yes, therapy helps!
The 17 types of coffee (and its characteristics and benefits)

The 17 types of coffee (and its characteristics and benefits)

January 25, 2022

Since in Arab countries it was prepared in infusion for the first time and later it was exported and spread by Europe in the XVII century, coffee has become one of the most consumed beverages in the world.

Highly known for its stimulating properties and its ability to combat fatigue and fatigue, as well as for other beneficial properties, since the origins of its consumption have been developed different forms of preparations, existing today a wide variety of types of coffee that we can take . That is why throughout this article we will see some of the most common and known in the market.

  • Related article: "" The 5 types of flavors, and where are their receptors in the language "

What is coffee?

Although it is a widely known concept, before talking about types of coffee it may be convenient to make a brief mention of what we call coffee.


We call the beverage obtained by the infusion made with the roasted beans (whether whole or ground) of the coffee or coffee plant as such, a small shrub native to Africa and Asia and that has subsequently been exported to the whole world. With bitter and intense taste, it is a product high in caffeine, which has stimulating and activating properties for our body.

The type of flavor and properties of the drink obtained will depend to a great extent on the conditions under which the plants from which the grains are going to grow, for example light, humidity, weather, the method of separation of grains and the roasting process prior to grinding elements to be taken into account in addition to the existence of different species and varieties to explain the variations in terms of flavor and potency.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 best infusions to relax"

Three basic types depending on the origin of the plant

Although there is a large number of countries in which coffee trees are grown, the truth is that at a general level we can find three types of coffee depending on the variety of the plant grown, two species being used and third of the options the combination of the grains of both types.

Arabica Coffee

The type of coffee that is used the most and in turn that is the most appreciated is that which corresponds to the first variants used to make the drink: Arabica coffee.

This species from Ethiopia and several subspecies tends to be delicate and to provide a grain with a very aromatic flavor and a considerable amount but less than the other existing variety in terms of caffeine level. Despite its African origin, it is currently more cultivated in the countries of South America, Asia and Central America .


Robust coffee

Although it tends to be less used at a general level, this variety has the important characteristic of having a much higher level of caffeine than the previous one, something thatrovocates that the flavor it produces when drinking is much more intense . and with a much more bitter tone.

Combinations

A large part of the coffees that we drink do not come only from one of the two previous species and their varieties, but usually we have a mixture in different proportions of both. The exact proportion can depend among other things, the type of elaboration that is intended to be carried out.

Main types of coffee depending on their preparation

Besides the type of coffee from which it is obtained, it is very useful to take into account that there is a wide variety of types of coffee based on the type of preparation we carry out with the grains or if we accompany it with elements such as milk, cocoa or even alcoholic drinks. Some of the best known are the following.

1. Expresso / Café solo

One of the most basic and simple types of coffee, only consists of an infusion of coffee which it is made by boiling water in contact with the grain . It can be prepared in a few seconds. It is a type of short coffee, and its size is usually around 30 cl. The use of coffee of the Arabian variant is usual. Usually it usually has some foam on top.

2. Ristretto

This variant of espresso is characterized by having the same amount of coffee as the previous one but using it a smaller proportion of water .

3. Cut or macchiato

One of the most commonly demanded, we call sliced ​​or macchiato a type of espresso coffee to which a slight amount of milk is added, which stains or dyes the coffee.

4. American

American coffee is a type of coffee derived from espresso which is characterized by adding a much larger amount of water than usual in this type of preparation, resulting in a product with a less powerful flavor and something more watery, something that It makes less bitter and facilitates a sweet taste. In this case an espresso would be made first and boiling water would be added externally .

5. Lungo / long

The so-called long coffee is a type of coffee in which the extraction of water in contact with coffee beans is carried out in a more prolonged manner, which entails a greater amount of infusion. It differs from the previous one in the fact that here is directly the infusion which is produced in greater quantity , without having to add water externally. It is usually served in cups or even long glasses.

6. Carajillo

The carajillo is a coffee prepared as an espresso to which is added in addition to the infusion a certain amount of some spirit, being the most general brandy, orujo or whiskey. For this generally first the liquor previously heated is made , to which the coffee will be added and later other elements such as sugar can be added. If brandy is used together with lemon zest, we have the so-called coffee brulé.

7. Coffee with milk

Similar to the cut, the coffee with milk supposes the incorporation of milk to the coffee, only that in this occasion an equal or similar proportion of the milk and the coffee is used. It has a sweeter taste and much less intense, but it is still potent in terms of the presence of caffeine.

8. Chocolate coffee

A much sweeter version of coffee with milk is the well-known coffee-chocolate variant, in which normal milk is replaced by condensed milk . It is usual to put this first and then add coffee.

9. Cappuccino

The cappuccino is another of the most common coffees, being similar to coffee with milk with the exception that in this case we will only find about a third of coffee, the rest being milk. Usually much of this is foamed, and it is usually sprinkled with some cocoa powder to give it a sweeter taste.

10. Mocca

It is a variant of coffee with milk in which, in addition to milk and coffee, chocolate or cocoa in the form of syrup or powder is compulsory.

11. Irish coffee

A type of double espresso in which Whiskey is added and a layer consisting of whipped cream or cream. Usually served in a cocktail glass .

12. Viennese coffee

A type of coffee that can be simple or double espresso which it is accompanied instead of milk by cream or cream , in a lower proportion than the coffee itself.

13. Frappé

One of the few variants whose conceptualization is directly like cold coffee, the frappe is made with instant ground coffee, ice and cream or cream.

14. Aztec

Little known and also conceptualized as cold coffee, this variety is characterized by incorporating in addition to coffee, ice and milk one or more ice cream balls, regardless of their flavor (but the general chocolate). Practically it is closer to a dessert than to an infusion.

Other types

Those cited so far are probably the best known types of coffee, but they are far from the only ones. There is a large number of possible variants more or less common in different countries or regions, and even today they come out from time to time others that incorporate new flavors or ingredients.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 17 types de café (et ses caractéristiques et avantages)

Les 17 types de café (et ses caractéristiques et avantages)

Mai 20, 2022

Depuis qu'il a été préparé pour la première fois dans les pays arabes, puis exporté et répandu par l'Europe au XVIIe siècle, le café est devenu l'une des boissons les plus consommées au monde.

Très connu pour ses propriétés stimulantes et son aptitude à lutter contre la fatigue, ainsi que pour d’autres propriétés bénéfiques, car les origines de sa consommation ont été développées sous différentes formes de préparations, existantes aujourd’hui. une grande variété de types de café que nous pouvons prendre . C’est pourquoi, tout au long de cet article, nous en verrons quelques-unes des plus courantes et des plus connues du marché.

  • Article connexe: "" Les 5 types de saveurs, et où se trouvent leurs récepteurs dans la langue "

Qu'est ce que le café?

Bien que ce concept soit largement connu, avant de parler des types de café, il peut être pratique de mentionner brièvement ce que nous appelons le café.


On appelle la boisson obtenue par l'infusion faite avec les fèves torréfiées (entières ou moulues) du café ou du caféier en tant que tel, un petit arbuste originaire d'Afrique et d'Asie et qui a ensuite été exporté dans le monde entier. Avec un goût intense et amer, c'est un produit riche en caféine, qui possède des propriétés stimulantes et activantes pour notre corps.

Le type d'arôme et les propriétés de la boisson obtenue dépendront dans une grande mesure des conditions dans lesquelles les plantes à partir desquelles les grains vont pousser, par exemple lumière, humidité, climat, méthode de séparation des grains et le processus de torréfaction avant le broyage des éléments à prendre en compte en plus de l’existence de différentes espèces et variétés pour expliquer les variations en termes de saveur et de puissance.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 12 meilleures infusions pour se détendre"

Trois types de base en fonction de l'origine de la plante

Bien que les caféiers soient cultivés dans un grand nombre de pays, la vérité est qu’au niveau général, on peut trouver trois types de café en fonction de la variété de la plante cultivée, deux espèces utilisées et troisième des options la combinaison des grains des deux types.

Café arabica

Le type de café le plus utilisé et le plus apprécié est celui qui correspond aux premières variantes utilisées pour préparer la boisson: le café Arabica.

Cette espèce d’Éthiopie et de plusieurs sous-espèces a tendance à être délicate et à fournir un grain avec une saveur très aromatique et une quantité considérable mais inférieure à l’autre variété existante en termes de niveau de caféine. Malgré son origine africaine, il est actuellement plus cultivé dans les pays d'Amérique du Sud, d'Asie et d'Amérique centrale. .


Café robuste

Bien qu’elle ait tendance à être moins utilisée au niveau général, cette variété présente la caractéristique importante d’avoir un niveau de caféine beaucoup plus élevé que la précédente, ce quiindique que la saveur qu’elle produit en buvant est beaucoup plus intense . et avec un ton beaucoup plus amer.

Des combinaisons

Une grande partie des cafés que nous buvons ne provient pas seulement de l'une des deux espèces précédentes et de leurs variétés, mais nous avons généralement un mélange dans des proportions différentes des deux. La proportion exacte peut dépendre entre autres, le type d'élaboration à réaliser.

Principaux types de café en fonction de leur préparation

Outre le type de café à partir duquel il est obtenu, il est très utile de prendre en compte le fait qu'il existe une grande variété de types de café en fonction du type de préparation que nous effectuons avec les grains ou si nous l'accompagnons d'éléments tels que le lait, cacao ou même boissons alcoolisées. Certains des plus connus sont les suivants.

1. Expresso / Café solo

L’un des types de café les plus élémentaires et les plus simples consiste uniquement en une infusion de café il est fait en faisant bouillir de l'eau en contact avec le grain . Il peut être préparé en quelques secondes. C'est un type de café court, et sa taille est généralement d'environ 30 cl. L'utilisation du café de la variante arabique est habituelle. Il y a généralement un peu de mousse sur le dessus.

2. Ristretto

Cette variante d’espresso se caractérise par le fait qu’elle a la même quantité de café que la précédente, mais qu’elle l’utilise une plus petite proportion d'eau .

3. Couper ou macchiato

L’un des plus demandés est l’appel en tranches ou macchiato, un type de café espresso auquel on ajoute une petite quantité de lait, qui tache ou teint le café.

4. américain

Le café américain est un type de café dérivé d'espresso qui se caractérise par l'ajout d'une quantité d'eau beaucoup plus importante que d'habitude dans ce type de préparation, ce qui donne un produit avec un goût moins puissant et un liquide plus aqueux Il rend moins amer et facilite un goût sucré. Dans ce cas un expresso serait préparé en premier et de l'eau bouillante serait ajoutée à l'extérieur .

5. Lungo / long

Le café dit long est un type de café dans lequel l'extraction de l'eau au contact des grains de café est effectuée de manière plus prolongée, ce qui entraîne une plus grande infusion. Il diffère du précédent par le fait que voici directement l'infusion qui est produite en plus grande quantité , sans avoir à ajouter de l'eau à l'extérieur. Il est généralement servi dans des tasses ou même de longs verres.

6. Carajillo

Le carajillo est un café préparé comme un espresso auquel s’ajoute, en plus de l’infusion, une certaine quantité d’esprit, le brandy le plus général, le orujo ou le whisky. Pour cela en général on prépare d'abord la liqueur préalablement chauffée , auquel le café sera ajouté et plus tard d’autres éléments tels que le sucre peuvent être ajoutés. Si le brandy est utilisé avec du zeste de citron, nous avons le soi-disant café brulé.

7. Café au lait

Semblable à la coupe, le café au lait suppose l’incorporation de lait dans le café, mais qu’à cette occasion une proportion égale ou similaire du lait et du café est utilisée. Il a un goût plus sucré et beaucoup moins intense, mais il reste puissant en ce qui concerne la présence de caféine.

8. café au chocolat

Une version beaucoup plus sucrée du café au lait est la variante café-chocolat bien connue, dans laquelle le lait normal est remplacé par du lait concentré . Il est habituel de mettre ceci en premier et ensuite d'ajouter du café.

9. Cappuccino

Le cappuccino est un autre café parmi les plus courants. Il ressemble au café avec du lait, sauf que dans ce cas, nous ne trouverons qu’un tiers environ du café, le reste étant du lait. Généralement, une grande partie de celle-ci est moussée et il est généralement saupoudré de cacao poudre pour lui donner un goût plus sucré.

10. Mocca

C'est une variante du café au lait dans laquelle, en plus du lait et du café, le chocolat ou le cacao sous forme de sirop ou de poudre est obligatoire.

11. café irlandais

Un type de double expresso dans lequel du whisky est ajouté et une couche composée de crème fouettée ou de crème. Habituellement servi dans un verre à cocktail .

12. café viennois

Un type de café qui peut être simple ou double expresso qui il est accompagné au lieu de lait par la crème ou la crème , dans une proportion inférieure au café lui-même.

13. Frappé

Une des rares variantes dont la conceptualisation est directement semblable au café froid, la frappe est faite avec du café moulu instantané, de la glace et de la crème ou de la crème.

14. aztèque

Peu connue et aussi conceptualisée comme café froid, cette variété se caractérise par l’incorporation en plus du café, de la glace et du lait une ou plusieurs boules de crème glacée, peu importe leur saveur (mais le chocolat en général). En pratique, il s’agit plus d’un dessert que d’une infusion.

Autres types

Ceux cités jusqu'à présent sont probablement les types de café les mieux connus, mais ils sont loin d'être les seuls. Il existe un grand nombre de variantes possibles plus ou moins courantes dans différents pays ou régions, et même aujourd'hui, elles apparaissent de temps en temps avec d'autres variantes incorporant de nouveaux arômes ou ingrédients.


17 Faits Incroyables Mais Scientifiquement Prouvés (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes