yes, therapy helps!
The 4 benefits of sports psychology in psychological well-being

The 4 benefits of sports psychology in psychological well-being

May 16, 2024

Sport and the psychological variables that influence it improving or worsening its performance has been a subject of great interest during the last decades. All this, framed within the discovery and development of positive psychology, has led different researchers to consider what factors are closely related to psychological well-being in athletes and what are their benefits.

In this article we will review the benefits that sports practice brings to psychological well-being together with the team UPAD Psychology and Coaching , one of the best centers of sports psychology in the Community of Madrid and our country.


  • Related article: "What is Sports Psychology? Know the secrets of a growing discipline"

Exercise and its effects on the mind

Positive psychology aims to integrate all those concepts related to well-being, happiness and the most optimistic approaches of the human mind to boost personal development , among other things. It is within this current that the concept of psychological well-being takes shape.

Psychological well-being is a set of variables that encompass different aspects of our life and the degree of satisfaction with them. Terms like Self-acceptance, Positive Relationships, Autonomy, Domain of Environment, Purpose in Life and Personal growth are some concepts that take great importance in personal well-being.


In this line, different studies show that people perceive themselves as reasonably happy regardless of their age and their sex or culture, valuing in a very similar way the sources of happiness. Feeling happy is more adaptive when facing and overcoming adversities that arise throughout life.

In sports, research focused on finding the relationship between sports and psychological well-being are becoming increasingly popular. At early ages, such as adolescence, where it is very important to generate healthy habits of life, among which sport is found, results have been obtained that contribute to reinforce the importance of adopting these active lifestyles , since these are positively related to different factors that increase psychological well-being, such as self-assessment, health perception and overall life satisfaction.


The result of this type of studies leads us to affirm that psychological well-being is associated with the practice of physical activity . Among other aspects, people who regularly perform physical exercise perceive themselves as healthier, with less stress and have a better state of mind than those who do not perform any type of physical activity.

The effect of sport on psychological well-being

The most popular variables that are closely related between sport and psychological well-being are: cognition, coping, positive affect and self-efficacy, and it is that those people who perform sport tend to have better results in all of them.

Below each one of them is explained more carefully:

1. Cognition

The way we have to see and understand the world, the ideas, thoughts and beliefs we have about us and everything that surrounds us is closely related to our well-being. Through sport at an early age the child's intellectual development can be enhanced and it is even proven that performing very brief but intense physical exercises presents an improvement in their mental abilities such as attention.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

2. Coping

It is demonstrated that those people with high psychological well-being use coping strategies oriented towards the problem and emotion versus those that show low well-being, which have a more passive coping mode and focus on avoidance. All this has to do with the role we take when facing a situation or problem.

We have two options: to assume our responsibility in the situation and to improve everything that is in our hands or to flee from the problem, to hold everyone responsible and to succeed. From both options we will obtain a very valuable learning that can improve or hinder our standard of living giving us more or less capacity for decision and autonomy.

  • Related article: "Coping strategies: what are they and how can they help us?"

3. Positive affect

The quality of our personal relationships will be a determining factor in our assessment of life satisfaction.Sport, and more specifically that which takes place in teams, fosters the construction of a wider social environment in which share emotions, thoughts and sensations especially in stages of development, where the social circle is of vital importance.

4. Self-efficacy

It is defined as beliefs in one's capacity to organize and execute the required actions and to handle future situations. If we believe that we can reach an objective, we will find the resources to achieve it.

Sports psychology is a promising field

The new fields of psychology in which positive psychology is found are contributing new visions and lines of research in different fields. Within sport, in the last decades the use of concepts related to positive emotions , resilience and ultimately positive perception of events, at first sight negative (such as an injury), from which to obtain a personal experience to learn and to help us obtain the desired well-being.

Obtain and maintain psychological well-being Through the reinterpretation of situations, positive assessments and generation of emotions that favor it is one of the functions of sports psychology at this time.

If you are looking to optimize your levels of personal well-being through sport you can find more information on the UPAD Psychology and Coaching website where you will find great professionals in Sports Psychology.


Sport psychology - inside the mind of champion athletes: Martin Hagger at TEDxPerth (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 avantages de la psychologie sportive dans le bien-être psychologique

Les 4 avantages de la psychologie sportive dans le bien-être psychologique

Janvier 17, 2022

Le sport et les variables psychologiques qui l'influencent L’amélioration ou la dégradation de ses performances a fait l’objet d’un grand intérêt au cours des dernières décennies. Tout cela, encadré par la découverte et le développement de la psychologie positive, a conduit différents chercheurs à déterminer quels facteurs sont étroitement liés au bien-être psychologique des athlètes et quels sont leurs avantages.

Dans cet article, nous allons passer en revue les avantages que la pratique sportive apporte au bien-être psychologique avec l'équipe UPAD Psychologie et Coaching , l’un des meilleurs centres de psychologie sportive de la Communauté de Madrid et de notre pays.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie du sport? Découvrez les secrets d'une discipline en pleine croissance"

Exercice et ses effets sur l'esprit

La psychologie positive vise à intégrer tous les concepts liés au bien-être, au bonheur et aux approches les plus optimistes de l'esprit humain stimuler le développement personnel , entre autres choses. C’est dans ce courant que prend naissance la notion de bien-être psychologique.

Le bien-être psychologique est un ensemble de variables qui englobent différents aspects de notre vie et leur degré de satisfaction. Termes comme acceptation de soi, relations positives, autonomie, domaine de l'environnement, Le but dans la vie et la croissance personnelle sont des concepts qui revêtent une grande importance pour le bien-être personnel.


Dans cette perspective, différentes études montrent que les gens se perçoivent comme raisonnablement heureux indépendamment de leur âge, de leur sexe ou de leur culture, valorisant de manière très similaire les sources de bonheur. Se sentir heureux est plus adaptatif quand on fait face à des adversités qui surviennent tout au long de la vie.

Dans le sport, les recherches axées sur la relation entre le sport et le bien-être psychologique gagnent en popularité. Aux premiers âges, comme l’adolescence, où il est très important de générer des habitudes de vie saines, parmi lesquelles on retrouve le sport, des résultats ont été obtenus qui contribuent à renforcer l'importance d'adopter ces modes de vie actifs , étant donné qu’ils sont liés positivement à différents facteurs qui augmentent le bien-être psychologique, tels que l’auto-évaluation, la perception de la santé et la satisfaction globale à l’égard de la vie.


Le résultat de ce type d’études nous amène à affirmer que le bien-être psychologique est associé à la pratique d'une activité physique . Entre autres aspects, les personnes qui font régulièrement de l'exercice physique se perçoivent comme étant en meilleure santé, avec moins de stress et ont un meilleur état d'esprit que celles qui n'exercent aucun type d'activité physique.

L'effet du sport sur le bien-être psychologique

Les variables les plus populaires qui sont étroitement liées entre le sport et le bien-être psychologique sont: la cognition, l’adaptation, un affect positif et l’auto-efficacité, et c’est que les sportifs pratiquent généralement de meilleurs résultats.

Ci-dessous, chacun d'eux est expliqué plus en détail:

1. cognition

La façon dont nous devons voir et comprendre le monde, les idées, les pensées et les croyances que nous avons sur nous et tout ce qui nous entoure est étroitement liée à notre bien-être. Par le sport dès son plus jeune âge le développement intellectuel de l'enfant peut être amélioré et il est même prouvé que l'exécution d'exercices physiques très brefs mais intenses présente une amélioration de leurs capacités mentales telles que l'attention.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

2. Faire face

Il est démontré que les personnes ayant un haut niveau de bien-être psychologique utilisent stratégies d'adaptation orientées vers le problème et l'émotion par rapport à ceux qui montrent un faible bien-être, qui ont un mode d’adaptation plus passif et se concentrent sur l’évitement. Tout cela a à voir avec le rôle que nous jouons face à une situation ou à un problème.

Nous avons deux options: assumer notre responsabilité dans la situation et améliorer tout ce qui est entre nos mains ou fuir le problème, responsabiliser tout le monde et réussir. À partir des deux options, nous obtiendrons un apprentissage très précieux. cela peut améliorer ou entraver notre niveau de vie en nous donnant plus ou moins de capacité de décision et d'autonomie.

  • Article connexe: "Stratégies d'adaptation: que sont-elles et comment peuvent-elles nous aider?"

3. affect positif

La qualité de nos relations personnelles sera un facteur déterminant dans notre évaluation de la satisfaction à l'égard de la vie.Le sport, et plus particulièrement celui qui se déroule en équipe, favorise la construction d’un environnement social plus large dans lequel partager des émotions, des pensées et des sensations particulièrement aux stades de développement, où le cercle social est d’une importance vitale.

4. Efficacité personnelle

Il est défini comme une conviction de sa capacité à organiser et à exécuter les actions requises et à faire face aux situations futures. Si nous pensons pouvoir atteindre un objectif, nous trouverons les ressources pour le réaliser.

La psychologie du sport est un domaine prometteur

Les nouveaux domaines de la psychologie dans lesquels se trouve la psychologie positive apportent de nouvelles visions et pistes de recherche dans différents domaines. Dans le sport, au cours des dernières décennies, l’utilisation de concepts liés aux émotions positives , résilience et, finalement, perception positive d’événements, à première vue négatifs (comme une blessure), à ​​partir desquels acquérir une expérience personnelle d’apprendre et de nous aider à obtenir le bien-être souhaité.

Obtenir et maintenir le bien-être psychologique La réinterprétation des situations, les évaluations positives et la génération d’émotions qui la favorisent sont l’une des fonctions de la psychologie du sport à l’heure actuelle.

Si vous souhaitez optimiser votre niveau de bien-être personnel par le sport, vous trouverez plus d’informations sur le site Web de l’UPAD Psychologie et Coaching où vous trouverez de grands professionnels en psychologie du sport.


Psychologie du sport - Meilleur à l'entraînement qu'en compétition? (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes