yes, therapy helps!
The 25 most insecure countries in the world

The 25 most insecure countries in the world

June 11, 2024

The world can be a wonderful place, but also hostile and insecure. There are countries in which violence and insecurity are very present.

Every year, the Institute for Economics and Peace prepares the Global Peace Index that seeks to know which are the most dangerous and insecure countries in the world attending 22 indicators : number of internal and external conflicts, political insecurity, terrorist activity, number of homicides per 100,000 inhabitants, etc.

Which are the most insecure countries in the world?

Among the 162 countries studied by this institution. Next we show you the 25 most insecure states in the world .

25. Mexico

The North American country presents high levels of delinquency , and this region has become a strategic place for drug trafficking coming to the United States from Latin America. In the last 15 years there have been notable cases of robberies, kidnappings and homicides that have been registered in the country, and according to data from "The National System of Public Security" indicated that in 2016 a total of 20,189 people were murdered.


24. Ethiopia

Ethiopia presents high levels of criminal and political violence that has resulted in numerous injuries and deaths . The theft of occupied vehicles, the extraction of wallets and other misdemeanors are common in this country. Street violence is common and kidnappings of foreigners have sometimes been reported.

23. Ivory Coast

Ivory Coast has suffered two Civil Wars that began in 2002 and 2010 . The Second Civil War of this country became a large-scale military conflict between the forces loyal to Laurent Gbagbo, President of the Ivory Coast since 2000 and supporters of the internationally recognized president Alassane Ouattara. International organizations have reported numerous cases of human rights violations by both parties.


22. Ukraine

Ukraine has experienced a series of conflicts in recent years, since February 2014, especially in the south of the country . The protests in Donetsk and Lugansk have become an armed separatist insurgency that leads the Ukrainian government to launch a military counteroffensive against the insurgents. These conflicts have caused thousands of victims and have made this country on the list of 25 most insecure countries in the world.

21. Chad

Chad is considered one of the poorest and most corrupt countries in the world ; and many of the inhabitants of this country live in extreme poverty. Its political instability has brought violence to the streets and has provoked numerous coup attempts. This country is immersed in crime and corruption.

20. Egypt

Egypt has also experienced turbulent times in recent years, especially in 2012 , against the then President Mohamed Morsi. The political demonstrations have resulted in violent clashes with dozens of deaths and hundreds of wounded. In addition, in this country there is a continuous Christian persecution and discrimination on multiple levels.


19. India

India is a country that lives immersed in the challenges of poverty , corruption, malnutrition, inadequate public health and terrorism. Crime is also a major problem, since crimes against women, domestic violence, the trafficking of drugs and weapons are a reality.

18. Guinea-Bissau

This country in western Africa has been politically unstable for decades , specifically since its independence in 1974. Poverty in Guinea-Bissau is considerable, and the country also suffers a high crime rate. Murders and human trafficking are among the most common criminal acts.

17. Lebanon

The wars that have taken place in Syria have also affected Lebanon . Sunni Muslims in Lebanon mostly support the rebels in Syria, while the Shiites in this country have largely supported Syrian President Bashar al-Assad. The killings, riots and kidnappings of foreign citizens throughout Lebanon are a common occurrence.

16. Yemen

Yemen has suffered 11 civil wars and social unrest . The country lives immersed in poverty, unemployment, corruption ... The government and its security forces have been responsible for torture, inhuman treatment and extrajudicial executions. Freedom of expression, the press and religion are restricted, homosexuality is illegal, punishable by death.

15. Zimbabwe

The African continent lives in continuous conflict, as shown by many countries that include Zimbabwe . The country's economy is seriously damaged, which has repercussions on social dilemmas.Disputes with firearms and violent acts are the order of the day.

14. Israel

Israel suffers a lot of conflicts largely due to its situation regarding Palestine . Armed disputes are commonplace. The struggle between Israelis and Palestinians that began in the mid-twentieth century and the Holy Land lives in continuous tension, especially in the Gaza Strip.

13. Colombia

Inequality is a constant in Colombia, where, according to the Human Development Index of the United Nations (UN), 10% of the richest population in the country earns four times more than the poorest 40% . The Andean country is considered one of the most dangerous in Latin America, although other rankings consider Honduras as a more insecure territory than Colombia.

12. Nigeria

Nigeria suffers both economically and socially, with ongoing conflicts and violation of human rights . His government is known for corruption, where public officials take advantage of his position to fill their pockets. Rape and discrimination based on sex are common.

11. Russia

Russia has a high crime rate . It is a country known for its mafia groups, extortion, drug trafficking, assassins, kidnapping and money laundering. According to the UN, the Russian Federation is one of the leading countries in homicides by the United Nations.

10. North Korea

North Korea appears frequently in the media for living a situation of dictatorship in the hands of Kim Jong-un . Amnesty International has often denounced the restrictions on freedom and human rights suffered by the inhabitants of this country. Arbitrary detention, torture and other ill-treatment that results in death and executions are not strange in this Asian country.

9. Pakistan

Pakistan is considered one of the countries with a high number of terrorists . In fact, the Afghanistan-Pakistan area, in terms of terrorist acts, is only surpassed by that of Syria-Iraq. In addition, political instability, overpopulation, poverty, illiteracy or corruption, makes this country one of the most insecure on the planet.

8. Democratic Republic of the Congo

A politically unstable country, but as in many African states, it is rich in natural resources . In the Democratic Republic of the Congo, corruption and exploitation and the extraction and exploitation of resources prevail. War conflicts have been frequent in the last two decades, killing more than 5.4 million individuals and causing diseases such as malaria.

7. Central African Republic

Another African country on the list that, especially after becoming independent from France in the 1960s, He has lived different dictatorships. The first multi-party democratic elections were held in 1993, when Ange-Félix Patassé was elected president. There are serious clashes between the Muslim and Christian factions.

6. Sudan

The wars have marked the history of Sudan, especially its civil wars and the war in the Darfur region . Human rights are ignored in this country, and both ethnic cleansing and slavery occur. Its Sudanese legal system is governed by Islamic law.

5. Somalia

Somalia is experiencing an internal conflict that began in 1991 and is still active today . The war has caused hundreds of thousands of casualties so far, and rebellious troops, especially Islamists, are continually being added.

4. Iraq

Iraq is one of the countries most devastated by the war , which ended officially in 2011; nevertheless, conflicts are still present, and at a political level, instability is a reality. The self-styled Islamic State continues to expand in this region, where there have been major armed conflicts such as those in Mosul or Tikrit.

3. South Sudan

South Sudan is a country different from Sudan, which in 2011 became independent . This region has suffered internal conflicts for decades, and ethnic violence is the usual pattern. The result has been numerous victims.

2. Afghanistan

The conflicts in Afghanistan, which began in 2001, are globally known . NATO and the allied countries have participated in the civil war in this country, which emerged after the 9/11 attacks. The victims can be counted in tens of thousands.

1. Syria

Syria is the most dangerous country in the world at present due to the armed conflict that lives and that began in the year 2011 , with protests to the government Bashar al-Assad, whose forces responded with violent measures of repression. It is estimated that more than 200,000 civilians have already been killed.


25 Most Dangerous Countries According To Global Peace Index (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 25 pays les plus incertains du monde

Les 25 pays les plus incertains du monde

Janvier 20, 2023

Le monde peut être un endroit merveilleux, mais aussi hostile et peu sûr. Il y a des pays où la violence et l'insécurité sont très présentes.

Chaque année, l’Institut pour l’économie et la paix prépare l’index mondial de la paix qui cherche à connaître qui sont les pays les plus dangereux et les moins sûrs au monde participant à 22 indicateurs : nombre de conflits internes et externes, insécurité politique, activité terroriste, nombre d'homicides pour 100 000 habitants, etc.

Quels sont les pays les plus incertains au monde?

Parmi les 162 pays étudiés par cette institution. Ensuite nous vous montrons les 25 états les plus incertains du monde .

25. Mexique

Le pays d'Amérique du Nord présente des niveaux élevés de délinquance et cette région est devenue un lieu stratégique pour le trafic de drogue en provenance d'Amérique latine aux États-Unis. Au cours des 15 dernières années, des cas notables de vols, d'enlèvements et d'homicides ont été enregistrés dans le pays. Selon les données du "Système national de sécurité publique", 20 189 personnes ont été assassinées en 2016.


24. Ethiopie

L’Éthiopie connaît de nombreuses violences criminelles et politiques qui ont entraîné de nombreux blessés et morts . Le vol de véhicules occupés, l'extraction de portefeuilles et d'autres délits sont courants dans ce pays. La violence dans les rues est courante et des enlèvements d'étrangers ont parfois été signalés.

23. Côte d'Ivoire

La Côte d'Ivoire a subi deux guerres civiles qui ont débuté en 2002 et 2010 . La Seconde Guerre civile de ce pays est devenue un conflit militaire à grande échelle entre les forces fidèles à Laurent Gbagbo, président de la Côte d'Ivoire depuis 2000 et les partisans du président internationalement reconnu Alassane Ouattara. Les organisations internationales ont signalé de nombreux cas de violation des droits de l'homme par les deux parties.


22. Ukraine

L'Ukraine a connu une série de conflits ces dernières années, depuis février 2014, en particulier dans le sud du pays. . Les manifestations à Donetsk et à Lougansk sont devenues une insurrection séparatiste armée qui a amené le gouvernement ukrainien à lancer une contre-offensive militaire contre les insurgés. Ces conflits ont fait des milliers de victimes et ont placé ce pays sur la liste des 25 pays les plus incertains du monde.

21. Tchad

Le Tchad est considéré comme l'un des pays les plus pauvres et les plus corrompus du monde ; et beaucoup d'habitants de ce pays vivent dans une extrême pauvreté. Son instabilité politique a provoqué de la violence dans les rues et a provoqué de nombreuses tentatives de coup d'État. Ce pays est plongé dans la criminalité et la corruption.

20. Egypte

L’Égypte a également connu des temps agités ces dernières années, en particulier en 2012 contre le président de l’époque, Mohamed Morsi. Les manifestations politiques ont entraîné de violents affrontements avec des dizaines de morts et des centaines de blessés. En outre, dans ce pays, les chrétiens sont continuellement persécutés et discriminés à plusieurs niveaux.


19. Inde

L'Inde est un pays qui vit plongé dans les défis de la pauvreté , corruption, malnutrition, santé publique insuffisante et terrorisme. La criminalité est également un problème majeur, car les crimes contre les femmes, la violence domestique, le trafic de drogue et d’armes sont une réalité.

18. Guinée-Bissau

Ce pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest est politiquement instable depuis des décennies spécifiquement depuis son indépendance en 1974. La pauvreté en Guinée-Bissau est considérable et le pays connaît également un taux de criminalité élevé. Les meurtres et le trafic d'êtres humains font partie des actes criminels les plus courants.

17. Liban

Les guerres qui ont eu lieu en Syrie ont également affecté le Liban . Les musulmans sunnites au Liban soutiennent principalement les rebelles en Syrie, tandis que les chiites de ce pays ont largement soutenu le président syrien Bashar al-Assad. Les meurtres, les émeutes et les enlèvements de citoyens étrangers dans tout le Liban sont monnaie courante.

16. Yémen

Le Yémen a connu 11 guerres civiles et des troubles sociaux . Le pays vit plongé dans la pauvreté, le chômage, la corruption ... Le gouvernement et ses forces de sécurité sont responsables de tortures, de traitements inhumains et d'exécutions extrajudiciaires. La liberté d'expression, la presse et la religion sont restreintes, l'homosexualité est illégale et passible de la peine de mort.

15. Zimbabwe

Le continent africain vit dans un conflit permanent, comme le montrent de nombreux pays dont le Zimbabwe . L'économie du pays est gravement endommagée, ce qui a des répercussions sur les dilemmes sociaux.Les conflits d'armes à feu et les actes de violence sont à l'ordre du jour.

14. Israël

Israël souffre de nombreux conflits principalement en raison de sa situation concernant la Palestine . Les conflits armés sont monnaie courante. La lutte entre Israéliens et Palestiniens qui a débuté au milieu du XXe siècle et en Terre Sainte vit dans une tension permanente, en particulier dans la bande de Gaza.

13. Colombie

L’inégalité est une constante en Colombie où, selon l’indice de développement humain des Nations Unies (ONU), 10% de la population la plus riche du pays gagnent quatre fois plus que les 40% les plus pauvres . Le pays andin est considéré comme l’un des plus dangereux d’Amérique latine, bien que d’autres classements considèrent le Honduras comme un territoire moins sûr que la Colombie.

12. Nigeria

Le Nigéria souffre à la fois économiquement et socialement, avec des conflits permanents et des violations des droits de l'homme . Son gouvernement est connu pour sa corruption, où des fonctionnaires tirent parti de sa position pour se remplir les poches. Le viol et la discrimination fondée sur le sexe sont courants.

11. Russie

La Russie a un taux de criminalité élevé . C’est un pays connu pour ses groupes mafieux, ses extorsions, son trafic de drogue, ses assassins, ses enlèvements et son blanchiment d’argent. Selon les Nations Unies, la Fédération de Russie est l'un des principaux pays en matière d'homicides commis par les Nations Unies.

10. Corée du Nord

La Corée du Nord apparaît fréquemment dans les médias pour avoir vécu une situation de dictature aux mains de Kim Jong-un . Amnesty International a souvent dénoncé les restrictions à la liberté et aux droits humains dont sont victimes les habitants de ce pays. Détention arbitraire, torture et autres mauvais traitements entraînant la mort et des exécutions ne sont pas étranges dans ce pays asiatique.

9. Pakistan

Le Pakistan est considéré comme l'un des pays comptant un nombre élevé de terroristes . En fait, la zone Afghanistan-Pakistan, en termes d’actes terroristes, n’est dépassée que par celle Syrie-Irak. En outre, l’instabilité politique, la surpopulation, la pauvreté, l’analphabétisme ou la corruption font de ce pays l’un des plus précaires du monde.

8. République démocratique du Congo

Un pays politiquement instable, mais comme dans de nombreux États africains, il est riche en ressources naturelles . En République démocratique du Congo, la corruption et l’exploitation, l’extraction et l’exploitation des ressources prévalent. Les conflits de guerre ont été fréquents au cours des deux dernières décennies, tuant plus de 5,4 millions de personnes et causant des maladies telles que le paludisme.

7. République centrafricaine

Un autre pays africain sur la liste qui, surtout après son indépendance de la France dans les années 1960, Il a vécu différentes dictatures. Les premières élections démocratiques multipartites ont eu lieu en 1993, au moment où Ange-Félix Patassé a été élu président. Il y a de graves affrontements entre les factions musulmanes et chrétiennes.

6. Soudan

Les guerres ont marqué l'histoire du Soudan, en particulier ses guerres civiles et la guerre dans la région du Darfour . Les droits de l'homme sont ignorés dans ce pays, et le nettoyage ethnique comme l'esclavage ont lieu. Son système juridique soudanais est régi par le droit islamique.

5. Somalie

La Somalie connaît un conflit interne qui a débuté en 1991 et est toujours active aujourd'hui . La guerre a fait des centaines de milliers de victimes jusqu'à présent et des troupes rebelles, en particulier des islamistes, sont continuellement ajoutées.

4. Irak

L'Irak est l'un des pays les plus dévastés par la guerre , qui a pris fin officiellement en 2011; néanmoins, les conflits sont toujours présents et, sur le plan politique, l'instabilité est une réalité. Le soi-disant État islamique continue de s'étendre dans cette région, où d'importants conflits armés ont eu lieu, tels que ceux de Mossoul ou de Tikrit.

3. Soudan du Sud

Le Soudan du Sud est un pays différent du Soudan, qui est devenu indépendant en 2011. . Cette région a connu des conflits internes pendant des décennies et la violence ethnique est la tendance habituelle. Le résultat a été de nombreuses victimes.

2. Afghanistan

Les conflits en Afghanistan, qui ont débuté en 2001, sont mondialement connus . L'OTAN et les pays alliés ont participé à la guerre civile qui a éclaté dans ce pays après les attentats du 11 septembre. Les victimes peuvent être comptées par dizaines de milliers.

1. Syrie

La Syrie est actuellement le pays le plus dangereux au monde en raison du conflit armé qui a éclaté et qui a débuté en 2011. , avec des protestations au gouvernement Bachar al-Assad, dont les forces ont répondu par des mesures violentes de répression. On estime que plus de 200 000 civils ont déjà été tués.


Inde: l'avenir incertain d'un pays rempli d'hommes (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes