yes, therapy helps!
The 24 branches of Medicine (and how they try to cure patients)

The 24 branches of Medicine (and how they try to cure patients)

July 25, 2022

Medicine is one of the most important scientific disciplines , given that its evolution and its practical application are fundamental when it comes to maintaining our state of health.

In addition to this, it is also one of the largest number of branches, specializations and subspecialties has, currently with about fifty. And that is why in this article we are going to make a brief mention of some of the most important ones.

  • Related article: "The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology"

Types and branches of medicine

Medicine counts, as we have indicated a broad science, with around fifty branches and official specialties. However, and although we are really talking about the same science, it is possible to make different classifications and typologies of this type of science .


Next we will make a small separation of medicine in several basic types of specializations.

However, we must bear in mind that there are a large number of professions within the health sector, without being medical. The clearest examples are nurses, assistants, psychologists or pharmacists. That is why we will not see them among the following branches or types of medicine.

1. Clinic

Clinical-centered medicine is what appears in the collective imagination when we talk about this science. It is the type of medicine in which the professional has a direct relationship with the patient , performs diagnosis and proposes and implements a treatment. It includes most of the specializations and is usually the base from which one departs to redirect towards other types of professionals when direct treatment is not possible on their part.


2. Surgical

Surgical medicine is one that is mainly dedicated to the treatment of a previously diagnosed problem, generally applying an invasive methodology in which the professionals work in a direct way altering the organism, either removing or removing any problematic part or placing devices that can improve its functioning.

3. Medical-surgical

We could understand this type of medicine as a mixture of the previous two , in which both surgical and clinical procedures are used. This is the case of some highly recognized specialties, such as ophthalmology.

4. Laboratory

Within this category we can find all those branches that focus not on providing direct treatment to the patient, but rather work from the analysis or from samples of elements such as blood, urine, stools, sexual fluids, secretions or biopsies or of diagnostic tests such as magnetic resonance, plates or TACs. Although we do not usually think about them when we talk about doctors, without their service it would not be possible to diagnose or treat a large number of problems.


5. Forensic medicine

Generally, when we talk about medicine, we think about the one that is dedicated to diagnose and treat diseases in living patients, but the truth is that there is also a type of medicine whose objective is to assess the existence of injuries derived from criminal activities or investigate the causes of death of a person .

6. Occupational medicine

Occupational medicine is one that is dedicated to analyze and treat diseases and injuries that may occur within the workplace .

7. Preventive medicine

This type of medicine, although usually used as a part of the clinic's own process, is the one specializes not in the treatment of a current situation but in trying to prevent a disease from arising , get it detected as soon as possible so that it does not generate a serious problem or that in the case of a disease already present, it can not worsen or reappear.

8. Sports medicine

The type of medicine dedicated to the field of sport , usually deals with muscular and bone problems, as well as ligaments and tendons. They can also treat other problems, as well as perform prevention tasks.

9. Integrative medicine

A type of medicine that aims to combine the knowledge of scientific medicine and alternative and natural therapies , seeking in its exercise an integration of both types of knowledge in medical practice.

10. Complementary medicine

Complementary medicine is understood as a type of medicine in which they are used together with the own and customary methodologies of medicine along with other traditional practices that aim to serve as a complement and not as a substitute for the former.

The 24 branches or medical specializations

Within the above types of medicine we can find specializations focused on different aspects such as the area of ​​the organism in which they focus their studies or the age at which they are focused.

While there are many more, here are twenty-four of them to get an idea of ​​its great variability.

1. General and family medicine

General and family medicine is the basic branch of medicine, which is not specialized in a sector of age or in a specific part of the body but has a general knowledge of most areas and often responds to more general health problems. It is usually the doctor we see first. If necessary, you can refer to a specialist.

2. Pediatrics

Pediatrics is one of the most common branches or types of medicine, given that it takes care of the health problems of one of the most vulnerable age groups: childhood. It is a peculiar specialty, since in addition to the fact that children require a more particular type of treatment, the important role of the parents of the patient must be taken into account both in obtaining and informing and in making any decision and possible loss of information derived from the difficulties in expressing the type of discomfort on the part of the minor.

Within it, in addition, there are multiple possible subspecializations.

3. Cardiology

Cardiology is probably one of the best known specialties of medicine, being the subdiscipline responsible for working and studying the cardiovascular system, specifically the heart. From arrhythmias to heart attacks, to congenital problems or heart disease, are some of its fields of application. In some cases it can be linked to another specialty, cardiovascular surgery.

4. Pulmonology

It is the branch of medicine that works with the typical problems of the respiratory system, especially the lungs. Examples of typical problems in which they may be linked are cystic fibrosis or COPD.

5. Gynecology and obstetrics

Gynecology is the medical specialty focused on the problems and health of the female reproductive system, both genital and mammary.

With regard to obstetrics, is dedicated to the study and maintenance of health in the process of pregnancy and childbirth, as well as postpartum. His work is with both the mother and the boy or girl.

6. Otorhinolaryngology

Otorhinolaryngology is dedicated to the study of the auditory system, larynx and pharynx, working problems that can range from infections to hearing loss.

7. Urology

Urology is the branch of medicine that works and studies with the male reproductive and genitourinary system, dealing with problems that may include areas such as the testicles, the penis, the adrenal glands or the peritoneum. Sometimes it is confused with proctology.

8. Endocrinology

The endocrine system is one of the important slabs of our body despite being generally undervalued. It is this system related to hormones that is the object of study of endocrinology, which can treat hormonal problems, growth, thyroid problems or diabetes.

9. Dermatology

The skin and its problems and diseases are the main object of study of dermatology, treating problems related to pustules, cysts, burns, freckles, abscesses, eczema or even melanomas.

10. Traumatology

Traumatology is the branch of medicine that focuses on the effects of bruises and bruises, usually with breaks or dislocations. It is often associated with physiotherapy and rehabilitation, as well as surgery.

11. Oncology

This branch of medicine deals with one of the types of problem that most concern generates the majority of the population: cancer.

12. Geriatrics

A specialty that instead of a disease focuses on the usual problems of a certain age group. In this case his performance focuses on the elderly, working with common health problems or even with dementias.

13. Dentistry

The denture, the gums and the masticatory system in general are the object of study of dentistry.

14. Gastroenterology

Gastroenterologists are the specialists in digestive problems, being focused on the problems of the stomach and intestines.

15. Nephrology

This branch of medicine studies and works with all those problems related to the kidneys and their functioning.

16. Infectology

While this specialty is not the best known by the general population, is the one that is responsible for the study of infectious diseases, whether you are viral or bacterial.

17. Toxicology

This branch of medicine is responsible for studying and working with all those cases in which there has been some type of intoxication, whether this food or drug consumption or contact with a toxic.

19. Hematology

A type of medical specialty focused on problems linked to blood.

20. Ophthalmology

The branch of medicine that studies the functioning and disorders and diseases linked to the visual organs: the eyes.

21. Radiology

One of the specialties that are less suited to the normal functioning of what most consider a doctor, radiology involves the study and conduct of diagnostic tests using techniques that use some type of radiation.

22. Proctology

Branch or type of medicine that is responsible for working and analyzing all those problems related to the organs linked to excretion: the colon, anus and rectum.

23. Rheumatology

This branch of medicine is responsible for the study, diagnosis and treatment of problems related to joints and muscles.

24. Immunology

As the name of this specialty tells us, we are before the branch of medicine focused on the study of the immune system and the problems and diseases it may have, treating problems such as HIV infection or lupus.

Other types of medicine

All the aforementioned branches are specialties of medicine which follow the scientific method and have proved effective in the treatment of their problems through various studies.

However, there are other types of medicine that do not usually enjoy scientific evidence and that are usually guided by spirituality or tradition. We talk about traditional medicine and alternative medicine, which are attended by a large number of people and enjoy a certain popularity despite the fact that there are hardly any studies on its effectiveness and the few that exist are usually contradictory or do not show greater efficacy than placebo .

Bibliographic references:

  • Laín Entralgo, P. (1978, reprint 2006). History of medicine Barcelona: Elsevier Masson.
  • López Piñero, J. M. (2000). Brief history of medicine. Madrid, Alliance.

What are the different types of doctors? Specialties in Medicine! (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 24 branches de la médecine (et comment elles essaient de guérir les patients)

Les 24 branches de la médecine (et comment elles essaient de guérir les patients)

Septembre 20, 2022

La médecine est l'une des disciplines scientifiques les plus importantes , étant donné que son évolution et son application pratique sont fondamentales pour le maintien de notre état de santé.

En plus de cela, il est également l'un des plus grand nombre de branches, de spécialisations et de surspécialités, avec actuellement une cinquantaine. Et c’est pourquoi, dans cet article, nous allons mentionner brièvement certains des plus importants.

  • Article connexe: "Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie"

Types et branches de médecine

La médecine compte, comme nous l'avons indiqué une science large, avec une cinquantaine de branches et spécialités officielles. Cependant, et bien que nous parlions vraiment de la même science, il est possible de faire différentes classifications et typologies de ce type de science .


Ensuite, nous ferons une petite séparation de la médecine dans plusieurs types de base de spécialisations.

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit qu'il existe un grand nombre de professions dans le secteur de la santé, sans être médicales. Les exemples les plus clairs sont les infirmiers, les assistants, les psychologues ou les pharmaciens. C'est pourquoi nous ne les verrons pas parmi les branches ou types de médicaments suivants.

1. clinique

La médecine centrée sur la clinique est ce qui apparaît dans l’imaginaire collectif lorsque nous parlons de cette science. C'est le type de médicament dans lequel le professionnel a une relation directe avec le patient , réalise un diagnostic, propose et met en œuvre un traitement. Il comprend la plupart des spécialisations et constitue généralement la base à partir de laquelle on quitte pour se réorienter vers d'autres types de professionnels lorsque le traitement direct n'est pas possible de leur part.


2. chirurgical

La médecine chirurgicale est principalement dédiée au traitement d’un problème préalablement diagnostiqué, en appliquant généralement une méthodologie invasive dans lequel les professionnels travaillent de manière directe en modifiant l'organisme, en enlevant ou en enlevant toute partie problématique ou en mettant en place des dispositifs susceptibles d'améliorer son fonctionnement.

3. médico-chirurgical

Nous pourrions comprendre ce type de médicament comme un mélange des deux précédents , dans lequel des procédures chirurgicales et cliniques sont utilisées. C'est le cas de certaines spécialités très reconnues, telles que l'ophtalmologie.

4. laboratoire

Dans cette catégorie, nous pouvons trouver toutes les branches qui ne visent pas à fournir un traitement direct au patient, mais plutôt travailler à partir d’analyses ou d’échantillons d’éléments tels que le sang, l’urine, des selles, des liquides sexuels, des sécrétions ou des biopsies ou des tests de diagnostic tels que la résonance magnétique, des plaques ou des TAC. Bien que nous ne pensions généralement pas à eux lorsque nous parlons de médecins, sans leur service, il ne serait pas possible de diagnostiquer ou de traiter un grand nombre de problèmes.


5. Médecine légale

De manière générale, lorsque nous parlons de médecine, nous pensons à celui qui est dédié au diagnostic et au traitement de maladies chez des patients vivants, mais la vérité est qu’il existe également un type de médicament dont l’objectif est d’évaluer l’existence de blessures résultant d’activités criminelles ou criminelles. enquêter sur les causes de décès d'une personne .

6. Médecine du travail

La médecine du travail en est une qui est dédié à l'analyse et au traitement des maladies et des blessures pouvant survenir sur le lieu de travail .

7. médecine préventive

Ce type de médicament, bien que généralement utilisé dans le cadre du processus de la clinique, est celui se spécialise non pas dans le traitement d'une situation actuelle, mais dans le but d'empêcher l'apparition d'une maladie. , faites-le détecter le plus tôt possible afin qu'il ne génère pas de problème grave ou que, dans le cas d'une maladie déjà présente, il ne puisse pas s'aggraver ou réapparaître.

8. Médecine sportive

Le type de médicament dédié au domaine du sport , traite généralement des problèmes musculaires et osseux, ainsi que des ligaments et des tendons. Ils peuvent également traiter d'autres problèmes et effectuer des tâches de prévention.

9. Médecine intégrative

Un type de médicament qui vise à combiner les connaissances de la médecine scientifique et des thérapies alternatives et naturelles , cherchant dans son exercice une intégration des deux types de connaissances dans la pratique médicale.

10. Médecine complémentaire

La médecine complémentaire est considérée comme un type de médecine dans laquelle elle est utilisée avec les méthodologies propres et habituelles de la médecine ainsi que d’autres pratiques traditionnelles qui visent à servir de complément et non à se substituer à la précédente.

Les 24 branches ou spécialisations médicales

Parmi les types de médicaments ci-dessus, nous pouvons trouver des spécialisations axées sur différents aspects, tels que le domaine de l'organisme sur lequel ils concentrent leurs études ou leur âge.

Bien qu'il y en ait beaucoup d'autres, voici vingt-quatre d'entre eux pour se faire une idée de sa grande variabilité.

1. Médecine générale et familiale

La médecine générale et familiale est la branche de base de la médecine, qui n'est pas spécialisée dans un secteur de l'âge ou dans une partie spécifique du corps, mais qui possède une connaissance générale de la plupart des domaines et qui répond souvent aux besoins suivants: problèmes de santé plus généraux. C’est généralement le médecin que nous consultons en premier lieu. Si nécessaire, vous pouvez vous adresser à un spécialiste.

2. Pédiatrie

La pédiatrie est l'une des branches ou des types de médicaments les plus courants, car elle prend en charge les problèmes de santé de l'un des groupes d'âge les plus vulnérables: l'enfance. C'est une spécialité particulière, car outre le fait que les enfants nécessitent un type de traitement plus particulier, le rôle important des parents du patient doit être pris en compte à la fois pour obtenir et informer et pour prendre toute décision et possibilité perte d'informations due aux difficultés à exprimer le type de malaise du mineur.

En outre, plusieurs sous-spécialités sont possibles.

3. cardiologie

La cardiologie est probablement l'une des spécialités les plus connues de la médecine, étant la sous-discipline responsable du travail et de l'étude du système cardiovasculaire, en particulier du cœur. De ses arythmies aux crises cardiaques, en passant par les problèmes congénitaux ou les maladies cardiaques, sont quelques-uns de ses domaines d'application. Dans certains cas, il peut être lié à une autre spécialité, la chirurgie cardiovasculaire.

4. Pneumologie

C'est la branche de la médecine qui travaille avec les problèmes typiques du système respiratoire, en particulier des poumons. Des exemples de problèmes typiques dans lesquels ils peuvent être liés sont la fibrose kystique ou la MPOC.

5. Gynécologie et obstétrique

La gynécologie est la spécialité médicale axée sur les problèmes et la santé du système reproducteur féminin, tant génital que mammaire.

En ce qui concerne l'obstétrique, est dédié à l'étude et au maintien de la santé en cours de grossesse et d'accouchement, ainsi que post-partum. Son travail est à la fois avec la mère et le garçon ou la fille.

6. Oto-rhino-laryngologie

L'oto-rhino-laryngologie est consacrée à l'étude du système auditif, du larynx et du pharynx, des problèmes de travail pouvant aller des infections à la perte auditive.

7. urologie

L'urologie est la branche de la médecine qui étudie et travaille avec le système reproducteur et génito-urinaire masculin. Elle traite de problèmes pouvant inclure des domaines tels que les testicules, le pénis, les glandes surrénales et le péritoine. Parfois, il est confondu avec la proctologie.

8. Endocrinologie

Le système endocrinien est l’un des éléments les plus importants de notre corps, même s’il est généralement sous-évalué. C’est ce système lié aux hormones qui fait l’objet d’une étude de l’endocrinologie, qui permet de traiter les problèmes hormonaux, la croissance, les problèmes thyroïdiens ou le diabète.

9. Dermatologie

La peau, ses problèmes et ses maladies sont l’objet principal d’étude de la dermatologie, traitant des problèmes liés aux pustules, kystes, brûlures, taches de rousseur, abcès, eczéma ou même mélanomes.

10. Traumatologie

La traumatologie est la branche de la médecine qui se concentre sur les effets des ecchymoses et des ecchymoses, généralement avec des ruptures ou des luxations. Il est souvent associé à la physiothérapie et à la rééducation, ainsi qu’à la chirurgie.

11. Oncologie

Cette branche de la médecine traite de l’un des types de problèmes qui inquiètent le plus la majorité de la population: le cancer.

12. Gériatrie

Une spécialité qui, au lieu d’une maladie, se concentre sur les problèmes habituels d’un certain groupe d’âge. Dans ce cas, sa performance se concentre sur les personnes âgées, travaillant avec des problèmes de santé courants ou même des démences.

13. dentisterie

La prothèse dentaire, les gencives et le système masticateur en général font l'objet d'étude en dentisterie.

14. Gastroenterology

Les gastro-entérologues sont les spécialistes des problèmes digestifs et se concentrent sur les problèmes d’estomac et d’intestins.

15. Néphrologie

Cette branche de la médecine étudie et traite tous les problèmes liés aux reins et à leur fonctionnement.

16. Infectologie

Bien que cette spécialité ne soit pas la plus connue de la population en général, elle est responsable de l’étude des maladies infectieuses, qu’elles soient virales ou bactériennes.

17. Toxicologie

Cette branche de la médecine est chargée d’étudier et de travailler avec tous les cas dans lesquels il ya eu une sorte d’intoxication, que ce soit la consommation de cet aliment ou de drogue ou le contact avec un toxique.

19. hématologie

Un type de spécialité médicale axée sur les problèmes liés au sang.

20. Ophtalmologie

La branche de la médecine qui étudie le fonctionnement et les troubles et maladies liés aux organes visuels: les yeux.

21. radiologie

Une des spécialités moins adaptées au fonctionnement normal de ce que la plupart considèrent comme un médecin, la radiologie implique l’étude et la réalisation de tests de diagnostic utilisant des techniques qui utilisent un certain type de rayonnement.

22. Proctologie

Branche ou type de médicament responsable du travail et de l’analyse de tous les problèmes liés aux organes liés à l’excrétion: le côlon, l’anus et le rectum.

23. Rhumatologie

Cette branche de la médecine est responsable de l’étude, du diagnostic et du traitement des problèmes liés aux articulations et aux muscles.

24. Immunologie

Comme le nom de cette spécialité nous l'indique, nous sommes devant la branche de la médecine spécialisée dans l'étude du système immunitaire et des problèmes et maladies qu'il peut avoir, en traitant des problèmes tels que l'infection à VIH ou le lupus.

Autres types de médicaments

Toutes les branches susmentionnées sont des spécialités de la médecine qui suivent la méthode scientifique et se sont révélées efficaces dans le traitement de leurs problèmes par le biais de diverses études.

Cependant, il existe d'autres types de médicaments qui ne bénéficient généralement pas de preuves scientifiques et qui sont généralement guidés par la spiritualité ou la tradition. Nous parlons de médecine traditionnelle et de médecines parallèles, fréquentées par un grand nombre de personnes et jouissant d’une certaine popularité alors qu’il n’existe guère d’études sur son efficacité et que les rares qui existent sont généralement contradictoires ou ne montrent pas une plus grande efficacité que le placebo .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Laín Entralgo, P. (1978, réimpression 2006). Histoire de la médecine Barcelone: ​​Elsevier Masson.
  • López Piñero, J. M. (2000). Brève histoire de la médecine. Madrid, Alliance.

Secrets d'Histoire - Un homme nommé Jésus (Intégrale) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes