yes, therapy helps!
The 3 personality types related to psychopathy

The 3 personality types related to psychopathy

May 23, 2022

Psychopathy is a disorder in which the individual he does not feel remorse in situations that he would be expected to feel or cause harm to others . However, there are different degrees of psychopathy, and types of personality traits associated with this phenomenon.

  • Related article: "Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?"

Personality types associated with psychopathy

Depending on the type of psychopathy, Ronald Blackburn proposed 4 types of psychopaths: the primary psychopath can be very extroverted, impulsive, hostile and aggressive; Introverted with the same previous traits, which is called as a secondary psychopath. On the other hand there is one who has a great need for control, is always on the defensive, has high self-esteem and keeps his anxiety at low levels so he is called controlled psychopath. He who is withdrawn, shy, anxious and with a low level of self-esteem is called inhibited psychopath.


On the other hand, within the classification of personalities, there are some that by their characteristics have a high relationship with psychopathic behavior. Next, each one is described:

1. Paranoid personality

They tend to be distrustful, suspicious, suspicious and resentful. They can interpret external signals as hostile or threatening even if they do not have that intention. If someone hurts them, they seek revenge. When they feel threatened they choose to attack before they are attacked; they use reactive violence . This personality is highly related to crimes of passion.

2. Schizoid personality

They are usually isolated people, can be considered by others as "rare" . They avoid relating to others and if they have to establish contact, this represents a discomfort for them. They tend to be apathetic and insensitive. This personality is related to highly violent crimes, since they use instrumental violence, so they have time to plan the crime with the "cold head" and they are 100% focused on doing harm.


3. Antisocial personality

This personality may be observable from childhood, since children with it tend to frighten others and mistreat animals. Easily break rules , they seek immediate satisfaction in their actions; they use reactive violence. They tend to blame their victims, as if they had provoked them and forced sexual relations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 9 subtypes of Psychopathy according to Theodore Millon"

Two variants of criminal psychopathy

Within the criminal psychopathy you can make a classification of:

Organized criminal

He is the one who plans his behavior, thinks of everything; in how to catch, how to commit the crime, where, what to do with the victim. He uses instrumental violence, causes pleasure both the execution and the damage caused, is moved by the crime to commit.

Choose your victims carefully , since these mean something within the fantasy of the crime, they must fulfill certain characteristics. It is possible to identify a modus operandi, the crime scene can be modified to represent something. Neurobiologically, there is a high degree of activation in the amygdala and in the orbitofrontal cortex, which allows for a planning of its actions.


Criminal disorganized

One who he does not regulate his behavior, he is impulsive before the stimulus that causes him discomfort or rage . It uses reactive violence, which means that it "acts hot." It has a great need to act so it does not choose its victim, it can be any person, therefore they are usually called "opportunity crimes". Just look for a means to download. It is difficult to find a pattern unlike the organized criminal.

In the neurobiological aspect, unlike the previous one, there is little or no activity in the orbitofrontal cortex, so there is no inhibitory control. He is hypersensitive to social and emotional issues, there is a distortion in his social cognition. And, like the organized, there is a high activation in the amygdala.

What to do to intervene psychologically?

Although there is no specific treatment for psychopathy, there are suggestions for intevention. It is recommended that therapies focused on behavior be given , you must work with awareness of the consequences of the acts performed by the person, control over themselves, self-observation and not seek immediate rewards. It is important to promote critical thinking, the meaning of emotions, feelings and perceptions. Work on the external control locus. Within the psychopharmacological treatment, drugs that inhibit aggressiveness and / or impulses are used.


Personality Disorders: Crash Course Psychology #34 (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 3 types de personnalité liés à la psychopathie

Les 3 types de personnalité liés à la psychopathie

Février 27, 2021

La psychopathie est un trouble dans lequel l'individu il ne ressent pas de remords dans des situations qu'il serait censé ressentir ou causer du mal à autrui . Cependant, il existe différents degrés de psychopathie et types de traits de personnalité associés à ce phénomène.

  • Article connexe: "Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?"

Types de personnalité associés à la psychopathie

En fonction du type de psychopathie, Ronald Blackburn a proposé 4 types de psychopathes: le psychopathe principal peut être très extraverti, impulsif, hostile et agressif; Introverti avec les mêmes traits précédents, qui s'appelle en tant que psychopathe secondaire. D'autre part, il y en a un qui a un grand besoin de contrôle, qui est toujours sur la défensive, qui a une haute estime de soi et qui maintient son anxiété à des niveaux bas, de sorte qu'il est appelé psychopathe contrôlé. Celui qui est retiré, timide, anxieux et avec un faible niveau d'estime de soi s'appelle un psychopathe inhibé.


Par ailleurs, dans la classification des personnalités, il existe certaines relations qui, par leurs caractéristiques, ont une relation étroite avec le comportement psychopathique. Ensuite, chacun est décrit:

1. Personnalité paranoïaque

Ils ont tendance à être méfiants, méfiants, méfiants et plein de ressentiment. Ils peuvent interpréter les signaux externes comme hostiles ou menaçants, même s'ils n'ont pas cette intention. Si quelqu'un leur fait du mal, ils cherchent à se venger. Lorsqu'ils se sentent menacés, ils choisissent d'attaquer avant d'être attaqués. ils utilisent la violence réactive . Cette personnalité est étroitement liée aux crimes passionnels.

2. personnalité schizoïde

Ils sont généralement personnes isolées, peuvent être considérées par d'autres comme "rares" . Ils évitent les relations avec les autres et s’ils doivent établir un contact, cela les met mal à l’aise. Ils ont tendance à être apathique et insensible. Cette personnalité est liée à des crimes très violents, car ils utilisent la violence instrumentale, ils ont donc le temps de planifier le crime avec la "tête froide" et ils sont centrés à 100% sur le fait de faire du mal.


3. personnalité antisociale

Cette personnalité peut être observée dès l'enfance, car les enfants qui en sont atteints ont tendance à effrayer les autres et à maltraiter les animaux. Casser facilement les règles , ils cherchent une satisfaction immédiate dans leurs actions; ils utilisent la violence réactive. Ils ont tendance à blâmer leurs victimes, comme si elles les avaient provoquées et ont forcé des relations sexuelles.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 9 sous-types de psychopathie selon Theodore Millon"

Deux variantes de psychopathie criminelle

Dans la psychopathie criminelle, vous pouvez classifier:

Criminel organisé

C'est lui qui planifie son comportement, pense à tout; comment attraper, comment commettre le crime, où, que faire avec la victime. Il utilise la violence instrumentale, provoque le plaisir à la fois l'exécution et les dommages causés, est motivé par le crime à commettre.

Choisissez vos victimes avec soin , puisque ceux-ci ont une signification dans le fantasme du crime, ils doivent remplir certaines caractéristiques. Il est possible d'identifier un modus operandi, la scène du crime peut être modifiée pour représenter quelque chose. Sur le plan neurobiologique, il existe un degré élevé d’activation dans l’amygdale et dans le cortex orbitofrontal, ce qui permet de planifier ses actions.


Criminel désorganisé

Celui qui il ne règle pas son comportement, il est impulsif devant le stimulus qui le gêne ou la rage . Il utilise la violence réactive, ce qui signifie qu'il "agit chaud". Il a un grand besoin d'agir pour ne pas choisir sa victime, il peut s'agir de n'importe qui, c'est pourquoi on parle généralement de "crime d'opportunité". Il suffit de chercher un moyen de télécharger. Il est difficile de trouver un modèle différent du criminel organisé.

Sur le plan neurobiologique, contrairement au précédent, il n’ya pas ou peu d’activité dans le cortex orbitofrontal, il n’ya donc pas de contrôle inhibiteur. Il est hypersensible aux problèmes sociaux et émotionnels, sa cognition est déformée. Et, comme les organisés, il y a une forte activation dans l'amygdale.

Que faire pour intervenir psychologiquement?

Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de traitement spécifique pour la psychopathie, il existe des suggestions pour une intervention. Il est recommandé d'administrer des thérapies axées sur le comportement , vous devez travailler avec la conscience des conséquences des actes accomplis par la personne, le contrôle de soi-même, l'observation de soi et ne pas rechercher de récompenses immédiates. Il est important de promouvoir la pensée critique, la signification des émotions, des sentiments et des perceptions. Travailler sur le locus de contrôle externe. Dans le traitement psychopharmacologique, des médicaments qui inhibent l’agressivité et / ou les impulsions sont utilisés.


Harald Kautz Vella: The alien terraforming agenda on DTV (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes