment.

There are many reasons that can lead a person to require psychological help, but nevertheless some of them are more common than others. That is why throughout this article we are going to reflect several of the most common reasons for psychological consultation , as well as its characteristics and symptoms.


  • Related article: "The 18 types of mental illnesses"

The most common psychological consultation reasons

Then we leave you with a total of sixteen of the most common reasons for a client or patient to visit a psychologist or psychologist (some of them focused or specialized in certain areas). Among them we can find from mental disorders complex situations difficult to handle but that do not necessarily include the existence of a disorder, such as those linked to interpersonal relationships .

There are also other problems such as personality disorders, but although many are relatively prevalent, they are not usually a reason to consult.


1. Adaptive disorder

One of the most common reasons for consultation in the clinic, and that actually more than a disorder refers to a response of great anxiety, stress or emotional distress greater than expected and with affectation to diverse levels of the functionality in the day to day of the subject which are derived from a situation or clearly identifiable stressful event, which is the origin of the alteration and that happens within three months (usually before the month) subsequent to the event in question.

If the person manages to resolve this situation, the discomfort ends up disappearing before six months.

This is the case, for example, of people who have lost their jobs, who suffer from work stress, who have emigrated and still do not feel the new home as such, who have separated, who suffer from mobbing or bullying, who have been evicted or who have been diagnosed with a disease.


Is about painful situations in which they generate severe stress and / or continued which surpasses the subject and which one does not know how to face, although generally they do not require psychological treatment beyond support and counseling (unless some other type of alteration is complicated and developed).

  • Maybe you're interested: "Mixed adaptive disorder: symptoms, causes and treatments"

2. Depression

Major depression is the most prevalent mental disorder worldwide (along with the disorders linked to anxiety).

Depression is understood as a disorder in which for at least two weeks, continuously for most of the day of most days (and a context in which the self, the environment and the future are perceived in a negative), a series of symptoms has been experienced, among which (and at least one of them is necessarily present) the presence of a sad mood and anhedonia or loss of ability to feel pleasure in things that used to be satisfactory.

Other frequent symptoms are sleep problems (both insomnia and hypersomnia), loss of appetite and / or libido, difficulty concentrating, hopelessness, passivity, guilt or worthlessness, isolation and thoughts of death.

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

3. Anxiety: Panic Disorder and Generalized Anxiety Disorder

As we have just indicated, anxiety is next to depression (and generally comorbid) one of the most frequent problems or mental disorders. There are many existing anxiety disorders, being some common panic disorder or generalized anxiety disorder.

The first of them is characterized by the presence of recurrent episodes of panic attacks in which physiological symptoms appear such as sweating, palpitations, chest pain, intestinal discomfort or suffocation, often together with the fear of dying from these symptoms, going crazy or losing control and the feeling of derealization and depersonalization (have the feeling that the environment or the person seems to be unreal).

These attacks and the associated discomfort cause anxiety and panic to appear at the idea of ​​recurrence or possible consequences , which can lead to avoidant behaviors that in turn limit the life of the subject to a great extent.

The generalized anxiety disorder implies the existence during at least six months of anxiety and constant worries and difficult controllable by different causes (which can vary and refer to aspects that rationally the subject itself can be considered irrelevant) and that generate fatigue, irritability, problems concentrating , tension and / or sleep problems. That's why finding a psychologist who can treat this kind of problem is important.

4. Phobias

Phobias are a type of anxiety disorder that is extremely common in our society, and that is based on the existence of a high level of fear, fear and anxiety (at a level that the subject himself usually recognizes as irrational or disproportionate) in the face of some kind of stimulus or situation, which is even capable of causing panic attacks or anxiety attacks.

Due to fear or dread generated, the subject will conduct behaviors and actions that allow avoiding the phobic stimulus or else it will remain in the presence of this but experiencing extreme anxiety.

This definition makes one immediately think of specific phobias, such as blood / injection / damage, phobia to fly, the phobia of certain animals (especially frequent within these are those related to spiders, insects and dogs), the phobia of the heights or the claustrophobia. In addition to the aforementioned and other specific phobias we can find other very common cases: social phobia or agoraphobia .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

5. Neurodevelopmental disorders

Although when we talk about a psychologist, we usually think about the patient who has adults or adolescents, the truth is that it is also very common (and in fact it is one of the types of population over which, in less time, a consultation, given the concern that most parents have for their children) meet with psychologists specialized in child psychology . And while it is possible to find different mental disorders in children, some of the most consulted are the so-called neurodevelopmental disorders.

One of the most common reasons for consultation within neurodevelopmental disorders are the specific learning disorder (including, for example, dyslexia or dyscalculia), along with attention deficit disorder with (or without) hyperactivity or ADHD and autism spectrum disorder (including the old Asperger).

Also common are communication or motor disorders (such as tics or Tourette's disorder).

6. Addictions and disorders due to substance use

An addiction is defined as the usual accomplishment / consumption of some type of behavior which generates physical or psychological dependence according to the organism, it acquires tolerance to it and over which control is lost, generating the attempt to cease said behavior a state of great discomfort, desire for consumption / conduct and anguish (along with possible physiological symptoms depending on the case). they can even generate death) and continue despite knowing that it has consequences on the health or functionality of the person.

In this sense, some of the most common addictions are those related to substances, among which They emphasize the dependence to alcohol, to cannabis (despite the popular belief, its habitual consumption can generate dependence), cocaine or heroin. In addition to the addiction itself can be abusive consumption (without it has yet reached the addiction) or other related disorders (for example, psychosis induced).

Going back to the addictions themselves, there are also behavioral addictions such as compulsive shopping, addiction to new technologies (including mobile phones, video games), sex addiction or even socio-affective addictions.

7. Post-traumatic stress disorder

Another reason for consultation is known as post-traumatic stress disorder, an alteration in which consequence of having lived or witnessed a traumatic experience (sexual abuse, assassination attempts, warlike conflicts ...) the person who has suffered or witnessed it experiences reexperiences of the event in intrusive and persistent thoughts and memories, nightmares, physiological reactions, sensation of shortening of the future, hyperalerta or hyperactivation, loss of interest, possible feelings of guilt, possible dissociations such as psychogenic amnesia, depersonalization or derealization, anguish and restlessness or avoidant behavior among others.

8. Cognitive impairment and dementias

Although in this case we are talking about a reason for consultation that is usually confined mainly to neuropsychiatry and neuropsychology, not being so usual of other types of psychological consultation, it is necessary to mention the importance of cognitive impairment and especially dementias within psychology and psychiatry.

This type of conditions they usually generate great suffering for those who suffer them as well as their relatives and caregivers , since the affected ones are losing mental faculties with the time according to their nervous system is undergoing a progressive neuronal degeneration.

The work usually focuses on the rehabilitation and maintenance of autonomy and functions for as long as possible, the search for compensatory strategies and cognitive stimulation in order to preserve as much as possible the impaired functions.

  • Related article: "Types of dementia: the 8 forms of loss of cognition"

9. Emotion management, self-esteem and personal interaction problems

It is more usual than one might think that the reason for consulting a psychologist is not a mental disorder per se, but rather the existence of difficulties in aspects such as emotion management (highlighting anger or sadness), the search for ways to increase the level of self-esteem (for example in people who have suffered from continuous school or work harassment) or difficulties in establishing stable, deep and consistent personal relationships without has to exist (although in some cases it can be) a disorder behind.

All this can be approached from different perspectives and techniques.

10. Conflicts of couple and family

Another relatively frequent reason for psychological consultation occurs with specialists in family and couple therapy. The problems treated in this regard They tend to be based on conflicts, lack of communication and dysfunctional dynamics and roles in relationships , the existence of any type of disorder is not necessary (although in some cases the cause of conflict may be an organic disease or a mental disorder).

11. Sexual dysfunctions

While it's usually something that until recently has been taboo and Many people who suffer from some type of sexual dysfunction live with shame (something that in many cases leads not to consult), the normalization of sexuality and the search of a satisfactory sexuality makes that little by little this type of problem is increasingly being consulted with professionals.

Although in some cases we are facing a problem of organic cause, these problems often have either a cause or an important psychological component (such as anxiety). Stresses erectile dysfunction and premature ejaculation as the most frequent problems in men, while hypoactive sexual desire is the most prevalent in women (followed by female orgasmic disorder).

12. Eating behavior disorders

Especially linked to the culture of the body cult and the canons of beauty of our time and society, eating disorders are a reality that in recent times has increased dramatically in prevalence .

It is one of the few types of mental disorder that can lead to the death of those who suffer without direct action to that end, some of which are considered very dangerous.

Emphasize anorexia nervosa and bulimia nervosa as the most common, especially in pubescent and young women (although it can appear in childhood, in adulthood, and although it tends to occur to a lesser extent also in men). In addition to this there is also binge eating disorder or avoidance / restriction of food intake.

13. Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder

Obsessive-compulsive disorder or OCD is an anxiety-related disorder characterized by the presence of obsessive thoughts , which are recurrent, egodistonic and intrusive thoughts that are lived with great anxiety and guilt by the person who suffers it and that often involve the performance of rituals in order to lower the level of anxiety, rituals called compulsions that although Initially they slightly diminish the anxiety they finish by reinforcing the appearance of the intrusive thoughts, forming a continuous cycle between obsession and compulsion that occupies to a great extent the time of the subject and generates a great suffering.

14. Schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders

Another type of habitual patient of the consultations of the professionals of the psychology and the psychiatry is the one of people with psychotic disorders .

Among them, schizophrenia stands out, probably one of the most known mental disorders and the most prevalent among those that form part of the psychotic spectrum (with a prevalence of approximately 1% of the general population).

This disorder is characterized by the presence for at least six months of symptoms such as hallucinations (usually auditory) and delusions, disorganized language, agitation or derailments in the language, catatonia , poverty of thought or praise, apathy or apathy, being necessary that at least one of the first three be present.

15. Bipolar disorder

Another of the most relevant affective disorders, bipolar disorder is characterized by the presence of one or more manic episodes (characterized by extreme euphoria, irritability and hostility can generate fights and conflicts, thoughts and even delusions of greatness, diminished ability of judgment, alterations of sleep and intake, performance of risk behaviors and high impulsivity, among others) that can go alone or followed / preceded by depressive episodes in the case of bipolar disorder type 1 or at least one hypomanic episode ( less intense, severe and lasting than manic but sharing most of their symptoms) followed or preceded by at least one depressive episode in bipolar disorder type 2.

This disorder generates great suffering to the sufferer, and usually requires a good pharmacological treatment along with psychological treatment when the subject is stable.

16. Health Psychology: Fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue and other medical problems

Although the figure of the psychologist is usually associated with that of the mental disorder, the fact is that many people suffering from medical diseases can benefit from psychological therapy, such as a type of therapy that can contribute to its improvement (although without ever replacing the medical treatment) either through the treatment of emotional or cognitive alterations that may arise after the diagnosis or through techniques that may favor an improvement or a better prognosis.

This includes from fields such as psycho-oncology to other applications in people with heart problems, metabolic (including thyroid problems or diabetes), lung or respiratory (asthma, for example).

One of the most commonly seen examples is fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue. Fibromyalgia is a chronic disease whose main symptom is a generalized musculoskeletal pain, which until recently was not recognized (it was even doubted that it was a real illness) is highly frequent.

It is common to be in conjunction with chronic fatigue, a syndrome characterized by the presence of fatigue or continued tiredness , problems sleeping and various pains.

Many times these conditions secondary cause depression, anxiety and anguish, avoidance behaviors, isolation and social and labor difficulties that can benefit from psychological treatment (in addition to trying to approach in a different and more positive way to the pain), being habitual that the people affected go to some type of professional of the psychology.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Muñoz, A.M. and Novos, M.M. (2012). Reasons for consultation and explanatory clinical hypotheses. Psychological therapy, 30 (1).
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 16 raisons de consultation psychologique les plus courantes

Les 16 raisons de consultation psychologique les plus courantes

Juin 3, 2022

Comme indiqué par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé en 2016, une personne sur quatre souffre ou souffrira tout au long de sa vie d'une sorte de trouble mental .

Et c’est que la psyché humaine est continuellement soumise à de grandes tensions, environnements et situations problématiques qui facilitent l’apparition d’états de grande souffrance, de grandes difficultés ou même l’incapacité de s’occuper de la source de leur inconfort. C’est la raison pour laquelle la figure du psychologue continuera d’être de plus en plus nécessaire dans le monde entier, en tant que figure du soutien nécessaire pour réaliser l’amélioration ou le traitement nécessaire.

De nombreuses raisons peuvent amener une personne à demander une aide psychologique, mais certaines sont néanmoins plus courantes que d’autres. C’est pourquoi, tout au long de cet article, nous allons réfléchir plusieurs des raisons les plus courantes de consultation psychologique , ainsi que ses caractéristiques et ses symptômes.


  • Article connexe: "Les 18 types de maladies mentales"

Les raisons de consultation psychologique les plus courantes

Nous vous proposons ensuite un total de seize des raisons les plus courantes invitant un client ou un patient à consulter un psychologue ou un psychologue (certains d’entre eux sont spécialisés ou spécialisés dans certains domaines). Parmi eux, on peut trouver parmi les troubles mentaux des situations complexes difficiles à gérer mais qui n'incluent pas nécessairement l'existence d'un trouble tel que ceux liés aux relations interpersonnelles .

Il existe également d'autres problèmes, tels que les troubles de la personnalité, mais bien que beaucoup soient relativement répandus, ils ne constituent généralement pas une raison de consulter.


1. Trouble adaptatif

L’une des raisons les plus courantes de consultation en clinique, et c’est bien plus qu’un trouble qui fait référence à une réponse de grande anxiété, stress ou détresse émotionnelle plus grande que prévu et avec une incidence sur les divers niveaux de fonctionnalité au jour le jour du sujet qui découlent d'une situation ou d'un événement stressant clairement identifiable, qui est à l'origine de la modification et qui se produit dans les trois mois (généralement avant le mois) postérieurement à l'événement en question.

Si la personne parvient à résoudre cette situation, l'inconfort finit par disparaître avant six mois.

C’est le cas, par exemple, des personnes qui ont perdu leur emploi, qui souffrent de stress professionnel, qui ont émigré et ne ressentent toujours pas le nouveau foyer, qui se sont séparées, qui souffrent de harcèlement moral ou de harcèlement, qui ont été expulsées ou qui ont été expulsées. été diagnostiqué avec une maladie.


Il s'agit de situations douloureuses dans lesquelles ils génèrent un stress intense et / ou continuent qui dépasse le sujet et que l’on ne sait pas comment faire face, bien qu’ils ne nécessitent généralement pas de traitement psychologique au-delà du soutien et du conseil (sauf si un autre type de modification est compliqué et développé).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Trouble mixte d'adaptation: symptômes, causes et traitements"

2. dépression

Dépression majeure est le trouble mental le plus répandu dans le monde (avec les troubles liés à l'anxiété).

La dépression est comprise comme un trouble dans lequel, pendant au moins deux semaines, de manière continue pendant la majeure partie de la journée, et un contexte dans lequel le soi, l’environnement et le futur sont perçus de manière globale. négatifs), une série de symptômes a été observée, parmi lesquels (et au moins un d’eux est nécessairement présent) la présence de humeur triste et anhédonie ou perte de la capacité à ressentir du plaisir dans les choses qui étaient satisfaisantes.

Les autres symptômes fréquents sont les problèmes de sommeil (insomnie et hypersomnie), perte d'appétit et / ou de libido, difficulté de concentration, désespoir, passivité, culpabilité ou manque de valeur, isolement et pensées de mort.

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

3. Anxiété: trouble panique et trouble anxieux généralisé

Comme nous venons de l'indiquer, l'anxiété est à côté de la dépression (et généralement comorbide) l'un des problèmes les plus fréquents, à savoir les troubles mentaux. Il existe de nombreux troubles anxieux, notamment des troubles paniques courants ou des troubles anxieux généralisés.

Le premier d’entre eux est caractérisé par la présence de épisodes récurrents d'attaques de panique dans lesquels apparaissent des symptômes physiologiques tels que transpiration, palpitations, douleur thoracique, inconfort intestinal ou suffocation, souvent accompagnés de la peur de mourir de ces symptômes, de devenir fous ou de perdre le contrôle de soi et du sentiment de déréalisation et de dépersonnalisation (avoir le sentiment que l'environnement ou la personne semble irréel).

Ces attaques et l'inconfort associé provoquent une anxiété et une panique. à l'idée de récurrence ou de conséquences possibles , ce qui peut conduire à des comportements évitants qui, à leur tour, limitent considérablement la vie du sujet.

Le trouble d'anxiété généralisé implique l'existence d'au moins six mois d'anxiété et d'inquiétudes constantes et difficiles à maîtriser par différentes causes (qui peuvent varier et se rapporter à des aspects qui peuvent rationnellement être considérés comme non pertinents par le sujet lui-même) et que générer de la fatigue, de l'irritabilité, des problèmes de concentration , tension et / ou problèmes de sommeil. C'est pourquoi il est important de trouver un psychologue capable de traiter ce type de problème.

4. Phobies

Les phobies sont un type de trouble anxieux extrêmement répandu dans notre société, qui repose sur l’existence d’un niveau élevé de peur, de peur et d’anxiété (à un niveau que le sujet lui-même reconnaît habituellement irrationnel ou disproportionné) face à une sorte de stimulus ou de situation pouvant même provoquer des attaques de panique ou des crises d’anxiété.

En raison de la peur ou de la terreur générée, le sujet conduira des comportements et des actions qui permettent d'éviter le stimulus phobique ou bien il restera en présence de cela, mais éprouvera une anxiété extrême.

Cette définition fait immédiatement penser à des phobies spécifiques, telles que le sang / injection / dommages, la phobie de voler, la phobie de certains animaux (particulièrement fréquents chez ceux liés aux araignées, insectes et chiens), la phobie de les hauteurs ou la claustrophobie. En plus des phobies susmentionnées et d’autres spécifiques, nous pouvons trouver autres cas très courants: phobie sociale ou agoraphobie .

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

5. Troubles du développement neurologique

Bien que lorsque nous parlons de psychologue, nous pensons généralement au patient qui a des adultes ou des adolescents, la vérité est qu’il est également très courant (et qu’il s’agit en fait d’un des types de population sur lequel, en moins de temps, une consultation, compte tenu des préoccupations de la plupart des parents pour leurs enfants) rencontrer des psychologues spécialisés en psychologie de l'enfant . Et s'il est possible de trouver différents troubles mentaux chez les enfants, certains des plus consultés sont les troubles dits de neurodéveloppement.

L’une des raisons les plus courantes de consultation dans les troubles du développement neurologique est le trouble d'apprentissage spécifique (y compris, par exemple, la dyslexie ou la dyscalculie), ainsi que le trouble déficitaire de l'attention avec (ou sans) l'hyperactivité ou le TDAH et le trouble du spectre autistique (y compris l'ancien Asperger).

Les troubles de la communication ou les troubles moteurs (tels que les tics ou le trouble de Tourette) sont également courants.

6. Addictions et troubles liés à l'usage de substances psychoactives

Une dépendance est définie comme la réalisation / consommation habituelle de un type de comportement qui génère une dépendance physique ou psychologique selon l'organisme, il acquiert une tolérance à son égard et perd le contrôle de son comportement, ce qui engendre la tentative de mettre fin au comportement en question, ce qui provoque un grand inconfort, un désir de consommation / un comportement et une angoisse (accompagnés de symptômes physiologiques possibles selon les cas). ils peuvent même générer la mort) et continuer en sachant que cela a des conséquences sur la santé ou la fonctionnalité de la personne.

En ce sens, certaines des dépendances les plus courantes sont celles liées aux substances, parmi lesquelles Ils soulignent la dépendance à l'alcool, au cannabis (malgré la croyance populaire, sa consommation habituelle peut générer une dépendance), la cocaïne ou l'héroïne. En plus de la dépendance elle-même peut être une consommation abusive (sans qu'elle ait encore atteint la dépendance) ou d'autres troubles connexes (par exemple, une psychose induite).

Pour en revenir aux dépendances elles-mêmes, il existe également des dépendances comportementales telles que le shopping compulsif, les nouvelles technologies (téléphones mobiles, jeux vidéo, etc.), les dépendances sexuelles ou même les dépendances socio-affectives.

7. État de stress post-traumatique

Un autre motif de consultation est le syndrome de stress post-traumatique, une altération dans laquelle conséquence d'avoir vécu ou assisté à une expérience traumatique (abus sexuel, tentatives d'assassinat, conflits guerriers ...) la personne qui en a souffert ou qui en a été témoin en fait l'expérience dans des pensées et des souvenirs intrusifs et persistants, des cauchemars, des réactions physiologiques, une sensation de raccourcissement du futur, une hyperalertie ou une hyperactivation, une perte d’intérêt, possibles sentiments de culpabilité, dissociations possibles telles que amnésie psychogène, dépersonnalisation ou déréalisation, angoisse et agitation ou comportement évitant parmi d’autres.

8. Déficience cognitive et démences

Bien que, dans ce cas, nous parlions d'un motif de consultation qui se limite généralement principalement à la neuropsychiatrie et à la neuropsychologie, à la différence des autres types de consultation psychologique, il est nécessaire de mentionner l'importance des troubles cognitifs et en particulier des démences au sein de la psychologie. et psychiatrie.

Ce type de conditions ils génèrent généralement de grandes souffrances pour ceux qui les souffrent, ainsi que pour leurs proches et leurs soignants , puisque les personnes affectées perdent des facultés mentales avec le temps en fonction de leur système nerveux subit une dégénérescence neuronale progressive.

Les travaux portent généralement sur la réhabilitation et le maintien de l'autonomie et des fonctions le plus longtemps possible, sur la recherche de stratégies compensatoires et sur la stimulation cognitive afin de préserver autant que possible les fonctions altérées.

  • Article connexe: "Types de démence: les 8 formes de perte de connaissance"

9. Problèmes de gestion des émotions, d'estime de soi et d'interaction personnelle

Il est plus habituel de penser que consulter un psychologue n’est pas un trouble mental en soi, mais plutôt l'existence de difficultés dans des aspects tels que la gestion des émotions (soulignant la colère ou la tristesse), la recherche de moyens d’augmenter le niveau d’estime de soi (par exemple chez les personnes qui ont été victimes de harcèlement continu à l’école ou au travail) ou la difficulté à établir des relations personnelles stables, profondes et cohérentes sans doit exister (bien que dans certains cas il peut être) un désordre derrière.

Tout cela peut être abordé sous différentes perspectives et techniques.

10. Conflits de couple et de famille

Une autre raison relativement fréquente de consultation psychologique concerne les spécialistes en thérapie familiale et de couple. Les problèmes traités à cet égard Ils ont tendance à être basés sur des conflits, le manque de communication et des dynamiques et des rôles dysfonctionnels dans les relations , l’existence de tout type de trouble n’est pas nécessaire (bien que dans certains cas, la cause du conflit puisse être une maladie organique ou un trouble mental).

11. Dysfonctionnements sexuels

Bien qu’il soit généralement quelque chose qui jusqu’à récemment était tabou et Beaucoup de gens qui souffrent d'un type de dysfonctionnement sexuel vivent dans la honte (quelque chose qui conduit souvent à ne pas consulter), la normalisation de la sexualité et la recherche d’une sexualité satisfaisante font que peu à peu ce type de problème fait l’objet de plus en plus de consultations avec des professionnels.

Bien que dans certains cas, nous ayons à faire face à un problème de cause organique, ces problèmes ont souvent une cause ou un élément psychologique important (comme l’anxiété). Souligne que la dysfonction érectile et l’éjaculation prématurée sont les problèmes les plus fréquents chez les hommes, tandis que le désir sexuel hypoactif est celui qui prévaut le plus chez les femmes (suivi du trouble orgasmique féminin).

12. Troubles du comportement alimentaire

Particulièrement liés à la culture du culte du corps et aux canons de la beauté de notre temps et de notre société, les troubles de l'alimentation sont une réalité qui a augmenté de façon spectaculaire en prévalence .

C'est l'un des rares types de troubles mentaux pouvant entraîner la mort de ceux qui souffrent sans action directe à cette fin, dont certains sont considérés comme très dangereux.

Soulignez l’anorexie mentale et la boulimie comme étant les maladies les plus courantes, en particulier chez les femmes pubères et les femmes jeunes (bien qu’elles puissent apparaître dans l’enfance, à l’âge adulte et qu’elles aient tendance à se produire dans une moindre mesure également chez les hommes). En plus de cela, il existe également des troubles de l'hyperphagie boulimique ou une prévention / restriction de l'apport alimentaire.

13. Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif

Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif ou TOC est un trouble lié à l’anxiété caractérisé par la présence de pensées obsessionnelles , qui sont des pensées récurrentes, égodistoniques et intrusives, vécues avec une grande anxiété et une grande culpabilité par la personne qui la subit et qui impliquent souvent la réalisation de rituels afin de réduire le niveau d'anxiété, des rituels appelés compulsions Au début, ils diminuent légèrement l’anxiété qu’ils finissent en renforçant l’apparence des pensées intrusives, formant un cycle continu entre obsession et contrainte qui occupe dans une large mesure le temps du sujet et génère une grande souffrance.

14. Schizophrénie et autres troubles psychotiques

Un autre type de patient habituel des consultations des professionnels de la psychologie et de la psychiatrie est celui de personnes atteintes de troubles psychotiques .

Parmi eux, la schizophrénie est sans doute l’un des troubles mentaux les plus connus et les plus répandus parmi ceux qui font partie du spectre psychotique (avec une prévalence d’environ 1% de la population en général).

Ce trouble est caractérisé par la présence pendant au moins six mois de symptômes tels que des hallucinations (généralement auditives) et des délires, langage désorganisé, agitation ou déraillements dans la langue, catatonie , pauvreté de pensée ou de louange, apathie ou apathie, étant nécessaire qu’au moins un des trois premiers soit présent.

15. trouble bipolaire

Un autre des troubles affectifs les plus importants, le trouble bipolaire, est caractérisé par la présence d’un ou de plusieurs épisodes maniaques (caractérisé par une euphorie extrême, une irritabilité et une hostilité pouvant générer des combats et des conflits, des pensées et même des illusions de grandeur, de capacité diminuée. jugement, altérations du sommeil et de l'absorption, comportement à risque et impulsivité élevée, entre autres) pouvant être suivis isolément ou suivis / précédés d'épisodes dépressifs dans le cas du trouble bipolaire de type 1 ou d'au moins un épisode hypomanique ( moins intense, sévère et durable que maniaque mais partageant la plupart de leurs symptômes) suivi ou précédé d'au moins un épisode dépressif dans le trouble bipolaire de type 2.

Ce trouble génère de grandes souffrances pour le patient et nécessite généralement un bon traitement pharmacologique ainsi qu'un traitement psychologique quand le sujet est stable.

16. Psychologie de la santé: fibromyalgie, fatigue chronique et autres problèmes médicaux

Bien que la figure du psychologue soit généralement associée à celle du trouble mental, le fait est que de nombreuses personnes souffrant de maladies peuvent bénéficier d’une thérapie psychologique, telle que: un type de thérapie pouvant contribuer à son amélioration (bien que sans jamais remplacer le traitement médical), soit par le traitement des altérations émotionnelles ou cognitives pouvant survenir après le diagnostic, soit par des techniques pouvant favoriser une amélioration ou un meilleur pronostic.

Cela inclut des domaines tels que la psycho-oncologie à d'autres applications chez les personnes souffrant de problèmes cardiaques, métaboliques (y compris les problèmes de la thyroïde ou du diabète), pulmonaires ou respiratoires (l'asthme, par exemple).

La fibromyalgie et la fatigue chronique sont l’un des exemples les plus courants. La fibromyalgie est une maladie chronique dont le symptôme principal est une douleur musculo-squelettique généralisée, qui n’était jusqu’à présent pas reconnue (il était même douteux qu’il s’agissait d’une maladie réelle) est très fréquente.

Il est fréquent d’être associé à une fatigue chronique, un syndrome caractérisé par la présence de fatigue ou de fatigue continue , problèmes de sommeil et douleurs diverses.

Plusieurs fois, ces conditions secondaires provoquent dépression, anxiété et angoisse, comportements d'évitement, isolement et difficultés sociales et de travail qui peut bénéficier d'un traitement psychologique (en plus d’essayer d’aborder la douleur d’une manière différente et plus positive), étant habitué au fait que les personnes touchées consultent un type quelconque de professionnel de la psychologie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Muñoz, A.M. et Novos, M.M. (2012). Raisons de la consultation et hypothèses cliniques explicatives. Thérapie psychologique, 30 (1).

Es-tu en Bonne Santé émotionnelle ? Test de Personnalité (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes