yes, therapy helps!
The 4 differences between state and government

The 4 differences between state and government

August 12, 2022

In order that the different people who are part of the same group can organize their activity, the human being has created and developed several mechanisms and organizations that allow a correct management of the behavior and activity of its components. These mechanisms act to direct and establish the limits of the conduct and try to guarantee that the rights, freedoms and responsibilities of each member of society are fulfilled.

The figure of the State is formed, which will be directed by the Government. Both concepts have come to be confused on many occasions, so in this article we are going to try to establish the main differences between state and government .


  • Related article: "The 6 forms of government that govern our social and political life"

Defining State and government

When we talk about the State, we are using a concept of a political and legal nature that refers to the set of elements that are part of a society. The State includes both the group of individuals that comprise it and the way of organizing it, as well as to a lesser extent the territory they occupy and their borders. The State is sovereign and from it emanate the different powers (legislative, executive and judicial) , and allows limits, norms, responsibilities, rights and freedoms to be established so that coexistence can be regulated.


But to get the State to function properly it is necessary that it be administered in some way. The government is responsible for this. It is understood as such to the set of individuals and institutions that administer the State, exercising for it the different functions of the executive branch. The government assumes the leadership of the society and the authority to make sure that the different laws are followed and implemented, being an important part of the State, although not the only one.

In this way we can perceive that the government is a part of the State , not being both concepts synonymous nor referring to the same.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 types of dictatorship: from totalitarianism to authoritarianism"

Main differences between government and state

Next we will observe some of the main differences between both concepts: State and Government.


1. Level of inclusion between concepts

One of the main differences between the State and government is that one is only part of the other. The State includes the government, which holds the political power (Specifically, it takes over the executive branch), as part of it.

But the State is much more, since this concept refers to the set of components of the same society, its territory and its way of organizing itself.

2. Abstraction level

Another aspect in which they differ is found in the level of abstraction that both concepts suppose. The government as an institution it is perceptible and it is possible to recognize those who are part of it , being able to identify the physical persons that comprise it.

However, the term State is rather an abstract concept in which the citizens, the territory and its organization are integrated, not being something clearly perceptible.

  • Maybe you're interested: "What is Social Psychology?"

3. Duration and stability

State and government are also different in another aspect: their duration. While the State remains unchanged over time Unless the unit is dissolved among its components or if it is integrated into a new State that includes it, the Government has a determined duration, either agreed in advance (as in our country, where we have elections every four years) or before the deposition with even the death of their rulers (as in dictatorships, or in countries with forms of government such as absolute monarchy).

4. Power

The level of power that government and state possess is also different, although there are clear differences depending on the type of government that a region has.

As a general rule in democratic countries The role of government is to exercise executive power or the application of laws , being the laws themselves elaborated and approved by other structures (in countries with absolute monarchy would also be responsible for other powers as well as in dictatorships the dictator tries to exercise legislative and judicial power) and having limited powers.

The State however is the source of all power (both executive and legislative and judicial), being sovereign and who decides who is given the power to govern and organize it.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rodríguez Suárez, M .; García Domínguez, C. and Justafré García, Y. (2012). The technical-legal difference between state and government. Contributions to the Social Sciences. Malaga University.

The Big Difference between “State” and “Government” (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 différences entre Etat et gouvernement

Les 4 différences entre Etat et gouvernement

Septembre 18, 2019

Pour que les différentes personnes appartenant au même groupe puissent organiser leur activité, l'être humain a créé et développé plusieurs mécanismes et organisations permettant une gestion correcte du comportement et de l'activité de ses composants. Ces mécanismes agissent pour orienter et définir les limites du comportement et essaient de garantir le respect des droits, des libertés et des responsabilités de chaque membre de la société.

La figure de l'Etat est formée, qui sera dirigée par le gouvernement. Les deux concepts ont été confondus à maintes reprises. Dans cet article, nous allons donc essayer d’établir les principales différences entre état et gouvernement .


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 formes de gouvernement qui régissent notre vie sociale et politique"

Définir l'État et le gouvernement

Lorsque nous parlons d’État, nous utilisons un concept de nature politique et juridique qui fait référence à l’ensemble des éléments qui font partie d’une société. L’État comprend à la fois le groupe de personnes qui le compose et son mode d’organisation, ainsi que, dans une moindre mesure, le territoire qu’ils occupent et leurs frontières. L’État est souverain et émane de différents pouvoirs (législatif, exécutif et judiciaire). et permet d’établir des limites, des normes, des responsabilités, des droits et des libertés afin de réglementer la coexistence.


Mais pour que l’État fonctionne correctement, il est nécessaire qu’il soit administré d’une manière ou d’une autre. Le gouvernement est responsable de cela. Il est compris comme tel par l'ensemble des individus et des institutions qui administrent l'État, exerçant pour lui les différentes fonctions de l'exécutif. Le gouvernement assume la direction de la société et le pouvoir de veiller à ce que les différentes lois soient suivies et appliquées, constituant une partie importante de l'État, bien que n'étant pas le seul.

De cette façon on peut percevoir que le gouvernement fait partie de l'Etat , n'étant pas les deux concepts synonymes ni se référant au même.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 types de dictature: du totalitarisme à l'autoritarisme"

Principales différences entre le gouvernement et l'État

Nous observerons ensuite certaines des principales différences entre les deux concepts: État et gouvernement.


1. Niveau d'inclusion entre les concepts

L’une des principales différences entre l’État et le gouvernement est que l’un n’est qu’une partie de l’autre. L’État comprend le gouvernement, qui détient le pouvoir politique (Spécifiquement, il prend le pouvoir exécutif), dans le cadre de celui-ci.

Mais l’Etat est beaucoup plus, puisque ce concept fait référence à l’ensemble des composantes d’une même société, à son territoire et à sa manière de s’organiser.

2. Niveau d'abstraction

Un autre aspect de leur différence réside dans le niveau d'abstraction que les deux concepts supposent. Le gouvernement en tant qu'institution il est perceptible et il est possible de reconnaître ceux qui en font partie , pouvant identifier les personnes physiques qui le composent.

Cependant, le terme État est plutôt un concept abstrait dans lequel les citoyens, le territoire et son organisation sont intégrés, sans qu’il soit perceptible.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

3. Durée et stabilité

L'État et le gouvernement sont également différents sur un autre aspect: leur durée. Tandis que l'État reste inchangé au fil du temps À moins que l'unité ne soit dissoute entre ses composantes ou qu'elle soit intégrée dans un nouvel État l'incluant, le gouvernement a une durée déterminée, convenue à l'avance (comme dans notre pays, des élections ont lieu tous les quatre ans) ou avant la déposition avec même la mort de leurs dirigeants (comme dans les dictatures, ou dans les pays avec des formes de gouvernement telles que la monarchie absolue).

4. pouvoir

Le niveau de pouvoir que possèdent le gouvernement et l'État est également différent, bien qu'il existe de nettes différences selon le type de gouvernement d'une région.

En règle générale dans les pays démocratiques Le rôle du gouvernement est d'exercer le pouvoir exécutif ou l'application des lois , étant les lois elles-mêmes élaborées et approuvées par d'autres structures (dans les pays à monarchie absolue seraient également responsables d'autres pouvoirs ainsi que dans les dictatures, le dictateur tente d'exercer un pouvoir législatif et judiciaire) et disposant de pouvoirs limités.

Cependant, l’État est la source de tout pouvoir (tant exécutif que législatif et judiciaire), étant souverain et qui décide à qui est donné le pouvoir de le gouverner et de l’organiser.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rodríguez Suárez, M; García Domínguez, C. et Justafré García, Y. (2012). La différence technico-juridique entre État et gouvernement. Contributions aux sciences sociales. Université de Malaga.

Qu'est ce que le gouvernement ? #InstancesPolitiques E02 (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes