yes, therapy helps!
The 24 types of yoga that will improve your mental balance

The 24 types of yoga that will improve your mental balance

January 22, 2022

Yoga, despite being fashionable in the West, is an ancient practice which has shown many benefits both physical and psychological. For many, it is not only a way to keep the body firm and healthy, but it is key to their mental well-being.

Given its long history and popularity in Asian regions, there is currently no simple yoga, but rather there are, rather, various types of yoga created with different objectives. Let's see what they are.

The benefits of Yoga

Anyone can learn to practice yoga, and that's why it has so many followers. In the last decade, its practice in the West has increased in such a way that it is possible to enjoy its benefits in any gym or in specialized training centers.


The benefits of this ancient art They are the following:

  • Improve flexibility
  • Reduce stress
  • Help in physical recovery
  • Improve sleep
  • Improves mood
  • Increase strength
  • Helps maintain balance and coordination
  • Prevents injuries
  • Improves concentration
  • Improve the resistance
  • Improve intimate relationships

You can delve into these benefits in our articles: "The 6 psychological benefits of yoga" and "10 benefits of yoga for athletes (according to science)"

Types of Yoga

Throughout the centuries, this practice has been evolving and there are many types of yoga that have emerged. They are the following:


1. Iyengar

The main characteristic of this type of yoga is the intensity with which attention must be maintained in the present . It is named after its founder Bellur Krishnamachar Sundararaja Iyengar. It uses accessories such as wooden blocks, ribbons, harnesses and tilt boards that help to achieve more perfect postures and allows individuals with physical limitations to do the asanas.

2. Yoga Mindfulness

The Mindfulness Yoga or Atento Yoga refers to a type of yoga in which the full awareness of the breath and the connection between the body and the mind is worked. It is meditation in movement , where the important thing is to be aware of the union of body and mind and to detect the limitations of each one. Self-pity and self-care are worked on.

3. Bikram

This type of yoga refers to a series of exercises, specifically, 26 demanding asanas and difficult to master that take place in a space where the temperature is 42 ° C. The sessions last 90 minutes.


4. Hatha yoga

Hatha yoga is the most practiced in the world . There are other types of yoga, some more mental and others that promote love and are more disinterested. Hatha Yoga is known as physical yoga, and although it also has a spiritual component (meditation, breathing ...), it has a strong physical component.

5. Anusara

A type of modern yoga that It was created in 1997 . It focuses on your asanas that open the heart and take into account the spiritual and meditative benefits of this practice.

6. Passive yoga

Passive yoga It is a preventive and relaxing technique , and it is a healing therapy that encompasses all the vital areas of the human being: the physical, the mental and the emotional. It is also called Thai Massage.

If you want to know more, you can read our article: "Passive Yoga: discover the benefits of stretching."

7. Vinyasa yoga

It is known as Yoga flow and it refers to the connection with the breathing and movement of the asanas . The transition from one to the other is smooth. Each session ends in savasana, which is the final relaxation posture.


8. Yoga Ashtanga

This type of yoga is also known as "Power Yoga". Like the previous one, it focuses on the connection between asanas and breathing, but the movements are faster and physical .

9. Hot yoga

Like the Yoga Bikram too It is practiced in a room with a high temperature . However, it does not contemplate the sequence of 26 Bikram postures, but any type of yoga can be used.

10. Kundalini Yoga

It focuses on breathing (pranayama) and core work, while paying attention to developing consciousness. Each position has a different breathing technique associated , with the idea that this intensifies the position. A very spiritual and meditative style.


11. Yoga Yin

Developed by Paulie Zink It is a slow yoga style in which postures are maintained for long periods of time. This helps strengthen the connective tissue, improve circulation and increase flexibility.

12. Jivamukti Yoga

It is a type of Hatha yoga, but it is not just a physical exercise to keep the body in shape or to increase strength or flexibility. This style of yoga aims to lead to enlightenment and is based on the idea of ​​the unity of being , in which the relationship with others is very important.

13. Kripalu Yoga

A type of yoga that has three characteristic elements: knowing, accepting and learning from the body. It's based on a series of prolonged postures that favor meditation . The person must feel deeply to find the spontaneous flow in the asanas.


14. Restorative Yoga

A job that requires deep meditation, with slow movements . A yoga of few postures and short duration, but with the aim of a psychic cleansing, to feel like new.

15. Yoga Sivananda

A slow yoga practice in which 12 asanas are always used. This type of yoga has its origin in the a philosophy that relaxation, diet, exercise and positive thinking work together to form a healthy yogic lifestyle

16. Viniyoga

It is based on the idea of ​​adapting the goals to their own needs and abilities. "Vini" refers to differentiation, adaptation and appropriate application. It's a new kind of yoga, that does not use force and flexibility , if not proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation (PNF).

17. Prenatal yoga

Yoga can be a great help for mothers. Prenatal yoga It is ideal for those women who are pregnant . Thanks to Prenatal Yoga, future moms can take care of their body or maintain a healthy and relaxed mind, in addition to a much more relaxed delivery.

18. Tantric yoga

A yoga that has its origin in the control of all energies, including sexual . It is ideal to practice as a couple because it promotes union and balance between masculine and feminine energies.

19. Forrest Yoga

Forrest Yoga is a practice that requires great physical effort and that aims to transport the transformation of the person beyond the yoga sessions. It aims to overcome emotional blocks and find the way forward.

20. Ishta Yoga

This type of yoga It was created by Alan Finger in the 60s in South Africa . It is based on the idea of ​​mental clarity and generosity of spirit. This practice combines the principles of Hatha and Tantra yogas. .

21.Yoga focused on the Core

This is a type of Yoga that has been created in the gyms of the United States. He was born in Denver in 2002 and, since then, has spread throughout the West. It puts its focus of attention on the central part of the body .

22. Integral Yoga

A softer Hatha Yoga style, which has its origin in the ideas and guidelines of Sri Swami Satchidananda . In an attempt to integrate mind, body and spirit, this type of yoga includes singing and meditation.

23. Yoga Moksha

Founded in Canada in 2004, it is also known as Yoga Mode. It's a style that has 45 asanas carried out a heated room , just like hot Yoga.

24. Yoga Sridaiva

This style is very peculiar, different from the previous ones and introduces a new system of alignment. It is quite different from other types of yoga in which the knees are kept bent and the pelvis is always leaning forward. The defenders say they find a new force in this lineup.


15 Yoga Poses That'll Change Your Body In Less Than a Month (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 24 types de yoga qui amélioreront votre équilibre mental

Les 24 types de yoga qui amélioreront votre équilibre mental

Mars 2, 2021

Le yoga, bien qu’à la mode en Occident, est une pratique ancienne qui a montré de nombreux avantages à la fois physiques et psychologiques. Pour beaucoup, ce n'est pas seulement un moyen de garder le corps ferme et en bonne santé, mais c'est la clé de leur bien-être mental.

Compte tenu de sa longue histoire et de sa popularité dans les régions asiatiques, il n’existe actuellement aucun yoga simple, mais plutôt il existe plutôt différents types de yoga créé avec des objectifs différents. Voyons ce qu'ils sont.

Les bienfaits du yoga

N'importe qui peut apprendre à pratiquer le yoga, et c'est pourquoi il compte autant d'adeptes. Au cours de la dernière décennie, sa pratique dans l’Ouest a augmenté de telle sorte qu’il est possible de profiter de ses avantages dans n’importe quel gymnase ou dans des centres d’entraînement spécialisés.


Les bienfaits de cet art ancien Ils sont les suivants:

  • Améliorer la flexibilité
  • Réduire le stress
  • Aide à la récupération physique
  • Améliorer le sommeil
  • Améliore l'ambiance
  • Augmenter la force
  • Aide à maintenir l'équilibre et la coordination
  • Empêche les blessures
  • Améliore la concentration
  • Améliorer la résistance
  • Améliorer les relations intimes

Vous pouvez explorer ces avantages dans nos articles: "Les 6 avantages psychologiques du yoga" et "10 avantages du yoga pour les athlètes (selon la science)"

Types de yoga

Au fil des siècles, cette pratique a évolué et de nombreux types de yoga ont émergé. Ils sont les suivants:


1. Iyengar

La principale caractéristique de ce type de yoga est l'intensité avec laquelle l'attention doit être maintenue dans le présent . Il porte le nom de son fondateur Bellur Krishnamachar Sundararaja Iyengar. Il utilise des accessoires tels que des cales en bois, des rubans, des harnais et des planches d'inclinaison qui permettent d'obtenir des postures plus parfaites et permettent aux personnes ayant des limitations physiques de faire les asanas.

2. La pleine conscience du yoga

Le yoga Mindfulness ou Atento Yoga fait référence à un type de yoga dans lequel la pleine conscience du souffle et la connexion entre le corps et l'esprit sont travaillées. C'est la méditation en mouvement , où l’important est de prendre conscience de l’union du corps et de l’esprit et de détecter les limites de chacun. La pitié de soi et les soins personnels sont travaillés.

3. Bikram

Ce type de yoga fait référence à une série d'exercices, notamment 26 asanas exigeants et difficiles à maîtriser qui se déroulent dans un espace où la température est de 42 ° C. Les séances durent 90 minutes.


4. Hatha yoga

Le Hatha yoga est le plus pratiqué au monde . Il existe d'autres types de yoga, certains plus mentaux et d'autres qui favorisent l'amour et qui sont plus désintéressés. Le Hatha Yoga est connu sous le nom de yoga physique et, bien qu'il comporte également une composante spirituelle (méditation, respiration ...), il comporte une forte composante physique.

5. Anusara

Un type de yoga moderne qui Il a été créé en 1997 . Il se concentre sur vos asanas qui ouvrent le cœur et tiennent compte des avantages spirituels et méditatifs de cette pratique.

6. Yoga passif

Yoga passif C'est une technique préventive et relaxante , et c’est une thérapie de guérison qui englobe tous les domaines vitaux de l’être humain: physique, mental et émotionnel. On l'appelle aussi massage thaïlandais.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Yoga passif: découvrez les avantages de l'étirement."

7. Yoga Vinyasa

Il est connu comme le flux de yoga et il fait référence à la connexion avec la respiration et le mouvement des asanas . La transition de l'un à l'autre se fait en douceur. Chaque session se termine par la savasana, posture de relaxation finale.


8. Yoga Ashtanga

Ce type de yoga est également appelé "Power Yoga". Comme le précédent, il se concentre sur le lien entre les asanas et la respiration, mais les mouvements sont plus rapides et physiques .

9. yoga chaud

Comme le yoga Bikram aussi Il se pratique dans une pièce à haute température . Cependant, il ne considère pas la séquence de 26 postures de Bikram, mais tout type de yoga peut être utilisé.

10. Kundalini Yoga

Il se concentre sur la respiration (pranayama) et le travail de base, tout en prêtant attention au développement de la conscience. Chaque position est associée à une technique de respiration différente , avec l’idée que cela intensifie la position. Un style très spirituel et méditatif.


11. Yoga Yin

Développé par Paulie Zink C'est un style de yoga lent dans lequel les postures sont maintenues pendant de longues périodes. Cela aide à renforcer le tissu conjonctif, à améliorer la circulation et à augmenter la flexibilité.

12. Yoga Jivamukti

C'est un type de Hatha yoga, mais ce n'est pas simplement un exercice physique pour garder le corps en forme, pour augmenter sa force ou sa flexibilité. Ce style de yoga vise à mener à l'illumination et est basé sur l'idée de l'unité de l'être , dans lequel la relation avec les autres est très importante.

13. Yoga Kripalu

Un type de yoga qui a trois éléments caractéristiques: savoir, accepter et apprendre du corps. Se base sur une série de postures prolongées qui favorisent la méditation . La personne doit ressentir profondément pour trouver le flux spontané dans les asanas.


14. Yoga réparateur

Un travail qui nécessite une méditation profonde, avec des mouvements lents . Un yoga de peu de postures et de courte durée, mais dans le but d'un nettoyage psychique, se sentir comme neuf.

15. Yoga Sivananda

Une pratique de yoga lente dans laquelle 12 asanas sont toujours utilisés. Ce type de yoga a son origine dans la une philosophie qui repose sur la relaxation, l'alimentation, l'exercice et la pensée positive travailler ensemble pour former un style de vie yogique sain

16. Viniyoga

Il est basé sur l'idée d'adapter les objectifs à leurs propres besoins et capacités. "Vini" fait référence à la différenciation, à l'adaptation et à l'application appropriée. C'est un nouveau type de yoga, ça n'utilise ni force ni souplesse , sinon la facilitation neuro-musculaire proprioceptive (PNF).

17. Yoga prénatal

Le yoga peut être d'une grande aide pour les mères. Yoga prénatal C'est idéal pour les femmes enceintes . Grâce au yoga prénatal, les futures mamans peuvent prendre soin de leur corps ou conserver un esprit sain et détendu, en plus d'un accouchement beaucoup plus détendu.

18. yoga tantrique

Un yoga qui a son origine dans le contrôle de toutes les énergies, y compris sexuelle . La pratique en couple est idéale car elle favorise l'union et l'équilibre entre les énergies masculines et féminines.

19. Forrest Yoga

Forrest Yoga est une pratique qui nécessite un effort physique important et qui vise à transporter la transformation de la personne au-delà des sessions de yoga. Il vise à surmonter les blocages émotionnels et trouver la voie à suivre.

20. Yoga Ishta

Ce type de yoga Il a été créé par Alan Finger dans les années 60 en Afrique du Sud. . Il est basé sur l'idée de clarté mentale et de générosité d'esprit. Cette pratique combine les principes des yoga Hatha et Tantra. .

21.Yoga s'est concentré sur le noyau

Ceci est un type de yoga qui a été créé dans les gymnases des États-Unis. Il est né à Denver en 2002 et, depuis lors, s'est répandu dans tout l'Ouest. Il concentre son attention sur la partie centrale du corps .

22. Yoga intégral

Un style de Hatha Yoga plus doux, qui a son origine dans les idées et les lignes directrices de Sri Swami Satchidananda . Dans le but d'intégrer l'esprit, le corps et l'esprit, ce type de yoga comprend le chant et la méditation.

23. Yoga Moksha

Fondé au Canada en 2004, il est également connu sous le nom de Yoga Mode. C'est un style qui a 45 asanas réalisé une salle chauffée , tout comme le yoga chaud.

24. Yoga Sridaiva

Ce style est très particulier, différent des précédents et introduit un nouveau système d’alignement. C'est assez différent des autres types de yoga dans lequel les genoux sont maintenus pliés et le bassin toujours penché en avant. Les défenseurs disent qu'ils trouvent une nouvelle force dans cette gamme.


6 • Kundalini Yoga : la respiration / 3 : série respiratoire de base (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes