yes, therapy helps!
The 18 best scary movies based on real events

The 18 best scary movies based on real events

May 21, 2022

Fear is not a pleasant emotion . However, many people enjoy watching movies of this cinematic genre. And this type of feature films arouse great terror in the viewer, with shocking and tense scenes that often produce great anguish.

  • Related articles: "The 20 types of films and their characteristics"

Horror movies based on real events

Horror films, although they are usually fictional works, in some cases, are based on real cases.

Next we present you the best films of this genre that have their origin in certain stories .


1. Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

Freddy Krueger is one of the best-known characters of horror movies . His physical appearance: his face burned, his green and red striped sweater, his hat and his knives gloves, make Freddy really a terrifying monster. Although many find it hard to believe that this story is true, because Freddy appears in the nightmares of the children and teenagers of Elm Street to murder them, he was inspired by a real case.

As Wes Craven, the creator of this feature film, tells, the origin of "Nightmare on Elm Street" is in a family that fled Cambodia's concentration camps to the United States. The vast majority of relatives recovered from their black past, but one of the children, who suffered nightmares from the Cambodian genocide, died while asleep.


2. The diabolical doll

Another of the myths of horror movies is "Chucky", the diabolical doll . This story, which seems untrue, was based on what happened to Robert Eugene Otto. Well, it was based on a legend. It turns out that Otto received a gift from his maid. It was a doll that Robert called. Apparently, the maid was a practitioner of black magic. Since receiving the gift, Otto spoke alone and in the home where he lived strange things began to happen. Otto said that the doll had a life of its own and some neighbors said that the doll looked out the window when there was no one at home.

The parents decided to lock the doll in the attic. The years passed and, after the death of Otto's parents and due to the inheritance, Otto returned to his old home and was reunited with the doll. At first he found it curious to meet again with this and a close bond with him, but supernatural things happened and he decided to lock it up again. But when Otto died, the house came into the hands of another family, and the daughter, by chance, found the doll Robert. The little girl did not seem to like the doll, who tried to kill him. This story (or legend) inspired the story of Chucky, and, currently, Robert is in a museum.


3. Shark (1975)

Few ignore the story of a giant white shark that embitters life to a series of bathers . This story, inspired by a novel by Peter Benchley, is based on what happened in 1916, in New Jersey, when five bathers disappeared. The remains of three of them were found in the stomach of a large shark, and the rest was never heard again. It seems clear that the great shark had something to do with it. "Tiburón" is a true classic.

4. Psycho (1960)

Psycho is one of the most successful and remembered horror movies . This Alfred Hitchcock film is based on the story of Ed Gein, one of the most infamous murderers in the criminal history of the United States. The also known as "Butcher of Plainfield" (Wisconsin) committed several crimes and his case came to Hollywood. You can know his biography in our two articles:

  • Life and psychological portrait of Ed Gein, "the butcher of Plainfield" (1/2)
  • Life and psychological portrait of Ed Gein, "the butcher of Plainfield" (2/2)

5. The Texas massacre

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is another one of the films inspired by Ed Gein's macabre story . This character, in spite of his numerous crimes, only killed two people. Ed Gein also inspired the film "The silence of the lambs".

6. Terror in Amityville (1979)

This horror film classic emerges due to the events that took place in 1975 at number 112 on Ocean Avenue , in Amityville. This was the new home of the Lutz family, who had to leave the house soon. According to legend, it is a cursed house, because previously, on November 13, 1974, the DeFeo family was murdered there.

7. The girl next door (2007)

The girl next door is one of those movies in which real life overcomes fiction . It is based on the story of Sylvia Likens, a young woman who was given to a family to take care of her.The family and some neighbors mistreated Sylvia until causing her death.

8. Henry: portrait of a murderer (1986)

A film by John McNaughton, who spent several years in anonymity due to his brutality until it was released . Henry Lee Lucas, is the character and inspiration of the film, a psychopath who killed eleven people.

9. Inseparable (1988)

This film tells the story of two gynecologist twins who catered to the New York upper class . They were inseparable, they were exchanged in meetings and even women. But their life changed when they met a model and everything ended in tragedy.

10. The exorcist

We all know the movie "The Exorcist" . It is based on the stories of Anneliese Michel and Ronald Doe, who underwent exorcism. This last case is also the inspiration of a book by writer William Peter Blatty, who inspired the script of the film.

11. Ente (1981)

Another of those stories that are not just credible but that catch the attention of film directors . This film is about Doris Bither who, in 1974, claimed that she had been repeatedly violated by a paranormal entity: a mysterious invisible creature. It is true that this is unlikely, but this curious story was the inspiration for this film.

12. Zodiac (2007)

This movie reviews the story of the Zodiac killer , who was a psychopath who acted in California between December 1968 and October 1969 and who allegedly murdered 37 people. The film tells how Robert Graysmith (in the movie Jake Gyllenhaal) becomes obsessed with the case and leaves out his private life to try to find the murderer.

13. Borderland

This film tells the story of three school friends who run into a cult that makes sacrifices on the border between Mexico and the United States. This movie is based on real events that happened in 1989, in Matamoros (Mexico) . It's about the murderer Adolfo de Jesús Constanzo.

14. The Boston Strangler (1968)

The film is based on the life of Albert de Salvo , known as the Boston Strangler, a murderer who terrorized the inhabitants of this American city in the early 70's. It is a great film that makes the hair stand on end, in which the story of this criminal character is revived.

15. Citizen X (1994)

Andrei Chikatilo is one of the best known assassins of the former Soviet Union, and this film focuses on his macabre case. But it does not deal with history from the character of the criminal, but from the life of the people who seek it. This killer killed 53 people.

16. The mud boy (2007)

A story that is based on the case of Cayetano Santos (better known as Petiso Orejudo) , an Argentine boy committed several murders. However, the story detracts from the original content and esoteric scenes appear. A scary movie that you can not miss.

16. From hell

A fiction that is inspired by the events that took place around the figure of Jack the Rip r . During 1888, the inhabitants of the district of Whitechapel (London), lived a wave of crimes. Five were the victims of this psychopath who, at present, his identity is still unknown.

  • Related article: "Jack the Ripper: analyzing the psychology of the famous criminal"

17. Gacy, the murderous clown (2003)

The clown is a figure who is responsible for making the parties of children fun and memorable. But a well-known case, that of the clown John Wayne Gacy, turned this adorable image of clowns into terrifying and macabre history, because he committed several dozen crimes. In your case this movie is based.

  • You can learn more about this case in our article: "John Wayne Gacy, the murderous case of the murderous clown"

18. Deranged (1974)

The case of Ed Gein, which has been talked about before, was not only curious about the murders that he committed, but because the police found in his house a large number of corpses that belonged to the theft of bodies from several tombs. This film, like many others, is inspired by his case .

  • Related article: "The famous and macabre case of necrophilia of Carl Tanzler"

7 Best Horror Movies Based On True Terrifying Events | Real Life Thriller Scary Movies (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 18 meilleurs films d'horreur basés sur des événements réels

Les 18 meilleurs films d'horreur basés sur des événements réels

Mars 7, 2021

La peur n'est pas une émotion agréable . Cependant, beaucoup de gens aiment regarder des films de ce genre cinématographique. Et ce type de long métrage suscite une grande terreur chez le spectateur, avec des scènes choquantes et tendues qui produisent souvent une grande angoisse.

  • Articles liés: "Les 20 types de films et leurs caractéristiques"

Films d'horreur basés sur des événements réels

Les films d'horreur, bien qu'il s'agisse généralement d'œuvres de fiction, sont parfois basés sur des cas réels.

Ensuite nous vous présentons les meilleurs films de ce genre qui ont leur origine dans certaines histoires .


1. Cauchemar sur la rue Elm (1984)

Freddy Krueger est l'un des personnages les plus connus des films d'horreur . Son apparence physique: son visage brûlé, son pull rayé vert et rouge, son chapeau et ses gants de couteaux font de Freddy un monstre terrifiant. Bien que beaucoup aient du mal à croire que cette histoire soit vraie, parce que Freddy apparaît dans les cauchemars des enfants et des adolescents d'Elm Street pour les assassiner, il s'est inspiré d'un cas réel.

Comme le dit Wes Craven, le créateur de ce long métrage, l'origine de "Nightmare on Elm Street" réside dans une famille qui a fui les camps de concentration du Cambodge aux États-Unis. La grande majorité des parents ont retrouvé leur passé noir, mais l'un des enfants, victime du cauchemar du génocide cambodgien, est décédé endormi.


2. La poupée diabolique

Un autre mythe des films d’horreur est "Chucky", la poupée diabolique . Cette histoire, qui semble fausse, est basée sur ce qui est arrivé à Robert Eugene Otto. Eh bien, c'était basé sur une légende. Il s'avère que Otto a reçu un cadeau de sa femme de chambre. C'était une poupée que Robert a appelée. Apparemment, la femme de ménage était une pratiquante de magie noire. Depuis la réception du cadeau, Otto a parlé seul et à la maison où il a vécu, des choses étranges ont commencé à se produire. Otto a déclaré que la poupée avait sa propre vie et certains voisins ont déclaré que la poupée avait jeté un œil par la fenêtre alors qu'il n'y avait personne à la maison.

Les parents ont décidé de verrouiller la poupée dans le grenier. Les années passèrent et, après la mort des parents d'Otto et à cause de l'héritage, Otto retourna dans son ancienne maison et fut réuni avec la poupée. Au début, il avait trouvé curieux de retrouver cela et un lien étroit avec lui, mais des événements surnaturels se produisirent et il décida de le verrouiller à nouveau. Mais à la mort d’Otto, la maison est tombée entre les mains d’une autre famille et la fille a trouvé la poupée Robert par hasard. La petite fille n'a pas semblé aimer la poupée, qui a essayé de le tuer. Cette histoire (ou légende) a inspiré l'histoire de Chucky et, actuellement, Robert est dans un musée.


3. Requin (1975)

Peu de gens ignorent l'histoire d'un requin blanc géant qui donne vie à une série de baigneurs . Cette histoire, inspirée d’un roman de Peter Benchley, est inspirée de ce qui s’est passé en 1916, au New Jersey, lorsque cinq baigneurs ont disparu. Les restes de trois d'entre eux ont été retrouvés dans l'estomac d'un gros requin et le reste n'a plus jamais été entendu. Il semble clair que le grand requin avait quelque chose à voir avec cela. "Tiburón" est un vrai classique.

4. Psycho (1960)

Psycho est l'un des films d'horreur les plus réussis et mémorisés . Ce film d'Alfred Hitchcock est basé sur l'histoire d'Ed Gein, l'un des meurtriers les plus infâmes de l'histoire criminelle des États-Unis. Aussi connu sous le nom de "Boucher de Plainfield" (Wisconsin) a commis plusieurs crimes et son cas est arrivé à Hollywood. Vous pouvez connaître sa biographie dans nos deux articles:

  • Portrait de vie et psychologique d'Ed Gein, "le boucher de Plainfield" (1/2)
  • Portrait de vie et psychologique d'Ed Gein, "le boucher de Plainfield" (2/2)

5. Le massacre du Texas

Le massacre à la tronçonneuse est un autre film inspiré par l'histoire macabre d'Ed Gein . Ce personnage, malgré ses nombreux crimes, n'a tué que deux personnes. Ed Gein a également inspiré le film "Le silence des agneaux".

6. Terreur à Amityville (1979)

Ce film d'horreur classique émerge à la suite des événements survenus en 1975 au numéro 112 d'Ocean Avenue. , à Amityville. C'était la nouvelle maison de la famille Lutz, qui devait bientôt la quitter. Selon la légende, il s’agirait d’une maison maudite, car auparavant, le 13 novembre 1974, la famille DeFeo avait été assassinée là-bas.

7. La fille d'à côté (2007)

La fille d'à côté fait partie de ces films dans lesquels la vie réelle surmonte la fiction . Il est basé sur l'histoire de Sylvia Likens, une jeune femme confiée à une famille pour s'occuper d'elle.La famille et certains voisins ont maltraité Sylvia jusqu'à la tuer.

8. Henry: portrait d'un meurtrier (1986)

Un film de John McNaughton, qui a passé plusieurs années dans l'anonymat en raison de sa brutalité jusqu'à sa sortie. . Henry Lee Lucas, est le personnage et l'inspiration du film, un psychopathe qui a tué onze personnes.

9. Inséparables (1988)

Ce film raconte l'histoire de deux jumeaux gynécologues qui fréquentaient la classe supérieure de New York . Ils étaient inséparables, ils étaient échangés lors de réunions et même de femmes. Mais leur vie a changé quand ils ont rencontré un modèle et tout s'est terminé en tragédie.

10. L'exorciste

Nous connaissons tous le film "The Exorcist" . Il est basé sur les histoires d'Anneliese Michel et Ronald Doe, qui ont subi l'exorcisme. Ce dernier cas est également l’inspiration d’un livre de l’écrivain William Peter Blatty, qui a inspiré le scénario du film.

11. Ente (1981)

Une autre de ces histoires qui sont non seulement crédibles mais qui attirent l'attention des réalisateurs . Ce film parle de Doris Bither qui, en 1974, a affirmé avoir été violée à plusieurs reprises par une entité paranormale: une mystérieuse créature invisible. C'est vrai que c'est peu probable, mais cette histoire curieuse a été l'inspiration de ce film.

12. Zodiac (2007)

Ce film raconte l'histoire du tueur du zodiaque , qui était un psychopathe qui a agi en Californie entre décembre 1968 et octobre 1969 et qui aurait assassiné 37 personnes. Le film raconte comment Robert Graysmith (dans le film Jake Gyllenhaal) est obsédé par l’affaire et laisse de côté sa vie privée pour tenter de retrouver le meurtrier.

13. Borderland

Ce film raconte l’histoire de trois camarades de classe qui sont tombés dans un culte qui fait des sacrifices à la frontière entre le Mexique et les États-Unis. Ce film est basé sur des événements réels survenus en 1989 à Matamoros (Mexique) . Il s'agit du meurtrier Adolfo de Jesús Constanzo.

14. L'étrangleur de Boston (1968)

Le film est basé sur la vie d'Albert de Salvo , connu sous le nom de Boston Strangler, un meurtrier qui terrorisait les habitants de cette ville américaine au début des années 70. C'est un grand film qui met les cheveux à plat, dans lequel l'histoire de ce personnage criminel est ravivée.

15. Citizen X (1994)

Andrei Chikatilo est l'un des assassins les plus connus de l'ex-Union soviétique. Ce film est consacré à son cas macabre. Mais il ne traite pas de l'histoire du personnage du criminel, mais de la vie des gens qui le cherchent. Ce tueur a tué 53 personnes.

16. Le garçon de boue (2007)

Une histoire basée sur le cas de Cayetano Santos (plus connu sous le nom de Petiso Orejudo) , un garçon argentin a commis plusieurs meurtres. Cependant, l’histoire porte atteinte au contenu original et des scènes ésotériques apparaissent. Un film d'horreur que vous ne pouvez pas manquer.

16. de l'enfer

Une fiction inspirée des événements qui se sont déroulés autour de la figure de Jack the Rip r . En 1888, les habitants du district de Whitechapel (Londres) ont vécu une vague de crimes. Cinq personnes ont été victimes de ce psychopathe qui, à présent, son identité est encore inconnue.

  • Article connexe: "Jack l'éventreur: analyser la psychologie du célèbre criminel"

17. Gacy, le clown meurtrier (2003)

Le clown est une figure chargée de rendre les fêtes d'enfants amusantes et mémorables. Mais un cas bien connu, celui du clown John Wayne Gacy, a transformé cette image adorable de clowns en terrifiant et l'histoire macabre, parce qu'il a commis plusieurs dizaines de crimes. Dans votre cas, ce film est basé.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur cette affaire dans notre article: "John Wayne Gacy, l'affaire meurtrière du clown meurtrier"

18. dérangé (1974)

Le cas d'Ed Gein, dont on a déjà parlé, était non seulement curieux des meurtres qu'il avait commis, mais aussi parce que la police avait retrouvé chez lui un grand nombre de cadavres ayant appartenu au vol de corps dans plusieurs tombes. Ce film, comme beaucoup d'autres, s'inspire de son cas .

  • Article connexe: "Le cas célèbre et macabre de nécrophilie de Carl Tanzler"

✔ TOP 5 DES FILMS d'HORREUR INSPIRES D'HISTOIRES VRAIES (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes