yes, therapy helps!
The 25 most important historical figures

The 25 most important historical figures

June 17, 2024

Very often we talk about the successes achieved in humanity as a collective feat of teamwork. It is considered that without this group component many historical events and inventions would not have been possible individually.

However, and from my point of view, this is still a half truth. There are hundreds of illustrious and famous people who have decisively influenced the world, either with their ideas, inventions, actions or discoveries.

The most important historical figures

You can find below a list of the most important historical figures and influential, mentioning and highlighting their most relevant characteristics and successes.


1. Charles Darwin (1809 - 1882)

This famous English naturalist was the one who postulated that all species of living beings have evolved over time from a common ancestor through a process called "natural selection". His theory of evolution forms the basis of the modern evolutionary synthesis and it constitutes a logical explanation that unifies the observations on the diversity of life.

  • Related article: "The theory of biological evolution"

2. Aristotle (384 BC - 322 BC)

He is considered by the academic world as the first scientist and researcher of all time , whose influence has lasted for two thousand years. He was a scholar, a sage, an eminence in different areas of the sciences and humanities: politician, philosopher, logician and scientist in Ancient Greece. He is recognized as the first founder of logic and biology.


  • Related article: "The 90 Best Famous Phrases of Aristotle"

3. Napoleon Bonaparte (1769 - 1821)

Ambition, will, courage, intelligence, arrogance, cruelty, greatness ... are names that could perfectly describe this character in the story. Despised by some, magnified by others, exalted, reviled, contradictory spirits that can be read and heard about. With your military intelligence he was able to conquer Eastern and Western Europe arriving to North Africa.

4. Julio César (100 BC - 44 BC)

Political and military leader of the great Roman Empire, resulting in the first living Roman leader whose face appeared on a coin On circulation. Apart from his political and military career, this historical figure stood out as an orator and writer on topics such as the Roman republican religion, astronomy or Latin.


5. Plato (427 BC - 347 BC)

Together with Socrates and Aristotle, he is considered one of the most influential philosophies in the thinking of modern Europe . Unlike Socrates, Plato wrote and preserved all his works, introducing a new style for the time novel: dialogue. The contrast of different points of view and the psychological characterization of the interlocutors, was an alternative tool to poetic or oracular expression.

  • You may be interested: "The impressive contributions of Plato to Psychology"

6. Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

"The mind is like a parachute, it only serves if we have it open." German physicist is considered the most important and popular scientist of the 20th century . In 1905, still a young unknown researcher, he published his theory of spatial relativity. Ten years later, he would present the theory of general relativity, which completely reformulated the concept of gravity.

  • It may interest you: "125 sentences of Albert Einstein on science and life"

7. George Washington (1723 - 1799)

He was the first president of the United States between 1789 and 1797, Commander in Chief of the Revolutionary Continental Army in the War of Independence of the United States against England (1775-1783) and one of the authors of the American Constitution . In the USA he is considered the Father of the Homeland.

8. William Shakespeare (1564 - 1616)

English poet, playwright and actor, recognized as the most important writer of the English language and one of the most illustrious authors of universal literature. Its reputation did not reach worldwide success until well into the nineteenth century. Already in the twentieth century, all his works were adapted on many occasions and in all kinds of scenarios: film, books and theater.

9. Cristóbal Colón (1436 - 1506)

His greatest achievement and success was the discovery of America by the West on October 12, 1492, when disembarking on Guanahani Island, now known as the Bahamas. Prior to this, he was a navigator, cartographer, admiral, viceroy and Governor General of the West Indies in the service of the Crown of Castile.

10. Isaac Newton (1643 - 1727)

Mathematician, philosopher, alchemist, theologian and English physicist. Author of "Philosophiae Naturalis Principia Mathematica", more commonly known as Principia, where describes the law of universal gravitation and established the foundations of classical mechanics through the laws that bear his name.

11. Sigmund Freud (1856 - 1939)

Of Jewish origin, this controversial historical figure was a neurologist, considered the founder of psychoanalysis . Despite his controversial psychological theories, having sex as a central theme, Freud is considered one of the most influential figures of the twentieth century, despite his addiction to cocaine that led to his death in 1939.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst"

12. Louis Pasteur (1822 - 1895)

He was a French chemist whose discoveries had a huge impact on the various fields of natural science. The "pasteurization" technique is due honor. Further, he categorically rejected the theory of spontaneous generation and developed the germinal theory of infectious diseases.

  • Related article: "The 30 best phrases of Louis Pasteur"

13. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791)

Composer and pianist of Austrian origin, master of Classicism, is considered as one of the most influential characters in the world of music of all times. His music has been used in movies, series, theater and even video games. Mozart's work covers all musical genres that include around 700 works.

14. Martin Luther King (1929 - 1968)

He was an American pastor of the Baptist church who developed crucial work in the United States at the head of the Civil Rights Movement for African-Americans In addition, he participated as an activist against general poverty and the Vietnam War.

  • Related article: "The 70 Best Famous Phrases of Martin Luther King"

14. Muhammad Ali (1942 - 2016)

Surely it is the most famous character of the twentieth century, as magazines such as The Times or The Esquire have been sentenced on numerous occasions. He changed the rules of the game in the world of boxing breaking ties with the mafia that controlled the business to impose his fight not only inside the ring, but outside of it being the spokesman against universal racial segregation and refusing to go to the Vietnam War, which meant his entry into prison.

15. Pythagoras (569 BC - 475 BC)

Philosopher and Greek mathematician, is considered the father of pure mathematics . He contributed significantly in the advancement and development of Hellenic mathematics, geometry and arithmetic, derived mainly from numerical relationships, applied to the theory of weights and measures, music or astronomy.

16. Genghis Khan (1162 - 1227)

At the beginning of the 13th century, the Mongol armies led by Genghis Khan, played a leading role one of the most important military expansions in history . In little more than twenty years, they conquered much of northern China, then occupied by King Xi Xia and the Yurchen empire, and destroyed the Muslim empire in Juarezm, located in Central Asia.

17. Karl Marx (1818 - 1883)

Socialist thinker and revolutionary activist of German origin . Rarely has the work of a philosopher had such vast and tangible historical consequences as those of Karl Marx: from the Russian Revolution of 1917 until the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, almost half of humanity lived in countries maintained by political governments who declared themselves heirs of his thought.

18. Lenin (1870 - 1924)

Known as Lenin, his original name is Vladímir Ilich Ulyanov. Influenced directly by Marxism, he was a political theorist, revolutionary and communist of Russian origin . Being part of the most radical core of the socialist movement, he became the main leader of the Russian Revolution of 1917.

19. Adolf Hitler (1889 - 1945)

Passing by a private and low profile in the German army during the First World War, his frustration and anger led Adolf Hitler to govern Germany from 1933 to 1945, provoking World War II , 17 million dead and being the main responsible for the Jewish Holocaust. It remains the most enigmatic historical figure of the 20th and 21st centuries.

20. Bill Gates (1955)

Computer scientist and American businessman, is the founder of the Microsoft computer company. The fortune of this precocious programmer who at 31 years old was already a multimillionaire, comes from the success of its sweeping operating system, the MS-DOS (1981) that would evolve into the ubiquitous Windows system. Interestingly, Gates would never be able to finish his studies.

21. Jesus of Nazareth (1 - 33)

Also known as Jesus, Christ or Jesus Christ, he is the central figure of Christianity and one of the most influential people in Western culture. It is probably the most studied theological entity in the history of mankind.The religious movement that began, was transformed into Christianity, which currently has more than 2,100 million parishioners.

22. Muhammad (570 - 632)

He was the prophet and founder of the last monotheistic religion: Islam. Muhammad, also known as Muhammad, is called the "seal of the prophets" because he is considered the last of a long chain of messengers sent by God to transmit and update his message. It is estimated that currently Some 1.2 billion followers practice Islam .

23. Michelangelo (1475 - 1564)

Was a Italian architect, sculptor and painter of the Renaissance style . He is considered one of the greatest artists in history since he triumphed in each and every one of the arts in which he dedicated his time and work, since his main characteristic was perfectionism.

24. Nikola Tesla (1856 - 1943)

Inventor, mechanical engineer, electrical engineer and physicist of Serbian origin settled in the United States. It is considered as the most illustrious promoter of the birth of commercial electricity . It is also famous for its numerous and revolutionary achievements in the field of electromagnetism, developed in the early nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Currently, one of the best electric car manufacturers bears his name (Tesla Motors).

25. Thomas Alva Edison (1847 - 1931)

Perhaps it is the most paradoxical case of all the historical characters mentioned. Thomas Edison, illustrious for being the creator of more than a thousand inventions such as the light bulb, the incandescent lamp, the pheograph or the film projector, he could only attend school for a period of three months .


25 Most IMPORTANT Events In History (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 25 personnages historiques les plus importants

Les 25 personnages historiques les plus importants

Juillet 23, 2022

Très souvent, nous parlons des réussites de l’humanité comme d’un exploit collectif. On considère que sans ce groupe, de nombreux événements et inventions historiques n'auraient pas été possibles individuellement.

Cependant, et de mon point de vue, cela reste une demi-vérité. Des centaines de personnalités illustres et célèbres ont profondément influencé le monde, soit par leurs idées, leurs inventions, leurs actions ou leurs découvertes.

Les personnages historiques les plus importants

Vous pouvez trouver ci-dessous une liste des personnages historiques les plus importants et influents, en mentionnant et en soulignant leurs caractéristiques et leurs succès les plus pertinents.


1. Charles Darwin (1809 - 1882)

Ce célèbre naturaliste anglais est celui qui a postulé que toutes les espèces d’êtres vivants ont évolué au fil du temps d’un ancêtre commun selon un processus appelé "sélection naturelle". Sa théorie de l'évolution forme la base de la synthèse évolutive moderne et cela constitue une explication logique qui unifie les observations sur la diversité de la vie.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de l'évolution biologique"

2. Aristote (384 av. J.-C. - 322 av. J.-C.)

Il est considéré par le monde académique comme le premier scientifique et chercheur de tous les temps , dont l’influence dure depuis deux mille ans. C'était un érudit, un sage, une éminence dans différents domaines des sciences humaines: homme politique, philosophe, logicien et scientifique de la Grèce antique. Il est reconnu comme le premier fondateur de la logique et de la biologie.


  • Article connexe: "Les 90 meilleures phrases d'Aristote"

3. Napoléon Bonaparte (1769 - 1821)

Ambition, volonté, courage, intelligence, arrogance, cruauté, grandeur… sont des noms qui pourraient parfaitement décrire ce personnage dans l'histoire. Méprisé par certains, magnifié par d'autres, exalté, vexé, esprits contradictoires qu'on peut lire et entendre. Avec vos renseignements militaires il a été capable de conquérir l'Europe de l'Est et de l'Ouest arriver en Afrique du Nord.

4. Julio César (100 avant JC - 44 avant JC)

Chef politique et militaire du grand empire romain, aboutissant à le premier chef romain vivant dont le visage est apparu sur une pièce de monnaie en circulation. Outre sa carrière politique et militaire, ce personnage historique s'est distingué en tant qu'orateur et écrivain sur des sujets tels que la religion républicaine romaine, l'astronomie ou le latin.


5. Platon (427 avant JC - 347 avant JC)

Avec Socrates et Aristote, il est considéré une des philosophies les plus influentes dans la pensée de l'Europe moderne . Contrairement à Socrate, Platon a écrit et conservé toutes ses œuvres, introduisant un nouveau style pour le roman à l'époque: le dialogue. Le contraste de points de vue différents et la caractérisation psychologique des interlocuteurs constituaient un outil alternatif à l’expression poétique ou oraculaire.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les contributions impressionnantes de Platon à la psychologie"

6. Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

"L'esprit est comme un parachute, il ne sert que si nous l'avons ouvert." Physicien allemand est considéré comme le scientifique le plus important et le plus populaire du 20ème siècle . En 1905, encore jeune chercheur inconnu, il publie sa théorie de la relativité spatiale. Dix ans plus tard, il présenterait la théorie de la relativité générale, qui reformulait complètement le concept de gravité.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "125 phrases d'Albert Einstein sur la science et la vie"

7. George Washington (1723-1799)

Il fut le premier président des États-Unis entre 1789 et 1797, commandant en chef de l'armée continentale révolutionnaire dans la guerre d'indépendance des États-Unis contre l'Angleterre (1775-1783) et l'un des auteurs de la constitution américaine . Aux États-Unis, il est considéré comme le père de la patrie.

8. William Shakespeare (1564-1616)

Poète, dramaturge et acteur anglais, reconnu comme le plus important écrivain de la langue anglaise et l'un des auteurs les plus illustres de la littérature universelle. Sa réputation n’a atteint un succès mondial qu’au cours du XIXe siècle. Déjà au XXe siècle, toutes ses œuvres étaient adaptées à de nombreuses occasions et à toutes sortes de scénarios: films, livres et théâtre.

9. Cristóbal Colón (1436 - 1506)

Sa plus grande réussite et réussite fut la découverte de l'Amérique par l'Occident le 12 octobre 1492, lors du débarquement sur l'île de Guanahani, maintenant connue sous le nom de Bahamas. Auparavant, il était navigateur, cartographe, amiral, vice-roi et gouverneur général des Indes occidentales au service de la Couronne de Castille.

10. Isaac Newton (1643-1727)

Mathématicien, philosophe, alchimiste, théologien et physicien anglais. Auteur de "Philosophiae Naturalis Principia Mathematica", plus communément appelée Principia, où décrit la loi de la gravitation universelle et a établi les fondements de la mécanique classique à travers les lois qui portent son nom.

11. Sigmund Freud (1856 - 1939)

D'origine juive, ce personnage historique controversé était un neurologue, considéré comme le fondateur de la psychanalyse . Malgré ses théories psychologiques controversées, le sexe étant un thème central, Freud est considéré comme l’une des personnalités les plus influentes du XXe siècle, malgré son penchant pour la cocaïne qui l’a conduit à sa mort en 1939.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'œuvre du célèbre psychanalyste"

12. Louis Pasteur (1822 - 1895)

Il était un chimiste français dont les découvertes ont eu un impact énorme sur les différents domaines des sciences naturelles. La technique de "pasteurisation" est due à l'honneur. En outre, il a catégoriquement rejeté la théorie de la génération spontanée et développé la théorie germinale des maladies infectieuses.

  • Article connexe: "Les 30 meilleures phrases de Louis Pasteur"

13. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791)

Compositeur et pianiste d’origine autrichienne, maître du classicisme, est considéré comme l'un des personnages les plus influents du monde de la musique de tous les temps. Sa musique a été utilisée dans des films, des séries, du théâtre et même des jeux vidéo. Le travail de Mozart couvre tous les genres musicaux comprenant environ 700 œuvres.

14. Martin Luther King (1929 - 1968)

Il était un pasteur américain de l'église baptiste qui a développé un travail crucial aux États-Unis. à la tête du mouvement des droits civiques pour les Afro-Américains En outre, il a participé en tant que militant contre la pauvreté générale et la guerre du Vietnam.

  • Article connexe: "Les 70 meilleures phrases célèbres de Martin Luther King"

14. Muhammad Ali (1942 - 2016)

C’est sûrement le personnage le plus célèbre du XXe siècle, des magazines comme The Times ou The Esquire ayant été condamnés à de nombreuses reprises. Il a changé les règles du jeu dans le monde de la boxe en rompant les liens avec la mafia qui contrôlait l'entreprise pour imposer son combat non seulement à l'intérieur du ring, mais à l'extérieur de celui-ci. être le porte-parole contre la ségrégation raciale universelle et refuser d'aller à la guerre du Vietnam, ce qui signifiait son entrée en prison.

15. Pythagore (569 av. JC - 475 av. J.-C.)

Philosophe et mathématicien grec, est considéré comme le père des mathématiques pures . Il a contribué de manière significative à l'avancement et au développement des mathématiques, de la géométrie et de l'arithmétique helléniques, tirées principalement des relations numériques, appliquées à la théorie des poids et mesures, de la musique ou de l'astronomie.

16. Gengis Khan (1162-1227)

Au début du XIIIe siècle, les armées mongoles dirigées par Gengis Khan ont joué un rôle de premier plan. une des expansions militaires les plus importantes de l'histoire . En un peu plus de vingt ans, ils conquirent une grande partie du nord de la Chine, alors occupée par le roi Xi Xia et l'empire Yurchen, et détruisirent l'empire musulman de Juarezm, situé en Asie centrale.

17. Karl Marx (1818 - 1883)

Penseur socialiste et activiste révolutionnaire d'origine allemande . Les travaux d'un philosophe ont rarement eu des conséquences historiques aussi vastes et tangibles que celles de Karl Marx: depuis la révolution russe de 1917 jusqu'à la chute du mur de Berlin en 1989, près de la moitié de l'humanité vivait dans des pays maintenus par des gouvernements politiques qui se sont déclarés héritiers de sa pensée.

18. Lénine (1870 - 1924)

Connu sous le nom de Lénine, son nom d'origine est Vladímir Ilich Ulyanov. Influencé directement par le marxisme, il était un théoricien politique, révolutionnaire et communiste d'origine russe . Faisant partie du noyau le plus radical du mouvement socialiste, il devint le principal dirigeant de la révolution russe de 1917.

19. Adolf Hitler (1889 - 1945)

Passé discret dans l'armée allemande pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, sa frustration et sa colère ont conduit Adolf Hitler à gouverner l'Allemagne de 1933 à 1945, provoquant la seconde guerre mondiale , 17 millions de morts et le principal responsable de l’Holocauste juif. Il reste la figure historique la plus énigmatique des 20ème et 21ème siècles.

20. Bill Gates (1955)

Informaticien et homme d’affaires américain, est le fondateur de la société d’informatique Microsoft. La fortune de ce programmeur précoce qui, à 31 ans, était déjà multimillionnaire, vient du succès de son système d'exploitation, le MS-DOS (1981) qui évolueraient vers le système Windows omniprésent. Fait intéressant, Gates ne serait jamais capable de terminer ses études.

21. Jésus de Nazareth (1-33)

Aussi connu comme Jésus, Christ ou Jésus-Christ, il est la figure centrale du christianisme et l'une des personnes les plus influentes de la culture occidentale. C'est probablement l'entité théologique la plus étudiée de l'histoire de l'humanité.Le mouvement religieux qui a commencé a été transformé en christianisme, qui compte actuellement plus de 2 100 millions de paroissiens.

22. Mahomet (570 - 632)

Il était le prophète et fondateur de la dernière religion monothéiste: l'Islam. Muhammad, également connu sous le nom de Muhammad, est appelé le "sceau des prophètes" parce qu'il est considéré comme le dernier d'une longue chaîne de messagers envoyés par Dieu pour transmettre et mettre à jour son message. On estime qu'actuellement Quelque 1,2 milliard d'adeptes pratiquent l'islam .

23. Michelangelo (1475 - 1564)

C'était un Architecte italien, sculpteur et peintre de style renaissance . Il est considéré comme l'un des plus grands artistes de l'histoire depuis qu'il a triomphé dans chacun des arts dans lesquels il a consacré son temps et son travail, sa caractéristique principale étant le perfectionnisme.

24. Nikola Tesla (1856 - 1943)

Inventeur, ingénieur en mécanique, ingénieur électricien et physicien d'origine serbe s'est établi aux États-Unis. Il est considéré comme le plus illustre promoteur de la naissance de l'électricité commerciale . Il est également célèbre pour ses nombreuses et révolutionnaires réalisations dans le domaine de l'électromagnétisme, développées au début du XIXe et au début du XXe siècle. Actuellement, l'un des meilleurs constructeurs de voitures électriques porte son nom (Tesla Motors).

25. Thomas Alva Edison (1847 - 1931)

C'est peut-être le cas le plus paradoxal de tous les personnages historiques mentionnés. Thomas Edison, illustre pour avoir été l'inventeur de plus d'un millier d'inventions telles que l'ampoule électrique, la lampe à incandescence, le phéographe ou le projecteur de film, il ne pouvait aller à l'école que pendant trois mois .


Magnifiques citations des plus grands Français de toute époque (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes