yes, therapy helps!
The 4 exceptions of the professional secret of the psychologist

The 4 exceptions of the professional secret of the psychologist

July 19, 2024

When studying the career of psychology, the professors emphasize again and again the norms that must be followed in the context of the therapist - patient relationship. Among many of these norms is the confidentiality pact and, of course, the deontological code reflects this set of rules.

Our patient has the right to the confidentiality of the information he or she provides and everything that happens in the therapeutic context, and perhaps that is what puts us on many occasions "between the sword and the wall". And is that there are situations in which psychologists offering therapy must break professional secrecy . Let's see what they are.

  • Related article: "Decalogue of the psychologist: ethical and professional requirements of our profession"

Exceptions: when to break professional secrecy as a psychologist

First we must understand that professional secrecy is a very important part of the therapeutic framework. The simple fact of letting the patient know that he can trust you completely, as his therapist, and that everything that is talked about and done in the session will be confidential, strengthens the basis for a positive and productive therapeutic relationship.


Having said that, the exceptional situations that lead to breaking professional secrecy of the psychologist are the following.

1. Sexual and Physical Abuse

Being prepared to handle all types of cases is something that only experience can give. But there are more difficult cases than others, and in students, the therapist must position himself beyond the framework of therapy and its objectives.

Sexual, physical and psychological abuse is quite common; The problem is that silence and fear often dominate most people who suffer. In the clinic, those who put the therapist in a more difficult situation are children, as there are cases that come because of suspected sexual abuse. In this situations, the psychologist must inquire, collect and verify if the abuse is real .


When the therapist finds that such abuse is happening, it is his job to notify the parents, but what happens if the abuser is someone from the nuclear family and none of them takes action on the matter? This is a very serious question, because this is where we must break that confidentiality beyond the family framework. This will depend on the country in which it occurs, but in most cases, the psychologist must report it immediately to other family members and the corresponding authorities . Take note, you should only break confidentiality beyond the family framework if none of the child's caregivers do anything to stop this situation.

2. Suicidal patients

Another very common case in the office has to do with patients suffering from depression, especially severe depression. As a summary, those who suffer from a major depressive disorder usually present certain characteristics such as sadness, hopelessness, loss of energy, loss or increase of appetite, trouble falling asleep and thoughts or suicidal acts.


These patients usually have seizures if they are not taking the appropriate psychotherapy treatment and if they do not take the antidepressants from the hand of a psychiatrist. The most indicated is that when noticing ideas, plans or suicidal acts work with the family and prepare it to be aware of the patient .

What is done when no member of the family is aware that the patient wants or plans to commit suicide? It is this moment where you must break the confidentiality rule and notify the closest parents, siblings or relatives.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Suicidal thoughts: causes, symptoms and therapy"

3. Judicial processes

Sometimes we will attend patients who are referred by a court or an institution of justice . This means that perhaps at some point our presence in the process is necessary, therefore, breaking professional secrecy.

There are many situations that can reach this point, and all put psychologists in complex situations. For that reason I suggest to know well the laws and the responsibility that we have with them psychologists, depending on the legal framework of the country.

4. In situations of risk

Any situation that puts at risk the life of the patient or other people close to this (or not close if the case is serious), will force the psychologist or psychotherapist to break this professional secret, regardless of whether this occurs within the framework of a judicial process or not.

Remember that…

These situations are very special, and for that same reason the psychotherapist breaks professional secrecy, in order to protect and provide the best service . Otherwise the psychotherapist should not break this commitment.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 exceptions du secret professionnel du psychologue

Les 4 exceptions du secret professionnel du psychologue

Août 31, 2022

Lorsqu'ils étudient la carrière de psychologue, les professeurs insistent encore et encore sur les normes à respecter dans le contexte de la relation thérapeute-patient. Parmi beaucoup de ces normes, il y a le pacte de confidentialité et, bien sûr, le code déontologique reflète cet ensemble de règles.

Notre patient a droit à la confidentialité des informations qu'il fournit et de tout ce qui se passe dans le contexte thérapeutique, et c'est peut-être ce qui nous met souvent "entre l'épée et le mur". Et est-ce il existe des situations dans lesquelles les psychologues qui proposent une thérapie doivent rompre le secret professionnel . Voyons ce qu'ils sont.

  • Article connexe: "Décalogue du psychologue: exigences éthiques et professionnelles de notre profession"

Exceptions: quand briser le secret professionnel en tant que psychologue

Nous devons d’abord comprendre que le secret professionnel est une partie très importante du cadre thérapeutique. Le simple fait de faire savoir au patient qu’il est capable de vous faire totalement confiance en tant que thérapeute et que tout ce qui est dit et fait pendant la séance sera confidentiel renforce la base d’une relation thérapeutique positive et productive.


Cela dit, les situations exceptionnelles conduisant à la levée du secret professionnel du psychologue sont les suivants.

1. Violence sexuelle et physique

Être prêt à traiter tous les types de cas est une chose que seule l'expérience peut donner. Mais il existe des cas plus difficiles que d’autres et, chez l’étudiant, le thérapeute doit se positionner au-delà du cadre de la thérapie et de ses objectifs.

Les abus sexuels, physiques et psychologiques sont assez fréquents. Le problème est que le silence et la peur dominent souvent la plupart des personnes qui souffrent. À la clinique, ceux qui placent le thérapeute dans une situation plus difficile sont des enfants, car il y a des cas qui sont causés par des abus sexuels présumés. Dans ces situations, le psychologue doit enquêter, collecter et vérifier si l'abus est réel .


Lorsque le thérapeute constate que de tels abus se produisent, il est de son devoir d'informer les parents, mais que se passe-t-il si l'agresseur est un membre de la famille nucléaire et qu'aucun d'entre eux n'intervient à ce sujet? C'est une question très grave, car c'est là que nous devons casser cette confidentialité au-delà du cadre familial. Cela dépendra du pays dans lequel cela se produit, mais dans la plupart des cas, le psychologue doit le signaler immédiatement aux autres membres de la famille et aux autorités correspondantes . Prenez note que vous ne devriez rompre la confidentialité au-delà du cadre familial que si aucun des soignants de l'enfant ne fait rien pour mettre fin à cette situation.

2. patients suicidaires

Un autre cas très courant au bureau concerne des patients souffrant de dépression, en particulier de dépression grave. En résumé, ceux qui souffrent d'un trouble dépressif majeur présentent généralement certaines caractéristiques telles que la tristesse, le désespoir, la perte d'énergie, la perte ou l'augmentation de l'appétit, des difficultés à s'endormir et des pensées ou des actes suicidaires.


Ces patients ont généralement des convulsions s'ils ne prennent pas le traitement de psychothérapie approprié et s'ils ne prennent pas les antidépresseurs des mains d'un psychiatre. Le plus indiqué est que lorsque vous remarquez des idées, des projets ou des actes suicidaires travailler avec la famille et la préparer à prendre conscience du patient .

Que fait-on quand aucun membre de la famille ne sait que le patient veut ou envisage de se suicider? C'est à ce moment-là que vous devez enfreindre la règle de confidentialité et en informer les parents, frères et soeurs ou parents les plus proches.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Pensées suicidaires: causes, symptômes et traitement"

3. Procédures judiciaires

Parfois nous assisterons patients référés par un tribunal ou une institution de justice . Cela signifie que peut-être à un moment donné notre présence dans le processus est nécessaire, donc, briser le secret professionnel.

Plusieurs situations peuvent atteindre ce stade et toutes placent les psychologues dans des situations complexes. Pour cette raison, je suggère de bien connaître les lois et la responsabilité que nous avons avec les psychologues, en fonction du cadre juridique du pays.

4. En situation de risque

N'importe quelle situation qui met en danger la vie du patient ou d'autres personnes proches de cette (ou pas si le cas est grave), forcera le psychologue ou le psychothérapeute à casser ce secret professionnel, que cela se produise ou non dans le cadre d’une procédure judiciaire.

Rappelle-toi que…

Ces situations sont très spéciales et pour cette même raison, le psychothérapeute enfreint le secret professionnel, afin de protéger et de fournir le meilleur service . Sinon, le psychothérapeute ne devrait pas rompre cet engagement.


Le secret professionnel - Le droit et toi (par Éducaloi) (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes