yes, therapy helps!
The 4 types of breathing (and how to learn them in meditation)

The 4 types of breathing (and how to learn them in meditation)

January 22, 2022

We all know that breathing is a vital activity for human beings , and not only because it allows us to stay alive. There are other ways in which this daily activity influences us.

Yes, we are aerobic beings and we have the need to capture oxygen from the environment and exchange it for carbon dioxide in our lungs, but there is no one correct way to inspire and expire. exist types of breathing alternative

Main types of breathing

It is possible to use different criteria to define types of breathing. For example, we can differentiate by the main component that is captured from the atmosphere, or classify it according to the mechanism that is used to proceed to gas exchange. But this time I will talk about the different breathing control techniques and its benefits on our health .


With the current pace of life we ​​are not aware that we perform an incorrect breath . We tend to breathe quickly and superficially, without maximizing our lung capacity. Associated with this fact is the appearance of different common health problems in large metropolises, such as stress and anxiety, which in turn make breathing more difficult.

A correct breathing is key to have good health . In the West the exercise of breathing has never been given too much importance to sustain our existence, but in the East we do find this. Specifically with the discipline of yoga, where they give great importance to correct conscious breathing to have good health of our body and mind.


1. Diaphragmatic or abdominal breathing

This type of breathing is based on the movement of diaphragm , the concave muscle that separates the thoracic cavity from the abdominal cavity and that is responsible for the activity of breathing. When inspiring, the lungs they fill up little by little with air , pushing the diaphragm, which in turn pushes the organs of the abdominal cavity, giving the feeling that the belly is swelling. For this reason it is also known as abdominal breathing .

When exhaling, the lungs empty of air and occupy less space, being in a more restricted area. The diaphragm returns to its initial position. In yoga it is known as low breathing.

Tips to practice it

It is recommended that to start it is better to do it lying on your back, and as you master the technique go to other positions, such as sitting or standing. You have to be comfortable, with your hands on your abdomen, and perform the breathing exercise with your nose.


  • To begin it is necessary expel air from the lungs thoroughly , in order to provoke a deep inspiration for lack of air.
  • Inspire deeply and slowly, swelling the abdomen relaxed.
  • Catch the air for an instant.
  • When you feel the need to exhale , do it in a long, slow and deep way.
  • Stay without air in the lungs for a moment, and when you need to inspire, repeat the steps.

During the exercise it is also advisable to speak (for example, use of the expression OM), since the sound vibrations help to control the speed and rhythm of the inspirations and exhalations, as well as a relaxing effect on the rib cage.

Health benefits

This type of breathing allows expand the filling capacity of the lungs , which promotes a good oxygenation of the blood. The impulse of the movement that produces the diaphragm favors the sanguineous irrigation and stimulates the movement of the heart. The constant activity of the diaphragm makes a good massage to the organs of the abdominal cavity, favoring intestinal transit.

In addition, it acts on the solar plexus , a nervous network located at the beginning of the ventral aortic artery, making a relaxing effect and decreasing anxiety and the feeling of "stomach knot".

2. Costal or thoracic breathing

This type of breathing is based on separation of the ribs for an expansion of the thoracic cavity. This occurs when the middle zone of the lung is filled, something that is achieved once the lower part is filled thanks to diaphragmatic breathing. This kind of breathing is done very often without realizing it. In yoga it is known as medium breath .

Tips to practice it

The recommended position for this type of breathing is sitting, with the right back but without forcing and placing the hands on the ribs.

  • It expels the air thoroughly and tense the abdomen , which will help empty the lungs.
  • It inspires maintaining the tension in the abdomen, allowing the expansion of the ribs . You will see that it costs more than in diaphragmatic breathing.
  • Catch the air a moment, then all the slow and continuous air will expire. Repeat process

Health benefits

Practiced in conjunction with diaphragmatic breathing, it helps improve lung capacity and provide a relaxing effect .

3. Clavicular breathing

In this type of breathing we focus on the highest part of the lung , which is smaller in volume than the previous ones, so it captures less air. In the inspiration it seems that it raises the clavicles, hence the name. In yoga it is high breathing.

This kind of breathing can be seen in people who are suffering from an anxiety or nervous attack, having short and quick inspirations and exhalations, as they have a blockage of the diaphragm due to emotional causes. As well predominates in pregnant women , especially in recent months, when the baby occupies most of the abdominal cavity and does not allow the diaphragm to work properly.

Tips to practice it

To begin with, in a sitting posture, we crossed our arms, placing our hands on our ribs.

  • Make a deep exhalation and at the end of this contract the abdominals and press with our hands on the ribs.
  • Inspire trying to lift the clavicles , but not the shoulders. You will see that in spite of being the greater effort than in the costal breathing, the air captured is rather scarce.
  • It expels the little air that could be captured.

Health benefits

This breath alone has no benefit and is rather poor in ventilation. But it becomes important in the latest control technique that I will now talk about.

4. Complete breathing

This type of breathing, also known Yogic breathing , is the purpose of the domain of the three techniques mentioned above, and is the unification of all of them, in search of a conscious control of the breath.

Tips to practice it

This exercise can be done both lying down and sitting down, although if you are a beginner it is always better to do it lying down. The activity must be performed in a relaxed manner, breathing through the nose, and may help the pronunciation of the expression OM high.

  • Empty the lungs with a deep exhalation.
  • Slow inspiration begins by descent of the diaphragm (diaphragmatic breathing).
  • Continue to inspire air dilating the ribs (costal breathing).
  • Keep inspiring while raising the clavicles (clavicular breathing).
  • Hold the air for a moment.
  • The relaxed exhalation begins the reverse of inspiration , that is to say, making first the air from the upper part, followed by the middle and finally from the lower area of ​​the lungs.
  • Keep a few seconds without air in the lungs , and start the cycle again.

As you've seen, this kind of breathing it takes place in three phases to inspire and another three to exhale , since it is the combination of the other breathing techniques. Yoga experts recommend that you double the time exhalation takes compared to inspiration.

Health benefits

As the sum of the other types of breathing, the aforementioned benefits are maintained, that is, the lung capacity is increased, the blood oxygenation is better, the blood circulation is stimulated and the heart is toned.

It also presents other benefits such as training in self-control, and provides serenity and concentration .


*Breathing Techniques* (Yoga, Meditation, Relaxation, Stress, Cancer, Blood Pressure) Kapalbhati (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 types de respiration (et comment les apprendre en méditation)

Les 4 types de respiration (et comment les apprendre en méditation)

Mars 7, 2021

Nous savons tous que la respiration est une activité vitale pour l'homme et pas seulement parce que cela nous permet de rester en vie. Cette activité quotidienne nous influence de différentes manières.

Oui, nous sommes des êtres aérobies et nous avons besoin de capter l'oxygène de l'environnement et de l'échanger contre du dioxyde de carbone dans nos poumons, mais il n'y a pas un seul moyen correct d'inspirer et de périr. Il y a types de respiration alternative

Principaux types de respiration

Il est possible d'utiliser différents critères pour définir les types de respiration. Par exemple, nous pouvons différencier en fonction du composant principal capturé dans l'atmosphère ou le classer en fonction du mécanisme utilisé pour procéder à l'échange de gaz. Mais cette fois, je parlerai des différents techniques de contrôle de la respiration et ses avantages sur notre santé .


Avec le rythme de vie actuel, nous ne sommes pas conscients que nous effectuons une mauvaise respiration . Nous avons tendance à respirer rapidement et superficiellement, sans maximiser notre capacité pulmonaire. À cela s’ajoute l’apparition de différents problèmes de santé courants dans les grandes métropoles, tels que le stress et l’anxiété, qui rendent la respiration plus difficile.

Une respiration correcte est la clé pour avoir une bonne santé . En Occident, l’exercice de la respiration n’a jamais eu autant d’importance pour maintenir notre existence, mais nous le trouvons à l’est. Spécifiquement avec la discipline du yoga, où ils accordent une grande importance à corriger la respiration consciente pour avoir une bonne santé de notre corps et de notre esprit.


1. Respiration diaphragmatique ou abdominale

Ce type de respiration est basé sur le mouvement de diaphragme , le muscle concave qui sépare la cavité thoracique de la cavité abdominale et qui est responsable de l’activité respiratoire. En inspirant, les poumons ils se remplissent peu à peu d'air , en poussant le diaphragme, qui à son tour pousse les organes de la cavité abdominale, donnant l'impression que le ventre est gonflé. Pour cette raison, il est également connu comme respiration abdominale .

Lors de l’expiration, les poumons se vident d’air et occupent moins d’espace, se trouvant dans une zone plus restreinte. Le diaphragme revient à sa position initiale. En yoga, on parle de respiration basse.

Conseils pour le pratiquer

Il est recommandé de commencer couché sur le dos et, au fur et à mesure que vous maîtriserez la technique, allez vers d’autres positions, comme être assis ou debout. Vous devez être à l'aise, les mains sur l'abdomen et effectuer l'exercice de respiration avec le nez.


  • Pour commencer il faut expulser l'air des poumons à fond , afin de provoquer une profonde inspiration pour le manque d’air.
  • Inspirer profondément et lentement, gonflement de l'abdomen détendu
  • Attraper l'air pour un moment.
  • Lorsque vous ressentez le besoin d'expirer , faites-le d'une manière longue, lente et profonde.
  • Rester sans air dans les poumons pour un moment, et lorsque vous avez besoin d'inspirer, répétez les étapes.

Au cours de l'exercice, il est également conseillé de parler (par exemple, l'utilisation de l'expression OM), car les vibrations sonores permettent de contrôler la vitesse et le rythme des inspirations et des exhalations, ainsi qu'un effet relaxant sur la cage thoracique.

Avantages pour la santé

Ce type de respiration permet augmenter la capacité de remplissage des poumons , ce qui favorise une bonne oxygénation du sang. L'impulsion du mouvement qui produit le diaphragme favorise l'irrigation sanguine et stimule le mouvement du cœur. L'activité constante du diaphragme procure un bon massage aux organes de la cavité abdominale, favorisant ainsi le transit intestinal.

En outre, il agit sur le plexus solaire , un réseau nerveux situé au début de l’artère aortique ventrale, produisant un effet relaxant et diminuant l’anxiété et la sensation de "nœud estomac".

2. Respiration costale ou thoracique

Ce type de respiration est basé sur séparation des côtes pour une expansion de la cavité thoracique. Cela se produit lorsque la zone médiane du poumon est remplie, ce qui est réalisé une fois que la partie inférieure est remplie grâce à la respiration diaphragmatique. Ce genre de respiration se fait très souvent sans s'en rendre compte. En yoga, il est connu comme souffle moyen .

Conseils pour le pratiquer

La position recommandée pour ce type de respiration est assise, dos droit mais sans forcer ni placer les mains sur les côtes.

  • Il expulse l'air à fond et tendu l'abdomen , ce qui aidera à vider les poumons.
  • Il inspire le maintien de la tension dans l'abdomen, permettant l'expansion des côtes . Vous verrez que cela coûte plus cher qu'en respiration diaphragmatique.
  • Attraper l'air un moment, puis tout l'air lent et continu va expirer. Répéter le processus

Avantages pour la santé

Pratiqué en conjonction avec la respiration diaphragmatique, il contribue à améliorer la capacité pulmonaire et effet relaxant .

3. Respiration claviculaire

Dans ce type de respiration, nous nous concentrons sur la partie la plus haute du poumon , dont le volume est inférieur à celui des précédents, il capte donc moins d’air. Dans l'inspiration, il semble que cela soulève les clavicules, d'où son nom. En yoga, c'est la respiration haute.

Ce type de respiration peut être observé chez les personnes souffrant d'anxiété ou de crise nerveuse, ayant des inspirations et des inspirations courtes et rapides, car leur diaphragme est obstrué par des causes émotionnelles. Aussi prédomine chez les femmes enceintes , en particulier ces derniers mois, lorsque le bébé occupe la plus grande partie de la cavité abdominale et ne permet pas au diaphragme de fonctionner correctement.

Conseils pour le pratiquer

Pour commencer, en position assise, nous avons croisé nos bras, plaçant nos mains sur nos côtes.

  • Faire un expiration profonde et à la fin de ce contrat les abdominaux et appuyez avec nos mains sur les côtes.
  • Inspirer essayant de soulever les clavicules , mais pas les épaules. Vous verrez que malgré le plus grand effort que dans la respiration costale, l’air capturé est plutôt rare.
  • Ça expulse le petit air cela pourrait être capturé.

Avantages pour la santé

Ce souffle seul ne présente aucun avantage et est plutôt pauvre en ventilation. Mais cela devient important dans la dernière technique de contrôle dont je vais maintenant parler.

4. Respiration complète

Ce type de respiration, également connu Respiration yoguique , est le but du domaine des trois techniques mentionnées ci-dessus, et l’unification de toutes, à la recherche d’un contrôle conscient du souffle.

Conseils pour le pratiquer

Cet exercice peut être fait couché ou assis, mais si vous êtes débutant, il est toujours préférable de le faire couché. L'activité doit être effectuée de manière détendue, en respirant par le nez, et peut aider à la prononciation de l'expression OM élevé.

  • Vider les poumons avec une expiration profonde.
  • L'inspiration lente commence par descente du diaphragme (respiration diaphragmatique).
  • Continuer à inspirer de l'air dilatation des côtes (respiration costale).
  • Restez inspirant en levant les clavicules (respiration claviculaire).
  • Tenir l'air pendant un moment.
  • L'expiration relâchée commence l'inverse de l'inspiration , c’est-à-dire que l’air commence par la partie supérieure, puis par le milieu et enfin par la partie inférieure des poumons.
  • Gardez quelques secondes sans air dans les poumons et recommencez le cycle.

Comme vous l'avez vu, ce genre de respiration il se déroule en trois phases pour inspirer et trois autres pour expirer , puisque c’est la combinaison des autres techniques de respiration. Les experts en yoga recommandent de doubler le temps d’expiration par rapport à l’inspiration.

Avantages pour la santé

Comme la somme des autres types de respiration, les avantages susmentionnés sont maintenus, c'est-à-dire que la capacité pulmonaire est augmentée, l'oxygénation du sang est meilleure, la circulation sanguine est stimulée et le cœur est tonifié.

Il présente également autres avantages, tels que la formation à la maîtrise de soi, et procure sérénité et concentration .


Yoga Pranayama : exercices de respiration alternée (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes