yes, therapy helps!
The 25 main organs of the human body

The 25 main organs of the human body

March 1, 2021

Our body is not a homogenous and uniform mass. We are complex organisms, being formed by a great amount of different types of cells, tissues, organs and systems that in their totality allow to a greater or lesser extent our survival and adaptation to the environment.

The organs of the human body are a fundamental part of this set , there being a great variety of them throughout the human body. In this article we will briefly review just that, the main organs of the human body.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 branches of Biology: its objectives and characteristics"

Reviewing the concept: what is an organ?

Although it is something that most people already know, it is a good idea to make a brief mention of what we consider an organ since there can often be confusion between that concept and that of tissue.


We consider everything as an organ set of associated organic tissues that make up a structured whole and organized as a unit , can by itself perform one (or several) specific functions within the body. Generally organs are associated with each other forming different systems, which together regulate the different processes linked to specific physiological and behavioral functionalities.

Although practically all the organs have their function, the truth is that not all are fundamental to our survival , there are some that are more relevant than others and even organs without which it is possible to live. Likewise, we also possess some elements inherited from our ancestors whose role is merely vestigial.


Main organs of the human body

There is a huge amount of different organs spread throughout our body. Although technically more than eighty different organs can be found and classified in the human body, in this article we are going to focus on some of the most fundamental and recognizable as such.

1. Brain

The so-called king organ, the brain is the nucleus of the nervous system and the person in charge of managing the set of bodily functions through the sending of nervous signals that govern the rest of organs and systems. His performance allows life (in fact, brain death is considered as real death) and the performance of any type of behavior. Perception and movement, as well as intellectual abilities, are produced by their performance and proper functioning. It is formed by neurons and glial tissues.


  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

2. Heart

Organ formed by muscle tissue and core of the cardiovascular system, the heart Its main function is the pumping of blood throughout the body . Thanks to its performance we can take oxygen and nutrients to other organs and body systems, allowing their survival.

3. Lungs

The lungs are another of the main organs of the body, and in this case they are the main element of the respiratory system . These are two large organs that occupy much of the thorax and whose main function is to obtain oxygen from the environment to allow cellular respiration while eliminating carbon dioxide and other waste generated by the functioning of the body. These elements are taken from the lungs to the rest of the body or from the organs to the lungs through the blood.

4. Stomach

The so-called second brain, is another of the organs that allow our survival. It is the body responsible for diluting the food we eat thanks to the acids present in it and those sent by various vesicles and other organs of the system. Thanks to his performance we can digest the food and subsequently absorb their nutrients

5. Liver

Important organ of the human body and part of the digestive system, its action allows us to metabolize the nutrients and the different substances that we consume. It is also essential when it comes to eliminating and purging elements interpreted as harmful to the body.

6. Pancreas

Another of the most important organs of the body, the pancreas form part of the digestive and endocrine system. It secretes different enzymes and hormones that allow the management and regulation of different elements, such as the glycemic level through insulin secreted by the islets of Langerhans, or glucagon or ghrelin.

7. Intestines (thick and thin)

The large and small intestines are a main part of the digestive tract, in addition to the longer one. Its importance is crucial, since by passing the previously digested food in the stomach they are responsible for absorb nutrients , in such a way that allows our survival.

8. Kidneys

A fundamental element of the organism, these organs allow the purification and filtering of the blood in such a way that the toxins and waste generated by the corporal functioning through the excretory system can be eliminated. In addition, it allows the reabsorption of blood to re-send it through the circulatory system and acts as an important element in body homeostasis and the regulation of blood pressure.

9. Timo

This organ (although some authors consider it only a gland) is part of the immune system and has great importance for our survival. And it is that in the thymus we can find the organ in which the T lymphocytes, white blood cells fundamental for the defense of the organism against bacterial aggressions and external toxic substances and that are generated in the spinal cord, mature and differentiate.

10. Spleen

Although formerly it was believed that the spleen was an organ without function or even vestigial, the truth is that although it is possible to live without it, it does have relevant functions for our health. In fact, it is considered part of the lymphatic system and the largest organ of that system.

To start the spleen fulfills the important function of serving as a store of blood, which allows maintaining adequate and constant levels of this element circulating through our body. But it does not limit its function to being a mere warehouse: also is part of the lymphatic and immune systems , acting as a filter and contributing to the synthesis of antibodies. It also helps to destroy damaged red blood cells and the balance of fluids in the body. Finally, this organ is characterized by having hematopoietic cells, immature stem cells that can end up generating different cell types depending on the need.

11. Bladder

An important part of the organism is the bladder, an organ in the form of a small sac that stores urine, a product of the filtering carried out by the kidneys, and which will later allow the expulsion through the urethra.

12. Eyes

The sensory organs are also very relevant for our survival, since they allow us to detect what happens outside. The eyes are one of the most important sensory organs, allowing us the perception of images through the capture of light stimuli, these images being later processed by the brain.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 parts of the eye and its functions"

13. The ear

The ear is a sensory structure that allows us to capture the information coming from the vibration of the waves, being able to capture sounds thanks to it. However, it is a structure made up of multiple elements. One of the most relevant is the organ of Corti , being this the authentic one responsible for the capture of auditory stimuli.

14. Nose

Identified as the main olfactory organ, the elements that are part of the nose allow the detection and identification of odors. In addition, it is through the nostrils through which most people (although some breathe through the mouth) introduces oxygen from the outside into our body and excretes the carbon dioxide produced in the breath. It acts as a filter for microorganisms and it heats the air that enters the body. Special mention deserves the vomeronasal organ or Jacobson, linked to the perception of pheromones.

15. Language

Organ formed by muscle tissue that is essential for multiple functions such as feeding or communicating orally. In it we can find the taste buds, which allow us to capture the flavors of different foods or substances that come into contact with our mouth.

16. Penis

The penis is one of the main existing male sexual organs. It is an erectile element that allows intercourse when filling their cavernous bodies with blood and the transmission of semen to the outside. In addition, unlike in women, it also allows the expulsion of urine through the same organ.

17. Testicles

Part of the reproductive and endocrine system , are two structures that generate and store sex hormones such as testosterone and male reproductive cells, sperm.

18. Prostate

Organ in the form of a gland that is part of the male reproductive system and whose main function is to secrete substances that allow the survival and protection of sperm, being essential in the production of semen.

19. Clitoris

Female sexual organ that enjoys the privilege of being the point of the organism with the highest number of nerve endings in the human body . Its only known function at the moment is to provide pleasure during the sexual act or with its stimulation through other means. Curiously, the penis and clitoris arise throughout the development from the same structure, and both can erect.

20. Ovaries

Located above the fallopian tubes, the ovaries are female sex organs that are also part of the endocrine system.It deals with the structures in which the ovules are produced and developed, as well as one of the main producers of estrogen and progesterone in women.

21. Uterus

Organ formed mainly by muscle and endothelial tissue , it is the part of the female body that houses the future baby while it is gestating and in which it is provided with food and oxygen through the blood vessels.

22. Skin

One of the organs most visible externally, the skin is the layer of tissue that covers our body and separates us from external stimulation, being a protective element. In addition to that, it protects us against dehydration and participates in the regulation of body temperature and the excretion (through the sweat glands in it present) of toxins. It is an adaptable and flexible organ of great importance for our survival, and which, however, is not usually given the same attention as other large organs.

23. Bones

Our bones can be considered an organ, whose main function is the protection of the main organs (brain, heart and lungs) and the maintenance of a body structure that allows our basic functionality. In addition, they are linked to the creation of blood cells and autoimmunity, as well as warehouse and homeostatic system of substances such as calcium and fats (in the yellow marrow).

24. Muscles

Our musculature could also be identified as an organ. Its main function is to allow movement, both voluntary and involuntary (for example, respiratory or proper to digestion), by contracting and dilate.

25. Teeth

These small elements present in the mouth could also consider an organ, and may have different functions. The main and most evident is the chewing and preparation of solid foods to be transported through the digestive tract and get the nutrients absorbed. They can also serve as a defensive element against external aggressions, such as that of a predator or a member of our own species. They also participate together with the rest of the bucco-organs in the communication.

... And many more

As we have said, there are about eighty organs that make up our organism, of which we have only exposed some of the most important ones. The esophagus, the urethra, glands like the thyroid ... depending on where we put the limits we will find more or less identifiable structures as organs. There is a lot to investigate.

It can be thought that today we know a lot about the body. However, there is still a lot of misinformation about how our body acts, limiting the available knowledge about different functions and bodily processes to multiple theories more or less accepted.

And even today many advances and discoveries continue to be made. For example, relatively recently the existence of what came to be considered another organ was discovered: the mesentery . This organ is part of the digestive tract, being a retreat of the peritoneum that causes the intestines to remain in place by attaching it to the posterior abdominal wall (although its functions beyond that must still be analyzed to a greater extent). In conclusion, there are many organs and much more research that can be made of the functioning of our body, something that we still largely do not know.



5 most important organs in the Human body - Human Anatomy | Kenhub (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 25 principaux organes du corps humain

Les 25 principaux organes du corps humain

Mars 31, 2024

Notre corps n'est pas une masse homogène et uniforme. Nous sommes des organismes complexes, formés de nombreux types de cellules, tissus, organes et systèmes qui, dans leur ensemble, permettent dans une plus ou moins grande mesure notre survie et notre adaptation à l'environnement.

Les organes du corps humain sont une partie fondamentale de cet ensemble , il y en a une grande variété dans tout le corps humain. Dans cet article, nous examinerons brièvement cela, les principaux organes du corps humain.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Les 10 branches de la biologie: objectifs et caractéristiques"

Réviser le concept: qu'est-ce qu'un organe?

Bien que la plupart des gens le sachent déjà, il est judicieux de mentionner brièvement ce que nous considérons comme un organe, car il peut souvent y avoir confusion entre ce concept et celui de tissu.


Nous considérons tout comme un organe ensemble de tissus organiques associés qui forment un tout structuré et organisé comme une unité , peut à lui seul remplir une (ou plusieurs) fonctions spécifiques au sein du corps. Généralement, les organes sont associés les uns aux autres, formant différents systèmes, qui régulent ensemble les différents processus liés à des fonctionnalités physiologiques et comportementales spécifiques.

Bien que pratiquement tous les organes aient leur fonction, la vérité est que tous ne sont pas fondamentaux pour notre survie , il y en a qui sont plus pertinents que d’autres et même des organes sans lesquels il est possible de vivre. De même, nous possédons également des éléments hérités de nos ancêtres dont le rôle est simplement vestigial.


Organes principaux du corps humain

Il existe une quantité énorme d'organes différents répartis dans tout notre corps. Bien que techniquement, plus de quatre-vingts organes différents puissent être trouvés et classés dans le corps humain, nous allons dans cet article nous concentrer sur certains des plus fondamentaux et des plus reconnaissables.

1. cerveau

Le soi-disant orgue du roi, le cerveau est le noyau du système nerveux et la personne chargée de gérer l'ensemble des fonctions corporelles par l'envoi de signaux nerveux qui régissent le reste des organes et des systèmes. Sa performance permet la vie (en fait, la mort cérébrale est considérée comme une mort réelle) et la performance de tout type de comportement. La perception et le mouvement, ainsi que les capacités intellectuelles, sont produits par leur performance et leur bon fonctionnement. Il est formé de neurones et de tissus gliaux.


  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

2. coeur

Organe formé par le tissu musculaire et le noyau du système cardiovasculaire, le coeur Sa fonction principale est le pompage du sang dans tout le corps . Grâce à ses performances, nous pouvons apporter de l'oxygène et des nutriments à d'autres organes et systèmes du corps, permettant ainsi leur survie.

3. poumons

Les poumons sont un autre des organes principaux du corps, et dans ce cas ils sont l'élément principal du système respiratoire . Ce sont deux grands organes qui occupent une grande partie du thorax et dont la fonction principale est d'obtenir de l'oxygène de l'environnement pour permettre la respiration cellulaire tout en éliminant le dioxyde de carbone et les autres déchets générés par le fonctionnement du corps. Ces éléments passent des poumons au reste du corps ou des organes aux poumons par le sang.

4. estomac

Le soi-disant deuxième cerveau est un autre des organes qui permettent notre survie. C'est l'organisme responsable de la dilution de la nourriture que nous mangeons grâce aux acides qu'elle contient et à ceux qui sont envoyés par diverses vésicules et autres organes du système. Grâce à sa performance, nous pouvons digérer la nourriture et ensuite absorber leurs nutriments

5. Foie

Organe important du corps humain et faisant partie du système digestif, son action nous permet de métaboliser les nutriments et les différentes substances que nous consommons. C'est également essentiel lorsqu'il s'agit d'éliminer et d'éliminer les éléments interprétés comme nocifs pour le corps.

6. pancréas

Un autre des organes les plus importants du corps, le pancréas fait partie du système digestif et endocrinien. Il sécrète différentes enzymes et hormones qui permettent la gestion et la régulation de différents éléments, tels que le niveau glycémique à travers l'insuline sécrétée par les îlots de Langerhans, le glucagon ou la ghréline.

7. Intestins (épais et minces)

Le gros et le petit intestin constituent une partie essentielle du tube digestif, en plus du plus long. Son importance est cruciale, car en passant dans l'estomac les aliments précédemment digérés, ils sont responsables de absorber les nutriments , de manière à permettre notre survie.

8. reins

Élément fondamental de l'organisme, ces organes permettent la purification et la filtration du sang de manière à éliminer les toxines et les déchets générés par le fonctionnement corporel à travers le système excréteur. En outre, il permet à la réabsorption du sang de le renvoyer par le système circulatoire et agit comme un élément important de l'homéostasie du corps et la régulation de la pression artérielle.

9. Timo

Cet organe (bien que certains auteurs le considèrent seulement comme une glande) fait partie du système immunitaire et revêt une grande importance pour notre survie. Et c’est que dans le thymus, on trouve l’organe dans lequel les lymphocytes T, globules blancs essentiels à la défense de l’organisme contre les agressions bactériennes et les substances toxiques externes et générés dans la moelle épinière, mûrissent et se différencient.

10. rate

Bien que l'on croyait autrefois que la rate était un organe sans fonction ou même vestigiale, la vérité est que, s'il est possible de vivre sans elle, elle remplit des fonctions importantes pour notre santé. En fait, il est considéré comme faisant partie du système lymphatique et le plus grand organe de ce système.

Pour commencer, la rate remplit l’importante fonction de constituer une réserve de sang, ce qui permet de maintenir des niveaux adéquats et constants de cet élément circulant dans notre corps. Mais sa fonction ne se limite pas à être un simple entrepôt: également fait partie des systèmes lymphatique et immunitaire , agissant en tant que filtre et contribuant à la synthèse des anticorps. Il aide également à détruire les globules rouges endommagés et l'équilibre des fluides dans le corps. Enfin, cet organe se caractérise par le fait qu'il possède des cellules hématopoïétiques, cellules souches immatures pouvant générer différents types de cellules en fonction des besoins.

11. vessie

Une partie importante de l'organisme est la vessie, un organe sous la forme d'un petit sac qui stocke l'urine, produit de la filtration effectuée par les reins et qui permettra ultérieurement l'expulsion par l'urètre.

12. les yeux

Les organes sensoriels sont également très pertinents pour notre survie, car ils nous permettent de détecter ce qui se passe à l'extérieur. Les yeux sont l’un des organes sensoriels les plus importants, nous permettant de percevoir les images grâce à la capture de stimuli lumineux, ces images étant ensuite traitées par le cerveau.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 11 parties de l'oeil et ses fonctions"

13. l'oreille

L'oreille est une structure sensorielle qui nous permet de capturer les informations provenant de la vibration des ondes et de capturer les sons grâce à elle. Cependant, il s’agit d’une structure composée de multiples éléments. L’un des plus importants est l’organe de Corti , étant l’authentique responsable de la capture des stimuli auditifs.

14. Nez

Identifiés comme l'organe olfactif principal, les éléments faisant partie du nez permettent la détection et l'identification des odeurs. En outre, c'est par les narines que la plupart des gens (même si certains respirent par la bouche) introduisent de l'oxygène de l'extérieur dans notre corps et excrètent le dioxyde de carbone produit dans l'haleine. Il agit comme un filtre pour les microorganismes et il réchauffe l'air qui pénètre dans le corps. Une mention spéciale mérite l'organe voméronasal ou Jacobson, lié à la perception des phéromones.

15. Langue

Organe formé par le tissu musculaire qui est essentiel pour de multiples fonctions telles que l'alimentation ou la communication oralement On y trouve les papilles gustatives qui nous permettent de capter les saveurs de différents aliments ou substances entrant en contact avec notre bouche.

16. pénis

Le pénis est l'un des principaux organes sexuels masculins existants. C'est un élément érectile qui permet les rapports sexuels en remplissant leurs corps caverneux de sang et la transmission du sperme à l'extérieur. En outre, contrairement aux femmes, il permet également l'expulsion de l'urine par le même organe.

17. testicules

Une partie du système reproducteur et endocrinien , sont deux structures qui génèrent et stockent des hormones sexuelles telles que la testostérone et les cellules reproductrices mâles, le sperme.

18. prostate

Organe sous la forme d'une glande qui fait partie du système reproducteur masculin et dont la fonction principale est de sécréter des substances qui permettent la survie et la protection du sperme, étant essentiel pour la production de sperme.

19. Clitoris

Organe sexuel féminin qui jouit du privilège d'être le point de l'organisme avec le plus grand nombre de terminaisons nerveuses dans le corps humain . Sa seule fonction connue actuellement est de procurer du plaisir lors de l'acte sexuel ou lors de sa stimulation par d'autres moyens. Curieusement, le pénis et le clitoris proviennent de la même structure tout au long du développement et peuvent être érigés.

20. ovaires

Situés au-dessus des trompes de Fallope, les ovaires sont des organes sexuels féminins qui font également partie du système endocrinien.Il traite des structures dans lesquelles les ovules sont produits et développés, ainsi que l'un des principaux producteurs d'œstrogène et progestérone chez les femmes.

21. utérus

Orgue formé principalement par le muscle et le tissu endothélial , c’est la partie du corps de la femme qui abrite le futur bébé pendant sa gestation et dans laquelle il reçoit de la nourriture et de l’oxygène par les vaisseaux sanguins.

22. peau

L'un des organes les plus visibles de l'extérieur, la peau est la couche de tissu qui recouvre notre corps et nous sépare de la stimulation externe en tant qu'élément protecteur. En plus de cela, il nous protège de la déshydratation et participe à la régulation de la température corporelle et l'excrétion (à travers les glandes sudoripares présentes) de toxines. C'est un organe adaptable et flexible d'une grande importance pour notre survie et qui, cependant, ne reçoit généralement pas la même attention que d'autres grands organes.

23. os

Nos os peuvent être considérés comme un organe dont la fonction principale est la protection des principaux organes (cerveau, cœur et poumons) et le maintien d'une structure corporelle permettant la fonctionnalité de base. En outre, ils sont liés à la création de cellules sanguines et à l’auto-immunité, ainsi qu’à système de stockage et homéostatique de substances telles que le calcium et les graisses (dans la moelle jaune).

24. muscles

Notre musculature pourrait également être identifiée comme un organe. Sa fonction principale est de permettre le mouvement, volontaire et involontaire (par exemple respiratoire ou propre à la digestion), en se contractant et en se dilatant.

25. dents

Ces petits éléments présents dans la bouche pourraient aussi considérer un organe et avoir des fonctions différentes. Le principal et le plus évident est la mastication et la préparation des aliments solides être transporté dans le tube digestif et obtenir l'absorption des nutriments. Ils peuvent également servir d'élément de défense contre les agressions extérieures, telles que celles d'un prédateur ou d'un membre de notre propre espèce. Ils participent également avec le reste des bucco-organes à la communication.

... Et beaucoup plus

Comme nous l'avons dit, notre organisme contient environ quatre-vingts organes, dont nous n'avons exposé que certains des plus importants. L'œsophage, l'urètre, les glandes comme la thyroïde ... Selon l'endroit où nous mettons les limites, nous trouverons des structures plus ou moins identifiables en tant qu'organes. Il y a beaucoup à étudier.

On peut penser qu'aujourd'hui, nous en savons beaucoup sur le corps. Cependant, il y a encore beaucoup de désinformation sur la façon dont notre corps agit, limitant les connaissances disponibles sur les différentes fonctions et processus corporels à de multiples théories plus ou moins acceptées.

Et même aujourd'hui, de nombreuses avancées et découvertes continuent d'être faites. Par exemple, on a récemment découvert l'existence de ce qui était considéré comme un autre organe: le mésentère . Cet organe fait partie du tube digestif, étant un retrait du péritoine qui oblige les intestins à rester en place en le fixant à la paroi abdominale postérieure (bien que ses fonctions au-delà doivent encore être analysées davantage). En conclusion, nous pouvons faire beaucoup de recherches sur le fonctionnement de notre corps, ce que nous ignorons encore en grande partie.



SQUELETTE HUMAIN - Explique-MOI (Mars 2024).


Articles Connexes