yes, therapy helps!
The 20 easiest and hardest to learn languages

The 20 easiest and hardest to learn languages

September 27, 2022

Many of us are fascinated by the idea of ​​learning new languages , is that being able to interact with other cultures and communicate with people from other countries enriches us enormously. But learning languages ​​is not easy, and while there are individuals who absorb the new languages ​​as if they have a gift for it, most mortals must strive hard to master a language that is not our native language.

If you want some tips to learn languages, in this article you can find a list that will be very useful, but it will also be useful to know which are the easiest languages ​​and the most difficult to learn .


  • Related article: "Sapir-Whorf's theory of language"

The difficulty of being a polyglot

Not all languages ​​are equally easy to learn, and it can be said that When it comes to acquiring a new language, the difficulty is relative . On the one hand, the motivation of the person and the desire to learn are a determining factor, it is also to live in the country where that language is spoken in a native way and, logically, it will always be easier to learn a new language if it is similar to our mother tongue. For example, if we speak Spanish and want to learn Italian or Romanian.

Assuming that our reference language is Spanish , below you can find out which of the languages ​​with a well consolidated and cohesive number of speakers and more than 5 million speakers are easier and more difficult for you.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Alogia: when language and thought stop flowing"

Easiest languages ​​to learn

For Spanish speakers, The following languages ​​are the ones with the least difficulty:

1. Catalan

Catalan is a language spoken in a good part of the Mediterranean coast of the Iberian Peninsula, as well as in the Balearic Islands and some areas of France. Curiously, the language family from which it comes, the occitanorromances languages, is more widespread in the latter country than in Spain. But nevertheless, the influence of the official language in the whole of the Kingdom of Spain It has made it very easy to learn by all Spanish speakers.

2. Italian

Italian is a relatively easy language to learn for Spanish speakers, and not only because of the great influence their culture has had in the Mediterranean countries. Italian is also rooted in Latin, providing great ease in learning vocabulary, as it is familiar to Spanish speakers. This language is easy to read by those who speak Spanish, except some phonemes and double letters . The similarities are also evident in the construction of sentences.


3. Portuguese

Portuguese is spoken mainly in Portugal and Brazil . This language is the first brother of the Spanish language, and we must not forget that the territory of Portugal shares the peninsula with Spain. That is why they share great similarities and, in fact, it is similar to some languages ​​such as Galician, spoken by the inhabitants of Spain.

4. French

French is a language widely used both in France and in many other countries worldwide. This beautiful language shares alphabet and many words with Spanish. The Spanish speakers find in the learning of French great facilities, and great utility because it is an important language and widely used in Europe.

5. English

Although English is not the easiest language to learn for some people, it is one of the most accessible languages ​​and that is why it is the language that is used the most in the world and that most nationalities speak. One of the reasons why English is easy to learn is because there is a large training offer to be trained in this language and the British and American influence is very large around the globe.

On the other hand, a lot of his vocabulary is based on Latin root words , something that does not happen in other Germanic languages, such as German.

6. Romanian

Romanian is, like Castilian, a romance language , so both are related. However, the latter has acquired many everyday words of Slavic and Hungarian languages. It retains much of the grammatical structure of Latin, although the articles can be complicated to learn.

7. Greek

Historically we have always been influenced by the Greeks, and although Greek civilization is far from the context in which characters such as Aristotle, Socrates or Plato lived, we share many terms of our vocabulary with Greek. At the time of reading or writing it, we may have serious difficulties, but when speaking it the sounds of vowels and consonants are similar to those of Spanish .

8. Afrikaans

The Afrikaans is known to be something like an easy version of the Dutch , and it is a language spoken in South Africa and Namibia. Actually, it has many words that are similar in spelling and meaning to English and Dutch. Although from the point of view of work opportunities will not interest many people, it is a relatively easy language to learn.

9. Russian

Russian is one of the most spoken languages ​​in Europe, and there are so many cultural elements generated in this language that finding material to learn it is easy. In addition, the sounds on which its pronunciation is based resemble those of Spanish, and its vocabulary is greatly influenced by Latin.

10. Malay

Although most of its speakers are concentrated in a place on the planet very far from Spain, Curiously the Malay language is easy to learn . The reasons for this is that its grammar is relatively simple, its sounds are easy to reproduce and, being a binding language, part of the vocabulary can be memorized simply by adding suffixes and prefixes to others that are already known.

More difficult languages

Regarding the difficulty, the most complicated languages ​​to learn are :

1. Hindi

This is the fifth most spoken language in the world due to its extension through the societies of India, a very populated territory. In addition, it is capable of bringing head to any person who has Spanish as their mother tongue. Not only its structure is totally different from the Latin alphabet; In addition, the pronunciation does not resemble that of Castilian.

2. Yoruba

This language is spoken by some 22 million people, mainly in Nigeria, Togo and Benin. Its relation with the Castilian is practically null, since is part of the Niger-Congolese languages .

3. Korean

Korean is the official language of North and South Korea and is spoken by more than 80 million people around the world. One of the most complicated languages ​​to learn.

4. Arabic

The Arabic language was spoken for the first time during the sixth century. This language, which is used in a wide range of territories, it extends from the Middle East to the western end of the Maghreb . Most of their spoken varieties are unintelligible and are said to constitute a sociolinguistic language.

5. Zulu

The Zulu is spoken by some 9 million people, especially in South Africa. One of its most striking features is the use of "clicks" of language used as consonants , something that also happens in other languages ​​of the African continent.

6. Tamil

In a similar way to Hindi, this language is so different from Castilian in all aspects that it is difficult to find useful elements in Spanish in order to learn it: neither pronunciation, nor vocabulary nor grammar have much to do.

7. Thai

The Thai language is the official language of Thailand, and belongs to the Tai-Kadai linguistic family, where almost half of its words derive from the Pali or the Sanskrit language. The Thai it is basically tonal and analytical and is known for its complex orography .

8. Finnish

Finnish is one of the most difficult European languages ​​to learn a Spanish speaker, among other things because it does not even belong to the group of Indo-European languages. That means our language is more related to Persian than to what is spoken in Finland .

9. Hungarian

Hungarian is the official language of Hungary, spoken not only in this country, but also by Slovakia, Ukraine, Serbia and Romania. It belongs to the family of Uralic languages, as well as Finnish.

10. Chinese (mandarin)

It is the most spoken language in the world because about one fifth of the total population of the world speaks Chinese, mainly in the People's Republic of China, Taiwan and Singapore. This language is considered one of the most difficult to learn, because the alphabet is completely different from ours and his writing system is based fundamentally on memorization of thousands of elements.


Top 10 Easiest Languages to Learn (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 20 langues les plus faciles et les plus difficiles à apprendre

Les 20 langues les plus faciles et les plus difficiles à apprendre

Mai 16, 2022

Beaucoup d'entre nous sont fascinés par l'idée d'apprendre de nouvelles langues , est-ce que le fait de pouvoir interagir avec d’autres cultures et de communiquer avec des personnes d’autres pays nous enrichit énormément. Mais apprendre les langues n’est pas chose aisée, et même s’il existe des individus qui absorbent les nouvelles langues comme s’ils en avaient le don, la plupart des mortels doivent s’efforcer de maîtriser une langue qui n’est pas notre langue maternelle.

Si vous souhaitez des astuces pour apprendre les langues, vous trouverez dans cet article une liste qui vous sera très utile, mais il sera également utile de connaître qui sont les langues les plus faciles et les plus difficiles à apprendre .


  • Article connexe: "La théorie du langage de Sapir-Whorf"

La difficulté d'être un polyglotte

Toutes les langues ne sont pas aussi faciles à apprendre, et on peut dire que Quand il s’agit d’acquérir une nouvelle langue, la difficulté est relative . D’une part, la motivation de la personne et le désir d’apprendre sont un facteur déterminant, c’est aussi de vivre dans le pays où cette langue est parlée de manière autochtone et, logiquement, il sera toujours plus facile d’apprendre une nouvelle langue si elle est similaire à notre langue maternelle. Par exemple, si nous parlons espagnol et voulons apprendre l'italien ou le roumain.

En supposant que notre langue de référence est l'espagnol Vous trouverez ci-dessous la liste des langues avec un nombre de locuteurs bien consolidé et cohérent, et plus de 5 millions de locuteurs, plus faciles et plus difficiles pour vous.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Alogia: quand langage et pensée cessent de couler"

Langues les plus faciles à apprendre

Pour les hispanophones, Les langues suivantes sont celles avec le moins de difficulté:

1. catalan

Le catalan est une langue parlée dans une bonne partie de la côte méditerranéenne de la péninsule ibérique, ainsi que dans les îles Baléares et certaines régions de la France. Curieusement, la famille linguistique dont elle est issue, les langues d’occitanorromances, est plus répandue dans ce dernier pays qu’en Espagne. Cependant, l'influence de la langue officielle dans l'ensemble du royaume d'Espagne Il a été très facile d'apprendre par tous les hispanophones.

2. italien

L'italien est une langue relativement facile à apprendre pour les hispanophones, et pas seulement à cause de la grande influence de leur culture dans les pays méditerranéens. L'italien est également ancré en latin, ce qui facilite l'apprentissage du vocabulaire, car il est familier pour les hispanophones. Cette langue est facile à lire pour ceux qui parlent espagnol, à l’exception de certains phonèmes et lettres doubles. . Les similitudes sont également évidentes dans la construction des phrases.


3. portugais

Le portugais est parlé principalement au Portugal et au Brésil . Cette langue est le premier frère de la langue espagnole et il ne faut pas oublier que le territoire du Portugal partage la péninsule avec l'Espagne. C'est pourquoi ils partagent de grandes similitudes et, en fait, cela ressemble à certaines langues comme le galicien, parlé par les habitants de l'Espagne.

4. français

Le français est une langue largement utilisé en France et dans de nombreux autres pays partout dans le monde. Cette belle langue partage l'alphabet et de nombreux mots avec l'espagnol. Les hispanophones trouvent dans l'apprentissage du français d'excellentes installations et une grande utilité, car c'est une langue importante et largement utilisée en Europe.

5. anglais

Bien que l'anglais ne soit pas la langue la plus facile à apprendre pour certaines personnes, il s'agit de l'une des langues les plus accessibles. C'est pourquoi il s'agit de la langue la plus utilisée dans le monde et parlée par la plupart des nationalités. L’une des raisons pour lesquelles l’anglais est facile à apprendre est qu’il existe une offre de formation importante dans cette langue et que l’influence britannique et américaine est très forte dans le monde entier.

D'un autre côté, beaucoup de son vocabulaire est basé sur des mots racine latins , quelque chose qui ne se produit pas dans d'autres langues germaniques, telles que l'allemand.

6. roumain

Le roumain est, comme le castillan, une langue d'amour , donc les deux sont liés. Cependant, ce dernier a acquis de nombreux mots de tous les jours des langues slaves et hongroises. Il conserve une grande partie de la structure grammaticale du latin, bien que les articles puissent être compliqués à apprendre.

7. grec

Historiquement, nous avons toujours été influencés par les Grecs et, bien que la civilisation grecque soit loin du contexte dans lequel des personnages comme Aristote, Socrate ou Platon ont vécu, nous partageons de nombreux termes de notre vocabulaire avec le grec. Au moment de le lire ou de l'écrire, nous pouvons avoir de sérieuses difficultés, mais quand on parle les sons des voyelles et des consonnes sont semblables à ceux de l'espagnol .

8. Afrikaans

Les afrikaans est connu pour être quelque chose comme une version facile du néerlandais et c'est une langue parlée en Afrique du Sud et en Namibie. En fait, il contient beaucoup de mots dont l'orthographe et le sens sont similaires à l'anglais et au néerlandais. Bien que du point de vue des opportunités de travail n'intéressera pas beaucoup de gens, c'est une langue relativement facile à apprendre.

9. russe

Le russe est l’une des langues les plus parlées d’Europe, et les éléments culturels générés dans cette langue sont si nombreux qu’il est facile de trouver du matériel pour l’apprendre. De plus, les sons sur lesquels repose sa prononciation ressemblent à ceux de l'espagnol et son vocabulaire est fortement influencé par le latin.

10. malais

Bien que la plupart de ses locuteurs soient concentrés dans un endroit de la planète très éloigné de l'Espagne, Curieusement, la langue malaise est facile à apprendre . La raison en est que sa grammaire est relativement simple, que ses sons sont faciles à reproduire et qu’en tant que langage contraignant, une partie du vocabulaire peut être mémorisée simplement en ajoutant des suffixes et des préfixes aux autres déjà connus.

Langues plus difficiles

En ce qui concerne la difficulté, les langues les plus compliquées à apprendre sont :

1. hindi

C'est la cinquième langue la plus parlée au monde en raison de son extension à travers les sociétés de l'Inde, un territoire très peuplé. En outre, il est capable d’attirer l’attention de toute personne ayant l’espagnol comme langue maternelle. Non seulement sa structure est totalement différente de l'alphabet latin; De plus, la prononciation ne ressemble pas à celle du castillan.

2. Yoruba

Cette langue est parlée par quelque 22 millions de personnes, principalement au Nigéria, au Togo et au Bénin. Sa relation avec le castillan est pratiquement nulle, puisque fait partie des langues nigéro-congolaises .

3. coréen

Le coréen est la langue officielle de la Corée du Nord et du Sud. Il est parlé par plus de 80 millions de personnes dans le monde. Une des langues les plus compliquées à apprendre.

4. arabe

La langue arabe a été parlée pour la première fois au cours du sixième siècle. Cette langue, qui est utilisée dans un large éventail de territoires, il s'étend du Moyen-Orient à l'ouest du Maghreb . La plupart de leurs variétés parlées sont incompréhensibles et constitueraient un langage sociolinguistique.

5. zoulou

Quelque 9 millions de personnes parlent le zoulou, notamment en Afrique du Sud. Une de ses caractéristiques les plus frappantes est l'utilisation de "clics" du langage utilisé comme consonnes , quelque chose qui se passe aussi dans d’autres langues du continent africain.

6. tamoul

De la même manière que l'hindi, cette langue est tellement différente du castillan qu'il est difficile de trouver des éléments utiles en espagnol pour l'apprendre: ni la prononciation, ni le vocabulaire, ni la grammaire n'ont beaucoup à faire.

7. thaï

Le thaï est la langue officielle de la Thaïlande et appartient à la famille linguistique Tai-Kadai, où près de la moitié de ses mots proviennent du pali ou de la langue sanskrit. Le thaï il est fondamentalement tonal et analytique et est connu pour son orographie complexe .

8. finnois

Le finnois est l’une des langues européennes les plus difficiles à apprendre un hispanophone, notamment parce qu’il n’appartient même pas au groupe des langues indo-européennes. Cela signifie que notre langue est plus liée au persan qu'à ce qui est parlé en Finlande .

9. hongrois

Le hongrois est la langue officielle de la Hongrie, parlée non seulement dans ce pays, mais également par la Slovaquie, l'Ukraine, la Serbie et la Roumanie. Il appartient à la famille des langues ouraliennes, ainsi que du finnois.

10. chinois (mandarin)

C'est la langue la plus parlée au monde car environ un cinquième de la population mondiale parle le chinois, principalement en République populaire de Chine, à Taiwan et à Singapour. Cette langue est considérée comme l'une des plus difficiles à apprendre, car l'alphabet est complètement différent du nôtre et son système d'écriture est basé fondamentalement sur la mémorisation de milliers d'éléments.


Top 10 des langues les plus DIFFICILES à apprendre ! (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes