yes, therapy helps!
The 3 types of emotional dependence: what are they?

The 3 types of emotional dependence: what are they?

July 18, 2024

The emotional dependence usually manifests itself in the relationships of oneself with others and is usually related to the couple, family or certain friendships. In this sense, we can talk about types or kinds of emotional dependence .

It is a complex psychological state, in which the person who suffers feels unable to break the ties that bind him to that unstable, destructive, unbalanced relationship and where the other person is idealized, affecting very negatively their self-esteem, Physical and mental health.

Emotional dependence: the same as an addiction

As with addictions, emotional dependence also produces withdrawal syndrome and this is mainly motivated by fear of loneliness or panic to break the relationship. In addition, emotional dependence also influences the development of obsessive thoughts and states of anxiety or depression, which occasionally disappear if the relationship or contact is resumed.


In general, there are certain characteristics that can be associated to people who are emotionally dependent on others such as: lack of self-esteem, negative moods, fear of being alone, philophobia, putting the relationship before anything else, need for constant attention on the part of the other person, ease in isolating himself from everything around him in favor of the relationship, the need to always please the other person, self-annulment, feeling inferior to the other and even a lack of communication skills, what your conversations always revolve around the person you emotionally depend on .

The cause could be the fear of rejection

In addition, emotional dependence also has a social stigma as there are many labels that are imposed in this area and that can affect the behavior of people, who far from feeling free have the need to please the rest with their actions.


Otherwise, and often in a wrong way, we internally accept labels -such as selfishness- that are determined by the thoughts, feelings or expressions of another person and that, in reality, we should not always take into account.

The types of emotional dependence and their areas

The fear of rejection, not being loved, valued and even admired by other people, also reinforce that "social need" to be emotionally dependent and that feeling, in most cases extrapolated to other important aspects of life as the couple , family or friends.

In what areas does emotional dependence most often manifest itself? We could talk about 3 main areas in which emotional dependence can manifest in a person and they are: the couple, the family and the social environment; they are known as types of emotional dependence.


1. In the couple

The emotional dependence of the couple, it is the form that appears with greater assiduity in our society and is also the most recognized . As we said at the beginning of the article, the symptoms are quite similar to those that can suffer from an addicted person, in many cases leading to the withdrawal syndrome.

People who depend emotionally on their partner, have a totally wrong concept of what a relationship should mean because they forget their own identity, often feel jealous, have an extreme desire to be with that person all the time, they can not and do not want to do other activities that do not involve their partner and make them the obsessive center of their well-being, as well as obsessively controlling each act or thought of the other.

2. In the family

On the other hand, we will talk about emotional dependence on the family when a person shows excessive and obsessive attachment towards certain members of their family nucleus .

For example: the need to talk to that person every day, to know about her and control her day to day, to need her criteria to feel emotionally secure, not to be able to make decisions without the approval of that person, to give up other projects by the fact of having to separate and the lack of time for oneself, are aspects that characterize a person who has emotional dependence towards one or several members of their family nucleus.

  • Recommended article: "Toxic families: 4 ways in which they cause mental disorders"

3. In the social environment

Emotional dependence on the social environment is manifested in people who have the need to be recognized by the rest in order to feel at their height , to be accepted in their work environment, to submit to the approval of their closest circle of friends and to devote the time to worry excessively about the needs or problems of others, forgetting about themselves.

It is also important in this regard, to mention emotional co-dependency relationships.This type of emotional dependence implies the link between two or more people, implies a dependence that occurs simultaneously between them and there are different areas in which it can develop, such as the ones discussed above -couple, family or society- and others like the labor or the educational.


What is Dependent Personality Disorder? Mental Health Help with Kati Morton (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 3 types de dépendance émotionnelle: de quoi s'agit-il?

Les 3 types de dépendance émotionnelle: de quoi s'agit-il?

Février 24, 2021

La dépendance émotionnelle se manifeste généralement dans les relations de soi avec les autres et est généralement liée au couple, à la famille ou à certaines amitiés. Dans ce sens, on peut parler de types ou de types de dépendance émotionnelle .

Il s'agit d'un état psychologique complexe dans lequel la personne qui souffre se sent incapable de rompre les liens qui la lient à cette relation instable, destructive et déséquilibrée et où l'autre personne est idéalisée et affecte très négativement son estime de soi. Santé physique et mentale.

Dépendance émotionnelle: identique à une dépendance

Comme pour les dépendances, la dépendance émotionnelle engendre également un syndrome de sevrage, principalement motivé par la peur de la solitude ou la panique pour rompre la relation. En outre, la dépendance émotionnelle influence également le développement de pensées obsessionnelles et d’états d’anxiété ou de dépression, qui disparaissent parfois lorsque la relation ou le contact reprend.


En général, certaines caractéristiques peuvent être associées aux personnes qui dépendent émotionnellement d'autrui, telles que: manque d'estime de soi, humeur négative, peur d'être seul, philophobie, faire passer la relation avant toute autre chose, besoin d'attention constante de la part de l'autre personne, facilité à s'isoler de tout ce qui l'entoure en faveur de la relation, nécessité de toujours faire plaisir à l'autre personne, auto-annulation, sentiment inférieur à l'autre et même manque de capacité de communication, Quoi vos conversations tournent toujours autour de la personne dont vous dépendez émotionnellement .

La cause pourrait être la peur du rejet

En outre, la dépendance affective est également une source de préjugés sociaux car de nombreuses étiquettes sont imposées dans ce domaine et peuvent affecter le comportement de personnes qui, loin de se sentir libres, ont le besoin de plaire au reste avec leurs actions.


Sinon, et souvent de manière erronée, nous acceptons en interne des étiquettes - telles que l’égoïsme - qui sont déterminées par les pensées, les sentiments ou les expressions d’une autre personne et qui, en réalité, ne doivent pas toujours être prises en compte.

Les types de dépendance émotionnelle et leurs domaines

La peur du rejet, le fait de ne pas être aimé, valorisé et même admiré par d’autres personnes, renforce également ce "besoin social" de dépendance émotionnelle et ce sentiment, extrapolé dans la plupart des cas à d’autres aspects importants de la vie en tant que couple. , famille ou amis.

Dans quels domaines la dépendance émotionnelle se manifeste le plus souvent? Nous pourrions parler de 3 principaux domaines dans lesquels la dépendance émotionnelle peut se manifester chez une personne et ils sont: le couple, la famille et le milieu social; ils sont connus comme des types de dépendance émotionnelle.


1. Dans le couple

La dépendance émotionnelle du couple, c'est la forme qui apparaît avec plus d'assiduité dans notre société et qui est aussi la plus reconnue . Comme nous l’avons dit au début de l’article, les symptômes ressemblent beaucoup à ceux que peut provoquer un toxicomane, menant souvent au syndrome de sevrage.

Les personnes qui dépendent émotionnellement de leur partenaire, ont une conception totalement fausse de ce qu'une relation devrait signifier parce qu'elles oublient leur propre identité, se sentent souvent jaloux, ont un désir extrême d'être avec cette personne tout le temps, ils ne peuvent pas et ne veulent pas faire d'autres activités qui n'impliquent pas leur partenaire et qui en font le centre obsessionnel de leur bien-être, ainsi que le contrôle obsessionnel de chaque acte ou de chaque pensée de l'autre.

2. En famille

D'autre part, nous parlerons de dépendance émotionnelle de la famille lorsqu'une personne manifeste un attachement excessif et obsessionnel à l'égard de certains membres de son noyau familial .

Par exemple: besoin de parler à cette personne tous les jours, de la connaître et de la maîtriser au quotidien, d'avoir besoin de ses critères pour se sentir en sécurité sur le plan émotionnel, ne pas être en mesure de prendre des décisions sans son approbation, d'abandonner d'autres projets par le fait de devoir se séparer et le manque de temps pour soi-même, sont des aspects qui caractérisent une personne qui a une dépendance émotionnelle envers un ou plusieurs membres de leur noyau familial.

  • Article recommandé: "Familles toxiques: 4 causes de troubles mentaux"

3. Dans l'environnement social

La dépendance émotionnelle à l'environnement social se manifeste dans les personnes qui ont besoin d'être reconnues par les autres pour se sentir à leur hauteur , pour être acceptés dans leur environnement de travail, pour se soumettre à l’approbation de leur cercle d’amis les plus proches et pour consacrer le temps nécessaire à se préoccuper excessivement des besoins ou des problèmes des autres, en oubliant eux-mêmes.

À cet égard, il est également important de mentionner les relations de co-dépendance émotionnelle.Ce type de dépendance émotionnelle implique le lien entre deux personnes ou plus, implique une dépendance qui se produit simultanément entre elles et se développe dans différents domaines, tels que ceux évoqués ci-dessus (couple, famille ou société) et d'autres tels que le travail ou l'éducation.


La Dépendance Affective 12 - le test amoureux, le test d'amour (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes