yes, therapy helps!
The 3 differences between speech therapy and phoniatrics

The 3 differences between speech therapy and phoniatrics

April 30, 2024

Speech is a skill that must be developed throughout life, and that is one of the main methods that human beings have to communicate with each other. Sometimes this learning can be harmed, not achieved correctly or even lost in the presence of various injuries and diseases.

That is why it is necessary to figure as specialists in this area, such as speech therapists and speech therapists. However, it is possible that the functions that make different and these professionals are not known. Therefore, in this article, we are going to observe the differences between speech therapy and phoniatrics .

  • Related article: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

Defining the terms of these professions

First, to analyze the differences between the two professions, it is necessary to analyze what each one supposes.


Speech therapy is a discipline focused on the study and treatment of the problems of oral language and the elements that allow it . It starts from a perspective that seeks diagnosis and rehabilitation from the application of measures and techniques based on the patient learns to communicate correctly overcoming or compensating for the effect of a disorder, illness or difficulty.

With regard to phoniatrics, it is understood as the branch of medicine specialized in disorders of oral communication, phonation and hearing , and in general, of other forms of communication. The phoniatrist is a doctor with the ability to diagnose and treat different disorders such as the presence of malformations, dysglossias and dysarthria, aphasias and sensory and motor problems linked to speech.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychological therapies"

Main differences between speech therapy and phoniatrics

As we have seen, both disciplines have a series of points in which they resemble each other to a great extent, but there are also a series of differences between them that we will analyze next.

1. Training

The speech therapist is a professional who has been trained at the university level in language and communication , possessing a wide knowledge of human and language communication, as well as the processes and areas that allow it.

As regards the phoniatrist, he is a specialist doctor in the language sector. Your field of knowledge is therefore more linked to the medical and biological aspects , although it also has knowledge and can apply different types of intervention. In Spain, speech therapy is a specialty not recognized at the university level, while speech therapy is.


2. Orientation

Based on the previous point we can observe that the two types of professionals tend to have a distinctive orientation. While the phoniatrician has a more biomedical perspective of the situation and the disorders, speech therapy exercises from a more educational and pedagogical perspective .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Pedagogy: educating from different specialties"

3. Type of treatment used

The phoniatrist can apply a large number of treatments, including drug administration or the prescription of speech therapy sessions, but usually does not make a practical application of these directly.

The speech therapist will be in charge of administering and carrying out the treatment, at the level of introduce and perform the rehabilitation of the patient through various techniques more focused on learning and performing exercises that allow improvement and that have nothing to do with more drastic and invasive measures.

Different but similar

Phoniatrics and speech therapy are disciplines that present differences and that do not act in the same way or have the same competencies.

But despite these differences, the truth is that we can see that in both cases we are facing qualified professionals who seek to improve patients and whose field of work specializes in human oral communication . Generally both sanitary disciplines go hand in hand, helping those with language and communication problems to be able to freely express themselves again.


What is PHONIATRICS? What does PHONIATRICS mean? PHONIATRICS meaning, definition & explanation (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 3 différences entre orthophonie et phoniatrie

Les 3 différences entre orthophonie et phoniatrie

Juin 13, 2021

La parole est une compétence qui doit être développée tout au long de la vie, et c'est l'une des méthodes principales dont disposent les êtres humains pour communiquer entre eux. Parfois, cet apprentissage peut être endommagé, mal réalisé ou même perdu en présence de blessures et de maladies diverses.

C'est pourquoi il est nécessaire de figurer parmi les spécialistes dans ce domaine, tels que les orthophonistes et les orthophonistes. Cependant, il est possible que les fonctions qui font la différence et que ces professionnels ne soient pas connus. Par conséquent, dans cet article, nous allons observer les différences entre l'orthophonie et la phoniatrie .

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Définir les termes de ces professions

Tout d'abord, pour analyser les différences entre les deux professions, il est nécessaire d'analyser ce que chacune suppose.


L’orthophonie est une discipline axée sur l’étude et le traitement de les problèmes de langage oral et les éléments qui le permettent . Il part d'une perspective qui cherche le diagnostic et la réhabilitation de l'application de mesures et de techniques basées sur le patient apprend à communiquer correctement en surmontant ou en compensant l'effet d'un trouble, d'une maladie ou d'une difficulté.

En ce qui concerne la phoniatrie, il s’agit de la branche de la médecine spécialisé dans les troubles de la communication orale, de la phonation et de l'audition et en général d’autres formes de communication. Le phoniatre est un médecin ayant la capacité de diagnostiquer et de traiter différents troubles tels que la présence de malformations, de dysglossies et de dysarthrie, d’aphasies et de problèmes sensoriels et moteurs liés à la parole.


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Principales différences entre orthophonie et phoniatrie

Comme nous l’avons vu, les deux disciplines ont une série de points sur lesquels elles se ressemblent beaucoup, mais nous analyserons ensuite une série de différences.

1. formation

L’orthophoniste est un professionnel formé au niveau universitaire en langue et communication , possédant une vaste connaissance de la communication humaine et linguistique, ainsi que des processus et des domaines qui le permettent.

En ce qui concerne le phoniatre, il est médecin spécialiste du secteur des langues. Votre domaine de connaissance est donc plus liés aux aspects médicaux et biologiques , bien qu’il ait également des connaissances et puisse appliquer différents types d’intervention. En Espagne, l'orthophonie est une spécialité non reconnue au niveau universitaire, contrairement à l'orthophonie.


2. orientation

Sur la base du point précédent, nous pouvons observer que les deux types de professionnels ont tendance à avoir une orientation distincte. Alors que le phoniatre a une perspective plus biomédicale de la situation et des troubles, des exercices d’orthophonie dans une perspective plus éducative et pédagogique .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Types de pédagogie: éduquer dans différentes spécialités"

3. Type de traitement utilisé

Le phoniatre peut appliquer un grand nombre de traitements, y compris l'administration du médicament ou la prescription de séances d’orthophonie, mais n’en fait généralement pas une application pratique directe.

L’orthophoniste sera responsable de l’administration et de la réalisation du traitement, au niveau de initier et effectuer la rééducation du patient à travers diverses techniques plus axés sur l'apprentissage et la réalisation d'exercices qui permettent une amélioration et qui n'ont rien à voir avec des mesures plus drastiques et invasives.

Différent mais similaire

La phoniatrie et l'orthophonie sont des disciplines qui présentent des différences et qui n'agissent pas de la même manière ou n'ont pas les mêmes compétences.

Mais en dépit de ces différences, la vérité est que nous pouvons constater que, dans les deux cas, nous nous trouvons face à des professionnels qualifiés qui cherchent à améliorer les patients et à améliorer leur efficacité. dont le domaine de travail est spécialisé dans la communication orale humaine . Généralement, les deux disciplines sanitaires vont de pair, permettant aux personnes ayant des problèmes de langue et de communication de pouvoir s'exprimer librement.


(Trans 101) L'ALD (Affection Longue Durée) (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes