yes, therapy helps!
The 3 types of corticosteroids and their effects on the body

The 3 types of corticosteroids and their effects on the body

April 1, 2024

Probably many of us have either suffered or know someone who has done some kind of inflammatory process due to some disease, allergic reaction or asthma. And in many of these cases, the application or use of corticosteroids in order to reduce inflammation will have been indicated. But these are not a single substance, but make up a set of drugs with similar properties.

In this sense, we can find various types of corticosteroids , being the best known those that we will see throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Types of hormones and their functions in the human body"

Corticosteroids: basic concept

Corticosteroids or corticoids are a group or group of drugs that produce an effect similar to that of cortisol secreted by the adrenal cortex. And although cortisol is a hormone linked to stress , also presents a series of effects of great relevance for the maintenance of our health.


Corticosteroids are characterized by being steroid-type substances, compounds based on the substance known as stear that are part of living organisms and made up of structures of hormones and vitamins. Its function is multiple, having importance among other areas in the metabolism and the secretion and utilization of sugars and fats . body homeostasis and also linked to the functioning of the immune system. They are powerful anti-inflammatories and suppressors of the immune system, something ideal to treat allergies, arthritis, asthma or other types of inflammations, whether or not they are the product of the immune system.

When we speak of corticosteroids as drugs, we are talking about drugs of great potency and usefulness in the treatment of pathologies such as asthma, arthritis, allergic reactions or inflammatory processes.


However, its administration must be very careful, since apart from its beneficial effects they also generate quite problematic side effects and can pose certain danger. Among them we find the risk of hypertension, cataracts, glaucoma or diabetes , although many other side effects may arise. That is the reason why they are generally used for the shortest possible time and mostly in increasingly smaller doses.

Different types of corticosteroids

Although we have commented some of the basic characteristics of corticosteroids in general, the truth is that within this group of substances we can find different types or classes with differentiated characteristics. Among the most important we can find the following,

1. Glucocorticoids

One of the most known types of corticosteroids, if not the most, is the glucocorticoids. Within this group we find substances mainly directed to the control of inflammatory processes .


Its performance generates a decrease in the functionality of the immune system, which is essential to treat allergic reactions such as food or medication. They are also used in situations such as asthma, problems such as osteoarthritis or even the post-chemotherapy treatment in patients with cancer.

Well-known drugs are betamethasone or dexamethasone , although others like cortisone are also considered as such.

2. Corticotropins

Corticotropins are another type of corticosteroid, which is generally used in cases in which the body has deficient levels of endogenous corticosteroids. Facilitates the secretion of cortisone by the pituitary gland . Its action is usually more diagnostic than therapeutic, with the use of glucocorticoids being more common at the treatment level.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Pituitary gland (hypophysis): the nexus between neurons and hormones"

3. Mineralcorticoids

The mineral corticosteroids are perhaps the least known group of corticosteroids in the general population. These substances have the main function of maintaining the chemical balance of the body, acting mainly at the renal level.

Its action generates a greater control of the retention of salts and sodium and allows to regulate and avoid excessive loss of bodily fluids through urine . Within this group we find, as the main representative, fludrocortisone

Two prototypic drugs

We have talked about the basic types of corticosteroids and we have mentioned some examples of them. But perhaps some specific drugs may be more visual or more known. The two cases that we will mention separately both because they are extremely well-known and because they also have typical properties of the mineralcorticoids despite being glucocorticoids .

Cortisone

Probably the most well-known drug in this group of medicines. Its action is mainly that of a glucocorticoid, being specially used in the treatment of various types of inflammations . However, it also has an action on the metabolism of salt and the retention of liquids, as well as on the metabolism of carbohydrates, which has properties that link it to the mineralcorticoids.

It is used in multiple disorders, both human and veterinary. Its great utility has been observed in allergic reactions, arthritis, endocarditis, lupus or leukemia among many other conditions. It has also been used occasionally in situations of anorexia or hyporexia, with lack of appetite and thirst, in some anemias or even to reduce the inflammation caused by different tumors.

Hydrocortisone

Another great example of one of the most well-known types of corticosteroids is hydrocortisone. As cortisone is classified as glucocorticoid, but also has regulatory effects similar to those of mineral corticosteroids. Usually used as a support medication , and is probably one of the least strong.

Its applications include the treatment of rashes, irritations, allergies, pruritus or even as support against cancer. There are also creams and suppositories in case of anal problems.

Other forms of classification

The previous classification is not the only one that exists, it can be found different options depending on the criteria you want to use to group these drugs .

Another of the main ones is the one that takes into account its mode of application or presentation. In this sense we can find the following types of corticosteroids: oral (pills), injected (whether endovenous, parenteral or intramuscular), inhaled (as the typical inhaler), aerosols or topical (creams). Also suppositories and drops.

Finally, they can also be grouped according to their average life. In this sense we would find short-lived corticosteroids (between 8-12 hours), medium (between 18 and 36 approximately) and long (over 36) corticosteroids.

Bibliographic references:

  • Corticoides.org. (s.f.). Corticosteroids Available at: //www.corticoides.org/
  • Pensabeni, J.T .; Panush, R. (1996). Review corticosteroid usage. Observations at a community hospital. Am J Med Sci.

Asthma Myth: Use of steroids as a treatment option and its side effects (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 3 types de corticostéroïdes et leurs effets sur le corps

Les 3 types de corticostéroïdes et leurs effets sur le corps

Janvier 22, 2021

Beaucoup d’entre nous ont probablement souffert ou connaissons une personne qui a contracté un processus inflammatoire en raison d’une maladie, d’une réaction allergique ou de l’asthme. Et dans beaucoup de ces cas, l'application ou l'utilisation de corticostéroïdes pour réduire l'inflammation aura été indiquée. Mais ce ne sont pas une substance unique, mais constituent un ensemble de médicaments ayant des propriétés similaires.

En ce sens, on peut trouver différents types de corticostéroïdes , étant les plus connus de ceux que nous verrons tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'hormones et leurs fonctions dans le corps humain"

Corticostéroïdes: concept de base

Les corticostéroïdes ou les corticoïdes sont un groupe ou un groupe de médicaments qui produisent un effet similaire à celui du cortisol sécrété par le cortex surrénalien. Et bien que le cortisol soit une hormone liée au stress , présente également une série d’effets d’une grande importance pour le maintien de notre santé.


Les corticostéroïdes se caractérisent par le fait qu'ils sont des substances de type stéroïde, des composés à base de la substance connue sous le nom de stear faisant partie d'organismes vivants et composés de structures d'hormones et de vitamines. Sa fonction est multiple, ayant une importance parmi d'autres domaines dans le métabolisme et la sécrétion et l'utilisation de sucres et de graisses . homéostasie corporelle et également liée au fonctionnement du système immunitaire. Ce sont de puissants anti-inflammatoires et des inhibiteurs du système immunitaire, idéaux pour traiter les allergies, l'arthrite, l'asthme ou d'autres types d'inflammations, qu'ils soient ou non le produit du système immunitaire.

Lorsque nous parlons des corticostéroïdes en tant que médicaments, nous parlons de médicaments de grande puissance et utiles dans le traitement de pathologies telles que l'asthme, l'arthrite, les réactions allergiques ou les processus inflammatoires.


Cependant, son administration doit être très prudente, car en plus de ses effets bénéfiques, elle génère également des effets secondaires très problématiques et peut présenter un certain danger. Parmi eux on trouve le risque d'hypertension, de cataracte, de glaucome ou de diabète , bien que de nombreux autres effets secondaires puissent survenir. C'est la raison pour laquelle ils sont généralement utilisés le moins longtemps possible et principalement à des doses de plus en plus petites.

Différents types de corticostéroïdes

Bien que nous ayons commenté certaines des caractéristiques de base des corticostéroïdes en général, la vérité est qu’au sein de ce groupe de substances, nous pouvons trouver différents types ou classes présentant des caractéristiques différenciées. Parmi les plus importants, nous pouvons trouver ce qui suit,

1. Glucocorticoïdes

Les glucocorticoïdes sont l'un des types de corticostéroïdes les plus connus, sinon le plus. Dans ce groupe, nous trouvons substances principalement destinées au contrôle des processus inflammatoires .


Ses performances génèrent une diminution de la fonctionnalité du système immunitaire, ce qui est essentiel pour traiter les réactions allergiques telles que les aliments ou les médicaments. Ils sont également utilisés dans des situations telles que l'asthme, des problèmes tels que l'arthrose ou même le traitement post-chimiothérapie chez des patients atteints de cancer.

Les médicaments bien connus sont la bétaméthasone ou la dexaméthasone , bien que d’autres comme la cortisone soient également considérées comme telles.

2. Corticotrophines

Les corticotropines sont un autre type de corticostéroïde, généralement utilisé dans les cas où le corps a un déficit en corticostéroïdes endogènes. Facilite la sécrétion de cortisone par l'hypophyse . Son action est généralement plus diagnostique que thérapeutique, l'utilisation de glucocorticoïdes étant plus courante au niveau du traitement.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "l'hypophyse: le lien entre les neurones et les hormones"

3. Minéraux-corticoïdes

Les corticostéroïdes minéraux constituent peut-être le groupe de corticostéroïdes le moins connu de la population générale. Ces substances ont pour fonction principale de maintenir l'équilibre chimique du corps, agissant principalement au niveau rénal.

Son action génère un meilleur contrôle de la rétention des sels et du sodium et permet de réguler et éviter les pertes excessives de fluides corporels dans l'urine . Dans ce groupe, nous trouvons, en tant que représentant principal, la fludrocortisone

Deux médicaments prototypiques

Nous avons parlé des types de base de corticostéroïdes et nous en avons cité quelques exemples. Mais peut-être que certaines drogues spécifiques peuvent être plus visuelles ou plus connues. Les deux cas que nous mentionnerons séparément à la fois parce qu’ils sont extrêmement connus et parce qu’ils ont propriétés typiques des minéraux corticoïdes malgré le fait qu'ils soient glucocorticoïdes .

Cortisone

Probablement le médicament le plus connu dans ce groupe de médicaments. Son action est principalement celle d'un glucocorticoïde, étant spécialement utilisé dans le traitement de divers types d'inflammations . Cependant, il a aussi une action sur le métabolisme du sel et la rétention des liquides, ainsi que sur le métabolisme des glucides, propriétés qui le lient aux minéraux corticoïdes.

Il est utilisé dans de multiples troubles, tant humains que vétérinaires. Sa grande utilité a été observée dans les réactions allergiques, l'arthrite, l'endocardite, le lupus ou la leucémie parmi de nombreuses autres affections. Il a également été utilisé occasionnellement dans des situations d'anorexie ou d'hyporexie, avec manque d'appétit et de soif, dans certaines anémies ou même pour réduire l'inflammation provoquée par différentes tumeurs.

Hydrocortisone

L'hydrocortisone est un autre excellent exemple de l'un des types de corticostéroïdes les plus connus. La cortisone étant classée comme glucocorticoïde, elle a également des effets régulateurs similaires à ceux des corticostéroïdes minéraux. Habituellement utilisé comme médicament de soutien et est probablement l’un des moins forts.

Ses applications incluent le traitement des éruptions cutanées, des irritations, des allergies, du prurit ou même comme support contre le cancer. Il existe également des crèmes et des suppositoires en cas de problèmes anaux.

Autres formes de classification

La classification précédente n'est pas la seule qui existe, on peut la trouver différentes options en fonction des critères que vous souhaitez utiliser pour regrouper ces médicaments .

Une autre des principales est celle qui prend en compte son mode d’application ou de présentation. En ce sens, nous pouvons trouver les types de corticostéroïdes suivants: oral (pilules), injecté (qu’il soit endoveineux, parentéral ou intramusculaire), inhalé (comme l’inhalateur typique), en aérosol ou topique (crème). Aussi suppositoires et gouttes.

Enfin, ils peuvent également être regroupés en fonction de leur durée de vie moyenne. Dans ce sens, on trouverait des corticostéroïdes à vie courte (entre 8 et 12 heures), des corticostéroïdes moyens (entre 18 et 36 ans environ) et longs (plus de 36 ans).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Corticoides.org. (par exemple). Corticostéroïdes Disponible à: //www.corticoides.org/
  • Pensabeni, J.T .; Panush, R. (1996). Examiner l'utilisation des corticostéroïdes. Observations dans un hôpital communautaire. Je suis J Med Sci.

Point Culture : le Corps Humain (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes