yes, therapy helps!
The 3 laws of Mendel and the peas: this is what they teach us

The 3 laws of Mendel and the peas: this is what they teach us

June 24, 2021

It has long been known that inside the cells is the DNA, which contains all the information for the proper development and functioning of an organism. In addition, it is a heritable material, which means that it is transferred from fathers and mothers to sons and daughters. What can now be explained, a time ago had no answer.

Throughout history, different theories have been appearing, some more accurate than others, trying to find logical answers to natural events. In this case, Why does the son have part of the traits of the mother but also part of the father? Or, why does a son have some characteristic of his grandparents? The mystery of the inheritance has had its importance for farmers and farmers who sought to obtain more productive descendants of animals and plants.


The surprising thing is that these doubts were resolved by a priest, Gregor Mendel, who stipulated Mendel's laws and that is currently recognized as the father of genetics. In this article we will see what this theory is about, which along with the contributions of Charles Darwin laid the foundations of biology as we know it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The theory of biological evolution"

Discovering the bases of genetics

This Austro-Hungarian priest during his life in the convent of Brno, became interested in the peas after seeing a possible pattern in their offspring. This is how he began to perform different experiments , which consisted of crossing different types of peas and observing the result in their offspring.


In 1865 he presented his work to the Brno Natural History Society, but they quickly dismissed his proposal, so his conclusions were not published. It took thirty years for these experiments to be recognized and for what were called Mendel's laws to be established today.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The Lamarck Theory and the evolution of the species"

The 3 laws of Mendel

The father of genetics, thanks to his work, came to the conclusion that there are three laws to explain how genetic inheritance works . In some bibliographies there are two, since the first two join them in a third. However, keep in mind that many of the terms I will use here were unknown by Mendel, such as genes, variants of the same gene (allele) or the dominance of genes.

In an attempt to make the explanation more entertaining, the genes and their alleles will be represented by letters (A / a). And remember, the descendant receives an allele from each parent.


1. Principle of uniformity

To explain this first law, Mendel made crosses between peas yellow (AA) with another scarce species of green peas (aa). The result was that in the offspring dominates the yellow color (Aa), without the presence of any green pea.

The explanation of what happened in this first law of Mendel, according to this researcher, is that the allele of yellow color dominates on an allele of green color , it only needs that in one way of life one of the two alleles is yellow to express itself. It must be added that it is fundamental that the parents must be pure races, that is to say, that their genetics be homogeneous (AA or aa) so that this is fulfilled. Consequently, their offspring become 100% heterozygous (Aa)

2. Principle of segregation

Mendel continued crossing pea species, this time the results of his previous experiment, that is, heterozygous yellow peas (Aa). The result surprised him, since 25% of the descendants were green, although their parents were yellow.

In this second law of Mendel what is explained is that if the parents are heterozygous for a gene (Aa), its distribution in offspring will be 50% homozygous (AA and aa) and the other heterozygous half (Aa). This principle explains how a child can have green eyes like his grandmother, if their parents have brown.

3. Principle of independent character segregation

This last Mendel's law is something more complex. To arrive at this conclusion, Mendel crossed smooth yellow pea species (AA BB) with other rough green peas (aa bb). As the above principles are fulfilled, the resulting offspring is heterozygous (Aa Bb), which interweaved it.

The result of two smooth yellow peas (Aa Bb) were 9 smooth yellow peas (A_ B_), 3 smooth green peas (aa B_), 3 rough yellow peas (A_ bb) and 1 rough green pea (aa bb).

This third law of Mendel, which he intends to demonstrate is that the traits are distributed independently and they do not interfere with each other.

Mendelian inheritance

It is true that with these three laws of Mendel can explain much of the cases of genetic inheritance, but manages to capture all the complexity of the mechanisms of inheritance. There are many types of inheritances that do not follow these guidelines, which are known as non-Mendelian inheritances. For example, the inheritance linked to sex, which depends on the X and Y chromosomes; or multiple alleles, that the expression of a gene depends on other genes can not be explained by Mendel's laws.


How Mendel's pea plants helped us understand genetics - Hortensia Jiménez Díaz (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 3 lois de Mendel et les pois: c'est ce qu'ils nous apprennent

Les 3 lois de Mendel et les pois: c'est ce qu'ils nous apprennent

Septembre 6, 2022

On sait depuis longtemps que l’ADN, à l’intérieur des cellules, contient toutes les informations nécessaires au bon développement et au bon fonctionnement d’un organisme. En outre, il s’agit d’un matériau héréditaire, c’est-à-dire qu’il est transféré des pères et des mères aux fils et aux filles. Qu'est-ce qui peut maintenant être expliqué, il y a une époque n'avait pas de réponse.

Au cours de l'histoire, différentes théories sont apparues, certaines plus précises que d'autres, essayant de trouver des réponses logiques aux événements naturels. Dans ce cas, Pourquoi le fils a-t-il une partie des traits de la mère mais aussi une partie du père? Ou, pourquoi un fils a-t-il une caractéristique de ses grands-parents? Le mystère de l'héritage a eu son importance pour les agriculteurs et les agriculteurs qui cherchaient à obtenir des descendants plus productifs d'animaux et de plantes.


La chose surprenante est que ces doutes ont été résolus par un prêtre, Gregor Mendel, qui a stipulé les lois de Mendel et qui est actuellement reconnu comme le père de la génétique. Dans cet article, nous verrons en quoi consiste cette théorie qui, avec les contributions de Charles Darwin, a jeté les bases de la biologie telle que nous la connaissons.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie de l'évolution biologique"

Découvrir les bases de la génétique

Ce prêtre austro-hongrois, au cours de sa vie au couvent de Brno, s’intéressa aux pois après avoir constaté un schéma possible chez leurs enfants. Voici comment il a commencé à effectuer différentes expériences , qui consistait à croiser différents types de pois et à en observer le résultat dans leur progéniture.


En 1865, il présenta ses travaux à la Société d'histoire naturelle de Brno, mais ceux-ci rejetèrent rapidement sa proposition. Ses conclusions ne furent donc pas publiées. Il fallut trente ans pour que ces expériences soient reconnues et pour que soient établies aujourd'hui les lois de Mendel.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "La théorie de Lamarck et l'évolution de l'espèce"

Les 3 lois de Mendel

Le père de la génétique, grâce à son travail, est parvenu à la conclusion qu'il y avait trois lois pour expliquer le fonctionnement du patrimoine génétique . Dans certaines bibliographies, il en existe deux, les deux premières les rejoignant dans une troisième. Cependant, gardez à l'esprit que beaucoup des termes que je vais utiliser ici étaient inconnus de Mendel, tels que gènes, variants du même gène (allèle) ou dominance des gènes.

Pour tenter de rendre l'explication plus divertissante, les gènes et leurs allèles seront représentés par des lettres (A / a). Et rappelez-vous, le descendant reçoit un allèle de chaque parent.


1. Principe d'uniformité

Pour expliquer cette première loi, Mendel a fait des croisements entre pois jaune (AA) avec une autre espèce rare de pois verts (aa). Le résultat était que dans la progéniture dominait la couleur jaune (Aa), sans la présence de pois vert.

L’explication de ce qui s’est passé dans cette première loi de Mendel, selon ce chercheur, est que l'allèle de couleur jaune domine sur un allèle de couleur verte , il suffit que dans un mode de vie l’un des deux allèles soit jaune pour s’exprimer. Il faut ajouter qu'il est fondamental que les parents soient des races pures, c'est-à-dire que leurs gènes soient homogènes (AA ou aa) pour que cela soit réalisé. En conséquence, leur progéniture devient 100% hétérozygote (Aa)

2. Principe de la ségrégation

Mendel a continué à croiser des espèces de pois, cette fois les résultats de son expérience précédente, à savoir des pois jaunes hétérozygotes (Aa). Le résultat l'a surpris, puisque 25% des descendants étaient verts alors que leurs parents étaient jaunes.

Dans cette seconde loi de Mendel, on explique que si les parents sont hétérozygotes pour un gène (Aa), sa distribution dans la progéniture sera 50% homozygote (AA et aa) et l’autre moitié hétérozygote (Aa). Ce principe explique comment un enfant peut avoir les yeux verts, comme sa grand-mère, si leurs parents ont le brun.

3. Principe de la ségrégation indépendante des caractères

Cette dernière loi de Mendel est quelque chose de plus complexe. Pour arriver à cette conclusion, Mendel a croisé des espèces de pois jaunes lisses (AA BB) avec d'autres pois verts bruts (aa bb). Au fur et à mesure que les principes ci-dessus sont remplis, la progéniture résultante est hétérozygote (Aa Bb), ce qui l’entrelace.

Le résultat de deux pois jaunes lisses (Aa Bb) a été de 9 pois jaunes lisses (A_B_), 3 pois verts lisses (aa B_), 3 pois jaunes rugueux (A_bb) et 1 pois vert rugueux (aa bb).

Cette troisième loi de Mendel, qu'il a l'intention de démontrer, est que les traits sont distribués indépendamment et ils n'interfèrent pas les uns avec les autres.

Héritage mendélien

Il est vrai qu'avec ces trois lois de Mendel, on peut expliquer une grande partie des cas de patrimoine génétique, mais parvient à saisir toute la complexité des mécanismes de la succession. De nombreux types d'héritages ne suivent pas ces directives, appelés héritages non mendéliens. Par exemple, l'héritage lié au sexe, qui dépend des chromosomes X et Y; ou des allèles multiples, que l'expression d'un gène dépend d'autres gènes ne peut pas être expliquée par les lois de Mendel.


Première loi de Mendel (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes