yes, therapy helps!
The 16 types of discrimination (and their causes)

The 16 types of discrimination (and their causes)

June 10, 2024

Discrimination consists in treating a person, group or institution in a different and harmful way . This may be due to different reasons: race, sex, gender, ideas, place of origin, physical appearance, etc.

Discrimination is not something new, since humanity has always discriminated against other individuals because of their resources, origins or intelligence, and even entire peoples because of their different ideas regarding religion or politics.

In this you can find relevant information regarding the different kinds of discrimination that exist.

Causes and consequences of discrimination

Discrimination occurs frequently in all societies. Although public opinion criticizes some forms of discrimination such as racism or machismo, it barely flinches in the face of discriminatory events that can occur on a day-to-day basis, such as those suffering, for example, from obese people.


Discrimination can be an individual or collective phenomenon, and can have different causes. Some of them are:

  • The economic or social situation It can be a cause of discriminatory behavior, either due to a bad economic situation or an environment that favors this type of behavior.
  • Ideology is one of the main causes of carrying out discriminatory behavior towards certain human groups.
  • Fear can cause entire peoples to mobilize in a discriminatory way against some people.
  • The submissive and imitative personality it can cause some people not to have enough critical capacity and simply to be carried away by others.
  • The influence of the group It also makes many people see discriminatory behaviors as normal.
  • The need or interest it can cause discriminatory behavior towards individuals or collectives considered to be inferior.

Discrimination causes the person who is victim to suffer a series of consequences.


On a psychological level, the person may experience anxiety, guilt, depression and feelings of loneliness . But those who are discriminated against can also suffer other problems, such as difficulties in getting a job, school dropout and even death.

Types of discrimination

The causes can be varied and the consequences devastating. But nevertheless, There are different types of discrimination that we must understand . They are the following.

1. Individual discrimination

Individual discrimination is that which makes an individual to another . That is, it is when a person deals differently and negatively with another person, without there being a differentiated contextual reason.

2. Institutional discrimination

This type of discrimination is characterized because they are public or private institutions that carry out some type of discrimination based on sex, race or other reasons. Institutional discrimination is more complex than individual discrimination.


An example can be the exclusive housing or a job offer that asks for the "Catalan" language, excluding those who do not speak that language despite not being a real requirement for the position to which it is aspired.

3. Collective discrimination

A type of discrimination in which an inferiority treatment is given to a group of people . For example, discrimination against immigrants or the LGTBI collective.

4. Structural discrimination

It refers to the discrimination that arises from institutional policies that directly or indirectly favor some individuals and harm others. Although the policies of the institutions must be fair for all, this is not always the case.

5. Direct discrimination

The most well-known form of discrimination and the most visible, in which the person who suffers receives unfair treatment from another person due to its characteristics . It is easier to detect. For example, not accepting a woman in a job just for not being a man, or marginalizing a homosexual person for having a different body language.

6. Indirect discrimination

It is a less visible form of discrimination that often goes unnoticed . For example, the imposition of rules or rules that seem harmless but in practice are not.

7. Negative discrimination

The person who is a victim of discrimination is treated in a discriminatory and harmful manner . For example, by not letting the disabled access to watch a football game.

8. Positive discrimination

Positive discrimination is one in which a disadvantaged group is helped to achieve equity . For example, with a different note in a physical examination of an opposition.This type of discrimination is instrumental, that is, pursues the objective of correcting a historical grievance towards a specific group. However, it is also a source of controversy and social debate.

9. Racism

Racism is one of the best known forms of discrimination . It is also known as discrimination based on race or ethnicity to which the person belongs, and occurs because an individual or several belonging to one race treated with inferiority to another person or persons of another race. For example, discrimination against people of color, towards Jews or towards gypsies.

10. Sexism

Also another of the most well-known forms of discrimination, in which the person who practices it underestimates people of the opposite sex . There are some theories about it. You can know them in this article: "Sexist Prejudice: explanatory theories".

11. Maternity discrimination

Maternity discrimination usually arises in the workplace, as it refers to treating a woman differently (either employee or job applicant) for the possibility of having children. There is a law that prohibits this type of discriminative behavior.

11. Religious discrimination

When an individual or group of individuals receive unfair and unfavorable treatment for not practicing or sharing the religious ideas of the society in which he lives.

12. Discrimination by age

Age is the reason for discrimination . It is usually carried out, especially in work environments, where it is considered that the ideal age to work is from 25 to 45 years. Older people may be left out of the labor market and not interested in certain job offers. It is also called 'old age', although discrimination against young people also occurs in certain contexts.

13. Discrimination due to disability or illness

People can also be treated unfairly because of physical or mental disabilities , or for suffering some disease. The consequences can be both personal treatment and access to jobs, among other damages.

  • More information on discrimination against people with functional diversity in this article.

14. Discrimination due to physical appearance

It manifests when the person receiving the discrimination is not very physically graceful . Either by not having attractive physical features or by suffering from obesity. It is known by the term 'aspectism'.

15. Transgender discrimination

It is the discrimination suffered by those individuals who live a gender role that does not match their biological sex . For example, transsexuals. This form of discrimination is also known as 'transphobia'.

16. Discrimination by political ideology

Occurs when an individual or group of individuals receives unfavorable treatment for not sharing political ideas with the society in which he lives. This can generate from social marginalization to repression, as happened during the Franco regime with thousands of communists and Spanish anarchists.


Racial/Ethnic Prejudice & Discrimination: Crash Course Sociology #35 (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 16 types de discrimination (et leurs causes)

Les 16 types de discrimination (et leurs causes)

Novembre 22, 2019

La discrimination consiste à traiter une personne, un groupe ou une institution d'une manière différente et nuisible . Cela peut être dû à différentes raisons: race, sexe, sexe, idées, lieu d'origine, apparence physique, etc.

La discrimination n'est pas quelque chose de nouveau, car l'humanité a toujours discriminé d'autres personnes en raison de leurs ressources, de leurs origines ou de leur intelligence, et même de peuples entiers en raison de leurs conceptions différentes en matière de religion ou de politique.

Vous y trouverez des informations pertinentes sur les différents types de discrimination existants.

Causes et conséquences de la discrimination

La discrimination est fréquente dans toutes les sociétés. Bien que l’opinion publique critique certaines formes de discrimination telles que le racisme ou le machisme, elle hésite à peine face à des événements discriminatoires qui peuvent survenir au quotidien, tels que ceux qui souffrent, par exemple, d’obèses.


La discrimination peut être un phénomène individuel ou collectif et peut avoir différentes causes. Certaines d'entre elles sont:

  • La situation économique ou sociale Cela peut être une cause de comportement discriminatoire, dû à une mauvaise situation économique ou à un environnement favorable à ce type de comportement.
  • L’idéologie est l’une des principales causes de comportement discriminatoire à l’égard de certains groupes humains.
  • La peur peut amener des peuples entiers à se mobiliser de manière discriminatoire à l’encontre de certaines personnes.
  • La personnalité soumise et imitative certaines personnes peuvent ne pas avoir la capacité critique suffisante et simplement être emportées par d’autres.
  • L'influence du groupe Cela fait aussi que beaucoup de gens voient des comportements discriminatoires comme normaux.
  • Le besoin ou l'intérêt elle peut entraîner un comportement discriminatoire envers des individus ou des collectifs considérés comme inférieurs.

La discrimination fait subir à la personne victime une série de conséquences.


Sur le plan psychologique, la personne peut ressentir de l’anxiété, de la culpabilité, de la dépression et des sentiments de solitude. . Mais les victimes de discrimination peuvent également souffrir d'autres problèmes, tels que la difficulté à trouver un emploi, le décrochage scolaire et même la mort.

Types de discrimination

Les causes peuvent être variées et les conséquences dévastatrices. Cependant, Il y a différents types de discrimination que nous devons comprendre . Ils sont les suivants.

1. Discrimination individuelle

La discrimination individuelle est celle qui rend un individu à un autre . En d’autres termes, c’est quand une personne traite différemment et négativement avec une autre personne, sans qu’il y ait une raison contextuelle différenciée.

2. Discrimination institutionnelle

Ce type de discrimination se caractérise par le fait qu’ils sont institutions publiques ou privées qui pratiquent un type de discrimination basé sur le sexe, la race ou d'autres raisons. La discrimination institutionnelle est plus complexe que la discrimination individuelle.


Un exemple peut être le logement exclusif ou une offre d'emploi qui demande la langue "catalane", excluant ceux qui ne parlent pas cette langue bien que n'étant pas une exigence réelle pour le poste auquel elle est aspirée.

3. Discrimination collective

Un type de discrimination dans lequel un traitement d'infériorité est accordé à un groupe de personnes . Par exemple, discrimination à l'égard des immigrés ou du collectif LGTBI.

4. Discrimination structurelle

Il fait référence à la discrimination qui découle des politiques institutionnelles qui favorisent directement ou indirectement certaines personnes et nuisent à d’autres. Bien que les politiques des institutions doivent être justes pour tous, ce n'est pas toujours le cas.

5. Discrimination directe

La forme de discrimination la plus connue et la plus visible, dans laquelle la personne qui en souffre reçoit un traitement injuste d'une autre personne en raison de ses caractéristiques . C'est plus facile à détecter. Par exemple, ne pas accepter une femme dans un emploi uniquement pour ne pas être un homme, ou marginaliser une personne homosexuelle pour avoir un langage corporel différent.

6. Discrimination indirecte

C'est une forme de discrimination moins visible qui passe souvent inaperçue . Par exemple, l’imposition de règles ou de règles qui semblent inoffensives mais ne l’est pas dans la pratique.

7. Discrimination négative

La personne victime de discrimination est traitée de manière discriminatoire et préjudiciable . Par exemple, en interdisant aux personnes handicapées de regarder un match de football.

8. Discrimination positive

La discrimination positive est celle dans laquelle un groupe défavorisé est aidé à atteindre l'équité . Par exemple, avec une note différente lors d'un examen physique d'une opposition.Ce type de discrimination est déterminant, c’est-à-dire poursuit l’objectif de corriger un grief historique à l’égard d’un groupe particulier. Cependant, c'est aussi une source de controverse et de débat social.

9. Racisme

Le racisme est l'une des formes de discrimination les mieux connues . On parle aussi de discrimination fondée sur la race ou l'appartenance ethnique à laquelle appartient la personne. Elle est due à un individu ou à plusieurs personnes appartenant à une race traitée avec infériorité par rapport à une autre personne ou à des personnes d'une autre race. Par exemple, discrimination à l'encontre des personnes de couleur, des Juifs ou des Tsiganes.

10. sexisme

Une autre forme de discrimination parmi les plus connues, dans laquelle la personne qui le pratique sous-estime les personnes du sexe opposé . Il y a quelques théories à ce sujet. Vous pouvez les connaître dans cet article: "Les préjugés sexistes: théories explicatives".

11. Discrimination de la maternité

La discrimination liée à la maternité survient généralement sur le lieu de travail, car il s'agit de traiter une femme différemment (employé ou demandeur d'emploi) pour la possibilité d'avoir des enfants. Une loi interdit ce type de comportement discriminatoire.

11. Discrimination religieuse

Lorsqu'un individu ou un groupe d'individus reçoit un traitement injuste et défavorable pour ne pas pratiquer ou partager les idées religieuses de la société dans laquelle il vit.

12. Discrimination par âge

L'âge est la raison de la discrimination . Il est généralement effectué, en particulier dans les environnements de travail, où l’on considère que l’âge idéal pour travailler est de 25 à 45 ans. Les personnes âgées peuvent être exclues du marché du travail et ne pas être intéressées par certaines offres d'emploi. On l'appelle aussi «vieillesse», bien que la discrimination à l'égard des jeunes se produise également dans certains contextes.

13. Discrimination en raison d'un handicap ou d'une maladie

Les personnes peuvent également être traitées injustement en raison de handicaps physiques ou mentaux , ou pour souffrir d'une maladie. Les conséquences peuvent être à la fois un traitement personnel et l'accès à un emploi, entre autres dommages.

  • Plus d'informations sur la discrimination à l'égard des personnes ayant une diversité fonctionnelle dans cet article

14. Discrimination en raison de l'apparence physique

Cela se manifeste lorsque la personne qui subit la discrimination n’a pas une grande grâce physique . Soit en ne présentant pas de caractéristiques physiques attrayantes, soit en souffrant d'obésité. Il est connu sous le terme «aspectisme».

15. Discrimination des transgenres

C’est la discrimination dont sont victimes les individus qui assument un rôle sexospécifique qui ne correspond pas à leur sexe biologique . Par exemple, les transsexuels. Cette forme de discrimination est également connue sous le nom de «transphobie».

16. Discrimination par idéologie politique

Se produit lorsqu'un individu ou un groupe d'individus reçoit un traitement défavorable pour ne pas partager des idées politiques avec la société dans laquelle il vit. Cela peut mener de la marginalisation sociale à la répression, comme ce fut le cas sous le régime de Franco avec des milliers de communistes et d’anarchistes espagnols.


Ils existe 3 types d'harcèlement, voici un de mes textes (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes