yes, therapy helps!
The 16 types of books that exist (according to different criteria)

The 16 types of books that exist (according to different criteria)

May 10, 2021

We are many individuals that enjoy devouring a good book from time to time, either when we go on a trip and have a long wait at the airport or when we want to learn new things about our profession with one of the handbooks so interestingly useful. the market.

  • If you want to enjoy the best psychology manual, you can buy the book "Psychologically speaking" in this link.

Types of books and how they are classified

But not all books are the same. Some publishing works are for consultation, others explain fantastical stories and others are illustrated. In addition, each book can be presented in a differentiated format, or addressed to a specific audience.


In today's article we will review the kinds of books that exist , according to different criteria.

1. According to your format

According to its format and presentation, the books can be:

1.1. Paper books

The paper book is the classic book, the one of a lifetime . It may have a soft cover or a hard cover, but the text is on paper. Although new formats have appeared thanks to new technologies to be able to read editorial works, this is still a widely used format.

1.2. Electronic books (ebooks)

The electronic book has been gaining ground in recent years for its enormous comfort . To be able to read it, it is necessary to have a device, such as a "kindle", that is, an electronic book reader, or a tablet. Although it is also possible to download electronic books on the mobile phone.


1.3. Interactive books

Interactive books are digital books that, in addition to classical reading, allow the reader to interact and perform activities. For example, online exercises. This type of books use all the resources offered by the latest technological advances to offer a qualitatively different experience to readers. In addition, some of them can even raise an interesting dialogue between the world of literature and that of videogames.

2. According to your literary genre

Books can also be classified according to their literary genre , that is, according to its content and its literary objective. Within this category, we only find works of fiction.

2.1. Lyric

The lyric genre is characterized because the author expresses feelings, imagination or thoughts . It is narrated in the first person, in which the subjective condition of the writer stands out. Within this genre, we find:


  • Ode : It's a kind of pensive poetry and its tone is praise.
  • Anthem : It is a lyrical text that expresses patriotic passions, positive feelings and celebration
  • Elegy : Poetic work that expresses negative feelings such as melancholy, self or others pain.
  • Eclogue : It is characterized by the expression of affectionate feelings for what surrounds us and usually comes in the form of dialogue.
  • Song : It is a poem that expresses feelings, for example, of love.
  • Satire : It presents an acid humor, somewhat burlesque, in which one criticizes own or social corruptions.

2.2. Epic genre

The author expresses himself through the narrative and presents the facts in a fictional environment , teaching the reader the world objectively, without showing their feelings. Now, the author can make dialogues so that his characters express their emotions and reflections. There are different epic subgenres:

  • Epic : Explains actions that should be remembered for heroic deeds and the legendary feats of a character or town.
  • epic poem : Account for legendary or fictional adventures of one or more heroic characters.
  • Romance : It tells brave, emotional and sentimental stories.
  • Fable : Generally written in prose or verse. the main characters are animals or inanimate things. Thanks to the fable it is possible to extract a lesson or moral.
  • Story : It tells a fictional event that is usually brief and with few characters.
  • Legend : It tells a real or fabulous event, wrapped in mystery.
  • Novel : It is an extensive narrative, with a more developed story than a story. Includes both characters of reality, as imaginary.

2.3. Drama

It is characterized by an episode or conflict conceived by internal relationships between the characters . The narrative is wrapped in dialogue.

  • Tragedy : Highlights the passionate nature of terrorist problems or conflicts.
  • Comedy : The conflict is seen with humor.
  • Drama : The story is shown in a serious context.
  • Tragicomedy : There are tragic and then comic sequences.
  • Melodrama : The dramatic parts of the work are exaggerated.

3. Other types of books

In addition to the previous classifications, it is possible to find other types of books according to several criteria and characteristics:

3.1. Extended reading books

Long-term books include novels and stories . It is ideal that they are small and light books so that the reader can transport them anywhere to read them whenever they want. Also, since they contain a narrative of a chain of events, they usually have well-defined beginnings and endings.

3.2. Reference books

The reference books are also known as reference books . They are not read followed, but the reader comes to them only when you get a specific data or to resolve a specific question, so that your summary is very useful to go directly to the home page of the section of interest. Some examples are: an encyclopedia, a dictionary or the phone book.

3.3. Informative books or manuals (essays)

Informative books and manuals, unlike the previous ones, can be read in full . They deal with topics of interest such as, for example, a field of psychology. They treat problems, solve doubts and provide photos, diagrams and diagrams to clarify the information. They are also known as "essays": they are prose texts that analyze a specific topic objectively and documented.

  • Recommended article: "The 25 best books of Psychology that you can not miss"

3.4. Illustrated literature

They treat stories through drawings . Generally, the illustrations are accompanied by a small text, so it is necessary that there is close cooperation between the illustrator and the typographer.

3.5. Biographies

Biographies are the story of a person's life narrated on the other, in which the latter describes the facts achieved and the failures. There are also autobiographies, in which the author narrates his own story.

3.6. Sacred books

The sacred books are textbooks considered sacred by different religions . For example: the Bible or the Koran, which are the reference texts of Christianity and Islam, respectively. The difference with the other works is that traditionally they have been attributed a connection with the divine.

3.7. Pocket books

Pocket books are lightweight texts, small in size and very manageable to be transported to any place. They are not usually very extensive books.

3.8. Comics

Comics are stories explained through vignettes with illustrations , which usually have a short text narrated by the characters themselves. Although it used to be a genre whose readers were children and adolescents, in recent times comics also cause a stir among adults, and in some circles have become known as graphic novels.

3.9. Sagas or Trilogies

The sagas are collections of books from the same story, where each volume complements the previous book . When the saga is composed of three books or volumes, it is called a trilogy. Some of them are mythical sagas, like those of Iceland, and others are author, more recent.

3.10. Score book

Score books are books in which it is possible to find musical scores to be able to play different instruments, including the voice. Logically, they are widely used by musicians to know perfectly the musical pieces they want to interpret.


Measuring Personality: Crash Course Psychology #22 (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 16 types de livres existants (selon différents critères)

Les 16 types de livres existants (selon différents critères)

Décembre 9, 2021

Nous sommes nombreux à aimer dévorer un bon livre de temps en temps, soit lorsque nous partons en voyage et avons une longue attente à l'aéroport, soit lorsque nous souhaitons apprendre de nouvelles choses sur notre métier avec l'un des manuels si intéressant. le marché.

  • Si vous voulez profiter du meilleur manuel de psychologie, vous pouvez acheter le livre "Psychologiquement parlant" dans ce lien.

Types de livres et leur classement

Mais tous les livres ne sont pas pareils. Certaines publications sont à consulter, d'autres expliquent des histoires fantastiques et d'autres sont illustrées. De plus, chaque livre peut être présenté dans un format différencié ou adressé à un public spécifique.


Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous allons passer en revue les types de livres existants , selon différents critères.

1. selon votre format

Selon leur format et leur présentation, les livres peuvent être:

1.1. Livres papier

Le livre papier est le livre classique, celui de toute une vie . Il peut avoir une couverture souple ou une couverture rigide, mais le texte est sur papier. Bien que de nouveaux formats soient apparus grâce aux nouvelles technologies pour pouvoir lire des travaux éditoriaux, ce format est encore largement utilisé.

1.2. Livres électroniques (ebooks)

Le livre électronique gagne du terrain depuis quelques années pour son énorme confort . Pour pouvoir le lire, il est nécessaire de disposer d'un appareil, tel qu'un "Kindle", c'est-à-dire un lecteur de livre électronique ou une tablette. Bien qu'il soit également possible de télécharger des livres électroniques sur le téléphone mobile.


1.3. Livres interactifs

Les livres interactifs sont des livres numériques qui, en plus de la lecture classique, permettent au lecteur d’interagir et effectuer des activités. Par exemple, des exercices en ligne. Ce type de livre utilise toutes les ressources offertes par les dernières avancées technologiques pour offrir aux lecteurs une expérience qualitativement différente. En outre, certains d'entre eux peuvent même susciter un dialogue intéressant entre le monde de la littérature et celui des jeux vidéo.

2. Selon votre genre littéraire

Les livres peuvent également être classés en fonction de leur genre littéraire , c’est-à-dire en fonction de son contenu et de son objectif littéraire. Dans cette catégorie, nous ne trouvons que des œuvres de fiction.

2.1. Genre lyrique

Le genre lyrique se caractérise par le fait que l'auteur exprime des sentiments, de l'imagination ou des pensées . Il est raconté à la première personne, dans lequel se distingue la condition subjective de l'écrivain. Dans ce genre, on trouve:


  • Oda : C'est une sorte de poésie pensive et son ton est élogieux.
  • Hymne : C’est un texte lyrique qui exprime les passions patriotiques, les sentiments positifs et la célébration
  • Élégance : Travail poétique exprimant des sentiments négatifs tels que la mélancolie, la souffrance de soi-même ou des autres.
  • Eclogue : Il se caractérise par l'expression de sentiments affectueux pour ce qui nous entoure et se présente généralement sous la forme d'un dialogue.
  • Chanson : C'est un poème qui exprime des sentiments, par exemple d'amour.
  • Satire : Il présente un humour acide, quelque peu burlesque, dans lequel on critique les corruptions propres ou sociales.

2.2. Genre épique

L'auteur s'exprime à travers le récit et présente les faits dans un environnement fictif , enseignant le monde objectivement au lecteur, sans montrer ses sentiments. Désormais, l'auteur peut créer des dialogues pour que ses personnages expriment leurs émotions et leurs réflexions. Il existe différents sous-genres épiques:

  • Épique : Explique les actions à retenir pour les actes héroïques et les prouesses légendaires d’un personnage ou d’une ville.
  • Poème épique : Récit des aventures légendaires ou fictives d'un ou plusieurs personnages héroïques.
  • Romance : Il raconte des histoires courageuses, émotionnelles et sentimentales.
  • Fable : Généralement écrit en prose ou en vers. les personnages principaux sont des animaux ou des choses inanimées. Grâce à la fable, il est possible d'extraire une leçon ou une morale.
  • Histoire : Il raconte un événement fictif généralement bref et comportant peu de caractères.
  • Légende : Il raconte un événement réel ou fabuleux, enveloppé de mystère.
  • Roman : Il s’agit d’un long récit, avec une histoire plus développée qu’une histoire. Inclut les deux personnages de la réalité, en tant qu'imaginaire.

2.3. Genre dramatique

Il se caractérise par un épisode ou un conflit conçu par des relations internes entre les personnages . Le récit est enveloppé dans un dialogue.

  • Tragédie : Souligne la nature passionnée des problèmes ou des conflits terroristes.
  • Comédie : Le conflit se voit avec humour.
  • Drame : L'histoire est présentée dans un contexte sérieux.
  • Tragédie : Il y a des séquences tragiques puis comiques.
  • Mélodrame : Les parties dramatiques du travail sont exagérées.

3. Autres types de livres

En plus des classements précédents, il est possible de trouver d'autres types de livres selon plusieurs critères et caractéristiques:

3.1. Livres de lecture étendue

Les livres à long terme comprennent des romans et des histoires . L'idéal est qu'il s'agisse de petits livres légers pour que le lecteur puisse les transporter n'importe où pour les lire quand ils le souhaitent. De plus, comme ils contiennent un récit d'une chaîne d'événements, ils ont généralement des débuts et des fins bien définis.

3.2. Livres de référence

Les ouvrages de référence sont également appelés ouvrages de référence. . Ils ne sont pas lus suivis, mais le lecteur ne les contacte que lorsque vous obtenez des données spécifiques ou pour résoudre une question spécifique, ce qui rend votre résumé très utile pour aller directement à la page d'accueil de la section d'intérêt. Quelques exemples sont: une encyclopédie, un dictionnaire ou un annuaire téléphonique.

3.3. Livres ou manuels informatifs (essais)

Les livres et manuels informatifs, contrairement aux précédents, peuvent être lus intégralement . Ils traitent de sujets d'intérêt tels que, par exemple, un domaine de la psychologie. Ils traitent les problèmes, résolvent les doutes et fournissent des photos, des diagrammes et des diagrammes pour clarifier les informations. Ils sont également appelés "essais": ce sont des textes en prose qui analysent un sujet spécifique de manière objective et documentée.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 25 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

3.4. Littérature illustrée

Ils traitent des histoires à travers des dessins . En règle générale, les illustrations sont accompagnées d'un petit texte; il est donc nécessaire qu'une coopération étroite soit établie entre l'illustrateur et le typographe.

3.5. Biographies

Les biographies racontent l'histoire de la vie d'une personne. de l'autre, dans lequel ce dernier décrit les faits accomplis et les échecs. Il existe également des autobiographies dans lesquelles l'auteur raconte sa propre histoire.

3.6. Livres sacrés

Les livres sacrés sont des manuels considérés comme sacrés par différentes religions . Par exemple: la Bible ou le Coran, qui sont les textes de référence du christianisme et de l'islam, respectivement. La différence avec les autres œuvres est que traditionnellement, on leur attribue un lien avec le divin.

3.7. Livres de poche

Les livres de poche sont des textes légers, de petite taille et très faciles à gérer. être transporté à n'importe quel endroit. Ce ne sont généralement pas des livres très volumineux.

3.8. BD

Les bandes dessinées sont des histoires expliquées à travers des vignettes avec des illustrations , qui ont généralement un court texte commenté par les personnages eux-mêmes. Bien que ce fût un genre où les lecteurs étaient des enfants et des adolescents, la bande dessinée suscite également l’agitation chez les adultes et, dans certains milieux, elle est connue sous le nom de roman graphique.

3.9 Sagas ou Trilogies

Les sagas sont des collections de livres de la même histoire, où chaque volume complète le livre précédent . Lorsque la saga est composée de trois livres ou volumes, on parle de trilogie. Certaines d'entre elles sont des sagas mythiques, comme celles d'Islande, d'autres sont des auteurs plus récents.

3.10. Livre de partitions

Les partitions sont des livres dans lesquels il est possible de trouver des partitions être capable de jouer de différents instruments, y compris la voix. Logiquement, ils sont largement utilisés par les musiciens pour connaître parfaitement les morceaux qu'ils veulent interpréter.


La Loi de l'Attraction (audiobook) (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes