yes, therapy helps!
The 28 types of communication and their characteristics

The 28 types of communication and their characteristics

March 1, 2021

Communication is the act of exchanging information , either between two or more people, with the purpose of transmitting and receiving information (written, emotional, etc.). The person (or persons) that sends the information is the sender, and the person who receives the receiver. The medium through which the message is transmitted is the channel.

But this relatively simple scheme does not cover all the complexity of the process, because there are actually many types of communication, not just one . In this article we will see its characteristics and what it means to know how to master them well.

The main communication skills

Being a good communicator is key to personal relationships , in the success of your professional career and, in addition, the emotional health of people. In other words, being a competent communicator is necessary to be successful in this life.


And is that if something characterizes the people who are happiest is that they are competent communicators, what helps them to face the situations of their daily life in the most satisfactory way . For example, when solving a discussion with your partner or when presenting your candidacy in a job interview. Luckily, communication skills can be learned.

But ... what are these communication skills? Good communicators are characterized by mastering these skills:

  • Active listening
  • Empathy
  • Emotional validation
  • Nonverbal language
  • Conflict resolution
  • Negotiation
  • Verbal language
  • Read
  • to write
  • Respect
  • Persuasive ability
  • Credibility

You can go deeper into these aspects in our article: "The 10 basic communication skills". However, to understand how the act of communicating can be taken advantage of, it is necessary to know the types of communication in turn.


  • Related article: "Paradoxical communication and affective relationships: he said" yes ", he meant" no "and everything ended"

Types of communication

As we have seen, beyond the basic scheme of the process of transmitting a message there are different types of communication, since the issuers can be different and the information that is sent and the channel through which it circulates is also different. Below you can find the classification of the various forms of communication, according to various criteria:

Verbal and non-verbal communication

Two types of communication that are often talked about a lot are verbal and non-verbal communication . This dichotomous classification refers to whether the message is verbalized or not.

1. Verbal communication

Verbal communication is characterized by the use of words in the interaction between the sender and the receiver. There are two types, since the words or the language can be expressed in a spoken or written way:


  • Oral communication : it is done through oral signs or spoken words. Screaming, crying or laughing are also oral communication.
  • Written communication : it is done through written codes. Hieroglyphs, alphabets or logos also belong to this type of communication.

Although verbal communication is the most explicit and obvious, given that it is regulated by a series of norms that take several years to learn and that allow us to transmit units of meaning that are relatively clear and often even concise, we must bear in mind that after it there is also another one that is more or more important than this, which can also modify the meaning of the first one. It is about non-verbal communication, which we will see below.

2. Non-verbal communication

This type of language is carried out without the use of words and, in many cases unconsciously. Body movements, postures, the look, the way of sitting or walking are some examples.

In most cases, both the issuance of messages and the interpretation of these are processes carried out automatically, even involuntarily. This is so because this type of communication is the one that has had more importance throughout our evolutionary history, in stages of evolution in which the use of words did not yet exist.

But nevertheless, messages linked to nonverbal communication are relatively ambiguous and difficult to interpret, since unlike the previous type, it is not governed by consensual norms and learned explicitly.

According to the number of participants

The type of communication may vary depending on the people who participate in the communicative interaction

3. Individual

In this type of communication only one sender and one receiver interact, that is, that communication is produced from individual to individual. It is a framework of interactions characterized by privacy and the impossibility of trying to impact an audience or a third person who observes.

4. Collective

This type of communication happens when there are more than two people who exchange messages . In these cases, the situation may arise that although one person addresses the other in his speech, it is intended to have an effect not on him but on the rest of the people.

5. Intrapersonal

This type of communication occurs when a person communicates with himself. For example, when someone has to make a decision and reasons the solutions. It is debated whether communication can really be considered.

6. Interindividual

Interindividual communication occurs when two people communicate, either verbally or non-verbally, basically expressing feelings .

7. Intragroup

This type of communication is given when two or more people belonging to the same group or group communicate or .

8. Intergroup

Intergroup communication refers to the communication that exists between groups. For example, between the interpreters and a group of spectators.

9. Mass communication

Mass or mass communication refers to the interaction between a single transmitter and a massive receiver or audience to . The receiver should be: a large group of people, be heterogeneous and be anonymous.

According to the sensory channel

According to the sensory channel, it is possible to differentiate different types of communication:

10. Visual communication

In this type of communication, messages (for example, ideas) are transmitted through the visual medium and are perceived through sight .

11. Auditory communication

It is a type of communication in which messages and information is perceived through the ear . For example, music. Of course, it is one of the most commonly used types of communication, since it can connect two people over a relatively large distance and, in addition, makes it easy to locate the source of the message, something that does not happen, for example, with the olfactory.

12. Touch communication

In tactile communication, the information is perceived through touch , usually by the skin or by writing in Braille.

13. Olfactory communication

The message received through the olfactory route gives shape to olfactory communication. For example, the act of perceiving the information that a person gives by its smell.

As with auditory communication, the message can travel long distances, but in this case it is not easy to locate the source or establish a sequence of information. However, the message remains in the environment much longer than what happens with sounds.

14. Gustatory communication

It is a type of communication in which the information is sent through taste . For example, when a "chef" makes a recipe for a group of diners. Unfortunately, in this type of communication the information is usually limited to the chemical properties of the element that is savored, and there are no precise data or chains of information.

According to the technological channel

Depending on the technological channel, the types of communication can be:

15. Telephone communication

It is the communication that It is done through the telephone device . Either fixed or mobile. It allows to interact with people who are far away.

16. Virtual or digital communication

Virtual or digital communication is the communication that occurs thanks to the connected world through Internet t. It includes both a Skype conversation and the issuer's writing and the reading of the recipient of an article published on a blog.

17. Television communication

The communication that happens through the TV It is television communication.

18. Cinematic communication

It is the communication that occurs through the big screen and thanks to the largometrajes or cinematographic productions.

According to the use or purpose

Depending on the purpose or objective of the communication, this can be:

19. Advertising communication

This type of communication occurs when a company sends a message, usually to a group of consumers, to publicize your brand or sell a product . In this case, the principal interested party is the issuer, who is the one who wants to sell something.

20. Journalistic communication

It is the communication that it is done through different means of communication with the purpose of informing the recipient from the journalistic perspective.

21. Educational communication

The content of this kind of communication is educational . For example, when a student attends a class in which his teacher is teaching a subject.

22. Political communication

The information of this type is communication is political and the content tends to have a strong ideological charge. For example, when someone attends a debate in which the sender is a politician who wants to win his vote.Unlike advertising, propaganda does not aim to encourage buying, but to change the mindset of the recipients.

Other types of communication

There are also other types of communication:

23. Sign communication

This type of communication refers to the one used by deaf and deaf people s and the people around you to establish a channel of communication with their social social circles, whether made up of other deaf people or people without hearing problems.

24. Organizational communication

Organizational communication refers to the communication that occurs within companies and companies outward . It also receives the name of corporate communication.

25. Vertical communication

Vertical communication is a type of communication that occurs between different levels or hierarchical positions within an organization. There are two types:

  • Upward communication : from employees to senior management.
  • Downward communication : from the superior controls to the employees.

26. Horizontal communication

Another type of organizational communication that occurs within the same level . For example, between departments with the same hierarchical rank or between workers of the same office.

27. Sexual communication

Content the communication is sexual . Either through verbal language or sending pictures through WhatsApp, what is known as "Sexting".

28. Emotional communication

Emotional communication refers to the content is emotional . It can be verbal, by expressing feelings, or nonverbal, for example, by laughing or crying.


9 Types of Communication, Effective Communication & Active Listening (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 28 types de communication et leurs caractéristiques

Les 28 types de communication et leurs caractéristiques

Juillet 21, 2022

La communication est l'acte d'échange d'informations , entre deux personnes ou plus, dans le but de transmettre et de recevoir des informations (écrites, émotionnelles, etc.). La personne (ou les personnes) qui envoie les informations est l'expéditeur et la personne qui reçoit le destinataire. Le support par lequel le message est transmis est le canal.

Mais ce schéma relativement simple ne couvre pas toute la complexité du processus, car il existe en réalité de nombreux types de communication, pas seulement un . Dans cet article, nous verrons ses caractéristiques et ce que signifie savoir comment bien les maîtriser.

Les principales compétences de communication

Être un bon communicateur est la clé des relations personnelles , dans la réussite de votre carrière professionnelle et, en outre, dans la santé émotionnelle des personnes. En d'autres termes, être un communicateur compétent est nécessaire pour réussir dans cette vie.


Et est-ce que si quelque chose caractérise les gens les plus heureux, c’est qu’ils sont des communicateurs compétents, les aide à faire face aux situations de leur vie quotidienne de la manière la plus satisfaisante possible . Par exemple, lorsque vous résolvez une discussion avec votre partenaire ou lorsque vous présentez votre candidature lors d'un entretien d'embauche. Heureusement, les compétences en communication peuvent être apprises.

Mais ... quelles sont ces compétences de communication? Les bons communicateurs se caractérisent par la maîtrise de ces compétences:

  • Écoute active
  • Empathie
  • Validation émotionnelle
  • Langage non verbal
  • Résolution de conflits
  • Négociation
  • Langage verbal
  • Lire
  • Écrire
  • Le respect
  • Capacité persuasive
  • La crédibilité

Vous pouvez approfondir ces aspects dans notre article: "Les 10 compétences de base en communication". Cependant, pour comprendre comment tirer parti de l'acte de communication, il est nécessaire de connaître les types de communication à tour de rôle.


  • Article connexe: "Communication paradoxale et relations affectives: il a dit" oui ", il a voulu dire" non "et tout s'est terminé"

Types de communication

Comme nous l'avons vu, au-delà du schéma de base du processus de transmission d'un message, il existe différents types de communication, car les émetteurs peuvent être différents, l'information transmise et le canal par lequel elle circule est également différente. Vous trouverez ci-dessous la classification des différentes formes de communication selon différents critères:

Communication verbale et non verbale

Deux types de communication dont on parle souvent beaucoup sont la communication verbale et non verbale . Cette classification dichotomique indique si le message est verbalisé ou non.

1. communication verbale

Communication verbale se caractérise par l'utilisation de mots dans l'interaction entre l'expéditeur et le destinataire. Il existe deux types, car les mots ou la langue peuvent être exprimés de manière orale ou écrite:


  • Communication orale : cela se fait par signes oraux ou paroles. Crier, pleurer ou rire sont également des communications orales.
  • Communication écrite : cela se fait à travers des codes écrits. Les hiéroglyphes, les alphabets ou les logos appartiennent également à ce type de communication.

Bien que la communication verbale soit la plus explicite et la plus évidente, étant donné qu’elle est régie par une série de normes dont l’apprentissage prend plusieurs années et qui nous permettent de transmettre des unités de sens relativement claires et souvent même concises, nous devons garder à l’esprit qu’après il y en a aussi un autre qui est plus ou plus important que cela, qui peut aussi modifier le sens du premier. Il s'agit de la communication non verbale, que nous verrons plus bas.

2. Communication non verbale

Ce type de langage est réalisée sans l'utilisation de mots et, dans de nombreux cas, inconsciemment. Les mouvements du corps, les postures, le regard, la manière de s’asseoir ou de marcher en sont quelques exemples.

Dans la plupart des cas, l’émission de messages et leur interprétation sont des processus exécutés automatiquement, même involontairement. En effet, ce type de communication est celui qui a eu le plus d'importance tout au long de notre histoire évolutive, à des stades d'évolution où l'utilisation des mots n'existait pas encore.

Cependant, les messages liés à la communication non verbale sont relativement ambigus et difficile à interpréter, car contrairement au type précédent, il n’est pas régi par des normes consensuelles ni appris explicitement.

Selon le nombre de participants

Le type de communication peut varier en fonction des personnes qui participent à l'interaction communicative.

3. individuel

Dans ce type de communication un seul expéditeur et un seul destinataire interagissent, c'est-à-dire que la communication est produite d'un individu à l'autre. C'est un cadre d'interactions caractérisé par la confidentialité et l'impossibilité d'essayer de toucher un public ou une tierce personne qui l'observe.

4. collective

Ce type de communication arrive quand il y a plus de deux personnes qui échangent des messages . Dans ces cas, il peut arriver que, même si une personne s’adresse à l’autre dans son discours, son intention est de ne pas avoir d’effet sur elle, mais sur le reste de la population.

5. Intrapersonnel

Ce type de communication se produit lorsqu'une personne communique avec elle-même. Par exemple, quand quelqu'un doit prendre une décision et raisonner les solutions. On se demande si la communication peut vraiment être envisagée.

6. interindividuel

La communication interindividuelle se produit lorsque deux personnes communiquent, verbalement ou non, essentiellement exprimer des sentiments .

7. Intragroupe

Ce type de communication est donné lorsque deux personnes ou plus appartenant au même groupe ou groupe communiquent o .

8. Intergroupe

La communication intergroupe fait référence à la communication qui existe entre les groupes. Par exemple, entre les interprètes et un groupe de spectateurs.

9. communication de masse

La masse ou la communication de masse se réfère à la interaction entre un seul émetteur et un récepteur ou un public massif un . Le destinataire doit être: un grand groupe de personnes, être hétérogène et être anonyme.

Selon le canal sensoriel

Selon le canal sensoriel, il est possible de différencier différents types de communication:

10. Communication visuelle

Dans ce type de communication, les messages (par exemple, les idées) sont transmis par le moyen visuel et sont perçus à vue .

11. Communication auditive

C’est un type de communication dans lequel les messages et les informations est perçu à travers l'oreille . Par exemple, la musique. Bien sûr, il s’agit de l’un des types de communication les plus couramment utilisés, car il permet de connecter deux personnes sur une distance relativement grande et facilite en outre la localisation de la source du message, ce qui ne se produit pas, par exemple, avec l’olfactif.

12. Communication tactile

En communication tactile, l'information est perçue au toucher , généralement par la peau ou en écrivant en braille.

13. Communication olfactive

Le message reçu par la route olfactive donne forme à la communication olfactive. Par exemple, l'acte de percevoir les informations qu'une personne donne par son odeur.

Comme avec la communication auditive, le message peut parcourir de longues distances, mais dans ce cas, il n'est pas facile de localiser la source ou d'établir une séquence d'informations. Cependant, le message reste beaucoup plus longtemps dans l'environnement que ce qui se passe avec les sons.

14. communication gustative

C’est un type de communication dans lequel l'information est envoyée par goût . Par exemple, lorsqu'un "chef" prépare une recette pour un groupe de convives. Malheureusement, dans ce type de communication, l’information est généralement limitée aux propriétés chimiques de l’élément savouré et il n’existe ni données ni chaînes d’informations précises.

Selon le canal technologique

Selon le canal technologique, les types de communication peuvent être:

15. Communication téléphonique

C'est la communication qui C'est fait par le téléphone . Soit fixe ou mobile. Cela permet d'interagir avec des personnes éloignées.

16. Communication virtuelle ou numérique

La communication virtuelle ou numérique est la communication qui se produit grâce au monde connecté via Internet t. Cela inclut à la fois une conversation sur Skype, l'écriture de l'émetteur et la lecture du destinataire d'un article publié sur un blog.

17. Communication télévisée

La communication passe par la télé C'est une communication télévisée.

18. Communication cinématographique

C'est la communication qui se produit à travers le grand écran et grâce aux largometrajes ou productions cinématographiques.

Selon l'usage ou le but

Selon le but ou l'objectif de la communication, cela peut être:

19. Communication publicitaire

Ce type de communication se produit lorsqu'une entreprise envoie un message, généralement à un groupe de consommateurs, faire connaître votre marque ou vendre un produit . Dans ce cas, la principale partie intéressée est l'émetteur, c'est-à-dire celui qui veut vendre quelque chose.

20. Communication journalistique

C'est la communication qui cela se fait par différents moyens de communication dans le but d'informer le destinataire du point de vue journalistique.

21. Communication éducative

Le contenu de ce type de communication est éducatif . Par exemple, lorsqu'un élève assiste à une classe dans laquelle son enseignant enseigne une matière.

22. Communication politique

L'information de ce type est la communication est politique et le contenu tend à avoir une forte charge idéologique. Par exemple, quand quelqu'un assiste à un débat dans lequel l'expéditeur est un politicien qui veut gagner son vote.Contrairement à la publicité, la propagande ne vise pas à encourager les achats, mais à changer l’état d’esprit des destinataires.

Autres types de communication

Il existe également d'autres types de communication:

23. Signer la communication

Ce type de communication fait référence à celui utilisé par les sourds et les sourds s et les gens autour de vous d'établir un canal de communication avec leurs cercles sociaux, qu'ils soient composés d'autres personnes sourdes ou malentendantes.

24. Communication organisationnelle

La communication organisationnelle fait référence à la communication qui se produit dans les entreprises et les entreprises extérieures . Il reçoit également le nom de communication d'entreprise.

25. Communication verticale

La communication verticale est un type de communication qui se produit entre différents niveaux ou positions hiérarchiques au sein d'une organisation. Il y a deux types:

  • Communication ascendante : des employés à la haute direction.
  • Communication descendante : des contrôles supérieurs aux employés.

26. Communication horizontale

Un autre type de communication organisationnelle qui se produit au même niveau . Par exemple, entre des départements ayant le même rang hiérarchique ou entre des travailleurs du même bureau.

27. Communication sexuelle

Le contenu de la communication est sexuelle . Soit par langage verbal, soit par envoi d'images via WhatsApp, ce que l'on appelle "Sexting".

28. communication émotionnelle

Communication émotionnelle se réfère au contenu est émotionnel . Cela peut être verbal, en exprimant des sentiments, ou non verbal, par exemple, en riant ou en pleurant.


Chapitre 1-4 La réception du message chimique (hormones et neurotransmetteurs) (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes