yes, therapy helps!
The 4 types of Autism and their characteristics

The 4 types of Autism and their characteristics

May 6, 2021

Autism spectrum disorders (ASD) are a set of developmental disorders, with symptoms that are usually chronic and can range from mild to severe . 1 out of every 100 children may appear to be some type of autism spectrum disorder, although recent research in the United States claims that ASD has a prevalence of 68%.

Generally, ASD is characterized by the alteration of the individual's ability to communicate and establish social relationships . It is a complex disorder that affects the development of the individual who suffers it and, generally, it is usually diagnosed around 3 years of age.

There are different types of autism spectrum disorder . However, this classification has undergone some modification with the publication of the Statistical Diagnostic Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V). Next we will review the different subtypes of ASD and the changes reflected in the DSM-V in its latest editions.


Changes in the DSM-V regarding autism spectrum disorder (ASD)

In its fifth edition, the DSM, published by the American Psychiatric Association, has incorporated changes regarding the ASD, since it has eliminated diagnostic criteria used for decades. In fact, over the years, the TEA has been subject to various modifications in this manual. In its first edition (1952), it was classified with the term "child schizophrenia", which is far from the current concept. Each of these changes has created some controversy, and the new edition of the DSM has not been an exception .

One of the most notable modifications with respect to the DSM-IV refers to the symptomatology of ASD. If in the fourth edition the diagnostic definition of the autistic spectrum disorder was characterized by three symptoms known as the triad: deficiencies in social reciprocity, deficiencies in language or communication and repertoire of interests and restricted and repetitive activities. In the fifth edition there are only two categories of symptoms: deficiencies in social communication (that is, it includes the first two previous categories although it presents some changes with respect to these) and restricted and repetitive behaviors.


In addition, if in DSM-IV autism belonged to the "generalized developmental disorders" (PDD). In the DSM-V, this definition has been replaced by "autistic spectrum disorders" (ASD), which is included within "neurodevelopmental disorders".

On the other hand, subcategories of this disorder have also undergone modifications. The fifth edition included five subtypes of autism: autistic disorder, Asperger's syndrome, childhood disintegrative disorder, generalized developmental disorder not specified (PDD not specified) and Rett syndrome. In the fifth edition, Rett Syndrome has been dispensed with, leaving only 4 subtypes .

Types of disorders of Autism Spectrum Disorder

But, What characteristics present types of Autism? In the following lines we explain it to you in detail.


1. Autism or Kanner's syndrome

This is the disorder that most individuals associate with autism spectrum disorder , and receives in the name of Kanner Syndrome in relation to Dr. Kranner, a doctor who studied and described this condition in the 30s.

Subjects with autism they have a limited emotional connection with others , and they seem to be immersed in their own world. They are more likely to show repetitive behaviors, for example, they can organize and reorganize the same group of objects, back and forth for extended periods of time. And they are highly sensitive individuals to external stimuli such as sounds.

That is, they can be stressed or agitated when exposed to specific noises, bright lights or sounds or, on the other hand, they will insist on the use of certain clothing or colors or they will want to locate themselves in certain areas of the room without any apparent reason.

  • To learn more about the symptomatology of autism and some lesser-known aspects, you can read our article: "Autism: 8 things you did not know about this disorder"

2. Asperger's syndrome

Asperger's Syndrome is a more complicated autism spectrum disorder to diagnose and, sometimes, this diagnosis is usually made later than the previous case. This occurs because these subjects with Asperger have a medium (high) intelligence that can cause them to underestimate the difficulties and limitations presented by these subjects.

The deficit is, therefore, in the field of social skills and behavior, being important enough to seriously compromise their development and social and occupational integration.In addition, people with Asperger's Syndrome show shortcomings in empathy, poor psychomotor coordination, do not understand ironies or the double sense of language and obsess over certain topics.

The cause of Asperger Syndrome seems to be the dysfunction of several brain circuits , and the affected areas are the amygdala, the frontostriate and temporal circuits and the cerebellum, areas of the brain that are involved in the development of the social relationship.

Although media and communication have helped to spread an image of Asperger syndrome in which this condition is described as a mental disorder associated with high intelligence, it should be noted that most people grouped in this category do not score significantly above the normal IQ, and a very small number of them get very high scores.

  • You can deepen the knowledge of this disorder in our article: "Asperger's Syndrome: 10 signs to identify this disorder"

3. Child disintegrator disorder or Heller's syndrome

This disorder, usually referred to as Heller's Syndrome, usually appears around 2 years , although it may not be diagnosed until after 10 years.

It is similar to previous ASDs because it affects the same areas (language, social function and motor skills), although it differs from these in its sudden and regressive character , which can cause even the subject himself to realize the problem. Individuals with Heller's Syndrome can have a normal development until 2 years, and after this time suffer the characteristic symptoms of this disorder. Different studies conclude that this disorder is between 10 and 60 times less frequent than autism. However, its prognosis is worse.

4. Generalized developmental disorder not specified

When the clinical symptoms presented by the subject with autism spectrum disorder are too heterogeneous and they do not fit in their entirety with the three previous types, the diagnostic label of "generalized developmental disorder not specified" is used.

The subject with this disorder is characterized by having a deficit of social reciprocity, severe communication problems and the existence of peculiar, restricted and stereotyped interests and activities.

It should be noted that if the rest of the types of autism are already diverse in their own right, in the latter category it is even more important to take into account the unique characteristics of each individual, and not fall into the trap of letting the label completely explain the person. This classification system is just an aid that allows you to rely on a series of concepts to better understand this condition, but that does not exhaust all possible explanations about what each person is experiencing or what it needs.

Bibliographic references:

  • Martos, J. and cols (Ed) (2005) Autism: The future is today. Madrid: Imserso-APNA.
  • Monfort, M and Monfort, I (2001). In the mind 2. A graphic support for the training of pragmatic skills in children. Entha Editions.
  • Quill, K.A. (2000). "Do-Watch-Listen-Say. Social and Communication Intervention for children with Autism ". Brookes.
  • Szatmari, P. (2006) A different mind. Guide for parents. Editorial Paidós.

Autism & Pediatric Diseases : Different Types of Autism (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 types d'autisme et leurs caractéristiques

Les 4 types d'autisme et leurs caractéristiques

Février 18, 2019

Les troubles du spectre autistique (TSA) sont un ensemble de troubles du développement, avec des symptômes généralement chroniques pouvant aller de légers à graves . Un enfant sur 100 peut sembler être un type de trouble du spectre autistique, bien que des recherches récentes aux États-Unis prétendent que la prévalence des TSA est de 68%.

De manière générale, Les TSA se caractérisent par l'altération de la capacité de l'individu à communiquer et à établir des relations sociales . C'est un trouble complexe qui affecte le développement de la personne qui en souffre et, généralement, il est diagnostiqué vers l'âge de 3 ans.

Il existe différents types de troubles du spectre autistique . Cependant, cette classification a subi quelques modifications avec la publication du Manuel de diagnostic statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-V). Nous passerons ensuite en revue les différents sous-types de ASD et les modifications reflétées dans le DSM-V dans ses dernières éditions.


Changements dans le DSM-V concernant les troubles du spectre autistique (TSA)

Dans sa cinquième édition, le DSM, publié par le American Psychiatric Association, a incorporé des modifications concernant le TSA, car il a éliminé les critères de diagnostic utilisés pendant des décennies. En fait, au fil des ans, la TEA a subi diverses modifications dans ce manuel. Dans sa première édition (1952), il était classé sous le terme "schizophrénie de l'enfant", ce qui est loin du concept actuel. Chacune de ces modifications a suscité une controverse et la nouvelle édition du DSM n’a pas fait exception. .

L’une des modifications les plus notables du DSM-IV concerne la symptomatologie des TSA. Si dans la quatrième édition, la définition diagnostique du trouble du spectre autistique était caractérisée par trois symptômes connus sous le nom de triade: insuffisance de réciprocité sociale, insuffisance de langage ou de communication et répertoire d’intérêts et activités restreintes et répétitives. Dans la cinquième édition, il n’existe que deux catégories de symptômes: les déficiences de la communication sociale (c’est-à-dire qu’elle inclut les deux premières catégories précédentes bien qu’elle présente certains changements par rapport à celles-ci) et les comportements restreints et répétitifs.


En outre, si dans le DSM-IV, l'autisme appartenait aux "troubles généralisés du développement" (PDD). Dans le DSM-V, cette définition a été remplacée par "troubles du spectre autistique" (TSA), qui est incluse dans les "troubles neurodéveloppementaux".

D'autre part, les sous-catégories de ce trouble ont également subi des modifications. La cinquième édition comprenait cinq sous-types d'autisme: trouble autistique, syndrome d'Asperger, trouble désintégratif de l'enfance, trouble généralisé du développement non précisé (TED non précisé) et syndrome de Rett. Dans la cinquième édition, le syndrome de Rett a été supprimé, ne laissant que 4 sous-types .

Types de troubles du spectre autistique

Mais Quelles caractéristiques présentent les types d'autisme? Dans les lignes suivantes, nous vous l'expliquons en détail.


1. Autisme ou syndrome de Kanner

C'est le trouble que la plupart des individus associent au trouble du spectre de l'autisme , et reçoit au nom du syndrome de Kanner en relation avec le Dr Kranner, un médecin qui a étudié et décrit cette maladie dans les années trente.

Sujets atteints d'autisme ils ont un lien émotionnel limité avec les autres , et ils semblent être immergés dans leur propre monde. Ils sont plus susceptibles de présenter des comportements répétitifs. Par exemple, ils peuvent organiser et réorganiser le même groupe d'objets, dans un sens et dans l'autre, pendant de longues périodes. Et ce sont des individus très sensibles aux stimuli externes tels que les sons.

Autrement dit, ils peuvent être stressés ou agités lorsqu’ils sont exposés à des bruits spécifiques, à une lumière vive ou à des sons intenses ou, au contraire, ils insisteront pour que certains vêtements ou couleurs soient utilisés ou ils voudront se localiser à raison apparente.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur la symptomatologie de l'autisme et certains aspects moins connus, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Autisme: 8 choses que vous ne saviez pas sur ce trouble"

2. syndrome d'Asperger

Le syndrome d'Asperger est un trouble du spectre de l'autisme plus complexe à diagnostiquer et, parfois, ce diagnostic est généralement posé plus tard que le cas précédent. Cela est dû au fait que ces sujets Asperger ont une intelligence moyenne (élevée) qui peut les amener à sous-estimer les difficultés et les limitations qu'ils présentent.

Le déficit concerne donc les compétences et le comportement sociaux et est suffisamment important pour compromettre gravement leur développement et leur intégration sociale et professionnelle.En outre, les personnes atteintes du syndrome d'Asperger présentent des défauts d'empathie, une mauvaise coordination psychomotrice, ne comprennent pas les ironies ou le double sens du langage et sont obsédés par certains sujets.

La cause du syndrome d'Asperger semble être le dysfonctionnement de plusieurs circuits cérébraux et les zones touchées sont l’amygdale, les circuits de frontostriate et temporal et le cervelet, zones du cerveau qui participent au développement de la relation sociale.

Bien que les médias et la communication aient contribué à diffuser l'image du syndrome d'Asperger dans laquelle cette condition est décrite comme un trouble mental associé à une intelligence élevée, il convient de noter que la plupart des personnes appartenant à cette catégorie ne marquent pas de manière significative. au-dessus du QI normal, et un très petit nombre d'entre eux obtiennent des scores très élevés.

  • Vous pouvez approfondir la connaissance de ce trouble dans notre article: "Syndrome d'Asperger: 10 signes pour identifier ce trouble"

3. Trouble du désintégrateur de l'enfant ou syndrome de Heller

Ce trouble, généralement appelé syndrome de Heller, apparaît habituellement vers 2 ans. , bien qu'il puisse ne pas être diagnostiqué avant 10 ans.

Il est similaire aux ASD antérieurs, car il touche les mêmes domaines (langage, fonction sociale et motricité), bien que il en diffère par son caractère soudain et régressif , ce qui peut amener même le sujet à réaliser le problème. Les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Heller peuvent avoir un développement normal jusqu'à 2 ans et, après cette période, souffrent des symptômes caractéristiques de ce trouble. Différentes études concluent que ce trouble est entre 10 et 60 fois moins fréquent que l'autisme. Cependant, son pronostic est pire.

4. Trouble du développement généralisé non spécifié

Lorsque les symptômes cliniques présentés par le sujet présentant un trouble du spectre autistique sont trop hétérogènes et comme ils ne correspondent pas dans leur intégralité aux trois types précédents, l'étiquette de diagnostic "trouble du développement généralisé non spécifié" est utilisée.

Le sujet atteint de ce trouble est caractérisé par un déficit de réciprocité sociale, de graves problèmes de communication et par l’existence d’activités et d’intérêts particuliers, restreints et stéréotypés.

Il convient de noter que si les autres types d’autisme sont déjà très divers, il est encore plus important de prendre en compte les caractéristiques uniques de chaque individu et de ne pas tomber dans le piège de laisser l’étiquette expliquer complètement la personne Ce système de classification n’est qu’une aide qui vous permet de vous appuyer sur une série de concepts pour mieux comprendre cette condition, sans pour autant épuiser toutes les explications possibles sur ce que chaque personne vit ou dont elle a besoin.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Martos, J. et cols (Ed) (2005) Autisme: l'avenir est aujourd'hui. Madrid: Imserso-APNA.
  • Monfort, M et Monfort, I (2001). Dans l'esprit 2. Un support graphique pour la formation des compétences pragmatiques chez les enfants. Editions Entha.
  • Quill, K.A. (2000). "Regardez, écoutez, dites. Intervention sociale et de communication pour les enfants autistes ". Brookes.
  • Szatmari, P. (2006) Un esprit différent. Guide pour les parents. Editorial Paidós.

Quels sont les symptômes de l’autisme ? (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes