yes, therapy helps!
The 28 types of advertising: different ways to advertise a product

The 28 types of advertising: different ways to advertise a product

May 23, 2022

We understand by advertising the set of strategies that are carried out by a subject or entity in order to get certain people to act or think in a certain way. Generally what is intended by this means is the purchase or acquisition of a good or service , although it is also used to propagate ideologies and ways of thinking with regard to various topics.

These strategies can be carried out in multiple ways and with different objectives. In other words, we can find different types of advertising to categorize according to different criteria. In this article we will indicate some of the best known.


1. Types of advertising depending on the objective

We can find different types of advertising depending on the objective that has who makes it, that is the goal pursued by the ad in question. In this sense we find different typologies.

1.1. Commercial advertising

A type of advertising in which the viewer is asked to act by acquiring a product or a good either immediately or deferred. The first would be stimulated using persuasive elements such as limited availability or temporary reduction of its price. It is one of the most common.

1.2. Pioneer advertising

Subtype of commercial advertising. We are facing the type of advertising that tries to promote and generate demand for a new good or service that does not yet exist at the social level that is necessary. Seeks to create awareness that we need that new type product , often through the vindication of values.


1.3. Competitive or comparative advertising

It refers to the type of advertising that is usually carried out with products that society already considers necessary and in which there is competition. Pretend that the advantages of the advertised product are observed, trying to stand out with respect to the competition and often comparing it directly. It is one of the types of commercial advertising referred to products.

1.4. Reinforcement advertising

It is considered as such the type of advertising aimed at reinforcing the fact of having acquired a product or good, remembering the characteristics of the offered and Strengthening the sense of customer satisfaction at your choice . It can facilitate the adscription to the brand.

1.5. Institutional / corporate advertising

This type of advertising does not have the direct objective of selling us a product, but to generate expectations that make the organization or business well seen and desirable so that potential customers come in the future. Create brand image More than a good or service, the advertiser is announcing itself.


1.6. Public service advertising

This is the type of advertising that does not intend to advertise a product or favor the adscription to a brand but to generate an attitudinal change or raise awareness of society on some subject . For example, the issuance of announcements regarding the prevention and reporting of partner violence or bullying, or advertising that attempts to raise awareness of the risks of drug use.

2. Who is it for? Types according to the target

If we classify the types of advertising according to the type of audience or target to which it is addressed we can find different classifications.

2.1. B2B advertising

From business to business (B2B refers to "Business to Business"). Refers to the type of advertising that a business or company carries out in order to draw attention and go to another or others. This is, for example, the type of advertising that can be carried out by production chains, manufacturers or advertisements aimed at professionals such as doctors or psychologists.

2.2. B2C advertising

This type of advertising refers to a company or business direct towards consumers (business to consumer). It is usually the best known type, and the one we see the most on television trying to sell an appetizing product for the end user.

3. Types of advertising taking into account the scope

Notice where it is issued or where the advertising element arrives, it also allows establishing other categories.

3.1. International advertising

International advertising is that which is directed from a company to the market and population located outside the national territory.

3.2. National advertising

It's about the kind of advertising that addresses the entire nation , without establishing geographical limitations within the State.

3.3. Regional advertising

We are facing a type of advertising that is broadcast in a region, province or autonomous community, affecting a relatively large population but without affecting the entire national territory.

3.4. Local or retail advertising

This type of advertising is limited to a specific area, having little scope but wide possibilities of being viewed by the target audience .

3.5. Advertising at the point of sale

This is the type of advertisement that takes place in the same location or establishment in which the good or service is offered.

4. Classification according to the communication channel

One of the easiest classifications to imagine and interpret is one that takes into account the media in which the advertising element in question appears. In this sense we can find the following types of advertising.

4.1. Word of mouth

Although usually not considered as a type of advertising, word of mouth from acquaintances and friends is in fact what is easier predisposes a customer to accept or reject a product . That is why we include it in this article.

4.2. Print advertising

Brochures and advertising included in various publications such as newspapers or magazines are part of print advertising, one of the best known along with television. It is also considered as such the advertising that comes to our mail, often through practices with the buzoneo .

4.3. Outdoor advertising at street level

Advertising can be easily found in any area of ​​life, without having to have any kind of. This is the type of advertising we see in advertising posters, which can be placed at different points on buses.

4.4. Television advertising

We are facing one of the most recognized types of advertising as such, in the form of television ads. It can also appear integrated within other formats , as it happens with some television series.

4.5. Radio advertising

Through radio waves, advertising can also reach us, advertising messages being transmitted through this medium, as happens with television.

4.6. Online advertising

This type of advertising is the one that jumps or appears on different pages while we surf the internet . You can also include in this type of advertising the sending of announcements and messages by email, although in this case has the particularity that implies the use of personal information (the email address in question).

4.7. Telephone advertising

As it happens with the sending of publicity by mail (be it the traditional one or the electronic one), it supposes the use of data of the concrete target to offer him a good or service, concretely his telephone number. In this case, it also has the peculiarity of establishing a real and active interaction between the recipient of the advertisement and the person in charge of transmitting it .

5. According to the manner in which the message is transmitted

Not only where, but also how the message is transmitted allows generating advertising typologies. Some of the highlights are the following.

5.1. Above The Line Advertising (ATL)

ATL advertising is one that uses mass media such as television, radio or social networks to reach its goal. This is the mechanism used to distribute the information to society as a whole and the one that has traditionally been identified as advertising.

5.2. Advertising Below The Line (BTL)

It refers to the type of advertising that uses non-mass media to propagate and that seeks to create new communication mechanisms to access the target population. An example is the creation of social events , spaces and activities aimed at this population, or the creation of merchandising.

5.3. Viral advertising

Type of advertising that is transmitted in order to be shared by different media, so that the targets themselves facilitate the propagation without ad costs . They usually include some kind of element that makes people find them fun, emotional, or deeply reflective. They are often transmitted through social networks.

5.4. Interactive advertising

It refers to the type of advertising in which an active interaction is established between the recipient and the advertising element, as is the case with many ads visible in touch or online elements. Telephone advertising could also be considered as such.

6. Types of illegal advertising

Not all types of advertising are allowed by law. Below we explain some of the advertising cases that they are prohibited and may incur a crime .

6.1. Subliminal publicity

It is about that type of advertising in which the message is so quick or occurs so hidden that it is not perceptible at the conscious level. However, it only exists theoretically, since it is based on a myth.

6.2. Misleading advertising

That advertising that manipulates the receiver by providing totally or partially false information or that it varies with time without indicating it, omitting the revelation of fundamental characteristics or doing it in a covert manner.

6.3. Unfair advertising

Competition between companies and various businesses can make them decide to discredit that competition , using advertising elements for that purpose.

6.4. Aggressive advertising

This type of advertising is what generates the imposition of doing or not doing something against personal freedom. It usually incurs coercion or harassment.


#MarketingTips: Innovative Marketing Ideas (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 28 types de publicité: différentes manières de faire de la publicité pour un produit

Les 28 types de publicité: différentes manières de faire de la publicité pour un produit

Novembre 27, 2022

Nous comprenons en faisant la publicité l'ensemble des stratégies mises en œuvre par un sujet ou une entité pour amener certaines personnes à agir ou à penser d'une certaine manière. En général, ce que l’on entend par ce moyen est l'achat ou l'acquisition d'un bien ou d'un service , bien qu’il soit également utilisé pour propager des idéologies et des modes de pensée sur divers sujets.

Ces stratégies peuvent être mises en œuvre de multiples façons et avec des objectifs différents. En d'autres termes, on peut trouver différents types de publicité classer selon différents critères. Dans cet article, nous indiquerons quelques-uns des plus connus.


1. Types de publicité en fonction de l'objectif

On peut trouver différents types de publicité en fonction de l’objectif qui la fait, c’est l’objectif poursuivi par la publicité en question. En ce sens, nous trouvons différentes typologies.

1.1. Publicité commerciale

Un type de publicité dans lequel le spectateur est invité à agir en achetant un produit ou un bien soit immédiatement ou différé. Le premier serait stimulé par des éléments convaincants tels que la disponibilité limitée ou la réduction temporaire de son prix. C'est l'un des plus communs.

1.2. Publicité pionnière

Sous-type de publicité commerciale. Nous sommes confrontés au type de publicité qui tente de promouvoir et de générer une demande pour un nouveau bien ou service qui n'existe pas encore au niveau social nécessaire. Cherche à prendre conscience de la nécessité de ce nouveau type de produit , souvent par la défense de valeurs.


1.3. Publicité concurrentielle ou comparative

Il fait référence au type de publicité généralement réalisé avec des produits que la société considère déjà nécessaires et dans lesquels il y a concurrence. Prétendre que les avantages du produit annoncé sont observés, en essayant de se démarquer par rapport à la concurrence et souvent en le comparant directement. C'est l'un des types de publicité commerciale référant aux produits.

1.4. Publicité de renforcement

On considère comme tel le type de publicité visant à renforcer le fait d'avoir acquis un produit ou un bien, en se rappelant les caractéristiques de l'offre et de la qualité offertes. Renforcer le sentiment de satisfaction client à votre choix . Cela peut faciliter l’adhésion à la marque.

1.5 Publicité institutionnelle / d'entreprise

Ce type de publicité n’a pas pour objectif direct de nous vendre un produit, mais de générer des attentes qui rendent l’organisation ou le commerce bien vu et souhaitable, de sorte que les clients potentiels viennent à l’avenir. Créer une image de marque Plus qu'un bien ou un service, l'annonceur s'annonce.


1.6. Public service public

C’est le type de publicité qui ne vise pas à promouvoir un produit ou à favoriser l’abonnement à une marque, mais à générer un changement d’attitude sensibiliser la société à certains sujets . Par exemple, la publication d'annonces concernant la prévention et le signalement de la violence ou de l'intimidation de la part d'un partenaire, ou de la publicité visant à sensibiliser le public aux risques de la consommation de drogue.

2. C'est pour qui? Types selon la cible

Si nous classons les types de publicité en fonction du type de public ou de cible auquel elles sont adressées, nous pouvons trouver différentes classifications.

2.1. Publicité B2B

D'entreprise à entreprise (B2B se réfère à "Business to Business"). Fait référence au type de publicité qu'une entreprise ou une entreprise réalise afin d'attirer l'attention et aller vers un autre ou d'autres. C'est par exemple le type de publicité pouvant être réalisée par des chaînes de production, des fabricants ou des publicités destinées à des professionnels tels que des médecins ou des psychologues.

2.2. Publicité B2C

Ce type de publicité fait référence à une entreprise ou à une entreprise. direct vers les consommateurs (entreprise à consommateur). Il s’agit généralement du type le plus connu, et celui que nous voyons le plus souvent à la télévision tente de vendre un produit appétissant à l’utilisateur final.

3. Types de publicité en tenant compte de la portée

Avis où il est émis ou où l'élément publicitaire arrive, il permet également d'établir d'autres catégories.

3.1. Publicité internationale

La publicité internationale est celle qui est dirigée d'une entreprise vers le marché et la population située en dehors du territoire national.

3.2. Publicité nationale

C'est à peu près le genre de publicité que s'adresse à toute la nation , sans établir de limites géographiques dans l’État.

3.3. Publicité régionale

Nous sommes confrontés à un type de publicité diffusée dans une région, une province ou une communauté autonome, touchant une population relativement nombreuse mais sans toucher l'ensemble du territoire national.

3.4. Publicité locale ou au détail

Ce type de publicité est limité à un domaine spécifique, ayant une portée limitée mais large possibilité d'être vu par le public cible .

3.5. Publicité sur le point de vente

Il s'agit du type de publicité qui a lieu au même endroit ou au même établissement où le bien ou le service est offert.

4. Classification en fonction du canal de communication

L'une des classifications les plus faciles à imaginer et à interpréter est celle qui prend en compte le média dans lequel l'élément publicitaire en question apparaît. En ce sens, nous pouvons trouver les types de publicité suivants.

4.1. Bouche à bouche

Bien que généralement pas considéré comme un type de publicité, le bouche à oreille de connaissances et d'amis est en fait ce qui est plus facile prédispose un client à accepter ou à refuser un produit . C'est pourquoi nous l'incluons dans cet article.

4.2. Publicité imprimée

Les brochures et la publicité incluses dans diverses publications telles que les journaux ou les magazines font partie de la publicité imprimée, l'une des plus connues avec la télévision. Il est également considéré comme tel la publicité qui parvient à notre courrier, souvent par des pratiques avec le buzoneo .

4.3. Publicité extérieure au niveau de la rue

La publicité peut être facilement trouvée dans n’importe quel domaine de la vie, sans avoir à en avoir. C’est le type de publicité que nous voyons dans les affiches publicitaires, qui peuvent être placées à différents endroits dans les bus.

4.4. Publicité télévisée

Nous sommes confrontés à l'un des types de publicité les plus reconnus en tant que tels, sous la forme de publicités télévisées. Il peut également apparaître intégré dans d'autres formats , comme il arrive avec certaines séries télévisées.

4.5 Publicité à la radio

La publicité peut aussi nous parvenir par ondes radio, des messages publicitaires étant transmis par ce moyen, comme c'est le cas avec la télévision.

4.6. Publicité en ligne

Ce type de publicité est celui qui saute ou apparaît sur différentes pages pendant que nous surfons sur internet . Vous pouvez également inclure dans ce type de publicité l’envoi d’annonces et de messages par courrier électronique, bien que, dans ce cas, présente la particularité qui implique l’utilisation d’informations personnelles (l’adresse électronique en question).

4.7. Publicité téléphonique

Comme cela se produit pour l'envoi de publicité par courrier (qu'il soit traditionnel ou électronique), cela suppose l'utilisation de données de la cible concrète pour lui offrir un bien ou un service, concrètement son numéro de téléphone. Dans ce cas, il a aussi la particularité d’établir une interaction réelle et active entre le destinataire de la publicité et le responsable de sa transmission .

5. Selon la manière dont le message est transmis

Non seulement où, mais aussi comment le message est transmis, il est possible de générer des typologies publicitaires. Certains des points forts sont les suivants.

5.1. Publicité au-dessus de la ligne (ATL)

La publicité ATL utilise des médias de masse tels que la télévision, la radio ou les réseaux sociaux pour atteindre son objectif. Il s’agit du mécanisme utilisé pour diffuser l’information à la société dans son ensemble et de celui qui a traditionnellement été identifié comme de la publicité.

5.2. Publicité au-dessous de la ligne (BTL)

Il fait référence au type de publicité qui utilise des moyens de communication autres que les médias pour diffuser et qui vise à créer de nouveaux mécanismes de communication pour accéder à la population cible. Un exemple est la création d'événements sociaux , espaces et activités destinés à cette population, ou la création de marchandisage.

5.3. Publicité virale

Type de publicité transmise pour être partagée par différents médias, de sorte que les cibles elles-mêmes facilitent la propagation sans coûts publicitaires . Ils incluent généralement une sorte d’élément qui fait que les gens les trouvent amusants, émotifs ou profondément réflexifs. Ils sont souvent transmis via les réseaux sociaux.

5.4. Publicité interactive

Il s'agit du type de publicité dans lequel une interaction active est établie entre le destinataire et l'élément publicitaire, comme dans le cas de nombreuses annonces visibles au contact ou en ligne. La publicité téléphonique pourrait également être considérée comme telle.

6. Types de publicité illégale

La loi n'autorise pas tous les types de publicité. Ci-dessous, nous expliquons quelques cas de publicité qui ils sont interdits et peuvent encourir un crime .

6.1. Publicité subliminale

Il s’agit de ce type de publicité dans laquelle le message est tellement rapide ou est tellement dissimulé qu’il n’est pas perceptible au niveau de la conscience. Cependant, il n'existe que théoriquement, puisqu'il est basé sur un mythe.

6.2. Publicité mensongère

Cette publicité qui manipule le récepteur en fournissant information totalement ou partiellement fausse ou que cela varie avec le temps sans l'indiquer, en omettant la révélation de caractéristiques fondamentales ou en le faisant de manière secrète.

6.3. Publicité déloyale

Concurrence entre entreprises et entreprises diverses peut leur faire décider de discréditer cette concurrence , en utilisant des éléments publicitaires à cette fin.

6.4. Publicité agressive

Ce type de publicité est ce qui engendre l’imposition de faire ou de ne pas faire quelque chose contre la liberté personnelle. Il est généralement soumis à la contrainte ou au harcèlement.


Apprendre à créer un Concept Publicitaire avec Photoshop #02 Devos & Lemmens (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes