yes, therapy helps!
The 18 best indoor plants according to Environmental Psychology

The 18 best indoor plants according to Environmental Psychology

December 3, 2022

The lifestyle of today's society can be highly stressful. Although it varies according to the person and the type of activities carried out, we spend hours and hours in situations that demand us to be attentive, proactive, efficient and in constant movement, many of them in closed and limited spaces. But there are different elements that can help manage stress better, while purifying the environment and relaxing us.

Disposition of space, colors, decoration ... everything influences, whether we are in our house after a hard day or if we are working in the office. One of these elements can be found in indoor plants, which may have interesting properties. Therefore in this article you can find the best indoor plants according to environmental psychology .


  • Maybe you're interested: "How to paint my house? The psychology of color explains it to you"

Indoor plants: those little strangers

Most people buy indoor plants because they are aesthetically pleasing or because they like taking care of them and watching them grow. In some cases, it is also argued that it is good to have plants at home because they absorb carbon dioxide from the environment while releasing oxygen.

However, it can be a little more unknown that the fact of being surrounded by plants has a series of benefits, causing positive effects on people both physically and mentally.

In fact, it has been proven that something as simple as going for walks in areas with abundant vegetation reduces stress levels more than walks through other types of natural environments. On the other hand, students who attend schools surrounded by forests perform better in their studies. The beneficial effect of the plants is discrete, but it is there. And we can count on him to create spaces in our homes .


Effects on the environment

To begin with, as we have seen before, plants absorb carbon dioxide, helping to purify the environment. And not only carbon dioxide, since according to what species can act as a filter against other substances harmful to health , as fumes from pollution or even harmful substances present in products such as paints and solvents.

In addition, they release oxygen and water vapor, so that they maintain a certain level of environmental humidity constant. Also, they contribute to form a barrier with respect to sound and noise coming from the outside, something very useful to have spaces in which to disconnect.

Physiological effects

At a physiological level, it has been shown that they help reduce blood pressure, in addition to purifying the environment, the quality of the air we breathe is better. And, by producing a certain level of moisture, the skin is more hydrated.


Psychological effects

At the psychological level, it has also been shown that plants have important effects in the management of stress, causing a reduction in discomfort and anguish. By reducing stress, the level of concentration can be increased , so that their presence improves productivity and the level of satisfaction in the workplace. There has also been an increase in the feeling of well-being, improving the general mood.

18 indoor plants that filter the environment and help relax

Next we present 18 indoor plants with proven utility to purify the environment at the same time they relieve stress.

Some of them have been collected from reports made by NASA after several analyzes of their ability to purify the air, while others are frequently used in aromatherapy.

1. Ficus

The ficus is one of the most common indoor plants and is usually found in homes and establishments. There is a wide variety of ficus species, not all of them indoor plants.

Among those that are They emphasize the ficus benjamina and the gomero or rubber tree . The ficus absorbs formaldehyde and methanal, but it must be borne in mind that the leaves of some variants can be toxic, so we must watch for the presence of children and pets.

2. Lily of peace

This plant is one of the few air purifying plants that produce flowers. However, it is toxic if swallowed, so it is not recommended to leave them within the reach of pets or children very small. This plant helps to eliminate mold spores, as well as formaldehyde and trichlorethylene particles. It is usually used in bathrooms.

3. Drácena

It is a plant that is already used regularly in the offices of different companies. This small plant is useful because it is able to filter the air, absorbing chemicals and harmful elements such as smoke.

Especially recommended in freshly painted places or reformed, since they absorb especially well xylene and formaldehyde and even some components of varnishes and solvents.

4. Ribbons / Loop of love / Malamadre

This indoor plant is very useful in order to eliminate the substances produced by gas-powered appliances, also having the advantage that it does not require great care.

5. Chrysanthemum

These colorful plants contribute to absorb benzene and ammonia from the air , besides being aesthetically striking and inducing a sense of well-being. They are useful in places where the use of cleaning products is frequent or when animals defecate.

6. Aloe vera

Aloe vera is a plant that has been well known since antiquity. It was used as a highly effective medicinal element, especially in the presence of wounds.

Nowadays, its medicinal use continues , in addition to being included in hygiene and self-care products. In its natural state this plant shows a great capacity to increase the amount of oxygen in the environment, which makes it a good idea to have it.

7. Tiger language

This plant absorbs chemical components such as methanal and nitrogen oxide, which is very useful to prevent toxins coming from personal hygiene products.

8. Orchid

There are numerous species of orchid, of which not all are suitable for indoor use. The orchids are among the few plants that give off oxygen at night , so that they can be suitable for places of rest like a bedroom. They also contribute to eliminating xylene.

9. Margarita

Another of the air purifying plants that flowers, the daisy is able (especially the gerbera daisy) to absorb trichlorethylene and benzene. Useful in places where there is usually smoke, ink or paint.

10. Common ivy

Ivy is a plant that helps eliminate various chemical components, being especially effective in removing mold particles. That is why Sometimes they are close to kitchens, dining rooms and bathrooms . Various investigations show that this plant helps to improve the symptoms of asthma and allergies.

11. Fern

Along with the ficus one of the best known indoor plants. This plant helps to eliminate particles of formaldehyde, xylene and benzene in addition to raising the humidity level of the environment. Useful for people with asthma and other respiratory problems .

12. Areca Palma

Leafy and requiring little care, this plant helps eliminate formaldehyde, benzene and carbon dioxide.

13. Potos

Carbon monoxide and formaldehyde are two of the substances that help to eliminate this plant, being very useful in places with elements that work with gas, as in the kitchen.

14. Chinese palm tree

The Chinese palm is another indoor plant that largely absorbs benzene and formaldehyde.

15. Lavender

This plant and the fragrance it gives off They have relaxing properties They help to reduce stress, slowing down the heart rate and blood pressure.

16. Gardenia

Plant with great relaxing properties, is sometimes placed in bedrooms due to its great effect to relieve anxiety and relax both body and mind

17. Philodendron

This plant can be toxic if swallowed. However, it is able to help eliminate some chemicals such as the volatile remains of elements such as glues and cleaning products.

18. Jasmine

The aroma that this flower emits has relaxing and soothing properties, helping to reduce the level of tension and anxiety.


7 Super Toxic U.S. Sites (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 18 meilleures plantes d'intérieur selon la psychologie de l'environnement

Les 18 meilleures plantes d'intérieur selon la psychologie de l'environnement

Janvier 17, 2022

Le mode de vie de la société d'aujourd'hui peut être très stressant. Bien que cela varie en fonction de la personne et du type d’activités exercées, nous passons des heures et des heures dans des situations qui nous demandent d’être attentifs, proactifs, efficaces et constamment en mouvement, souvent dans des espaces clos et restreints. Cependant, différents éléments peuvent aider à mieux gérer le stress, tout en purifiant l'environnement et en nous relaxant.

Disposition de l'espace, des couleurs, de la décoration ... tout influence, que nous soyons dans notre maison après une dure journée ou que nous travaillions au bureau. Un de ces éléments peut être trouvé dans les plantes d'intérieur, qui peuvent avoir des propriétés intéressantes. Par conséquent, dans cet article, vous pouvez trouver les meilleures plantes d'intérieur selon la psychologie de l'environnement .


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Comment peindre ma maison? La psychologie de la couleur vous l'explique"

Plantes d'intérieur: ces petits étrangers

La plupart des gens achètent des plantes d'intérieur parce qu'elles sont esthétiques ou parce qu'elles aiment en prendre soin et les regarder grandir. Dans certains cas, il est également bon d’avoir des plantes à la maison car elles absorbent le dioxyde de carbone de l’environnement tout en libérant de l’oxygène.

Cependant, il peut être un peu plus inconnu que le fait d'être entouré de plantes présente une série d'avantages, entraînant des effets positifs sur les personnes, tant physiquement que mentalement.

En fait, il a été prouvé que les promenades dans des zones de végétation abondante réduisent davantage le niveau de stress que les promenades dans d’autres types d’environnements naturels. D'autre part, les étudiants qui fréquentent des écoles entourées de forêts obtiennent de meilleurs résultats dans leurs études. L'effet bénéfique des plantes est discret, mais c'est là. Et nous pouvons compter sur lui pour créer des espaces dans nos maisons .


Effets sur l'environnement

Comme nous l'avons vu précédemment, les plantes absorbent le dioxyde de carbone, contribuant ainsi à la purification de l'environnement. Et pas seulement le dioxyde de carbone, puisque selon quelle espèce peut agir comme un filtre contre d'autres substances nocives pour la santé , sous forme de vapeurs de pollution ou même de substances nocives présentes dans des produits tels que peintures et solvants.

En outre, ils libèrent de l'oxygène et de la vapeur d'eau, de sorte qu'ils maintiennent un certain niveau d'humidité ambiante constant. Ils contribuent également à former une barrière vis-à-vis du son et du bruit provenant de l'extérieur, ce qui est très utile pour disposer d'espaces dans lesquels se déconnecter.

Effets physiologiques

Au niveau physiologique, il a été démontré qu’ils aident à réduire la pression artérielle. En plus de purifier l’environnement, la qualité de l’air que nous respirons est meilleure. Et, en produisant un certain niveau d'humidité, la peau est plus hydratée.


Effets psychologiques

Sur le plan psychologique, il a également été démontré que les plantes avaient des effets importants sur la gestion du stress, entraînant une réduction du malaise et de l’angoisse. En réduisant le stress, le niveau de concentration peut être augmenté , afin que leur présence améliore la productivité et le niveau de satisfaction sur le lieu de travail. Il y a eu également une augmentation du sentiment de bien-être, améliorant l'humeur générale.

18 plantes d'intérieur qui filtrent l'environnement et aident à la détente

Nous présentons ensuite 18 plantes d'intérieur à l'utilité prouvée pour purifier l'environnement dans le même temps, ils soulagent le stress.

Certaines d’entre elles ont été recueillies à partir de rapports établis par la NASA après plusieurs analyses de leur capacité à purifier l’air, tandis que d’autres sont fréquemment utilisées en aromathérapie.

1. Ficus

Le ficus est l'une des plantes d'intérieur les plus courantes et se trouve généralement dans les maisons et les établissements. Il existe une grande variété d'espèces de ficus, pas toutes des plantes d'intérieur.

Parmi ceux qui sont Ils soulignent le ficus benjamina et le gomero ou arbre à caoutchouc . Le ficus absorbe du formaldéhyde et du méthanal, mais il ne faut pas oublier que les feuilles de certaines variantes peuvent être toxiques, il faut donc surveiller la présence d'enfants et d'animaux domestiques.

2. Muguet

Cette plante est l’une des rares plantes à purification de l’air à produire des fleurs. Cependant, il est toxique en cas d'ingestion, donc il n'est pas recommandé de les laisser à la portée des animaux domestiques ou des enfants très petit Cette plante aide à éliminer les spores de moisissures, ainsi que les particules de formaldéhyde et de trichloréthylène. Il est généralement utilisé dans les salles de bain.

3. Drácena

C'est une plante qui est déjà utilisée régulièrement dans les bureaux de différentes sociétés. Cette petite installation est utile car elle est capable de filtrer l'air en absorbant les produits chimiques et les éléments nocifs tels que la fumée.

Particulièrement recommandé dans les endroits fraîchement peints ou reformés, car ils absorbent particulièrement bien le xylène et le formaldéhyde et même certains composants de vernis et de solvants.

4. Rubans / Boucle d'amour / Malamadre

Cette plante d'intérieur est très utile pour éliminer les substances produites par les appareils à gaz et présente l'avantage de ne pas nécessiter beaucoup de soin.

5. Chrysanthème

Ces plantes colorées contribuer à absorber le benzène et l'ammoniac de l'air , en plus d'être esthétique et induire un sentiment de bien-être. Ils sont utiles dans les endroits où l'utilisation de produits de nettoyage est fréquente ou lorsque les animaux défèquent.

6. Aloe Vera

L'Aloe Vera est une plante bien connue depuis l'Antiquité. Il a été utilisé comme élément médicinal extrêmement efficace, notamment en présence de plaies.

De nos jours, son utilisation médicinale continue , en plus d’être inclus dans les produits d’hygiène et d’auto-soins. À l’état naturel, cette plante montre une grande capacité à augmenter la quantité d’oxygène dans l’environnement, ce qui en fait une bonne idée.

7. Langue du tigre

Cette plante absorbe des composants chimiques tels que le méthanal et les oxydes d'azote, ce qui est très utile pour prévenir les toxines provenant des produits d'hygiène personnelle.

8. Orchidée

Il existe de nombreuses espèces d'orchidées, dont toutes ne conviennent pas à une utilisation en intérieur. Les orchidées font partie des rares plantes qui dégagent de l'oxygène la nuit , de sorte qu'ils puissent convenir à des lieux de repos comme une chambre à coucher. Ils contribuent également à éliminer le xylène.

9. Margarita

Une autre des plantes purifiant l'air qui fleurit, la marguerite est capable (en particulier la marguerite gerbera) d'absorber le trichloréthylène et le benzène. Utile dans les endroits où il y a généralement de la fumée, de l'encre ou de la peinture.

10. lierre commun

Le lierre est une plante qui aide à éliminer divers composants chimiques, particulièrement efficace pour éliminer les particules de moisissure. C'est pour ça que Parfois, ils sont proches des cuisines, des salles à manger et des salles de bain . Diverses études montrent que cette plante aide à améliorer les symptômes d'asthme et d'allergies.

11. fougère

Avec le ficus, une des plantes d'intérieur les plus connues. Cette plante aide à éliminer les particules de formaldéhyde, de xylène et de benzène en plus d'élever le niveau d'humidité de l'environnement. Utile pour les personnes souffrant d'asthme et d'autres problèmes respiratoires .

12. Areca Palma

Feuillue et nécessitant peu de soin, cette plante aide à éliminer le formaldéhyde, le benzène et le dioxyde de carbone.

13. Potos

Le monoxyde de carbone et le formaldéhyde sont deux des substances qui aident à éliminer cette plante. Ils sont très utiles dans les endroits où les éléments fonctionnent au gaz, comme dans la cuisine.

14. palmier chinois

Le palmier chinois est une autre plante d'intérieur qui absorbe en grande partie le benzène et le formaldéhyde.

15. lavande

Cette plante et le parfum qu'elle dégage Ils ont des propriétés relaxantes Ils aident à réduire le stress, à ralentir le rythme cardiaque et la pression artérielle.

16. Gardenia

Plante avec de grandes propriétés relaxantes, est parfois placée dans les chambres à coucher en raison de son grand effet pour soulager l'anxiété et détendre le corps et l'esprit

17. Philodendron

Cette plante peut être toxique si avalée. Cependant, il peut aider à éliminer certains produits chimiques tels que les restes volatils d'éléments tels que les colles et les produits de nettoyage.

18. Jasmine

L'arôme que cette fleur dégage a des propriétés relaxantes et apaisantes, contribuant à réduire le niveau de tension et d'anxiété.


En Conscience (Documentaire) (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes